St. Peter Evangelical Lutheran Church OF Ocheyedan

This church was organized and a parsonage built in 1901. The presiding pastor is E. Fiene, who is also principal of the parochial school. The trustees are C. E. Miller, A. Menkens and V. Walther. The vestrymen are John Rusche, Herman Wassmann and August Arends and C. E. Miller. Mr. Miller is president and Mr. Arends secretary. The church has twenty-two voting members and one hundred and ten communicating members.

The preaching is in German every Sabbath with the exception that once in every two months the sermon is in English. The pastor is the principal and teacher of the school of about twenty-five pupils. The course of study includes the Lutheran religion, bible history, German language and common school branches. The church and school are supported by subscription.

From the 1914 Past and Present of O'Brien and Osceola Counties

Osceola County Iowa Genealogy - The IAGenWeb Project