Go to: Home Page * History *
Harrison County Iowa Genealogy

Harrison County Iowa Pioneers List

Harrison County became organized on March 7, 1853 by an act of the 4th Iowa General Assembly.

Harrison County Pioneers Settling Before 1854

[Underlined Names are linked to On-line Biographies] PIONEER NAME YEAR OF HOMESTEAD TOWN and/or TWP Allen, Orville M 1849 Raglan (Allen Twp namesake) Atkins, Isaac M 1853 Morgan Barnett, Solomon 1853 Magnolia Barney brothers 1847 Bingham, George 1847/48 Calhoun Binnell, Thomas 1850? Douglas Blackman, George 1850 Magnolia Brady, Peter 1852 Jefferson Branson, William H 1853 St Johns Brimm, Alfred 1853 Union Brooner Family 1850/53 Cincinnati? Brown, Daniel Apr,1847 Calhoun Burcham, Andrew J 1853 Morgan Butler, Lorenzo D Feb,1851 Boyer Card, Rev. Kirtland 1850/53 Cass Carvelho, Charles 1852 LaGrange Chase, Amos S 1848 Clay Chase Seth 1853 Clay Chatburn, Jonas 1852 Magnolia Cleveland, G 1847/48 Calhoun Coleman, Erastus 1852 St Johns Condit, Silas W 1848 Little Sioux Cooper, P G 1853? 1st elected County Treasurer Cooper, William 1853? 1st Clerk of the Courts Copeland, Wickliffe C Nov,1852 Jefferson Cutler, C I 1853 Magnolia Dakan, William 1851 LaGrange/St Johns Davis, Eleazer 1847/48 Calhoun/St Johns Deal, Joseph A 1852 St Johns Divelbess, Benjamin 1852 LaGrange Dobson, Thomas 1849 Union Dow, S E 1851 Jefferson (founded Dow City) Dungan, James 1852/53 Jefferson/Cass Earl, Asa 1848 LaGrange Farnsworth, Samuel 1852 Douglas Follet, Nelson 1851 Raglan Fry, Amon Feb,1853 Boyer Fry, David 1853 Boyer Gamet, David 1853 Magnolia Gamet, James 1851 Raglan Gilmore, Charles 1850 Raglan Hall, Mathew 1850/51 Douglas Hall, Robert 1853 Taylor Hamilton, Capt. Chester 1852 Raglan (1st elected Sheriff) Hardy, James 1852 Magnolia/Calhoun Harris, John 1848 LaGrange (Harris' Grove) Hawkins, Uriah Jul,1847 Cass Henderson, John W Apr,1853 Jefferson Hester, Stephen A 1853 Clay Holeton, John 1853 Boyer Hough, Riley 1849 Union Houghton, Edward 1850/53 Cass Howard, William 1850/51 LaGrange Hunt, Alonzo 1848 Hunt, Jason Z May,1850 Jefferson Jefferson, Luke 1853 Boyer Jeffrey, John 1851 Boyer Jewell, Daniel 1850/51 LaGrange King, Stephen 1852 Jefferson (1st County Judge) Kirk, Jacob 1853 Jefferson LaPonteur, Charles 1853 Jackson? LaPorte, B F 1852 Jefferson Lawrence, George 1848/49 St Johns Litz, William 1847/48 Calhoun Lockling, Artemis W 1851 Raglan/Magnolia Longman, Alfred Sr 1853 Jefferson/Taylor Maule, Donald 1851 Raglan McCurley, James 1851 LaGrange/Jefferson McGavren, Dr Robert 1850 just over the Pott. Co. line McGavren, Samuel Feb,1853 Jefferson McIntire, John 1853 Boyer McKenney, Michael 1851 LaGrange McKenney, Thomas 1851 LaGrange (fa.of Michael/John) McKenney, John 1851 LaGrange Mefferd, William 1850 Douglas Merchant, Lucius 1851 Magnolia Mongrum, Mr 1848/49 St Johns Motz, Jerry 1853 Clay Musgrave, Richard 1851 Boyer Neeley, Nathaniel 1852 Little Sioux Neeley, Thomas 1850 Little Sioux Orinder, Mr 1850/51 LaGrange Palmer, Seth 1852 Little Sioux Perjue, Ira 1847/48 Calhoun Perkins, John L 1853 Little Sioux Reeder, Thomas 1850/51 LaGrange Reel, Henry 1853 Jefferson Reynolds, John 1848 St Johns Rogers, John 1852 LaGrange Sellers, Alfred 1853 Union Sellers, Thomas 1850/51 Union Shupe, Peter R 1851 Calhoun Smith, Charles 1849/50 Boyer Smith, Charles Jr 1848/49 St Johns Smith, H S 1853 Union Smith, William Sr 1848/49 St Johns Spencer, William 1849 St Johns Steele, William 1848/49 St Johns Stevens, Adam 1848/49 St Johns Streeter, Morton 1851 Raglan Thompson, John 1852? 1st elected School Fund Comm. Thompson, Thomas 1852 Boyer Thorpe, George 1853 Jefferson Thorpe, Owen 1852? Jeddo (defunct) Tucker, William 1853 Union Vanderhoof, Thomas May,1852 Jefferson/LaGrange Vincent, Ezra 1847/48 Calhoun Walker, Alfred 1853 St Johns Walker, Hugh 1849 Morgan White, George S 1852 LaGrange (1st Cnty Surveyor) Wiemer, Robert 1848 LaGrange Wild, Thomas 1851 Douglas Wills Family, Jesse,.. 1847/48 Calhoun Wood, Samuel 1850 Union This information was extracted from the 1891 History of Harrison County.

Harrison County Pioneers Settling After 1853

[Underlined Names are either linked to On-line Biographies, or e-mail contacts] PIONEER NAME YEAR OF HOMESTEAD TOWN and/or TWP Smith, Solomon Jennings 1854/55 Little Sioux (Smith's Lake) Smith, James M. 1855 St. John Twp Henry Hushaw 1855 Lincoln Township, Section 36 Noyes, John 1856 Morgan Township Armstrong, James L. 1856 Jefferson Township, Sec. 24 Armstrong, Harvey V. 1856 Union Township, Sec. 5 Snyder, Lewis S. 1856/57 Magnolia Noble, Josiah Amos 1857 Cincinnati Twp, Section 36 Parkin, John A. 1857 Harris Grove - Union Twp, Sec. 6 Tolle, Lewis E. 1857 Jackson Township Moore, Hiram 1857 Lincoln Township, Sec 36 Martin, John c1858 St. John twp (Civil War veteran) George Franklin Rigg 1860 Boyer and Harrison Twp Barnes, Nathan Dodson 1866 Six Mile Creek, n of Six Mile Grove Spracklin, Solomon G 1866 Taylor Township, Sec 19 Alexander, Benjamin F 1869 Clay Township, Sec 14 Greene, Benajah Samuel 1870 Harrison Township, Sec 22 Norman, James H. 1871 Union Township, Sec 35 Powley, Abel (pictoral bio.) 1873 Lincoln Township, Sec 36 Nielsen, Thor c1882 Little Sioux twp (aka Thomas Nelson)

IOWA PIONEERS LIST (IPL) - Harrison and Neighboring Counties

PIONEER NAME SPOUSE NAME BYEAR SYEAR TOWN and/or TWP HARRISON COUNTY, IOWA ACREA, Thomas J. DEAL, Sarah Ann 1837 1855 Jefferson Twp BERRY, William Henry ??, Palmira 1839 1853 PARCEL, Ulysses S. RUTTER, Fannie 1881 1881 PEYTON, Lacey JONES, Eliza 1816 1855 PEYTON, Lacey PURCELL, Nancy 1816 1855 PEYTON, Lacey MONROE, Catherin 1816 1855 SHUPE, Peter Cynthia Lockling 1830 1852 SHELBY COUNTY, IOWA ROUNDY, Washington WILLIAMS, Alvira 1825 1850 TAGUE, Jacob J. POLING, Peree 1846 1849 PIONEER NAME SPOUSE NAME BYEAR SYEAR TOWNand/orTWP POTTAWATTAMIE COUNTY, IOWA DERMODY, Anna Sarah 1881 1881 AvocaTwp GAHNSTROM, Jacob 1799 1865? Council Bluffs GAHNSTROM, Magdelana 1841 1865? Council Bluffs GAHNSTROM, Mary ? 1865? Council Bluffs HAYWOOD, Mary BENNEHOFF, Georg 1847 1860? JOHNSON, George W. -----, Mary Ann 1824 1860 RockfordTwp JOHNSON, Horace W. RICHARDS, Julia 1860 1874 Council Bluffs OTTO, James FIELD, Mahettabl 1796 1851 Kanesville POQUET, Paul BECKSTED, Mary L 1814? 1849+ PRICE, Rees D. JONES, Jane 1813 1850 Log City ROBERTS, Benjamin M. BULLOCK, Mary A. 1827 1846 SHEARER, Joel BLACKWELL, Phoeb 1791 1853? Council Bluffs SMITH, John KOONTS, Elizabet 1799 1847+ Grove Twp. STEBLER, Fred -----, Eva 1834 1860 CouncilBluffs STEBLER, Jacob ADAMS, Jennie 1842 1872 Minden STEBLER, Jesse 1876 Minden STEBLER, Nancy AINLSIE, Wm 1881 Minden STEPHENS, John BRIGGS, Elizabe 1811 1849 Council Bluffs TAGGART, George W. PARKS, Fannie 1816 1846+ TAYLOR, Pleasant ALLISON, Jane 1811 1850 Silver Cr. Twp. WELBOURN, Frederick MOORE, Ann 1825 1850? MONONA COUNTY, IOWA WILEY, William H. BEATLEY, Eliz. 1825 1855

Return to History Index ~ Harrison Co. IAGenWeb Home Page