Polk County News

Source: "Iowa City Citizen", Iowa City, Iowa Wednesday, April 19, 1911, pg 3

Glidden Tour Details Arranged
Schedule for Iowa Automobile Test IS Prepared.

Submitted by Lynn McCleary, February 23, 2013.
Page created by Ralph Leonard, August, 2013.

Des Moines, April 19. - W.E. Moyer of the Moyer Auto company in a Hudson "33" will be pathfinder for the Little Glidden of 1911.

Entries for the event will be received by W.W. Sears at the Sears Auto company, up to Friday, June 16, three days before the start of the four days' run. Earl Butler will be chairman of the technical committee, make the preliminary examination of all cars entered, oversee the scoring during the run, make the final test at the end of the event, and award the prizes in the various classes at a stag smoker to be held at the Hyperion Field and Motor club a day or two after the conclusion of the run, on Thursday, June 22.

John Gibson of the Keystone Auto company, and chairman of the auto committee of the Hyperion Field and Motor club, held a session of the committee at the Savery last evening and settled these points. President Ellis of the Hyperion club and Ralph Plumb of the entertainment committee of the club participated with the auto committee in making arrangements for the run.

The route for the final day's run was changed from Clarion, Eagle Grove and Webster City to the St. Paul-des Moines tourist road through Hampton, Iowa Falls, Story City and Ames to Des Moines. Clinton was granted the noon stop on Tuesday, the second day of the run. It was decided that the entry fee for every car entered shall be $10.

Moyer and Butler in the pathfinder car will leave about May 10 to log the route and establish checking stations. The checking stations of the route, which will be about 650 miles, will be as follows:

First day - Des Moines, Colfax, Newton, Brooklyn, Marengo, (noon), Iowa City, West Liberty, Durant, Davenport, (night.)

Second Day - Davenport, LeClaire, Clinton (noon), Sabula, Bellevue, Dubuque (night).

Third Day - Dubuque, Earlville, Manchester, Independence, Waterloo (noon). Clarksville, Greene, Marble Rock, Rockford, Mason City, Lake (night).

Fourth Day - Mason City, Rockwell City, Hampton, Iowa Falls, Radcliffe, Story City, Ames, Ankey, Des Moines.

Copyright © 1996 The IAGenWeb Project      
IAGenWeb Terms, Conditions & Disclaimer