by Galen Lawrence


The Rock River Post Number 476 was chartered August 10, 1920. The official charter members were as follows: Troy Barb, Will Benit, Cecil Buschenfeldt, Peter Decker, Louis Dehn, Henry Duerloo, Nick Feikema, Paul Fox, Hugo Glissman, H. Glissman, Jr., Cornelius Ross, Floyd Ross, C.E. Greene, Earl Griffin, Andrew Hanson, Dale Hodge, Fred Hoppe, Louis Hoppe, James Jusper, C.A. Kohnen, C.E. Konicek, John Ennis, Herman Kooiker, Ralph Ray, C.P. Van Zanten, George Kloek, Corbie Lehman, Floyd Lehman, John Levering, White McCauley, Arthur Otten, Louis Penning, Howard Reynolds, Fred Richardson, Richard Ricke, Roy Ricke, Henry VerMaas, Arthur Warne and Royce Weatherly.

Following the Korean War post members sponsored a Korean War Book and made enough money to purchase new colors.  The present membership numbers 44 and has remained fairly consistent through the years.

Post Number 476 has always been active in veteran's and civic affairs.  For many years Boys State was sponsored in which a local representative joined others in a state wide group to learn state government.  Every year the legion conducts serivces on Memorial Day to honor the war dead and perform military rites for local veterans who have passed away.  The organization also acts as a go between for veterans seeking medical or financial help.



Soon after the American Legion was formed the legion auxiliary was chartered with the following nineteen members:  Mrs. Mina Scholten, Mrs. Alice Decker, Mrs. Henry Duerloo, Mrs. Verna Hodge, Mrs. Alice Kloek, Mrs. Johanna Kloek, Mrs. Bertha Krueger, Mrs. Alma Lehman, Mrs. Martha Moeller, Mrs. Dora Nagel, Mrs. Omme Penning, Mrs. Pearl Ricke, Mrs. Kate Penning, Miss Hattie Ricke, Miss Leona Ricke, Mrs. Fannie Richardson, Mrs. Ella Ross, Mrs. Mary Ross and Miss Mary Ross.

The auxiliary has been active in many civic and  charitable activities including erecting the town bulletin board, sponsoring Girls State every other year and making favors and cookies for the Sioux Falls Veteran's Hospital, the Rock Rapids Hospital and the Rock Rapids nursing homes.  The organization now totals nineteen members which is the same number as the original nineteen.


From Doon's Fire House Companies Number 1 and 2 in the 1890's to the modern efficient fire department of 1992, the Doon firemen have bravely answered the call to many fires great and small.

Today's equipment is housed in a spacious new firehall which was badly needed by the department.  Recent equipment includes two 1966 trucks, a newer and better equipped 1972 truck and a tanker, as well as a first responder rescue unit.

Present membership numbers about twenty and all are active in sponsoring yearly fund raisers such as pancake suppers and breakfasts, shotgun raffles and poultry parties.  The present fire chief is Andy Tennissen who serves as the town maintenance man.



The senior citizens of Doon were organized November 21, 1969 with Mrs. Sara Dykstra, Mrs. Alice Ray and Mrs. Gertrude Laackamann as the steering committee.  It was decided to call the group the Golden Hour meeting and they would get together on the first and third Tuesdays of each month with a planned program and refreshments.  There were eight members at the first regular meeting and Anna McDowell was the oldest, being 86 at that time. 

The Doon senior citizens are a very valuable asset to the town as it gets together people from different religions and backgrounds.  They go on various excursions to see the many attractions around the area and eat out at many places.  Thanksgiving and Christmas get togethers are traditional with the group and good food and good times are enjoyed by all.  In general it is a chance for many older citizens to get acquainted and to enjoy their 'golden years together.'


The Boy Scouts first became active in the 1920s and some of the early leaders were Ralph Ray, Rev. Cheney and Albert Ross.  The group became inactive during the World War II years but was later revived at various times by Loyal Siebrands, Merlyn Cadwell and Henry Rozeboom.

For the last ten years 'Woody' Ross has been a loyal scout leader and has had as many as 16 scouts in Troop 186.  Various organizations have sponsored the scouts in the past years, including the Woman's Club and firemen.  At the present the American Legion is sponsoring the troop.

The scouts have participated in such worthwhile projects as paper drives, painting the town fire hydrants, painting the crosses and podiums at the cemetery and helping to maintain the city park.

Wood Ross has had the special reward of seeing his twin sons, Pat and Mark, achieve the highest scouting award, Eagle Scouts.



These were Doon's boy scouts in the year 1963. Loyal "Butch" Siebrands was scoutmaster.


The lads are pictured, Front Row, Left to Right: Bernic Johnson, Jim Teuissen, Dean Schouten, Daniel Boon, Rus Krull, Curt Krull and David Boon.

Middle Row, Left to Right: John Teunissen, Darlo LeMonds, Ken DeJong, Mike Ryan, Glen Myers and Dan Anderson.

Back Row, Left to Right: Donald Boon, Assistant Scoutmaster and Butch Siebrands, Scoutmaster.


Index | Home