USGenWeb - The First Seventy-five Years in the Sanborn Community (1878-1953) - IAGenWeb

Masonic Lodge

One of the early Masonic Halls was on the east side of the street above the Brady Hardware and Clark & Green General Store. Later they moved to the west side of the street above the present location of Liquor Store.
The present Masonic Temple was planned and built in 1925-1926, on the corner lots of Main and Third streets. The committee in charge was Messrs. F. Hurlbut, R.C. Sawyer, J.H. Daly, A.V. Brady, and E. Mayne with Bert Watson, Master of the Lodge as chairman.
The new Temple was dedicated October 8, 1926 with a banquet and dedicatory program.
The 1953 officers are: Clarence Getting, W.M.; Leslie Bonderman, S.W.; Garrit Roelofs, J.W.; J.W. Cravens, Treas.; A.W. Parker, Seely.; Daryle Getting, S.D.; Max Whittlesey, J.D.; H. Long, S.S.; Lloyd Getting, J.S.; D.M. Norton, Chaplain; R.H. Penning, Tyler.
Onyx Lodge U.D. held their first meeting Nov. 2, 1881. The Charter members were: D.R. Phelps, T.D. White, P. Miller, J.A. Stocum, C.E. Foote, E.M. Brady, A.G. Willits, Cal. Bradstreet, H.D. Chapin, M.S. Skinner, Ira Brashears, J.E. Drake, P. Velie, F. Teabout, N.L. Peck, A.E. Bates, Josiah Whorral, Harley Day, J.H. Douglass, E.T. Parker.
The first officers appointed to serve the Lodge after its organization were: Harley Day, W.M.; J.H. Douglass, S.W.; E.T. Parker, J.W.; E.M. Brady Treas.; A.G. Willits, Seely.; C.E. Foote, S.D.; Cal Bradstreet, J.D.; T.D. White, Tyler; Ira Brashears, Chaplain; P. Velie, S.S.; J.E. Drake, J.S.
The Charter for Onyx Lodge No. 419 A.F. & A.M. is dated June 8, 1882.

Return to Table of Contents