Lucas County, Iowa


Lucas County Courthouse, Chariton, Iowa

(Click on photo for larger image.  Contributed by Delbert Spencer, Colorado)


       Welcome to Lucas County 

I'm the Lucas County Coordinator for IAGenWeb.  My name is Ann (Sears) Selvig. I look forward to adding your contributions to the Lucas County web site. 

If you have data to contribute please contact the me by clicking on the following link.  If you have a question or query, please post it to the Queries Board below.


We look forward to hearing from you!


 Search This Site

site search by freefind advanced
Search our message boards for additional records! (obits, bios, docs, queries) Click for hints on searching our boards.
State Wide Iowa Search the message boards.


                        Obituary Board

Click the logo to submit a BIOGRAPHY
(don't forget to cite your source)

Click the logo to submit a DOCUMENT
(don't forget to cite your source)

Click the logo to submit an OBITUARY
(don't forget to cite your source)

Post a new query, search or browse our QUERIES.
Photographs Queries
Research Resources Photographs of unidentified people Archived Queries 1997

Picture postcards Contributed by Gary Tharp Archived Queries 1998 Jan - May

Lucas County Newspapers
Photos: Lucas County Schools
Lucas County Census
Lucas County Families
1850 United States Federal Census
Lucas County GAR Posts 1860 United Stated Federal Census
1812 Lucas County Veterans
1870 United States Federal Census Maps
Veteran Burials in Lucas County 1900 United States Federal Census Maps
1883 Pensioners List

Vietnam war casualties
1895 Iowa State Census Lucas County Directories
Korean war casualties

1943 Russell Directory

Postcards of Lucas County
1955 Russell Directory

Lucas County postcards April 1963 Humeston Derby Phonebook
Lucas County Courthouse - Iowa State Association of Counties
June 1956 Chariton, Lucas, Williamson Phonebook

Lucas County businesses 1912-1913
Lucas County Marriages Cemeteries
William Naismith Transcribed Marriage Indexes - 1850-1900 Lucas County Cemetery List

Transcribed Early Marriages - 1880-1899 Other Cemetery Information
Miscellaneous Lucas County Death Records Lucas County Birth Records

Iowa Mortality Schedules 1850-1880 1904-1906 Birth Index
Lucas County Ministers and Pastors
 Lucas County Death Index Jul 1918 - 1922
1905 Post-Offices and Postmasters
 Lucas County Death Index 1935 - 1939 Lucas County Physicians
Chariton class of 1879 Commencement
1886 - 1887
History of the Derby M. E. Church - 1900

1913 Past & Present of Lucas & Wayne Counties Lucas County Mining History

Lucas County Mining Casualties

Lucas County Mine Inspections 1937-1947


WW II Special Project Iowa Gravestone Photo Project
Iowa State Census Project Iowa in the Great War Iowa in the Civil War Iowa Old Press Iowa Family Group Sheet Iowa History Project Iowa Graves Survey WPA

Click the logo to visit the site

Click the logo to search for/submit your gravestone photos for Lucas county.

 Click he following link for a surname index
 Surname Index of Gravestone Photos

Click the logo to submit search state census and volunteer to transcribe

(don't forget to cite your source)

Click the logo to submit information for the Great War

(don't forget to cite your source)

Click the logo to submit Civil War items for Lucas county and Iowa

(don't forget to cite your source)

Click the logo to submit newspaper items for Lucas county and Iowa

  a must read

(don't forget to cite your source)

Click the logo to submit your family group sheets for Lucas county and Iowa

(don't forget to cite your source)

Click the logo to see what the Iowa History Project Library holds. Click the logo to search the WPA Iowa Graves Survey Database.

Lucas County was founded January 13, 1846 and is named after former Territorial Governor Robert Lucas.  The county has a total area of 434 square miles, of which 431 square miles are land, with 3.8 square miles being water.

Counties adjacent to Lucas include Warren County to the northwest, Marion County to the northeast, Monroe County to the east, Wayne County to the south and Clarke County to the west.

The population of Lucas County in the 2020 census was 8,634 people
which was a decrease of 254 people or decline of -3%.

The population of Lucas County in the 2010 census was 8,898 people which was a decrease of 524 people or decline of 5.6%.

The population of Lucas County in the 2000 census was 9,422 people.

Chariton is the county seat, as well as being the largest city with a population of 4,193 in 2020.  Other cities include Russell, Lucas, Williamson and Derby with Norwood being unincorporated. 

Lucas County has 12 townships, Benton, Cedar, English, Jackson, Liberty, Lincoln, Otter Creek, Pleasant, Union, Warren, Washington and Whitebreast.


Many families living close to Lucas county borders have links in the bordering counties, so be sure to do a search of Lucas county's neighbors!

Join Our Team 

Contribute to genealogy by transcribing records, adopting a county or contributing information. Click on the Join Our Team logo at left to read all about joining us.

Friends of IAGenWeb

Space for this site and others is funded by The Friends of IAGenWeb.


In keeping with our policy of providing free internet information. On-Site data contained within this site & pages may be used by non-commercial researchers, as long as this message remains on all copied material. These electronic pages may not be reproduced in any format for profit, or for presentation in any form by any other group/organization or individual. Persons or organizations wishing to use this material for purposes other than as stated above, must obtain written permission from either the author or the submitter and also must get permission from the Lucas Co., Iowa Coordinator. Please read the IAGenWeb Terms, Conditions & Disclaimer all of which applies to the Lucas Co., Iowa website.

this project was last updated on October 8, 2023

Copyright 1997-2024