USGenWeb - The First Seventy-five Years in the Sanborn Community (1878-1953) - IAGenWeb

Milwaukee Railroad Women’s Club

The Milwaukee Railroad Women’s Club of Sanborn was organized April 2, 1925, in the home of Mrs. M.M. Burns. Following are the first officers of the club:
President - Mrs. M.M. Burns
First Vice-President - Mrs. H. Kissler
Second Vice-Pres. - Mrs. J.C. Wiley
Secretary - Mrs. A.K. Foote
Treasurer - Mrs. Chris Leemkuil
The first President General, Mrs. Lydia T. Byram visited our club in October of 1926. On May 15th, 1935, a special program was held in which a tree was planted in memory of Mrs. Byram in the park named for her. This park was located where the new Creamery building now stands.
Other outstanding activities include the sponsoring of the first community Christmas tree project with Santa Claus and candy for the children; annual Labor Day picnics; welfare to the needy members; good cheer to the sick; funeral dinners; Christmas parties or treats for children of all railroad worker’s families; and 4th of July picnics.
Mrs. Edith Burns was on the General Governing Board for a time.
The 1953 officers are as follows:
President - Mrs. Mary Guse
1st Vice-Pres - Mrs. Burdette Wright
2nd Vice-Pres - Mrs. W.D. Bellesfield
3rd Vice-Pres - Mrs. Amos Peterson
Secretary - Mrs. Verne Ogden
Treasurer - Mrs. Raymond Gross
Historian - Mrs. Fred Soop

Return to Table of Contents