Decatur County

S/Sgt. Maurice E. Stearn




Oelwein, Waterloo Men Get Air Medal

General Headquarters Southwest Pacific Area—(INS)—Awards of the air medal to the following Iowa fliers in the southwest Pacific area were announced Wednesday by Lt. Gen. George C. Kenny, Commander of the Allied Air Force in that theatre.

First Lt. Paul J. Larson, Des Moines, for participating in 25 operational flights at low altitudes over enemy installations.

Sgt. James R. Wall, Oelwein, crew-member of a bomber that scored a direct hit on an enemy transport in the Bismarck Sea last March.

Staff Sgt. Maurice E. Stearn, Decatur, crew-member of a bomber that severely damaged three hostile transports and shot down six enemy planes in a battle over Huon gulf, New Guinea, last January.

Second Lt. Churchill T. Williams, Waterloo, crew member of a heavy bomber that damaged two Jap cargo vessels during a run over Wewak harbor, New Guinea.

Source: Waterloo Daily Courier, September 1, 1943