Arlington News Office, Brush Creek/Arlington Fayette Co., Iowa

Fayette County IAGenWeb

Join Our Team


Photo Courtesy of Nancy Espersen


Elgin Echo Newspaper

~ ~ ~ *** ~ ~ ~

Elgin Echo

Elgin, Iowa

December 31, 1931



The fifteenth annual meeting of the Fayette county farm bureau drew a capacity crowd at Fayette last Monday when at least 350 men and women crowded into the American Legion hall to hear reports, talks, stunts and music.


The outlined program was carried out almost to the letter with the exception of the report of County Agent Lodwick which was omitted because of a lack of time. His report however, will appear in the January issue of the Farm bureau Exchange.


Tax information presented by county Auditor J. H. Cline offered a ray of hope when it showed that the county supervisors had slashed the county bill that is under their jurisdiction. $40,488.00 for the coming year and that the general school tax in the county would be reduced approximately $100,000. His reported showed that the assessed value of land in Fayette county had been reduced from an average of $74.95 in 1926 to $53.72 at the present time.


Dr. a. E. Bennett, new president of Upper Iowa University, spoke briefly of some of the changes in agricultural conditions and the need of more and useful education in order to cope with existing conditions.


Entertainment galore was furnished by the “Little German Band” of Elgin under the direction of Matty Zurbriggen, an by Mrs. A. A. Elliott and Mrs. Grant Kiel of Smithfield township, with their comedy act. A report of the home project and girls clubs was given by Geraldine Brainard and short talks by Mrs. M. E. Talcott of Center township on “A Local Leaders’ Day,” by Mrs. W. H. Turner of Westfield on “Why Nutrition” and by Ruth Saltsgiver of Union on “Girls 4-H Clubs.”  L. C. Surfus, county manager of the Service Company emphasized “Faith” as the principal element in a successful cooperative endeavor. Both men and women quartettes from Harlan township sang in addition to some spirited community singing immediately following dinner, led by W. L. Peters.


G. E. Sauerbry of Jefferson township, was re-elected president and J. F. Wilkinson of Scott, vice-president, B. J. Baumgartner of Pleasant Valley, treasurer, and Ray A. Ball of Oelwein, secretary. Mrs. G. E. Sauerbry was elected bounty project leader, Mrs. Will King of Fairfield, county publicity chairman, and Mrs. J. B. Turner of Center, county girls club leader.




~ transcribed and contributed by Crystal A. Bingham <>

back to Fayette Home