Arlington News Office, Brush Creek/Arlington Fayette Co., Iowa

Fayette County IAGenWeb

Join Our Team


Photo Courtesy of Nancy Espersen


Fayette County Leader

~ ~ ~ *** ~ ~ ~

Fayette County Leader

February 24, 1927 Front Page





Banquet Was Served in Sixty at the Masonic Hall Preceding the Installation of Officers.


Although Judge Hubert Utterback of Des Moines was unable to be present at the installation of the officers of Orion Chapter, order of DeMolay, the guest went home with a pleasant memory of an evening well spent. 


The mothers of the members and wives of council members had furnished a sumptuous supper which was served at 6:30 to about sixty persons. Everything one could wish in the line of food was there and plenty of it. No one was anxious to leave the tables, however, as there seemed an overabundance of good cheer, and so, many had to be warned that the eight o'clock program was about to begin upstairs before they could leave the festive board.


Because of the absence of our Master Councilor, Eugene D. Harvey, Brother Arthur Carpenter opened the Chapter in the public ceremonial, consisting of opening the bible on the altar, placing the school books and lighting the seven cardinal virtues inculcated in the order, and presenting the Flag, singing America an prayer by the Chaplain.


Miss Clara Hoyt then in her very pleasing way entertained us with two vocal numbers followed by a groupf of two readings by miss Besie Oelbert, which gave us the touch of levity so essential to a well rounded program.

Brother Robert Fox as Installing Officer, then installed the following officers:


Master councilor, Clifford Holtzman

Senior Councilor, Sidney Ainsworth

Junior Councilor, charles Hoffman

Treasurer, Howard Hartman

Scribe, Arthur Carpenter

Senior Deacon, Edward Robinson

Junior Deacon, Lowell Finch 

Senior Steward, Richard Clothier

Junior Steward, Edward Ashbaugh

Orator, Robert Dickman

Sentinel, Sam McMAsters

Chaplain, John Carvey

Marshal, Robert Fox

Standard Bearer, Marcus Baker

Almoner, Norman Clothier

Frist Preceptor, Eugene Harvey

Second Preceptor, Winfield Fawcett

Third Preceptor, DeWitt Chittenden

Fourth Preceptor, Guy Bennington

Fifth Preceptor, Foryst Wells

Sixth Preceptor, Lester Spatcher

Seventh Preceptor, Hugh Martin

~ transcribed and contributed by Crystal A. Bingham <>

back to Fayette Home