Iowa GenWeb


Hamilton County IAGenWeb


USGENWEB NOTICE: In keeping with our policy of providing free information on the Internet, material may be freely used by non-commercial entities, for their private use as long as this message remains on all copied material, AND permission is obtained from the contributor of the file. Any other use, including publication, storage in a retrieval system, or transmission by electronic, mechanical, or other means requires the written approval of the file's author. These electronic pages may NOT be reproduced in any format for profit or presentation by other organizations. Persons or organizations desiring to use this material for non-commercial purposes, MUST obtain the written consent of the contributor, OR the legal representative of the submitter, and contact the listed USGenWeb archivist with proof of this consent.

Transcribed for IAGenWeb by Janelle Martin, 2000
Homer School 1869
Written by John Harrison (1881-1955)

    On the 6th of September 1869, the school board composed of J.H.Williams, President; J.A. Bartels, Secretary; B.F. Derr, Treasurer; J.W. Dickey, Director. Also, William Haverly and W.C. Daniels decided to build a new school house on the public square of Homer. Size to be 30x30x18 feet and stairs at the end of the building.

            Early in 1885 this school burned to the ground. On February 2, 1885 a meeting was called which decided to build a new two story school. Members present as follows: James Clark, B. E. Boynton, William Hiatt and Dave Coleman.
John L. French, Secretary.

            On April 7, 1885, a committee was appointed to make arrangements to use the M.E. Church for school purposes for the summer school. B.E. Boynton, C. Woolsey were on the committee. Also at this meeting a contract was let to Horace F. Clark for the sum of $1250. to build the building. This contract was sublet to Howard and Beightol. This building was insured with the Monark Insurance Co. of Des Moines for the sum of $1000. through Adam Kepler for 5 years.


Transcribed for IAGenWeb by Janelle Martin, 2000


            By John Harrison

B.E. Boynton                John Eslick

A.B.Clark                    F.A. Young

Charles Near                B.F. Dally

J.L. French                   R.G. Pierce

F.H. Bartels                  Elick Pierce

John Shaffer                 Joe Gee      

Page 2  (Early Settlers of Homer, Iowa)

                                    A. Wren

Wm. Shaffer                 Dave Coleman

Z.T. Holland                 Bert Widick

H.L. Corbin                  Joe Widick

O. Brower                    D.D. Woodard

E. Gordon                    Willard Sweet

J. H. Dayton                 Andrew Knoll

M.R. Williams              Harry Haverly

C. Woolsey                  James Pendergast

W.P. Miller                  Frank Jones

Elmer White                 Elmer Boynton

J.W. Risk                     Nellie Dayton

Thomas Fisher              Otto Anker

Wm. DeFrance             S. Cunningham

Atta Woolsey               J.A. Bartels

Lodema Corbin            J.W. Johnson

Minnie Owens              Charley Owens

Hattie Boynton            Wm. Keyser

Nellie Dayton               N. Bawden

Viola Fisher                  R. Spalding

Judson Shaffer              C. Nelson

Charles Howard           Milton Dally

Frank Vegors               John Collins

Isaac Dingman              Frank Gordon

Sam McFarland            Valentine Knoll

Grant Vegors                L.C. Dale

Siam Stevenson            Charles Young

Will Stevenson              Benjamin Fisher

Dr. Boone                    Geo. Owens

Frank Dayton               Geo. Hoover

Simp(?) Eslick              Henry Dally

J.F. Bell                        J.M. Bennet

          David Haller                 E.P.  Harrison, Sr.

     Geo. Cliver                   L. S. Woolsey

                                D. Rose

p. 3 of original notes are handwritten by Mrs. John Harrison.

Oliver Rehnblom           Henry Miller                 J.O.A.(?) Miller

Herman Schweppe       Nillis Graham                Herb Dale

Thomas Barr                George Johnson            Lon Crosby

Charles Royster            Peter Royster               Frank Royster

J.E. Williams                 Josiah Williams            C.H. Elliott

A. Christensen              Frank Hollis                  Fred Hollis

George Daniels             James Clark                 Andrew Leksell

John Filloon                  Byron Brooks               Charley Brooks

Page 3 (Early Settlers of Homer, Iowa)


George Brock              John Brock                   Jasper Bell

   J.O. Prim                      Nick Prim                     Charley Stitzer

William Spicer              Oscar Beightol              Nels  Ober

William Leslie               M.C. Juhl                     Ed Mulholland

Carl Mulholland            Johnie Barr                   Henry Royster

Frank Bryan