Greene County IAGenWeb


What's New | Bios | Birth/Marr/Death | Cemeteries | Census | Courts | Directories/Lists | Families | History | Maps | Military | Photos | Resources | Schools


Jefferson is the county seat of Greene County and is located at the intersection of U.S. Highway 30 (east to west) and State Highway 4 (north and south). The historic Lincoln Highway is Jefferson's main street. Other towns in Greene County include: Churdan, Cooper, Dana, Farlin, Grand Junction, Paton, Rippey and Scranton. Greene County has rich farmland and the major crops are corn and soybeans. The school districts are: Jefferson-Scranton, Paton-Churdan, and East Greene (Dana, Grand Junction & Rippey).

Greene County is divided into 15 townships: Bristol, Cedar, Dawson, Franklin, Grant, Greenbrier, Hardin, Highland, Jackson, Junction, Kendrick, Paton, Scranton, Washington and Willow. Township map contributed by the Greene County Genealogical Society, July, 2018.

Green County Iowa Township Map

1895 Green County Iowa

Greene County in 1895

Site Terms, Conditions & Disclaimer