Join Our Team



Fayette County, Iowa  

 Biography Directory


Portrait & Biographical Album of Fayette County Iowa

Containing Full Page Portraits and Biographical Sketches of

Prominent and Representative Citizens of the County

Lake City Publishing Co., Chicago

March 1891


~Page 674~


The Bank of West Union


THE BANK OF WEST UNION was incorporated March 12, 1883, the certificates of the Auditor of State being issued on the 10th of July following.  The authorized capital is $100,00, and it has a paid up capital of $91,000.  The incorporators were A. Rawson, John Jamison. G.H. Thomas, J.H. Lakin, J.B. Green, William S. Hoyt, William Larrabee, F.Y. Whitmore and O.B. Dodd The above named gentlemen constituted the first Board of Directors, and the present board is the same with the exception of the omission of the names of A. Rawson, J. B. Green and J.H. Lakin, and the addition of William Colby, Jay M. Stevenson and James Graham.  The officers at first were: President, John Jamison; Vice-President, J.H. Lakin; and Cashier, F.Y. Whitmore, and continue the same except Vice-President G.H. Thomas having succeeded J.H. Lakin. The amount of annual deposits reach in round numbers to $110,000. The business is largely commercial. The surplus and profits, after paying a semi-annual dividend of four per cent, is to date $5,000. The bank building is the property of the bank and was built by the corporation.  The bank has done a conservative and prosperous business.




back to Fayette 1891 Biography Index

back to Fayette Biography Directory

back to Fayette County home