EDWARD D. SCHAEFER.
Edward D. Schaefer, who owns a fine farm on section 3, Armstrong Grove township, is making a specialty of raising high grade Chester White hogs and has been a leader in the development of the stock raising interests of the county. He is also financially interested in theFarmers Elevator Company and the Farmers Creamery Company, bothof Armstrong. A native of Wisconsin, he was born in Dane county,December 29, 1859, a son of John and Marguerite Schaefer, both of whom were born in Germany. Upon crossing the Atlantic they located in Canada, but after a short time removed to Chicago, whence they wentto Milwaukee. Subsequently they removed to Dane county and there the father purchased land which he farmed until his death in 1891. He had survived his wife for ten years. Edward D. Schaefer grew to manhood in Dane county, Wisconsin,and after completing his education gave his entire time to assisting his father. When he became of age he was given charge of the home farm and operated it for two years, but in 1882 he went to South Dakota and took up land under the homestead act, cultivating that tract for seven years. He then disposed of the property and went to Jackson county, Minnesota, whence, three years later, he came to Emmet county,Iowa. For four years he rented land here and at the end of that time was able to buy eighty acres on section 3, Armstrong Grove township, which he still owns. He has given particular attention to the breeding of Chester White hogs and has found that business highly profitable. He has investments other than his farm as he is financially interested in the Farmers Elevator Company and the Farmers Creamery Company of Armstrong.
On the 24th of August, 1880, was celebrated the marriage of Mr.Schaefer and Miss Lizzie Ulrich and they have three children: Barbara,the wife of George Paul, of Armstrong, Iowa; Clara, who married Fred Mussen, a merchant of Gruver, Emmet county; and Elmer, who married Pearl Helgason and is farming the home place. Mr. Schaefer is a stanch advocate of the principles of the democratic party and takes a commendable interest in public affairs, although never an office seeker. He belongs to the Methodist Episcopal church,which indicates his interest in the moral welfare of his community, and his life has conformed so closely to high standards of ethics as to win him the sincere respect of his fellows.
Daniel Sorensen, who is operating the family homestead in Denmark township, has chosen to devote his time and energy to dairying and has given careful study to the various phases of that business. He.was born in Franklin county, Iowa, November 27, 1881, a son of John A.and Mary (Davidsen) Sorensen, who are living retired in Ringsted and a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. He received his education in the district schools and later attended Des Moines College, being a student there during the year 1902-3. After completing his education he worked as a carpenter for four years, or until he was twenty-five years old, and during the succeeding seven years operated a farm belonging to his father in Kossuth county. In 1913, when his parents retired, he purchased'the home place in Denmark township, Emmet county, and has since resided there. His farm comprises the south half of the northwest quarter of section 13 and the north forty acres of the northwest quarter of section 24 and is as good land as can be found in the township. The improvements upon the place are modern and everything is kept in the best of repair. He is specializing in dairying, has a fine herd of cows and receives a gratifying annual income from the sale of his milk.
Mr. Sorensen was married in 1909 to Miss Ida Carrie Henricksen,a daughter of John and Hannah Henricksen, of Denmark township. Two children have been born to this union, namely: Arnold, whose birth occurred December 9, 1910; and Edna, born December 16, 1914.The republican party has a stanch supporter in Mr. Sorensen but he has never had the time nor the inclination to take an active part in politics. Fraternally he is connected with the Yeomen at Ringsted and his church membership. is held in St. Paul's. The same qualities which have enabled him to win a place among the substantial men of his locality ensure his continued success.
HILAND H. SHIPMAN.
Hiland H. Shipman, now living retired in Milford, Iowa, was born on the 20th of April, 1841, in Vermont, of which state his parents, Asher and Mary (Taylor) Shipman, were also natives. The father worked at the shoemaker's trade and was also a dealer in shoes at Weathersfield, Vermont, where he died in 1842. The mother subsequently married again and hd death occurred in Milford, Iowa, in 1902. In the Green Mountain. state Hiland H. Shipman grew to manhood, in the meantime pursuing his studies in the local schools. He was twenty years of age when the Civil war broke out and he offered his services to the Union, enlisting in 1861 in Company E, Fourth Vermont Volunteer Infantry. After spending about one year at the front, he was honorably discharged on account of illness and returned to his home in Vermont. A year and a half later he removed to Fulton, New York, where he engaged in clerking in a store for one 'year and then worked for an uncle about the same length of time.
It was in 1865 that Mr. Shipman came to Iowa, accompanying. his mother and stepfather on their removal to Delaware county, where he worked at the carpenter's trade until 1871. Since that time he has been a resident of Dickinson county. On his, arrival here he took up a homestead on section 36, Milford township, on which he erected sod buildings, and at once began to break the ground and put the land under cultivation. Later he built a frame house and made other substantial improvements, continuing the operation of that farm until September, 1892, when he removed to a tract of twenty-one acres south of Milford. At that time he practically retired from active labor but continued to supervise his farming interests until 1912, when he took up his abode at his present residence in Milford. For several years he served'as a director of the First National Bank of that place but later resigned although he is still a stockholder.
On the 24th of December, 1874, Mr. Shipman married Miss Abbie Bisbee, a daughter of Alvin and Diana (Litchfield) Bisbee, who were natives of Massachusetts and pioneers of Dickinson county, arriving here in 1872. After following farming for many years Mr. Bisbee sold
out and removed to Osage, Iowa, where he passed away May 18, 1906. His widow is still living at the age of eighty-nine years and makes her home with Mr. and Mrs. Shipman. To our subject and his wife was born one child, Minnie, who married J. B. Coyle and died in April, 1905,and Mr. Coyle passed away November 16, 1913.Politically Mr. Shipman is a republican and while residing upon his farm he served as township trustee, clerk and assessor of Milford township. In 1890 he built several bridges in Dickinson county and has borne a prominent part in the development of this region, especially along agricultural lines. In religious faith he is a Congregationalist and he is now serving as commander of Waller Post, G. A. R., of which he has long been an honored member. A loyal and patriotic citizen, he has been found as true to his country in days of peace as in time of war and he is held in the highest esteem by all who know him.
JOSEPH JOHN ESTES
Joseph John Estes, who is still engaged in farming in Spirit Lake township, was one of the early settlers of the county and throughout the many years of his residence here has been held in high esteem by all who know him. He was born near Princeton, in Bureau county, Illinois, on the 23d of January, 1859, and is a son of John Marion and Polly (Johnstone) Estes. The father was born in Indiana, received a good education in that state and in his youth learned the mechanic's trade. He was married in Indianapolis and went with his bride partly by river and partly over land to Muscatine, Iowa, where he was employed on the construction of an iron bridge which the government was building across the Mississippi. Subsequently he conducted a machine and blacksmith shop in Bureau county, Illinois, near Princeton, manufacturing plows, etc. After the completion of the railroad to Sheffield he removed to that town, where he passed his remaining days. His wife, a native of Allisonville, now apart of Cincinnati, Ohio, was taken by her parents to Indianapolis, Indiana, when but five years old, the family traveling the entire distance on horseback. She died in Sheffield.
Joseph J. Estes received his education in his native county but was compelled to go to work at the early age of ten years as his father had died five years previously and the family was in limited circumstances. He worked during the summers and had the privilege of attending school during the winter months. He remained in the prairie state until he was twenty-five years old, when he emigrated westward, arriving in Spirit Lake in March, 1884. For twelve years he rented land in Spirit Lake township and in 1896 bought one hundred and thirty-five acres on section73, that township, to which he has added by subsequent purchase, his hold-ings now comprising two hundred and forty acres in a body. When he bought his farm there were some fairly good buildings thereon but hehas made many other improvements, thereby greatly enhancing the value of the place. He does general farming but is giving particular attentionto the raising of registered Poland China hogs. He aided in organizing the telephone company and is ranked among the substantial men of his township.
On the 17th day of May, 1881, Mr. Estes was united in marriage to Miss Hattie Parker at Princeton, Illinois. She was born in Bureau county,that state, and there received her education. Her parents, Albert M.and Effie (Coleman) Parker, were both born in Hackettstown, New Jersey, but became early settlers of Bureau county, Illinois, where the father engaged in farming for many years.
He lived retired in Sheffield, Illinois,until his death, March 26, 1917. His wife passed away some years previous. To Mr. and Mrs. Estes have been born nine children. Joseph Randall, a native of Bureau county, Illinois, owns and operates land on section 13, Spirit Lake township. He married Miss Altona Gray, of Dickinson county, and they have a son, Harold Randall. Laura May, who was born in Spirit Lake township, is the wife of Ernest C. Carlton, the present treasurer of Dickinson county. Dora Hazel, who was born in Diamond Lake township, Dickinson county, is the wife of George E. Mitchell, a member of the firm of Mitchell Brothers, owners of the Spirit Lake Motor Company. Albert Monroe, who was born in Diamond Lake township,Dickinson county, is now a mechanic and resides in Spirit Lake. Elsie Genevieve, who was also born in Diamond Lake township, is the wife of Clyde Beck, a farmer of Jackson county, Minnesota. Jesse Earl and Bessie Pearl are twins. Tracy and Ruth Elizabeth are attending school. Mr. Estes is a stanch democrat in politics and has served his township as tax assessor and has also been secretary of the school board for eight years. In religious: faith he is a Universalist and fraternally he is connected with the Modern Woodmen of America at Spirit Lake, in which he has held various offices. He is characterized by sound judgment, enterprise and a progressive spirit and the prosperity which he has won is but the natural result of the exercise of those qualities.
INGVAL S. REFSELL
Ingval S. Refsell is a representative of a prominent and well known family of Emmet county. He has practically been a lifelong resident here, for he was only two and one-half years of age when brought by his parents to Iowa. He was born in Norway, December 3, 1864, a son of Ole and Mary Refsell, who in 1867 came to the United States and established their home in Emmet county, casting in their lot with its early settlers. The family home was one of the pioneer farms of the district and thereon Ingval S. Refsell was reared, while his education was acquired in the district schools not far distant. When not busy with his textbooks he worked in the fields and his youth was a period
of earnest labor in which he learned to correctly value industry and perseverance as factors in the attainment of success. He remained at home until he attained his majority and then purchased the farm upon which he now resides, comprising two hundred and twenty acres of land on section 21, High Lake township. In the intervening years he has wrought a marked transformation in the appearance of his place, to which he has added many modern improvements, including fine buildings that furnish ample shelter to grain and stock. His home is an attractive residence and is the abode of warm-hearted hospitality. In addition to tilling his fields he makes a specialty of raising stock and in that undertaking is meeting with deserved success.
On December 12, 1894, was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Refsell and Miss Bertha Nestegaard, a native of Norway and a daughter of Lars and Bertha (Swenson) Nestegaard, who were also born in the same country. They came to America in early life and spent their remaining days in Emmet county. Mr. and Mrs. Refsell have become parents of a son and three daughters: Ole L., Mabel S., Ina Bertha and Alice Irene. Mr. Refsell supports the republican party and keeps well informed on the questions and issues of the day. He has served as school director but has never been a politician in the usually accepted sense of seeking office. He and his wife are consistent members of the Lutheran church, loyal to its teachings and its purposes, and they have gained many warm friends by reason of the spirit,o f Christianity which they display in every relation of life. Mr. Refsell has proven himself an enterprising and progressive business man, utilizing his time and talents to good advantage, and he has ever keep abreast with the spirit of progress in the methods in which he carries on his farm work.
Since removing to Armstrong from his farm Chris Eckhart has conducted a horse and auto livery and has proved very successful in the management of his business interests. A native of Illinois, he was born in Lee county on the 17th of April, 1862, a son of Henry and Martha (Motz) Eckhart, who removed from Germany to America many years ago. The father purchased land in Lee county, Illinois, and engaged in farming there until his death in 1876. He was survived for many years by his widow, who died in October, 1913.Chris Eckhart was reared and educated in Lee county, Illinois, and remained with his mother until he became of age, when he removed westward to Tama county, Iowa. He rented land there until 1892, when he arrived in Emmet county and bought land in Lincoln township. The farm was unimproved when it came into his possession, but as the years passed he made it one of the best developed farms of his locality,
devoting his entire attention to its operation until February, 1916, when he sold the place and came to Armstrong. He has since conducted a horse and auto delivery and derives a good income from his business. He likewise owns stock in the Farmers Elevator Company of Armstrong and the Farmers Savings Bank at Dolliver.
In 1895 Mr. Eckhart was united in marriage to Miss Lena Bloss,who died in 1898, leaving two children, Fred and Mary, both still at home. On the 17th of December, 1900, Mr. Eckhart was married to Miss Henrietta Sievers and they had two children, but both died in infancy.Mr. Eckhart is a strong republican and has discharged to the full the duties devolving upon him as a good citizen but has never been an office seeker. He is in sympathy with the work of all the churches, but has never been identified with any one denomination. He is characterized by broad-mindedness, enterprise and strict honesty and is justly held in high esteem by all who know him.
The time and energy of Cecil McNary have been devoted to the management of important business interests and an active participation in the public life'of his town. He is manager of the James A. Smith Lumber Company at Terril, and is also vice president of the First National Bank. A native of Iowa, he was born in Linn county, July 20, 1870, a son of John and Rebecca (Gift) McNary. The father's birth also occurred in that county, where his parents settled in the early days. There he grew to manhood and was married, but in 1870 he homesteaded land in O'Brien county, where he maintained his residence until 1882, in which year he removed to Palo Alto county. For thirty years he engaged in merchandizing in Ruthven, but for the past two or three years has lived retired there. Cecil McNary was graduated from the high school at Ruthven in 1887 and during the next eight years was employed in his father's store.In 1895 he came to Terril and for about eighteen years conducted a hardware store, building up a trade of large volume. When the First National Bank was organized in 1912 he became one of its stockholders and was elected a member of the board of directors. In 1916 he was chosen vice president of the bank and is still filling that office. Since 1914 he has had charge of the Terril branch of the James A. Smith Lumber Company, and the interests entrusted to his care have profited greatly from his careful and enterprising management. He is one of the substantial men of Terril, and owns a business block in addition to his residence. Mr. McNary was united in marriage in 1895 to Miss Marie Burten,of Ruthven, and they have six children: Gladys E., the wife of Horton Sperry, of Willmar, Minnesota; and Frank E., Mildred L., Howard L.,Everett and Eva May, at home. Mr. McNary is a republican in politics and has served as a member of the town council and as mayor. He has also held the office of justice of the peace and has been a member of the school board, and nothing effecting the interests of his community has been foreign to him. Fraternally he belongs to Richloyd Lodge, No. 612, A.F.&A.M., of Terril; Superior Lodge, No. 674, 1.0.0.F., of Superior, and the Modern Woodmen of America. His wife is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. The success which he has gained and the high esteem in which he is universally held are but the natural results of his well directed energy and his strict adherance to high moral standards.
Thorvald Olsen, actively identified with farming interests in Swan Lake township, his home being on section 35, was born in Norway on the 14th of May, 1856, a son of Ole and Gunhilda (Thronson) Olsen. The father died in Norway, after which the mother came to the United States with her son Thorvald and made her home with a son in Illinois. She passed away in 1879.Through the period of his boyhood and youth Thorvald Olsen attended the common schools of his native country and when eighteen years of age crossed the Atlantic to the new world, making his way to Lee county, Illinois, where he resided for nine years, being employed as a farm hand in that district. His brother, who was at that time a resident of Lee county, sent him his ticket to come to the United States. In 1883 Thorvald Olsen removed to Iowa and for eight months resided in Hamilton county but in the spring of 1884 came to Emmet county, where two years before, or in 1882 he had purchased eighty acres of land in Armstrong Grove township. On his arrival in Emmet county he located upon that land and for five years occupied the farm. He then sold out and bought his present home place, comprising one hundred and sixty acres on section 35, Swan Lake township. This farm he has improved and it is now one of the valuable properties of the district. It is well equipped according to modern methods of agricultural development and his labors have brought to him substantial financial returns.
In 1884 Mr. Olsen was united in marriage to Miss Julia Berven, a native of Norway, who came to America about 1882. Five sons and a daughter have blessed this marriage: Ole, at home; Knute, who is a ranchman of Montana; Thomas, who is farming in Emmet county; Gustav, a twin brother of Thomas and a resident of South Dakota; Alfred, at home; and Lizzie, the wife of Herman Sorum, of Estherville. Mr. Olsen votes with the republican party and is thoroughly conversant with the leading questions and issues of the day. He has served as
township trustee and as school director for several years. He and his family are members of the Norwegian church and they are people of genuine worth, esteemed and respected by all with whom they have come in contact. Mr. Olsen deserves much credit for what he has accomplished. He arrived in America practically penniless aNd from that point has worked his way steadily upward, making good use of his time and opportunities. He has never been afraid of hard work and his diligence and determination have been the basic elements of his growing success.
Howard Graves, who for fifty-three years remained one of the distinguished and eminent citizens of Emmet county, honored by all who knew him, took active part in promoting public progress and improvement along many lines from the period of pioneer development down to the time of present day progress and prosperity. So closely was he connected with the county that his life history will be of the deepest interest to many of our readers. He was a native of St. Lawrence county, New York,and a son of Gaylord Graves, who removed with his family to Wisconsin, where he took active part in public affairs, becoming a member of the territorial legislature and afterward serving as a member of the state legislature. In the early days of Emmet county, Iowa, he came here with his son, Howard Graves, and was one of the grantors of the original plat of Estherville. When the work of progress and improvement had scarcely been begun in Emmet county, Howard Graves took up his abode here. From that time forward the part which he played in the development of the county was a very important one. For twenty years he served as postmaster of Estherville and he was also a member of the city council,in which connection he gave earnest consideration to the questions that came up for settlement regarding municipal welfare. He also filled most of the county offices and in 1866 he was elected to represent his district in the Iowa general assembly. His was indeed a useful career and at all times he was found fearless in conduct and stainless in reputation. Mr. Graves was closely connected with business interests in Emmet county as a banker. In 1871 he founded the first banking house within the borders of the county. This was originally a private bank and afterward became the Estherville State Bank, of which Mr. Graves was chosen president, so continuing until the year of his death-1913. He was actively engaged in its conduct and management from the time of its establishment until his demise.
Mr. Graves was united in marriage to Miss Mary Louise Blackman,a native of Connecticut. She came to Emmet county with him and together they endured the hardships of pioneer life. She was a womanof strong character and kindly spirit and her benevolence and hospitality were noteworthy. Her activity in church and social circles was continued until her death in 1902. Mr. Graves was characterized as a man of kindly disposition and of simple life and tastes. He possessedkeen judgment and was always governed by the most rigid honesty and integrity. His generosity and charity were well known to all those with whom he came in contact. The familiar face and figure of Howard Graves will never be forgotten by those who have resided here nor by those who have come and gone in the long period during which Emmet county has developed from an unpeopled prairie into a prosperous and populous section of the state.
Halvor Egertson, a well known and representative farmer of Twelve Mile Lake township, Emmet county, resides on section 2. He was born in Norway, November 26, 1851, a son of Egekt and Gro Erikson, who always remained residents of Norway, never coming to the new world. The father was both a farmer and a mason. In the family were seven children, six sons and a daughter. Halvor Egertson attended district schools in his native country and in 1881, when in his thirtieth year, crossed the Atlantic to the United States, making his way at once to Iowa. Taking up his abode in Emmet county, he worked on a farm until 1888 and during that period carefully saved his earnings until his industry and economy had brought him enough capital to enable him to purchase land. He then became owner of the south half of the northeast quarter of section 2, Twelve Mile Lake township, and afterward purchased forty acres adjoining his farm on the south, thus making it a tract of one hundred 'and twenty Acres, which he has since carefully and successfully conducted. He now has a well improved farm property and the practical and progressive methods which he follows in cultivating his fields result in winning substantial harvests.
In 1876 Mr. Egertson. was united in marriage to Miss Christie Nestegard, a daughter of Lars and Bertha Nestegard, also natives of Norway. To Mr. and Mrs. Egertson were born seven children: Erik;Louis and Gundy, both at home; Stephen,deceased; Belle, at home; Helene, now the wife of A. H. Gunderson, of Twelve Mile Lake township; and Emma, the wife of John Nelson, who is living in Wallingford, Iowa. The parents are members of the Norwegian Lutheran church and guide their lives according to its teachings. In his political views Mr.Egertson is a republican and has held a number of township offices, to which he has been called by his fellow townsmen, who recognize his loyalty and progressiveness in matters of citizenship. He has won sucess through hard work, earnest effort and persistency of purpose and is now one of the substantial agriculturists of the community.
His eldest son, Erik Egertson, was born in Norway, January 29,1877, and was therefore a little lad of four years when his parents came to the new world. At the usual age he entered the district schools, in which he pursued his education until he reached the age of sixteen. He then began working for his father on the home farm and also followed carpentering until he reached the age of twenty-six. In the meantime, or when he had attained his majority, he purchased the west half of the southeast quarter of section. 2, Twelve Mile Lake township, and five years later he began farming upon that tract of land. He has since given his attention to general agricultural pursuits and has followedprogressive methods in all that he has undertaken, transforming his place into a highly improved and productive farm. In 1903 Erik Egertson was married to Miss Sophia Myhre, a daughter of Ole and Gunild (Brunweld) Myhre, of Center township, Emmet county. They have five children: Hagbert, Oswald, Ernest, Kermit and Lauritz. Erik Egertson has served as school director and, like his father, is interested in all those forces which tend to advance the welfare and progress of his community. At the same time he is, like his father, a representative agriculturist of his section of the county, leading a life of honorable activity fraught with good results.
John Korrect was one of the many successful farmers who after accumulating a compete-nee (sic) removed to Armstrong, there enjoying a period of rest from labor. He passed away here in April, 1914, when sixty-eight years old. A native of Germany, his birth occurred in Cologne on the. 24th of March, 1846, and he was a son of Wymer and Helen (Hiprich) Korrect. At an early day in the development of the middle west the family emigrated from Germany to the United States, the voyage requiring seventy-seven days, and about 1856 located in Peru, Illinois. The father purchased land in that vicinity and farmed there until his death in 1883. The mother died sixteen years later. John Korrect began his education in Germany and completed it in the schools of Peru, Illinois. , He early became familiar with practical methods of farm work and remained with his parents until he was twenty-three years old, when he began farming on his own account in Illinois. It was in 1893 that he purchased land in Kossuth county, Iowa, and for eighteen years he gave his entire attention to the cultivation of that place. At length he removed to Armstrong, where he lived in honorable retirement until his death. He was a stockholder in the First National Bank of Armstrong. The success which he.gained was the result of his industry, his good management and his thrift and his many excellent qualities commended him to the esteem of his fellows.
On the 18th of November, 1869, Mr. Korrect was united in marriage to Miss Sophia Trecker, a daughter of Henry and Ann M.(Brochite) Trecker, also natives of Germany. The family came to America in 1853, the mother and four children locating in Peru, Illinois.The father was taken sick enroute and died after an illness of only three days and was buried at sea. Two years after her arrival in this country Mrs. Trecker was again married and for many years her second husband engaged in farming in the Prairie state. Her demise occurred, in July,1912, when she was eighty-eight years of age.
To Mr. and Mrs. Korrect were born ten children, as follows: William, who is farming in Minnesota; John P.,an architect and civil engineer, who resides with his mother; George, who is living retired in Armstrong; Anna, the wife of Edward Scully, of Kossuth county; Elizabeth, the wife of Edward Reilly, of Lone rock, Iowa; Josephine, who married Albert Turnbaugh, of Swea City,Iowa; Ida, the wife of Anton Guerdet, of Kossuth county, Iowa; Henry,who died in March, 1912, when twenty-eighth years old; Rosa, at home;and Minnie, the wife of Fred C. Boland, of Armstrong. Mr. Korrect did not consider himself bound by allegiance to any party but voted for the man whom he deemed best fitted for the office in question. His religious faith was that of the Catholic church. His demise was widely regretted and there are many who still hold him in affectionate memory.
W. A. DE LONG.
W. A. De Long, the well-known and popular mayor of Terril, Iowa, was born in Marshall county, Illinois, on the 13th of May, 1871, and is a son of Abraham De Long, who in early life engaged in teaching in that state but later followed farming in Marshall county, where he died in 1892. Our subject was only six weeks old when his mother passed away and his father subsequently married again. He remained at home up to his fifteenth year and then started out to make his own way in the world. For the first few years he worked in a livery stable and was employed at various other occupations, but since twenty years of age has devoted his attention principally to the drainage business. For some time he worked on small ditches on Illinois farms but in 1893 he went to Manson, Calhoun county, Iowa, where he spent two years and then removed to Greene county, this state. When the state drainage law was passed Mr.De Long took up the drainage business in earnest and made some of the first ditches dug in this state. During the following five years he was one of the most prominent drainage men in Iowa. In the spring of 1913 he came to Terril, Dickinson county, and took charge of the largest drainage proposition that has ever been undertaken in the county, and up to 1916 he had constructed the largest drainage systems in the state. For the past eight years he has had in his employ from one hundred to one hundred and fifty men. At present he is engaged on a large drainage proposition in Greene county and has three drainage ditches under construction in Dickinson county. Success has attended his efforts along this line and in all his undertakings he has, steadily prospered. In March, 1916, he established an automobile business in Terril, which is now in charge of his son Charles, who is conducting a modern garage at that place. Beside his town property Mr. De Long owns three hundred and twenty acres of land in Milford township, Dickinson county, and one hundred and sixty acres near Pipestone, Minnesota.
In 1895 Mr. De Long was united in marriage to Miss Myrtle Archof Calhoun county, Iowa, and to them have been born three children, Charles W., Maud G., and Ralph G., all at home. Mrs. De Long is an active member of the Christian church and is connected with the Ladies Aid Society. She is also a member of the Embroidery Club of Terril, of which she is treasurer, and both she and Mr. De Long hold membership in the Eastern Star. He belongs to Terril Lodge No. 612, A. F.&A.M.and to the Brotherhood of American Yeomen. The republican party finds in him a stanch supporter of its principles and in the spring of 1916 he was elected mayor of Terril, in which capacity he is still serving, with credit to himself and to the entire satisfaction of his constituents. He is one of the representative citizens of Dickinson county, taking an active and commendable interest in public affairs and doing everything in his power to promote the interests of his town and county. He is widely and favorably known and has a host of friends in the commuinty where he resides.
Knudt Bonnicksen, who is giving his undivided attention to the operation of a good farm of eighty acres on section 13, Denmark township, was born in Clinton, Iowa, on the 14th of June, 1885. His parents,Jurgen and Laura Bonnicksen, were born in Denmark but emigrated to the United States many years ago and after living for a time in Clinton,Iowa, removed to Kossuth county, where the father is now farming. Knudt Bonnicksen, who is the first born of a family of nine children, attended the public schools of Kossuth county until he was sixteen years old and later was for two terms a student in Elkhorn College at Elkhorn, Iowa. He assisted his father with the operation of the home place until he was twenty-five years old and then came to Denmark township, Emmet county, where he rented land for four years. Two years were spent as a renter in Kossuth county, but at the end of that time he returned to Denmark township, Emmet county, and bought the west half of the southeast quarter of section 13, on which he has since resided. He has made a number of improvements upon his farm and is careful to conserve the fertility of the soil. He is up-to-date and at the same time practical in his methods and receives a good annual income from his land.
Mr. Bonnicksen was united in marriage on the 26th of January, 1910, to Miss Gina Toft, a daughter of Hans and Abilena Toft, who were among the first settlers of Denmark township and are now living retired in Ringsted. Mr. and Mrs. Bonnicksen are the parents of three children, namely, Vivian, Chalmer and Harry.. Mr. Bonnicksen supports the republican party at the polls, but has not been otherwise active in politics. He is a member of St. John&s Danish Lutheran church and fraternally is identified with the Danish Brotherhood. He has been entirely dependent upon his own resources since starting out in life for himself and the prosperity which he has gained is an indication of his ability and industry.
QUINTUS C. FULLER, M. D.
Dr. Quintus C. Fuller. has gained a large practice in Milford and ranks among the successful physicians of Dickinson county. He erected the Milford Hospital in 1908 and has,since had charge of its management. A native of Illinois, he was born in Pawpaw on the 29th of July, 1867, a son of Andrew J. and Susan (Colton) Fuller, both of whom were born in Vermont, where the father followed farming until his removal to Emmet county, Iowa. He bought land in Center township and for many years engaged in its cultivation, but in 1900 removed to Milford, making his home thereafter with his son Quintus until he was called by death in 1914. He had long survived his wife, who died in 1887 and was buried in Okoboji cemetery. Quintus C. Fuller attended the public schools until he was fourteen years of age and supplemented the education so acquired by study inthe Ames College of Agriculture And Mechanic Arts, graduating from the veterinary department of that institution in 1890. Subsequently he took a medical course in Drake University and received the M. D. degree with the class of 1892. He located for practice in Harlan, Iowa, and two years later came to Milford, Dickinson county, where he has since remained. He has kept informed on the newest developments in medical science and has been very successful in curing disease. In 1908 he erected the Milford Hospital, which has afforded needed facilities for expert medical and surgical treatment.
In 1899 Dr. Fuller was united in marriage to Miss Florence Guthrie,a daughter of J. C. and Phoebe Guthrie, of Milford. She passed away in 1912, leaving two children: Lucile, who is now attending school in St. Albans, Vermont; and Stanley, who is a student in the schools of Milford. In 1913 Dr. Fuller married Miss Opal Gillette, whose parents,W. R. and Eunice Gillette, are .living on a farm' in Milford township.One daughter, Grace, has been born to this Union. Dr. Fuller is a republican in politics and finds time to take an active part in public affairs. He was for some time a member of the town council and for the past eighteen years has served on the school board. Fraternally he is well known, belonging to all the Masonic bodies, the Knights of Pythias and the Modern Woodmen of America and along strictly professional lines he holds membership in the County and State Medical Societies and in the American Medical Association.
JULIUS A. MATHIESON
Julius A. Mathieson, of Ringsted, is engaged in the collection business and is also a justice of the peace, his duties in that connection making considerable demand upon his time and attention. His birth occurred in Denmark, July 31, 1847, and he is one of the four children born to Jaacob and Louisa (Fredriksen) Mathieson. The father rented a large dairy farm in Denmark, but felt that still better opportunities were offered in the United States and accordingly in 1866 removed with his family to this country and located in Marinette, Wisconsin. There he and his son Julius were employed in a sawmill for about four years. Subsequently he removed to Palo Alto county, where he homesteaded land, and in that county both he and his wife passed away. They arei nterred in a cemetery near Cylinder. Julius A. Mathieson attended the public schools until he was confirmed and also took a course in a dairy school, from which he was graduated at the age of eighteen. He became overseer of a dairy farm, working in that capacity until he accompanied the family to America. In 1870 removal was made to Fairfield township, Palo Alto county, Iowa,and there he homesteaded land on section 2. For thirty years he farmed his homestead and the energy and good judgment which have always characterized him led to his success as an agriculturist. In 1900 he removed to Ringsted and for a time engaged in merchandising in connection with his son-in-law, E. T. Sorem. After two years he disposed of his interests to Carl Iversen and subsequently was for a year engaged in the implement business, but sold out to Fink Brothers. He is now dividing his time between his duties as justice of the peace and the management of a collection business, in which difficult field he has been quite successful.
In 1873 Mr. Mathieson was united in marriage to Miss Hannah Nelson, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Nels Swendson, who passed their entire lives in Sweden. To Mr. and Mrs. Mathieson have been born eight children: Anna, who is now Mrs. Louis Christian and resides uponthe homestead in Fairfield township, Palo Alto county; Emma, the wifeof E. T. Sorem; Ida, now Mrs. J. J. Fink, of Ringsted; Nettie. who married Peter Nissen, of Orange City, Iowa; Fred, who died when eleven years old; Minnie, the wife of Carl Johnson, of Ringsted; Andrew, who died when three years old; and Clarence J., at home. Mr. Mathieson believes thoroughly in the policies of the republican party and supports the candidates of that organization at the polls. He was a member of the town council for several years and for two terms filled acceptably the office of mayor of Ringsted, forwarding in every way possible the interests of the municipality. He belongs to St. Paul&s Danish Lutheran church and no movement seeking to moral welfare of the community lacks his loyal support. He began his career without capital and has at all times been dependent upon his own resources, but has proven equal to the demands made upon him and has accumulated more than a competence. In addition to his fine farm in Palo Alto county he owns an attractive modern residence in Ringsted.
C. G. GUGE
The year 1890 witnessed the arrival of C. G. Guge in Emmet county, where he has since made his home. He is today the owner of an excellent farm in Emmet township, which he has improved according to modern, progressive ideas. He has always made good use of his time and opportunities since starting out in life for himself when eighteen years of age. He was born in Germany, January 21, 1851, and was there reared and educated, remaining in that country until he reached the age of eighteen years, when he bade adieu to friends and native land and sailed for America. He first located in Ohio, where he worked at the shoemaker's trade for three years and on the expiration of that period he became a resident of Nebraska, where he engaged in the cultivation of a rented farm for four years. In 1890 he removed to Emmet county,Iowa, and bought the farm upon which he now makes his home an excellent tract of land in Emmet township which he has converted into rich and arable fields, annually gathering there from substantial harvests of the grains best adapted to soil and climatic conditions here. He has improved his place with fine buildings and in addition to an attractive residence has large barns and outbuildings which furnish ample shelter for grain and stock. He has also planted an extensive orchard and has large and small fruits of all kinds. He makes a specialty of stock raising, which constitutes an important branch of his business.
In January, 1883, Mr. Guge was married to Miss Marie Schafer, also a native of Germany, and in the passing years eleven children have been born to them: Paulina, now deceased; Ernest G.; Carolina S., the wife of J. Herbronson; Katie, the wife of Claude Jackman, of Minnesota; Marie, the wife of Albert Aasby, of Minnesota; Carl J.; William; John, Louisa; Lawrence; and Martin. The parents are members of the Lutheran church and are people of genuine personal worth, enjoying the high regard of all with whom they come in contact. Mr. Guge is a republican and has filled a number of local offices, serving as road supervisor, as township trustee and as school director for a number of years. Laudable ambition prompted Mr. and Mrs. Guge to come to the new world. They felt that they might have better business opportunities on this side the Atlantic and they have here made good use of their chances, Mr. Guge carefully and persistently carrying on his business affairs, while his wife has wisely managed the interests of the household and thus ably rounded out and supplemented the labors of her husband. Both are well known in the community where they make their home and their genuine worth has gained for them many friends.
NELS P. PETERSON.
On the list of honored dead in Emmet county appears the name of Nels P. Peterson, who for a long period was actively, successfully and honorably identified with the agricultural interests of this section of the state. He made his home on a farm on sections 17 and 18, High Lake township. His birth occurred in Norway, July 5, 1835, and when a boy he came to the new world, first making his way to Wisconsin,where he attained his majority. In that state he was married May 14, 1860, to Miss Betsy Erickson, who was born in Norway March 26,1836, and was a daughter of Ole and Julia (Goorie) Erickson. Her mother died while they were upon the sea enroute for the new world,in 1857, after which the father took his children to Wisconsin, where he lived for some time and then removed with his family to Emmet county, Iowa, where his remaining days were passed.
Mr. and Mrs. Peterson became residents of Emmet county in 1860 and established their home upon a farm on sections 17 and 18, High Lake township, comprising two hundred and thirty acres of rich and productive land. With characteristic energy Mr. Peterson began to develop and improve his place, but at the time of the Civil war he put aside all personal and business considerations in order to espouse the cause of the Union and went to the front. It was while serving his country that his health became impaired and he never afterward fully recovered but passed away in the '70s. He left to his family the priceless heritage of an untarnished name and his memory is yet cherished by many who knew him.To Mr. and Mrs, Peterson were born six children: Peter, deceased; Peter, who was the second of the name and is now living in the state of Washington; George, who has departed this life; Ole, living in Washington; and Julia and Gertenia, both now deceased. Mrs. Peterson still owns the old homestead farm which she has always occupied but now rents the land, deriving there from a substantial income. She is a consistent member of the Lutheran church and is one of the well known residents of High Lake township, where she has now made her home for much more than a half century. She has lived to witness notable changes here as the work of transformation and improvement has been carried steadily forward and she can tell many an interesting tale of the early days when pioneer conditions were prevalent and the county bore little resemblance to present day conditions.
Frank Carpenter, who since 1888 has been connected with the Estherville Democrat and has been owner and editor of the paper since November, 1896, is now also filling the position of postmaster in Estherville. Iowa numbers him among her native sons, for his birth occurred in Webster City, November 5, 1870. His parents were Charles and Louise P. (Miller) Carpenter. In the schools of Webster City and of Estherville he pursued his education and his early life was devoted to agricultural pursuits, but later he took up the newspaper business, in which he has since been engaged, securing a position on the Estherville Democrat in 1888. Finding this pursuit congenial, he worked his way upward and in November, 1896, took over the paper by purchase and has since been its owner and publisher, making it One of the chief democratic organs and leading newspapers in the northwestern part of the state. He also has other business interests, being one of the stockholders and directors of the Iowa Savings Bank of Estherville. Mr. Carpenter is identified with several fraternal organizations, having membership with the Elks, the Woodmen, the Homesteaders and the Moose. In politics he has always been an earnest democrat since age conferred upon him the right of franchise and from 1910 until 1914 he served as chairman of the democratic county central committee. In July, 1913, he was appointed by President Wilson to the position of postmaster of Estherville and has since served in that capacity. He has ever stood for progress and improvement in community affairs as well as for advancement in matters of national importance and he is recognized as a splendid type of American manhood and chivalry.
L. E. CRIM
L. E. Crim, postmaster at Wallingford, to which position he was appointed on the 12th of January, 1916, is a native son of Emmetbounty, his birth having occurred at Estherville, August 18, 1888. His parents were A. A. and Eva (Brown) Crim, the former a native of Boone county, Iowa, and the latter, of Massachusetts. About forty years ago A. A. Crim took up his abode in Emmet county, where he and his wife are still living, being among the well known and worthy farming people of this section of the state. In their family were four children and the family circle yet remains unbroken by the hand of death. The usual experiences of the farm bred boy came to L. E. Crim in the period of his youth. He attended the district schools and through the summer months aided in the work of the fields, early becoming familiar with all the duties and labors that fall to the lot of the agriculturist. In 1913 he engaged in the hardware and implement business at Wallingford and has since conducted his store in that city. He carries a carefully selected line, representing the leading manufacturers of the country, and from the beginning his trade has constantly grown. He is also filling the position of postmaster, as previously indicated, thus becoming one of the active officials of his city.
In 1911 Mr. Crim was married to Miss Gay Shaffer, a native of Grundy county, Iowa, and a daughter of W. A. and Lydia Shaffer, who are now residents of Waterloo, this state. Mr. and Mrs. Crim have become the parents of a son, Keith W., who was born on the 18th of June, 1912. Mr. Crim has always been a democrat since age conferred upon him the right of franchise and gives stalwart support to the party, believing firmly in its principles. His entire life has been passed in Emmet county, where he has a very wide and favorable acquaintance,and he is now numbered among its enterprising and substantial young business men.
Ole Opsal, a well known and up-to-date farmer residing on section 3, Armstrong Grove township, was born in Norway, January 31, 1874. His parents, Johannas and Johanna (Christenson) Johnson, were like-wise natives of that country, where the father engaged in carpentering during his active life. , He passed away in 1875 but the mother is still living in Norway. Ole Opsal grew to manhood in Norway and there received his education. On leaving home he went to sea and was a sailor for four years, during that time visiting most parts of the world. In 1893 he came to America and for a year was employed as a farm hand in La Salle county, Illinois. He next removed to Shelby county, Iowa, where he worked for others for seven years, after which he made his way to Emmet county. Here he operated rented land for five years but at the end of that time bought one hundred and sixty acres on section 3, Armstrong Grove township, which he has since converted into one of the best improved farms in the county. He is giving the greater part of his attention to the raising of thoroughbred shorthorn cattle, feeding about two carloads of cattle a year, and he has gained a high standing among the cattle raisers of this section of the state. He has prospered
financially and not only owns his valuable farm but also is financially interested in the Farmers Elevator Company and the Farmers Creamery Company, both of Armstrong.
Mr. Opsal was united in marriage on the 4th of December, 1899, to Miss Mary Johnson, and they have become the parents of eight children, namely: Jennie, Mabel, Eunice, Otis, Orville, Theodore, Ruby and Sadie, but the last named died in November, 1904. The republican party has a stanch adherent in Mr. Opsal and in religious faith he is a Lutheran. He has never regretted his emigration to this country, for here he has found opportunities, the utilization of which has enabled him to gain a gratifying measure of success. He has many warm personal friends throughout the county and is recognized as aman of genuine worth.
CHARLES F. MAUSS
Charles F. Mauss, president of the First National Bank at Milford, Dickinson county, Iowa, has proved efficient and reliable in the discharge of his important duties and ranks among the representative bankers of Dickinson county. He was born in La Salle county, Illinois, on the 29th of April, 1880, a son of Henry and Mary (Moehl) Mauss, natives of Germany and Maryland respectively. The family resided in Illinois until 1890, when removal was made to Wright county, Iowa, where the father purchased land whi& (sic) he operated for a number of years. Both he and his wife are now living retired in Spencer, Iowa. Charles F. Mauss, who is the third in order of birth in a family of eleven children, began working in a bank in Belmond, Iowa, when fifteen years old, remaining there for three years and seven months. He was next employed by a lumber company in that town for a year and a half and then devoted a year to the operation of the home farm. In 1902 hecame to Milford as assistant cashier of the First National Bank, with which he has since been continuously connected. He was promoted to the position of cashier and served in that capacity until January 1, 1917,when he was made president and as such directs the policy of the institution. He realizes that the confidence of the community is necessary for the permanent prosperity of a banking institution and has made it his first care to protect the depositors and stockholders from loss. The sound policy which he has followed has received the endorsement of the public and the bank has a large and growing patronage. It was organized in 1884 as a private bank and in 1900 was nationalized with Peter Rasmussen as the president. He continued in that office until the 1st of January, 1917, when he was succeeded by Mr. Mauss, and P. 0. Bjorenson became cashier. The institution is capitalized for thirty-five thousand dollars and is housed in its own building, a fine brick structure erected in 1911.
Mr. Mauss was married in 1904 to Miss Frieda Rasmussen, a daughter of Peter and Mary Rasmussen. His political allegiance is given to the republican party and he was formerly a member of the town council. Since 1903 he has served on the school board and is always willing to give of his time and energy to the solution of problems pertaining to the welfare of the schools. He belongs to the Congregational church and takes a commendable interest in the furtherance of its work.
W. H. McCLUNE
W. H. McClune, who is successfully engaged in farming on section 21, Lincoln township, Emmet county, is a native of Iowa, his birth having occurred in Keokuk county on September 23, 1883. His parents, William R. and Elizabeth (Galbraith) McClune, were both born in Illinois, but during their childhood accompanied their respective parents to Iowa, one family settling on the county line in Keokuk county, and the other in Iowa county. After their marriage they located on a farm in the former county, where Mr. McClune resided up to the time of his death which occurred in 1909. His wife passed away in 1916. In the common schools of this state W. H. McClune acquired his education and in early life became familiar with agricultural pursuits. In 1906 he began farming on his own account, operating rented land in Poweshiek county for a time. The following year, however, he came to Emmet county and located upon his present home farm which had previously been purchased by his father. After the latter's death he acquired the property through inheritance and has since engaged in its operation. In connection with general farming he breeds thoroughbred Shire horses, and in his undertakings he is prospering, being regarded as one of the most successful farmers in Lincoln township.
On the 11th of March, 1913, Mr. McClune was united in marriage to Miss Ethel Adams of Decatur county, Iowa, and to them have been born two children, Harland A. and Melba E. In politics Mr. McClune is a republican and he takes a commendable interest in public affairs, giving his support to all worthy enterprises calculated to advance the public welfare.
WILLIAM EDWIN BRADLEY, M. D.
Dr. William Edwin Bradley, successfully engaged in the practice of medicine at Estherville, comes to this field well equipped by liberal university and college training for the responsible duties which devolve upon him in this connection. He was born in LaCrosse county, Wis-onsin, February 14, 1865, a son of Albert 0. and Jennie (Mois) Bradley. The father was born at Spring Prairie, Walworth county, Wisconsin, November 13, 1838. The mother, a native of England, born April 11,1840, came to America when four years of age and passed away in Estherville on the 9th of July, 1911. The family lived for many yearsin La Crosse county and during the period of his youth William E. Bradley mastered the branches of learning that constitute the curriculum of the public schools there, becoming a high school pupil at Sparta. Subsequently he entered the University of Wisconsin, in which he remained a student from 1886 until 1890, winning the Bachelor of Science degree. He next entered the Rush Medical College of Chicago and completed his professional course by graduation with the class of 1892. For six months he practiced in Stanley, Wisconsin, and since November, 1892, has resided continuously in Estherville, where during the intervening period of twenty-five years he has built up a very successful and gratifying practice. He is most conscientious in the performance of all his professional duties, recognizing fully the obligations and responsibilities that devolve upon him, and he has ever kept well informed concerning the latest discoveries in medical science, and while never hasty in discarding old and time-tried methods, he is yet quick to appreciate the worth of new ideas advanced and to utilize them in his professional labors.
On the 17th of July, 1895, in Estherville, Iowa, Dr. Bradley was united in marriage to Miss Eva C. Robinson, daughter of John M. and Martha Robinson. They are now the parents of two children, Janet Marian and William Robinson. Dr. Bradley and his wife are consistent members of the Presbyterian church and in social circles they occupy an enviable position, the hospitality of the best homes of the city and surrounding country being cordially extended to them in appreciation of their sterling worth. Dr. Bradley is also a well known Mason, holding membership in lodge, chapter and commandery, but he makes all other interests subservient to his professional duties and in his chosen calling he has continuously progressed by reason of his wide study, his broad experience and his sympathetic and almost intuitive understanding of people.
JOHN SILVER BLOW
John Silver Blow, who is now living retired in Spirit Lake, was for many years actively identified with the agricultural interests of Dickinson county and later filled the office of county auditor for three terms in a most creditable and satisfactory manner. A native of Canada, he was born in Woodstock, Ontario, October 203, (sic)1861, and was a son of Mahlon and Violet (Naysmith) Blow. The father was also born in Ontario, where he was reared and educated, and after reaching manhood followed farming in Ontario until 1862, when he came to the
United States, locating on land which he purchased east of Woodstock in McHenry county, Illinois. After spending six years in that locality he removed to Kane county, Illinois, and farmed in Plato township, near Elgin, until 1884, when he sold his land and retired, becoming a residentof Estherville, Emmet county, Iowa. He made his home in that city until 1892, when he removed to Grinnell, Iowa, in order that his children might attend college at that place. There his wife died and he subsequently went to Lac qui Parle county, Minnesota, where he purchased a farm which his sons operated. There he passed away in February, 1905. His wife was born at Newart Hill, Scotland, and was a young lady, when, in 1855, she went to Canada.
They were married at Woodstock, Canada, on the 15th of May, 1856. In the family of this worthy couple were ten children, all of whom are still living, namely: Cooper J., now a merchant of Griffin, Saskatchewan, Canada; Jennie, the wife of James Wallace, of Austin, Texas; John Silver, of this review; Newman C., a farmer of Sugar City, Idaho;Ada, the wife of Edward Tompkins, a grain dealer of Minneapolis, Minnesota; Lulu, a resident of Beaumont, Texas; Archie, a farmer of Chugwater, Wyoming; Frank T., a physician and surgeon of Call, Texas; Violet, the wife of Fred L. Abel, a merchant of Grinnell, Iowa; and Keith W., a traveling salesman. It was during the infancy of John Silver Blow that the family removed to Illinois, and his early education was largely acquired in the district schools of Plato township, Kane county, that state. This was supplemented by a course at Elgin Academy in Elgin, Illinois. In the meantime he assisted his father in the operation of the home farm and subsequently taught school in Kane county. In 1883 he came to Dickinson county and purchased the northwest quarter of section 13,Lloyd township, where he followed farming until 1894. In that year he embarked in the real estate business in Terril but still continued to look after his agricultural interests. He finally retired from business on being appointed to fill out an unexpired term as county auditor of Dickinson county and so acceptably did he fill the position that he was elected to the office in 1910 and reelected in 1912 and 1914, retiring on the 1st of January, 1917, with a record of which he has every reason to be proud.
On the 5th of January, 1902, at Spirit Lake, Mr. Blow was united in marriage to Miss May Kendrick, who was born near Barneveld, Wisconsin, where she was reared and educated. In 1899 she accompanied her mother, Mary (Evans) Kendrick, on her removal to Dickinson county, Iowa. Her father, John Kendrick, was a native of Wales and was twenty years of age when he came to the new world and settled near Barneveld in Iowa county, Wisconsin, where he followed farming until his death. His widow was also a native of Wales and was but three years of age when brought to America. For some years sheresided in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and when a young lady went to Wisconsin, where she was married. She is now a resident of Lloyd township, Dickinson county, Iowa. Mr. and Mrs. Blow have two children: Leta, born in Terril, December 2, 1902; and Wayne J., born in Terril, March 27, 1907. Mr. Blow affiliates with the republican party and both he and his wife are active and consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal church, in which he is serving as steward. He is one of the representative citizens of Dickinson county, whose public and private life are alike above reproach, and he is held in the highest esteem by all who know him.
Nels Mickelson, a resident farmer of Twelve Mile Lake township,living on section 2, is a representative of that substantial class of citizens that Norway has furnished to Iowa and that has contributed to the agricultural development of Emmet county. He was born in Norway, January 17, 1874, his parents being Mickel and Anna Mickelson, who were also farming people. They had a family of five children and in 1885 they left their native country for the new world. Crossing the Atlantic, they did not tary on the eastern coast but made their way at once into the interior of the country, establishing their home in Jackson county, Minnesota.The father was employed at farm labor there and subsequently engaged in farming in Dickinson county. His entire life was given to the cultivation of the fields up to the time when death ended his labors, and his remains were laid to rest in the Riverside cemetery at Wallingford. His widow survives and is now living with her son, Nels. Having spent the first eleven years of his life in his native country, Nels Mickelson came to the new world with his parents and through the period of his boyhood and youth worked with his father, so that he early became familiar with the practical methods of tilling the soil and caring for the crops. He has never cared to change his occupation, feeling that farm life gives him abundant scope for his energy and industry his dominant qualities. He has purchased one hundred and twenty acres of land on the southwest quarter of section 2, Twelve Mile Lake township,and his farm is an excellent property now highly cultivated and well improved.
It was in 1898 that Mr. Mickelson was united in marriage to Miss Anna Ellefson, a daughter of Ellef and Birgit Ellefson, who became residents of Twelve Mile Lake township. Her father has passed away and his widow is now living with her son, Ellef Ellefson, Jr., upon a farm in Twelve Mile Lake township. Mr. and Mrs. Mickelson have become the parents of three children: Adelia, Melvin and Norman, who are all at home. The family adhere to the faith of the Norwegian Lutheran church, to which Mr. and Mrs. Mickelson belong. His political views accord with the principles of the republican party and he regards its platform as the best exponent of the principles of good government. His life record indicates what may be accomplished by persistent, earnest effort, for he started out empty handed and has since been dependent upon his own resources. He early recognized the eternal principle that industry wins, and he has made industry the rule of his life.
HANS K. BONNICKSEN
One of the prosperous farmers and leading citizens of Denmark township, Emmet county, is Hans K. Bonnicksen, who, like most of the residents of that locality is of Scandinavian birth. He was born in Denmark on the 27th of February, 1865, and is the third in a family of six children, their parents being Knud and Katrina Bonnicksen. In 1872 the father brought his family to America and settled in Clinton, Iowa, where he was employed as a teamster for two years. The following six years were spent near Malone, Iowa, where he engaged in farming on rented land, but at the end of that time he returned to Clinton, where he again made his home for two years. Coming to Emmet county in 1883 he purchased the southeast quarter of section 23, Denmark township, and later added to this the south half of the northeast quarter of the same section, whereon he continued to reside for several years, his time and energies being devoted to the cultivation and improvement of his farm. During the last few years of his life, however, he lived retired, first in Armstrong and later in Ringsted, where he passed away July 18, 1913. His wife had died on the 6th of November, 1902, and both were laid to rest in St.Paul's cemetery. Reared under the parental roof, Hans K. Bormicksen attended the neighboring schools until sixteen years of age and gave his father the benefit of his services upon the home farm until he attained his majority. His life has practically been devoted to agricultural pursuits and at the age of twenty-six years he purchased the north half of the southeast quarter of section 22, Denmark township, to which he subsequently added thenorth half of the south half of that quarter section, making one hundred and twenty acres in all. Still later he purchased the north half of the south half of the northwest quarter of section 23 and has since been actively engaged in the operation of this land.
In 1892 Mr. Bonnicksen married Miss Lena Schulz, a daughter of Peter and Krogh Schulz, who came to this country from Denmark and were early settlers of Denmark township, Emmet county. Her father is deceased and is buried in St. John's cemetery, but her mother is still living and is now Mrs. N. C. Nielsen, of Ringsted. The children born to Mr.and Mrs. Bonnicksen are Carl, Katrina, Christina and Arnold, all at home. The family hold membership in St. John's Lutheran church, and Mr.Bormicksen affiliates with the republican party. He has been called upon to serve as township clerk two years, school director one year and road supervisor one year. For a number of years he has been a director of the Ringsted Creamery Company and is also a director of the Farmers Savings Bank of Ringsted. In business affairs he has steadily prospered owing to his wise judgment and untiring industry and he now ranks among the well-to-do farmers and representative citizens of his community.
Charles Reppien, manager and butter maker with the Farmers Creamery Company at Wallingford and thus well known in business circles of Emmet county, was born in Denmark, March 24, 1893. He is therefore yet a young man and in all that he undertakes is actuated by the spirit of enterprise and progress. He was reared and educated in his native country and learned the butter making trade in that land, which is famous as a butter producing center. He worked at the business there for four years before coming to America and in 1913 he bade adieu to friends and native country and sailed for the new world, hoping to find more remunerative employment on this side of the Atlantic. Crossing the country to Wallingford, he soon obtained a position as butter maker in a creamery there and his ability won him promotion to the position of manager. He is now conducting a large business at the creamery and has made its output famous for its excellence. There is no phase of the butter making trade with which he is not familiar and he is considered an expert in his line. Mr. Reppien holds membership with the Modern Woodmen of America at Wallingford and he gives his political allegiance to the republican party. He is esteemed as an enterprising, progressive young man and one whose advancement has been the legitimate and logical outcome of his own labors and ability.
A fine farm on section 24, Denmark township, pays tribute to the care and labor bestowed upon it by its owner, Alfred M. Jensen. He was born in Denmark, April 6, 1873, the third in a family of seven children, whose parents were Robert and Lorina Jensen. The mother died when her son Alfred was but two years old and the father also passed away in Denmark. He was a farmer by occupation. Alfred M. Jensen is indebted for his education to the public schools of Denmark, which he attended until he was confirmed. The next few years were devoted to work on farms in that country but when nineteen years old he came to the United States and located near Goldfield,Iowa. After working as a farm hand in that locality for a year and a half he came to Denmark township, Emmet county, and was in the employ of various farmers of the township until 1900. He then bought the north half of the southwest quarter of section 24, on which he is still living. He devotes his entire time to the cultivation of the fields and the care of his live stock and as the years pass his capital is steadily increasing, for he manages his business interests well.
Mr. Jensen was married in 1902 to Miss Henriette Hansen, the adopted daughter of Hans and Margaret Hansen, of Denmark township. Mrs. Hansen has passed away and is buried in St. John's cemetery, but Mr. Hansen survives and is living in Ringsted. To Mr. and Mrs. Jensen have been born three children, Harold, Myrtle and Severin. The democratic party receives the hearty support of Mr. Jensen and every duty devolving upon him as a citizen is discharged to the full, but he has never sought official preferment. He belongs to the Danish Brotherhood and is also a member of St. John's Danish Lutheran church. He is entitled to the honor which is accorded a self-made man, for he began his independent career empty handed and has been dependent solely upon his own resources.
Nels Hanson has never had occasion to regret his choice of farming as a life work, for he has met with gratifying success in the cultivation of his land on section 9, Iowa Lake township. He was born in Norway, June 12, 1852, a son of Nels and Annie (Larson) Hanson, also natives of that country, where'the father engaged in farming and fishing. He died there in 187S and the demise of his wife occurred nineteen years previously, or in 1859. Mr. Hanson was reared under the parental roof and attended the public schools in the acquirement of his education. When eighteen years old he came to America and for some time was in the employ of farmers in Polk county, Iowa. He next rented land in Hamilton county, this state, for six years, and in 1887 came to Emmet county, Iowa, where he has since resided. He operated rented land near Estherville for four years, but in 1891 purchased his present place, which comprises eighty acres on section 9, Iowa Lake township. He has improved the place in various ways and during the twenty-six years that he has engaged in its operation has seldom failed to harvest good crops. He has also derived a gratifying profit from his stock raising interests.
On the 12th of February, 187S, Mr. Hanson was married to Miss Christine M. Stenerson and they became the parents of the following children: Annie; Nels, who died in 18S1; Martha, now the wife of Fred W. Cheever; Lewis; Jennie; Hannah; Clarence; Hazel; Sanford; and Grace. In August, 1900, the wife and mother passed away and on the 3d of March, 1905, Mr. Hanson married Mrs. Sarah (Stenerson)
Watland, a sister of his first wife and the widow of John Watland. By her marriage to Mr. Watland, who died in June, 1903, she had eleven children, two of whom died in infancy, the others being: Joseph, John, Edith M. and Martin, all of whom are also now deceased; and Edward, Jennie, Ollie, Eli and Irene, all of whom survive. The republican party receives the loyal support of Mr. Hanson and his keen interest in affairs concerning the public welfare is indicated by the fact that for ten years he has served as a member of the school board. In religious faith he is a Lutheran. He has found in the United States the opportunities for advancement which he sought and has been prompt and energetic in their utilization, thus gaining a place among the substantial men of his locality.
C. C. GRAVATT
C. C. Gravatt, cashier of the First National Bank of Terril, was born in Traer, Tama county, Iowa, on the 10th of March, 1878, his parents being Albert and Irena (Morse) Gravatt. The father is a native of Celina, Ohio, and the mother of Belvidere, Illinois, and they came to Iowa in childhood with their respective parents in the early '50s. They attained adult age in Tama county and after reaching man's estate the father took up the occupation of farming, which he followed for many years, but during the past six or eight years he has lived retired in Traer, enjoying a rest which he has truly earned and richly deserves. C. C. Cravatt had the usual experiences of the farm bred boy who divides his time between the duties of the schoolroom, the pleasures of the playground and the work of the fields. After attending the district schools he continued his education in the high school at Traer and on completing his studies there returned to the home farm, where he remained until he had attained his majority. He then started out independently and, thinking to find other pursuits more congenial to him than agricultural life, he accepted a clerkship in a grocery store in Traer, which position he occupied until the death of his employer eighteen months later. He subsequently clerked in a hardware store for a short time and in 1900 removed to Terril, where he accepted the position of bookkeeper and assistant cashier in the bank of Terril. In 1906 Howard Everett, who had been manager of the bank, sold his holdings to Harry H. Buck and B. B. Van Steenburg, at which time Mr. Gravatt was made cashier of the institution. In 1912 the bank was reorganized and was nationalized and the present modern bank building was erected. It is thoroughly equipped for the purpose intended and is one of the fine bank buildings in the smaller towns of the state. Mr. Gravatt continues in the management of the bank and his enterprise and efforts have contributed in very substantial measure to its success. He is familar
with every phase of the banking business and he does everything in his power to further the interests of the institution through the safe guarding of the interests of depositors and the extension of a liberal credit to a point that will not jeopardize the business entrusted to their care.
In 1907 Mr. Gravatt was united in marriage to Miss Maud Winslow, of Terril, by whom he has two children, Mabel Charlotte and Leonard Winslow. Fraternally he is identified with the Masons, belonging to Richloyd Lodge, No. 612, A.F. & A.M., of Terril; Spirit Lake Chapter, No. 132, R.A.M.; Esdraelon Commandery, No. 52, K.T.;and Abu Bekr Temple, A.A.0.N.M.S., of Sioux City, Iowa. Mr.and Mrs. Gravatt are also members of Gloaming Chapter, No. 225, 0.E.S. His political allegiance is given to the republican party and he is a member of the town council and is vitally interested in all that pertains to the advancement and welfare of Terril and for the past ten years has been secretary of the school board. He was largely instrumental in bringing about the present efficient consolidated school system that resulted in the erection of a school building valued at fifty thousand dollars. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church and their influence is always on the side of progress and improvement, whether in behalf of the material, intellectual. social or moral development of the community.
Lars Hansen, who was one of the progressive and successful farmersof Denmark township, was a splendid representative of the excellent citizens whom Denmark has given to Emmet county. He was born in that country October 9, 1849, and was one of a family of seven children whose parents were Hans and Anna Marie Larsen. The father was a small farmer in Denmark and there both he and the mother spent their entire lives.Lars Hansen received his education in the schools of his native country and remained there until 1872, when at the age of about twenty-three years he crossed the Atlantic to the United States and continued his journey westward to Clinton, Iowa. After working on a railroad there for a time he went to the vicinity of Cedar Falls and purchased a farm, which he operated until 1882. In that year he came to Denmark township, Emmet county, which was just being settled, and purchased the south half of the southwest quarter of section 27. That farm remained his place of residence throughout the rest of his life and as the years passed he brought it to a high state of cultivation. He concentrated his attention upon hisfarm work and as a result received a gratifying income from his land. On the 13th of August, 1896, he met an accidental death and is buried in St.John's cemetery.
In 1882 Mr. Hansen was united in marriage to Miss Maren Eskelund,whose parents spent their entire lives in Denmark. Mr. and Mrs. Hansen had six children: Lena, now Mrs. Hans C. Christiansen, of Denmark township; Anna, the wife of Peter Johansen, of Denmark township; J. E.,who is married and is a banker of Crystal Lake, Iowa; Emma and Carl,both at home; and William, who is married and resides in Ringsted. The democratic party received the support of Mr. Hansen but his political activity was confined to the exercise of his right of franchise. He served, however, as school director for seven years and had much at heart the educational advancement of his community. His religious faith was indicated by his membership in St. John's Danish Lutheran church. His untimely death deprived his family of a loving husband and father and his community of a citizen whose support could always be counted upon for the furtherance,of all worthy projects.
Horace H. Overocker still owns a valuable farm in Dickinson county but is now living retired in Milford, leaving the cultivation of his land to tenants. He was born in New York state on the 28th of September, 1849, one of seven children whose parents were Jacob and Elizabeth (Hollister) Overocker, also natives of New York, where they passed their entire lives. Both are buried in a cemetery in Oneida county, that state. Horace H. Overocker received a common school education and as a boy assisted his father with the operation of the home farm, thus gaining knowledge concerning agricultural methods that later proved of the greatest value. When sixteen years of age he left home and came west alone, locating in Grundy county, Illinois, where he worked as a farm hand until twenty-one years old. He then rented a farm and for seven years, cultivated land as a renter but at length accumulated sufficient capital to purchase a farm in that county. He carried on agricultural pursuits there until 1905, when he came to Dickinson county, Iowa, and bought his present place in Milford township. He is now retired from active life, his farm being operated by tenants, and he takes great enjoyment in the fine modern home which he erected in Milford. Although he has given up the work of the farm he is connected with the financial circles of the town as president of the Milford State Bank.
In 1873 Mr. Overocker was united in marriage to Miss Ellen Dewey, a daughter of Sylvester and Melissa (Fisk) Dewey, of Grundy county, Illinois, where both passed away and are buried. Mr. and Mrs. Overocker have a son,Burton, who is, married and is living in Milford township. Mr. Overocker is a stanch advocate of republican principles and keeps well informed on the questions and issues of the day. For a number of years he has been treasurer of the school board of Milford and his duties in that connection have been discharged with promptness and accuracy. Fraternally he belongs to the Masonic lodge at Milford and in the teachings of that organization are found the principles which govern his conduct. He has depended solely upon his own resources since he was a boy of sixteen and the success which he has gained is evidence of his business acumen, persistency of purpose and industry.
MAURICE EDWARD WILSON, M. D.
Almost every section on the face of the globe has contributed to the citizenship of Emmet county, and it is a recognized fact that the quota furnished by Canada is of a most substantial and valuable character. A recognition of the fact comes in the review of the life records of such men as Dr. M. E. Wilson, who for a number of years has been actively and successfully engaged in the practice of medicine and surgery in Estherville. A native of Ontario, Canada, he is a son of John M. and Isabelle Wilson. With the removal of the family to Iowa he received his professional training in the State University of Iowa, from which he was graduated in 1897 on the completion of the medical course. He then located for practice in Estherville, where he has since remained, and with the passing years his practice has constantly grown in volume and importance. He has kept in touch with the trend of modern scientific thought and investigation and is continually reading and studying along lines that promote his knowledge. and advance his efficiency, being recognized today as one of the most eminent physicians and surgeons of northeastern Iowa. He has also extended his business interests by becoming a stockholder and one of the directors of the First National Bank.
On the 18th of October, 1899, at Sparta, Wisconsin, Dr. Wilson was united in marriage to Miss Margaret A. Jones, daughter of E. R. Jones. They have one child, Dorothy E. In his political views Dr. Wilson is a republican but cannot be said to be a politician in the sense of office seeking,although from 1908 until 1916 he served as coroner of Emmet county. He is an exemplary representative of the Masonic fraternity, demonstratingin his life the beneficent spirit of the craft. He and his wife hold membership in the Presbyterian church and their social position is an enviable one in those circles where culture and personal worth are accepted as the passports into good society.
James Chapman, senior member of the firm of Chapman & Son, engaged in the automobile business in Terril, Iowa, was born March 19,1853, in Sidney, Shelby county, Ohio, and is a son of Stephen and Maria (Kirtley) Chapman. The father was born in Now York and when a youngman removed to Ohio, where he was married. The mother, however, was a native of Kentucky and as a child was taken by her parents to the Buckeye state. The Kirtley family, while living in the south, were slave holders for many years, but two years before the Civil war they freed all their slaves. In 1866 the father brought his family to Iowa, and first located in Poweshiek county but subsequently removed to O'Brien county where the mother died. After her death he made his home with our subject. James Chapman began his education in his native state and was thirteen years of age on the removal of the family to Iowa. Here he grew to manhood, and in 1879 embarked in the livery business at Audubon, butremained there only a short time, however. He next became a resident of Sheldon, O'Brien county, where he conducted a livery stable for several years. On leaving that place he moved to Adrian, Minnesota, and about 1895 came to Terril, Iowa, where he continued in the livery business until automobiles came into prominence, and since 1911 has conducted a garage. He has the agency for the Ford cars at Terril and in the automobile business has met with good success. His son Walter is now a member of the firm, and in connection with their city property they own two hundred and forty acres of good farming land in Minnesota.
In 1879 Mr. Chapman married Miss Mary McAdam, then a resident of Iowa county, Iowa, but a native of New York state. They have become the parents of two children: Elizabeth, now the wife of Ervin Ruckman of Alberta, Canada; and Walter, who is associated in the automobile business with his father. The republican party finds in Mr. Chapman a stanch supporter of its principles and he has taken a very active interest in political affairs. For many years he has served as constable and no trust reposed in him is ever betrayed. Fraternally he is a member of Milford Lodge, K.P., and is also connected with the Modern Woodmen of America. He is one of the leading business men of Terril and the success that has come to him is the just reward of earnest and persistent labor.
Alexander Dundas, who is living retired in Armstrong after many years of successful farming, was born in Canada, April 17, 1852. His parents, James and Anna (McFadden) Dundas, were natives respectively of Scotland and of Ireland but the mother was also of Scotch descent. On emigrating to America in 1894 the father located in Canada, where he farmed for many years. At length, however, he went to DeKalb county, Illinois, where he rented land until the spring of 1865, when he removed with his family to Kossuth county, Iowa, driving from Illinois to his destination. A son-in-law, John Carroll, came west at the same time and they drove their livestock the entire distance. The household effects of the two families were brought in four covered wagons. Mr. Dundas took up a homestead in Kossuth county but after farming there for five years removed across the line into Emmet county, purchasing eighty acres of land in Armstrong Grove township. He resided upon that place for a number of years but passed away in Armstrong on the 9th of February, 1891, when he had reached the venerable age of ninety-One years. His wife died on the 13th of the same February, when she was eighty-five years old. Alexander Dundas remained at home until be was twenty-two years of age and received his education in the public schools. On beginning his independent career he went to Oregon, where he was employed on a ranch for three years, after which he returned home and operated the homestead for two years. He next drove the stage from Webster City, Iowa,to Algona, a distance of sixty-five miles, for a year, and then turned his attention to breaking the prairie for others. In all he broke eighteen hundred acres of land, a record equaled by few. In the early days in the county the nearest mill was at Estherville, Iowa, or Blue Earth, Minnesota, and as horses were very scarce most of the settlers used oxen as draft animals. At length he decided to turn his attention to some field of activity other than agricultural pursuits and for two years was employed in an implement store, working one year for Jack Graham and one year for J. B. Johnson. At the end of that time he again took up the work of the fields, purchasing a farm from his brother in Kossuth county. Eleven years were devoted to the opreation of that place. He then removed to Armstrong and for two years took care of his parents, who were then advanced in years. After returning to his farm he engaged in agricultural pursuits for eight years but at length sold the place and went with his family to Oregon, where he remained for only six months. He came again to Emmet county and bought land one mile from Armstrong, farming that place for three years. He kept well informed asto the discoveries in scientific agriculture and was constantly seeking to become more efficient in the management of his farm work. He was the first man in the county to raise alfalfa and was ranked among those who lead rather than those who follow in the development of the agricultural interests of the county. In March, 1904, he retired from active life and removed to Armstrong, where he purchased a good residence, and there he still makes his home. He has seen many different parts of the country. In addition to the places already mentioned he lived for a time in Texas, going there when a young man. He was not pleased with conditions, however, and only remained for six months, returning to Iowa. He is fully convinced that the opportunities offered the farmer in Emmet county are the equal of those to be found anywhere else in the country.
On the 12th of December, 1888, Mr. Dundas was united in marriage to Miss Susie Brayton and they have five children: Edith V., the wife of Peter H. Gehrtz, a resident of northern Minnesota; Minnie R., who married John Van Buskirk and resides in Montana; Clifford, who is living in Armstrong; F. Louvin, a resident of Washburn county, Wisconsin; and Nellie M., at home.
Mr. Dundas is a stanch republican and served ably as justice of the peace and as school director while living in Kossuth county. He attends the Presbyterian church and is a member of the Masonic order and the Eastern Star, these associations indicating the principles which have governed his life. He has a wide acquaintance in this locality and is anauthority upon the history of this region as he removed here when it was just being opened to settlement. In fact he and his brother David are the oldest living settlers of this locality. He has at all times discharged to the full the obligations resting upon him as a man and a citizen and the high esteem in which he is held is well deserved.
PETER C. SMITH
Peter C. Smith, who is devoting his time and attention to the operation of his well-improved farm of eighty acres on sections 22 and 23, Armstrong Grove township, was born in Germany, of Danish stock, on the 9th of June, 1862. His parents, Ahrindt and Eleanora (Grav) Smith, were natives of Denmark. The mother died in Germany in 1880 and the father came to this country in 1890. During his active years he was a blacksmith but after his emigration to this country lived retired, making his home with his son, J. P., in Clinton, Iowa, and passing away in August, 1895. Peter C. Smith was reared in his native country and there attended the public schools. He learned the shoemaker's trade, which he followed until 1882, when he came to the United States and located in Clinton county, Iowa, where he was employed in the sawmills for some time. Later he worked as a farm hand and then became connected with a wholesale hardware store in Clinton. After seven years spent with that concern he came to Emmet county, Iowa, in 1899 and in connection with his brother purchased one hundred and sixty acres on section 10, Jack Creek township. They made a number of improvements upon the place, which they operated for nine years, but at the end of that time Peter C. Smith came to Armstrong Grove township and purchased eighty acres on sections 22 and 23. The buildings, which are located on section 23, are substantial and well adapted to their purposes and everything about the place is kept in excellent condition. He engage&339;s in general farming and derives a gratifying income from his well directed labors.
On the 2d of January, 1900, Mr. Smith was married to Miss Maria S. Lund, a daughter of Jens N. and Carolina C. (Thomsen) Lund, natives of Denmark, who in 1864 came to America and located in Clinton county, Iowa. There the father bought a farm which he operated for many years but he is now retired and resides at Camanche, Clinton county. He has reached the age of seventy-seven years and his wife is seventy-two years old. To Mr. and Mrs. Smith have been born three children: one, who was born in February, 1901, and died in infancy; Eleanora C., who died March 21, 1903, at the age of six months; and Florence, who was born June 21, 1904, and is attending school. Mr. Smith gives his political allegiance to the democratic party and his religious faith is indicated by his membership in the Lutheran church. He has been quick to recognize and utilize the opportunities offered him here in this relatively new country and as a result has wOn a gratifying measure of success.
JOHN C. HARRISON
The well ordered appearance of the farm of one hundred and sixty acres in Armstrong Grove township, Emmet county, belonging to John,C. Harrison is evidence of the care and labor which he bestows upon the place and which enables him to secure a gratifying income from his land. He was born on the 12th of March, 1846, in Michigan, a son of Alanson and Eleanor (Patek) Harrison, both natives of New York state. The father followed the stonecutter's trade in the east, but after his removal to Michigan engaged in farming there. At length he retireda nd removed to a nearby town, where he spent his last years, his death occurring January 2, 1882. On the 9th of May, 1884, his wife also passed away. John C..Harrison grew to manhood in his native state and received his education in the common schools. On attaining his majority he left home and traveled during the greater part of the time for three years. He then went to California, where he was employed as a railroad brakeman for some time and where he learned and followed the carpenter's trade. At length he returned to Michigan, but in the spring of 1871 he and two brothers came to Emmet county, Iowa, where all took up homesteads. John C. Harrison filed on one hundred and sixty acres on section 20, Armstrong Grove township, and has there made his home during the intervening forty-six years. During that time the transformation wrought in his farm and in the county as a whole has been nothing short of marvelous. When he came here this was a frontier district, much of the land was unbroken and there were few white settlers. Now his highly cultivated and splendidly improved place is typical of the farms of the county and country life has many advantages that even a comparatively few years ago were supposed to belong to city life exclusively. He is a stockholder in the Farmers Creamery Company of Armstrong and the Farmers Telephone Company, believing thoroughly in the importance of cooperation among farmers.
Mr. Harrison was married February 16, 1877, to Mrs. Elizabeth Baker, a daughter of George and Jane (Froice) Martin, natives of England, whence they emigrated to America many years ago. Mr. Martin farmed in New York state and also engaged in the butcher business there until 1871, when he removed with his family to Iowa City, Iowa, where he operated a meat market for three years. He then came to Emmet county, Iowa, where a son homesteaded land. Following the death of the son Mr. Martin took over the operation of the place, which he continued to cultivate for several years. At length he sold the property and from that time until his death, which occurred in 1904, made his home with Mr. Harrison. The mother died in'December, 1893. To Mr.and Mrs. Harrison has been born a son, Harry, whose birth occurred in December, 1877, and who is now operating the home place. He married Miss Amy Moore and they have a daughter, Mabel Viola. Mr. Harrison votes the republican ticket and has acceptably filled the offices of assessor and township clerk and has likewise been a school director. His religious faith is indicated in his membership in the Presbyterian church and in all relations of life he has sought to conform his conduct to high ethical standards.
ROBERT P. PETERSON
Robert P. Peterson was for many years identified with the development of Denmark township, of which his father was one of the first settlers, and his life was so ordered that he won the respect and the warm regard of those who were brought into close contact with him. A native of Denmark, he was born May 8, 1867, and he was a son of Morton Peterson, who removed with his family to the United States in 1870 and located in Manistee, Michigan, where the home was maintained for three years. It was there that the wife and mother died. Subsequently the father and children lived in Chicago for two years and then resided in Clinton, Iowa,for a time, but in 1883 came to Denmark township, Emmet county, becoming the first of the Danish settlers of the township. The father purchased the southwest quarter of section 1, which he farmed until 1902,when he retired and took up his residence in Ringsted, where he passed away in 1912.
In 1878, in Clinton, he was married a second time, choosing as his wife Anna Petersen, also a native of Denmark, where her parents passed their entire lives. She survived him for two years, dying in 1914, and is buried by his side in St. Paul's cemetery. By each of his two marriages he had three children. Robert P. Peterson was brought to the United States when a child and received his education in the public schools of this country. He gave his father the benefit of his labor until he was twenty-four years of age and then purchased the northeast quarter of section 12, Denmark township, to the cultivation and improvement of which he devoted his time and attention until 1910. Everything about his place was kept in good repair and he used up-to-date methods in his work with the result that as the years passed his resources increased. He was still actively engaged in farming at the time of his death in 1910. Mrs. Peterson continued to reside upon the farm until 1912, when she retired and removed to Ringsted, where she erected a fine residence.
It was in 1891 that Mr. Peterson was united in marriage to Miss Kirsten Jensen, a daughter of Peter and Marie (Andersen) Jensen, natives of Denmark, where they lived and died. To Mr. and Mrs. Peterson were born eight children: Anna, now Mrs. J. E. Hansen, of Crystal Lake, Iowa; Marie, the wife of 0. E. Olsen, of Comfrey, Minnesota; Martin H., a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work; Walter, who is living in Cedar Rapids, Iowa; and Ella, Dora, Eugene and Edna, all at home.Mr. Peterson supported the candidates and measures of the republican party at the polls but never had time to be an active participant in political affairs. He held membership in St. Paul's Danish Lutheran church and contributed to the support of its work. His was a life of unrelaxing effort and his death was not only the occasion of great sorrow to his family and friends but was also deeply regretted by the community at large as he was recognized as a man of sterling worth and as a public spirited citizen.
GEORGE H. ROBB
George H. Robb, one of the prominent and influential citizens of Emmet county, successfully engaged in farming and stock raising on section 13, Estherville township, was born on the 15th of February, 1881,in Morris, Illinois, of which state his parents, Wesley and Eudora (Clow) Robb, were also natives. In their family were seven children. Our subject was a lad of thirteen years when he accompanied his parents on their removal to Emmet county,1owa. The father purchased the east half of section 13, Estherville township, on which he engaged in farming and stock raising on an extensive scale for ten years, but is now practically living retired in Estherville. George H. Robb began his education in the district schools of Illinois and later attended the high school of Estherville, Iowa, and a business college at Kankakee, Illinois. Under his father's able direction he early became familiar with agricultural pursuits and since the age of twenty years he has been in partnership with his father in their farming and stock raising operations. He now owns one hundred and thirty-five acres in the south half of the east half of section 13, Estherville township, and the west half of the southwest quarter of section 18 of Center township, and the southeast quarter of the southwest quarter of the same section.His place is well improved with good and substantial buildings and the fields are in a high state of cultivation. His stock is of a good grade and commands the highest price on the market.
Mr. Robb was married in 1902 to Miss Nellie Crim, a daughter of A. A. and Eva Crim, who are farming people of Center township. Mr.and Mrs. Robb have two children, Maurine and Merrill. The republican party finds in Mr. Robb a stanch supporter of its principles and his fellow citizens, recognizing his worth and ability have called upon him to fill many positions of honor and trust. He was a member of the republican central committee two years, was township assessor four years and has been township clerk for the past three years. He has also been president, treasurer and a director of the Farmers Institute and does all in his power to promote the interests of his community. In religious faith be is a Methodist.
HANS C. TOFT
Many of the most highly esteemed residents of Ringsted are retired farmers and among this number is Hans C. Toft, who was born in Schleswig, Germany, of Danish descent, the sixth in order of birth in a family of seven children born to George and Ellen (Jessen) Toft. The father was a carpenter and mason. Hans C. Toft was the only one of the family to come to the United States save his youngest brother, who was accidentally scalded to death on a steamboat running from San Francisco to Portland. Mr. Toft of this review attended school in his native country until he was sixteen years old and later spent eighteen months in the Danish army according to the requirements of the country. Upon returning to civil life he was employed as a farm hand for two years, but in 1881 came to the United States and made his way to Battle Creek, Iowa. There he took out his first naturalization papers as it was his intention from the beginning to thoroughly identify himself with his adopted country. He worked for farmers in that locality for a time, but as soon as possible bought land, becoming the owner of eighty acres in Ida county. After farming that place for four years he went to Clinton, Iowa, where he was employed in a sawmill until 1893, in which year he removed to Kossuth county. He rented a farm near the Emmet county line and for three years was engaged in its operation, but at the end of that period purchased the west half of the southeast quarter of section 13, Denmark township, Emmet county. There he engaged in farming and stock raising until he retired from active life in 1915 and removed to Ringsted, where hei s now making his home. He was thoroughly familiar with the most approved methods of cultivating the fields and caring for the live stock and was energetic and industrious, allowing nothing to interfere with his farm work, and thus it was that he gained a competence.
In 1887 Mr. Toft was married to Miss Abilena Wilson, a daughter of Andrew and Katherine Wilson, natives of Schleswig, who, however, emigrated to the United States. They lived for some time in Clinton,Iowa, but subsequently made their home in Hancock county, Iowa, with their son Jesse, now a resident of Armstrong, Iowa. The mother died in Hancock county, but the father passed away in Emmet county while living with Mr. and Mrs. Toft. He is buried in St. John's cemetery.
Mr. and Mrs. Toft have become the parents of six children: Alma, who died at the age of eighteen and is buried in St. John's cemetery; Tina, now Mrs. Knut Bonnicksen, of Denmark township; and Andrew, George, Olga and Siegfried, all at home. Mr. Toft is a stalwart advocate of republican principles and can be depended upon to support the candidates of that party at the polls. He has made his own way in the world, having neither capital nor influential friends to aid him in gaining a start, but the necessity of depending upon his own resources did not discourage him as he believed that persistence and careful management would enable him to gain success. This faith has been more than justified and he now ranks among the substantial men of Ringsted.
PAUL H. GRAVES
Paul H. Graves, engaged in the grain and coal trade at Gruver and identified with farming interests in Center township, Emmet county, was born in La Salle county, Illinois, March 24, 1889, a son of W. A. and Ida Graves, both of whom are natives of La Salle county, where the father engaged in business as a lumber dealer. There he and his wife still make their home. In their family were five children who are yet living, and one of the daughters, Gertrude, now the wife of M. H. Wilkinson,is a resident of Ellsworth township, Emmet county. Paul H. Graves spent the days of his boyhood and youth in La Salle county, Illinois, and he supplemented his early education, acquired inthe common schools, by two years' study in Knox College at Galesburg,Illinois. In 1908 he arrived in Emmet county, Iowa, where he worked for his grandfather, P. H. Graves, upon the home farm for a year. He then became manager of the Henry Rippe Grain Company at Gruver and has since been continuously identified with the business enterprise and commercial upbuilding of that town. Later he engaged in the implement trade on his own account, continuing his activity along that line until 1913, when he built an elevator at Gruver which he has since operated. In addition to buying grain he also sells coal, and he has a good patronage in both branches of his business. He also owns one hundred and sixty acres of land on section 15, Center township, constituting the southwest quarter of the section. His elevator and his farmare the visible evidences of a life of well directed energy and thrift.
In 1908 Mr. Graves was united in marriage to Miss Mae Hoff, a daughter of Chris and Rachel Hoff, of Traer, Iowa, who are still living. Mr. and Mrs. Graves have become parents of three children: Russell, Geraldine and Myron. Mr. Graves is a member of North Star Lodge, No. 447, F.& A. M., of Estherville, and in his life exemplifies the beneficent spirit upon which the order is based. He and his wife hold membership in the Presbyterian church and are most loyal to its teachings. In politics he is a republican and is serving on the council at Gruver. He coOperates heartily in all plans and movements for the upbuilding of his town, his county and his state and he stands as a high type of American manhood and chivalry.
Jacob Martini, who follows farming on section 10, Lloyd township,is one of the citizens that Germany has furnished to Iowa, his birth occurring in the fatherland December 9, 1853. His parents, Gerald and Maria (Klinkler) Martini, were also natives of Germany, where they continued to make their home until 1866, which year witnessed their emigration to America. They first located in Stephenson county, Illinois, but in 1882 came to Iowa, where they continued to reside until called to their final rest. They had a family of six children, three of whom are still living. In his native land Jacob Martini acquired a good practical education which has been of great benefit to him in later years. He accompanied his parents on their removal to the United States in 1866 and remained with them for some time. It was in 1893 that he arrived in Dickinson county, Iowa, and purchased his present farm on section 10, Lloyd township. Here he now owns a valuable tract of three hundred and twenty acres upon which he has made excellent improvements, and in its cultivation he has met with good success. He has become interested in other enterprises and is today a director of the First National Bank of Terril.
In 1878 Mr. Martini was united in marriage to Miss Cornelia Smith, also a native of Germany, and to them have been born eight children, but four are now deceased, those living being: Maria, now the wife of Claus Stratman; Elsa, at home; Jennie, the wife of Fred Ern, of Atwater, Minnesota; and Grace, at home. During their residence in Dickinson county the family have become widely and favorably known. Mr. Martini casts his ballot for the men and measures of the republican party but has never been an office seeker, his time being wholly taken up by his business interests. He has a good farm and is recognized as a man of business and executive ability.
FRANK J. STEINER
Frank J. Steiner, who for a number of years has successfully engaged in the hotel business in Armstrong, Emmet county, is a representative of the fine class of citizens that Germany has given to Iowa. He was born in that country October 25, 1859, and there his parents spent their entire lives. He received his education in the schools of the fatherland and in his youth learned the shoemaker's trade, which he followed there until twenty-three years old. He then, in 1882, came to America and wase mployed as a farm hand near Emmetsburg, Iowa, until his marriage, after which be removed to Dubuque, Iowa. Still later he located at St.Paul, Minnesota, and there he followed his trade until 1894. He then came to Armstrong, Emmet county, Iowa, and during the twenty-three years which have since intervened he has concentrated his energies upon the conduct of the hotel. Since October, 1908, his wife and their son,Frank J. Steiner, Jr., have engaged in the restaurant business. They also operate a bakery and the success with which their efforts have been attended is remarkable. They do an enormous business in their restaurant, their trade being the largest in the county, and also find a ready sale for their bakery goods. In the management of their interests they have displayed foresight and business acumen and they hold to the highest standards in regard to the quality and purity of the food served. They also own two business properties in the town.
On the 23d of June, 1885, Mr. Steiner was united in marriage to Miss Margaret Namer, a daughter of John and Anna Namer, natives of Germany, who emigrated to America in the 50s and located in Ohio, where the father farmed. Later removal was made to Palo Alto county, Iowa,and there he passed away in February, 1889. His wife, however, is still living. Mr. and Mrs. Steiner are the parents of five children, Mamie, Jennie, Frank J., William and V.(sic) Mr. Steiner is a democrat in his political belief and in religious faith is a Catholic. The family are well known not only in Armstrong but throughout the county and are held in the highest respect because of the many admirable qualities which characterize them.
THOMAS V. GAMMELGAARD
Thomas V. Gammelgaard, deceased, was an honored citizen of Emmet county, his home being on section 21, Denmark township, where his family still reside. Of Danish descent, he was born in Schleswig-Holstein, Germany, and there he was reared and educated. His parents, who are also deceased, never came to the United States. In their family were only two children, a son and daughter, and the latter is still a resident of Denmark.Mr. Gammelgaard, of this review, served for three years in the Danish army, and at the age of twenty-five years came alone to America, believing that here he could better his financial condition. He first located in Clinton county, Iowa, but a year later removed to Humboldt county, this state, where he worked as a farm hand for a time. In 1894 he became a resident of Denmark township, Emmet county, where he engaged in farming upon rented land for six years, and in 1900 purchased the west half of the southwest quarter of section 21, where he continued to follow farming with good results until his death, which occurred June 30, 1907. His remains were interred in St. John's cemetery.
In 1897 Mr. Gammelgaard married Miss Laura Petersen, whose parents died in Clinton, Iowa, when she was quite small, and she was adopted by P. L. and Christina Petersen, now living retired in Ringsted. To Mr. and Mrs. Gammelgaard were born four children: Alfred, Myrtle, Edward and Emil, all at home. By a former marriage Mr. Gammelgaard had one son, Chris, who is now engaged in farming near Rutland, Iowa. Mr. Gammelgaard cast his ballot with the democratic party and acceptably served as school director in his district. He was an earnest and consistent member of St. John's Lutheran church, and also held membership in the Danish Brotherhood, the Modern Woodmen of America and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He was one of the highly esteemed citizens of his community and had the confidence and respect of all who,knew him.
KNUT K. SKATTEBO
Knut K. Skattebo is now living retired in Wallingford but for a considerable period was actively connected with farming interests in Twelve Mile Lake township and was accounted one of the leading and progressive farmers of Emmet county. Wisconsin claims him as a native son, his birth having occurred in Manitowoc county, January 14, 1859, his parents being Knut and Emma (Roble) Skattebo, who were natives of Norway. The father followed the occupation of farming in order to provide for the support of his family, which included nine children. Reared under the parental roof, Knut K. Skattebo attended the district schools until sixteen years of age and then concentrated his efforts upon the farm work, continuing to assist his father in the further development and improvement of the fields on the old homestead until he reached the age of twenty-five years. Seeking opportunities offered elsewhere he came to Emmet county in 1885 and for three years rented farmland, residing for two years of that period in High Lake township and for one year in Twelve Mile Lake township. With the money which he had thus earned he then purchased the northeast quarter of section 1, Twelve Mile Lake township, and thereafter was busily engaged in general agricultural pursuits until 1915, when he put aside the work of the fields and retired to Wallingford, where he now makes his home. His labors wrought a marked change in the appearance of his place, for he brought his land to a high state of cultivation and annually gathered good crops as the reward for the care and labor which he bestowed upon his fields.
On July 3, 1884, Mr. Skattebo was joined in wedlock to Miss Mary 0.Odegard, her parents being Ove and Mary (Berge) Odegard, of Manitowoe county, Wisconsin, both of whom have passed away. They were the parents of seven children, of whom five survive. To Mr. and Mrs.Skattebo have been born nine children, as follows: Clarence I., who is married and resides on the home place; Mable, the deceased wife of Clarence Clemensen; Charlotte, who is the wife of John Graff and lives near Raleigh, Iowa; Minnie, at home; Augusta, who is residing at Ames; and Lloyd, Arthur, Frances and Leonard, all at home. Mr. Skattebo is a republican in his political views and strongly indorses the principles of his party. For a number of years he has served as a member of the township school board but has never been a politician in the sense of office seeking. He belongs to the Norwegian Lutheran church and his has been an honorable, upright life, commending him to the confidence and good will of those who have known him. He started out empty handed and his success is due to industry and perseverance, those qualities constituting the foundation upon which he has built his prosperity. He is justly entitled to the rest which he is now enjoying, for his earnest and persistent labor in former years brought to him the capital that now supplies him with all the comforts and some of the luxuries of life.
R. C. COLEMAN, M. D.
Striving ever to reach high professional standards, his attainments along the line of his chosen life work have brought Dr. R. C. Coleman prominently before the public as a most capable physician and surgeon of Estherville. He was born in Livermore, Iowa, on the 12th of November, 1889, a son of Isaac Coleman, a native of Toronto, Canada, who when about sixteen years of age crossed the border into New York state, where he resided for five years. He then removed westward to Iowa, settling at Lost Nation, Jackson county, where he spent three years. He afterward removed to Livermore, Humboldt county, and in 1899 came to Emmet county, establishing his home in Dolliver, where he remained for four years. During that period he devoted his attention to the hardware business, after which he took up the occupation of farming, in which he continued throughout the remainder of his active business life. In 1914,however, he put aside business cares and removed to Estherville, where he is now enjoying a well earned rest.
It was subsequent to his removal to Iowa that he married Miss Nettie Moulton, of Maquoketa, whose parents had removed to Jackson county, Iowa, from New York in 1844, being among the first of the pioneer settlers of that district. At the usual age Dr. Coleman became a public school pupil and continued his education in the high school at Armstrong, from which he was graduated with the class of 1904. In the fall of 1905 he entered the Iowa State University, in which he pursued a two years' course in the liberal arts. In 1908 he matriculated in the medical department of the State University and won his M. D. degree in due course of time as a graduate of the class of 1912. He spent the following year as an interne in the University Hospital and in post graduate work and through his hospital experience gained that broad knowledge and efficiency which can be secured in no other way as quickly as in hospital practice. In July, 1913, he went to Europe for further study and spent eight months in attendance at the clinics in Vienna, after which he made his way to Gratz, Austria, where he spent six months in further study, whereby he became familiar with the methods of some of the most eminent physicians and surgeons of the old world. In October, 1914, he returned to the United States to take up the practice of his profession and on the 20th of January, 1915, opened an office in Estherville, Iowa, where in the past two years he has built up an extensive practice.
On the 24th of May, 1916, Dr. Coleman was united in marriage to Miss Josephine Dean Smith, of Minneapolis, Minnesota. He is a member of Estherville Lodge, No. 545, B.P.0.E., and of the Phi Rho Sigma,a college fraternity. Dr. Coleman also belongs to the Emmet County Medical Society and the Iowa State Medical Association, and while one of the younger, he is also recognized as one of the foremost physicians and surgeons of Emmet county, thoroughly in touch with the most modern methods and scientific practices known to the profession.
For six years Rasmus Hansen was actively identified with the commercial interests of Emmet county as one of the leading business men of Ringsted but now devotes his time and attention to agricultural pursuits, owning and operating a fine farm on section 30, Denmark township. He was born on the 27th of March, 1865, in Denmark, and is the fourth in order of birth in a family of eight children whose parents were Mads P. and Karen Marie (Jensen) Hansen. The first fifteen years of his life were spent in his native land and he then accompanied the family on their emigration to the new world. It was in 1880 that they arrived in Story City, Iowa, and the father purchased a farm in Story county, which he operated for five years. In 1885 he removed with his family to Palo Alto county, locating just across the line from Denmark township, Emmet county, and the farm which he there secured he improved and cultivated for a number of years. At length his son Rasmus purchased the place and cared for his parents until death. The father passed away on the 31st of December, 1898, and the mother died January 18, 1916, both being laid to rest in St. John's cemetery. During his boyhood and youth Rasmus Hansen became thoroughly familiar with the best methods of carrying on agricultural pursuits and he followed farming until 1900, when he embarked in the hardware business at Ringsted and continued operations along that line for three years. During the following three years he was engaged in the coal and feed business at that place, but in 1906 resumed farming, purchasing the southwest quarter of section 30, Denmark township, Emmet county,where he now resides. He has drained the land and made many substantial improvements thereon, converting it into one of the best farms of the locality. He raises high grade Holstein cattle and also hogs, keeping registered boars for that purpose.
In 1893 Mr. Hansen married Miss Johanna Marie Madsen, a daughter of Jens P. and Maren Madsen, who were lifelong residents of Denmark. Mr. and Mrs. Hansen have four children: Carrie, Sine, Minnie and August. The family are communicants of St. Paul's Lutheran church and Mr. Hansen is identified with the democratic party. He assisted in the incorporation of the town of Ringsted and served on the council two years. He takes an active and commendable interest in public affairs and never withholds his support from any enterprise which he believes calculated to promote the moral, educational or material welfare of his community. He is a straightforward and reliable business man and well merits any trust reposed in him.
Ludvig Larsen, living on a farm on section 6 in High Lake township, was born in Norway, June 7, 1866. His parents, Lars and Inger (Kril) Larsen, were also natives of that country, where they lived and died. They had a family of nine children, six of whom yet survive. Spending his youthful days in his native land, Ludvig Larsen there obtained a public school education and in 1886, when twenty years of age, came to the new world. He did not tarry on the Atlantic coast, but made his way at once west of the Mississippi and settled in Jones county, Iowa, where he lived for sixteen years. He then returned to Norway, where he remained for four and one-half years, when he came once more to America and established his home in Emmet county. He settled upon the farm where he now lives on section 6, High Lake township, and gives his attention to the further development and improvement of his fields. Within the boundaries of his farm are comprised one hundred and ninety-nine acres, constituting one of the attractive and well improved farms of the township. It is lacking in none of the modern accessories which facilitate farm work and promote the success of the agriculturist. Mr. Larsen makes a specialty of raising and feeding stock and as the years have gone by he has won substantial returns as the reward of his labor, being now one of the prosperous citizens of Emmet county.
In 1900 occurred the marriage of Mr. Larsen and Miss Lena Hankin, a native of Jones county, Iowa. They have become parents of five children: Hilma; Etta, deceased; Hannah; Leo, who has also passed away; and Norman. The parents are members of the Lutheran church and guide their lives according to its teachings. In his political views Mr.Larsen has been a republican since becoming a naturalized American citizen. For six years he served as school director and he is always interested in those plans and projects which work for the development and upbuilding of the community. He has many sterling traits of character and his life record indicates what may be accomplished through persistent, earnest effort prompted by laudable ambition.
Among the highly respected residents of Armstrong is George Stewart, who devoted the greater part of his active life to farming and was for a few years a general merchant of Armstrong. He has now put aside all business cares, however, and is giving himself over to the enjoyment of a well earned leisure. He was born in Ontario, Canada, October 8, 1853, and is a son of George and Jane (Richmond) Stewart, natives of Scotland, who became residents of Ontario, Canada, in 1849. The father followed farming there for twenty years but in 1869 removed to Kossuth county, Iowa, where he purchased land. He passed away on the 4th of July, 1899, more than thirty-five years after the death of his wife, who was called to her last rest on the 23d of December,1863. George Stewart began his education in the schools of Ontario and completed it in those of Kossuth county, Iowa. He remained with his father until he attained his majority and then taught school in Kossuth county, Iowa, for two terms, after which he came to Emmet county and homesteaded land in Armstrong Grove township in 1877. As soon as possible he brought his land under cultivation and as the years passed added to the improvements upon the place. He cultivated his land until 1912 with the exception of five years when it was rented to others, during which time, from 1898 until 1904, he was engaged in the milling business at Armstrong. At the end of that period he returned to the farm but in 1913 took up his permanent abode in Armstrong. For two years he conducted a general store here but in September, 1915,disposed of that property and has since lived retired. While upon the farm he gave particular attention to raising thoroughbred Poland China hogs and from that business received a gratifying profit. He has disposed of his farm in Armstrong township but still owns land south of Estherville in Emmet county and holds title to his residence in Armstrong. He likewise owns stock in the Farmers Elevator Company.
On the 20th of July, 1878, Mr. Stewart was united in marriage to Miss Georgiana P. Steel, by whom he had seven children: Mary J.; Louise; James; John, who was killed by a train September 11, 1911; Ada; Minnie V.; and Guy. The wife and mother died on the 24th of
March, 1898, and on the 6th of June, 1900, Mr. Stewart was again married, choosing as his second wife Miss Ella J. Dodds, who died on the 10th of October, 1905. On the 12th of October, 1910, he married Miss Fannie S. Kennedy. Mr. Stewart is an advocate of republican principles and supports the candidates of that party at the polls. He has been active in local affairs, having served as assessor and trustee of Armstrong Grove township and having also been a member of the town council of Armstrong. While living on the farm lie served on the school board for some time and he operated a store and had charge of the post office at Armstrong Grove before the town of Armstrong was even thought of. In all of his official connections he has displayed the same energy and foresight which have been such important factors in his individual success. He belongs to the Knight Templar Commandery of the Masonic order and to the Mystic Shrine and his religious faith is that of the Presbyterian church. He has been a leader in his community along various lines and has the satisfaction of knowing that his life has been well spent.
LAURENCE F. HEINRICH
Laurence F. Heinrich is well known as the proprietor of the Cloverdale Farm, comprising two hundred and forty acres of rich and productive land on section 14, Iowa Lake township, Emmet county. His birth occurred in Benton county, Iowa, in July, 1882, his parents being Gustav and Matilda (Becker) Heinrich, the former a native of Australia and the latter of Castle, Pennsylvania. The father, an agriculturist by occupation, came to America at the age of nineteen years, taking up his abode in Benton county, Iowa, where he worked by the month as a farm hand until he was twenty-four years old. At that time he purchased a tract of eighty acres which he improved and cultivated for five years, on the expiration of which period he disposed of the property and bought another farm of two hundred and forty acres in Benton county, operating the same until 1910. In that year he put aside the active work of the fields and has since lived in honorable retirement at Waterloo, Blackhawk county, Iowa. His wife passed away in August, 1911. Laurence F. Heinrich was reared and educated in his native county and remained under the parental roof until he had attained the age of twenty-three years. He then started out as an agriculturist on his own account and cultivated a tract of rented land in Benton county, Iowa, foreight years, at the end of which time he purchased a farm of one hundred and fifty acres in Emmet township, Emmet county. After operating the place for a year he sold out and bought his present farm of two hundred and forty acres on section 14, Iowa Lake township, on which he has made substantial improvements and which he has cultivated continuously and successfully since. In connection with the raising of cereals he feeds about two cars of hogs annually, this branch of his business dding materially to his income.
On the 21st of December, 1905, Mr. Heinrich was united in marriage to Miss Meta Combs, a daughter of Thomas and Martha (Walters) Combs, who are natives of Kentucky and Pennsylvania respectively. The father, an agriculturist by occupation, removed to Benton county,Iowa, at an early day, having for several years previously been engaged in farming in Linn county, this state. He carried on the work of the fields for many years in Benton county, but he and his wife are now living retired at Blairstown, Iowa. Mr. and Mrs. Heinrich have two children, namely: Marion A., who was born October 6, 1906; and Clark D., whose natal day was October 10, 1907. Mr. Heinrich gives his political allegiance to the republican party and is now serving as a trustee of Iowa Lake township. He is also one of the board of directors of the Emmet County Fair Association and was director of the Emmet County Improvement Association until his recent resignation. His religious faith is indicated by his membership in the Evangelical Association of North America. His life is upright and honorable in every relation and he enjoys an enviable reputation as one of the representative citizens and prosperous agriculturists of his community.
J. W. OAKES
J. W. Oakes, a representative farmer of Jack Creek township, Emmet county, makes his home on section 27 and a well developed tract of land there pays tribute to the care and labor which he bestows upon it. He is a native of Laporte county, Indiana, born March 22, 1866, and is a son of William Mc and Anna E. (Forseman) Oakes, who were natives of Pennsylvania. They were married, however, in Indiana, to which state they had removed with their parents in early life. In 1867 they became residents of Ogle county, Illinois, and there the father continued to engage in the occupation of farming until death terminated his labors in 1899. His widow is still living and now resides with a daughter in Oregon, Illinois. J. W. Oakes was educated in the common schools and in the high school at Valparaiso, Indiana, and in 1886 he began farming on his own account. He had been reared to the work of the fields and was thoroughly familiar with the best methods of tilling the soil and caring for the crops. He first rented land in Ogle county and in 1887 he came to Iowa, where for four years he rented land in Lyon county. There he carried on farming until 1891, which year witnessed his arrival in Emmet county. The same year he purchased his present home farm, comprising one hundred and sixty acres on section 27, Jack Creek township. On this place he has since made his home and his labors have been concentrated upon its further development and improvement with the result that it is today one of the fine farms of the locality.
In 1892 Mr. Oakes was united in marriage to Miss Eda Kent, of Polk county, Iowa, by whom be had five children, four of whom still survive, namely: William Me, a resident of Ringsted, Emmet county; and Kent, Joseph W. Jr., and Grace E., all at home. Politically, Mr. Oakes is independent, while fraternally he is identified with the Modern Woodmen of America and the Loyal Order of Moose. He is one of the best known men of Jack Creek township, respected as a progressive agriculturist and as a public-spirited citizen, his life record at all times having conformed to the highest standards of manhood and citizenship.
ERNEST ALBERT WOODS
The firm of Woods & Woods, dealers in implements at Milford, is one of the important factors in the commercial life of the town and the men who comprise it, Ernest Albert Woods and his brother, George P.Woods, are acknowledged to be men of sterling integrity, enterprise and sound judgment. Ernest A. Woods is likewise prominent in public affairs and is now filling the office of mayor. He was born in Clay county,Iowa, December 14, 1880, a son of John and Emma (Williams) Woods, both natives of Chestershire, England. The mother was born in the city of Chester, one of the oldest towns in England. In 1878 they came to the United States and located in Clay county, Iowa, where the father farmed for several years. Subsequently he removed to Westport township, Dickinson county, and after retiring from active life took up his residence in Milford, where he passed away. He and his wife are buried in Okoboji cemetery. To them were born four sons and one daughter, namely: Jennie, now Mrs. W. B. Herrick, of Faith, South Dakota; F. C., of Stephen, Minnesota; George P., who is associated with Ernest Albert in business; Leonard, who died when four years old andi s buried in Clay county; and Ernest Albert. The last named attended the district schools in Clay county and also in Dickinson county and was for three years a student in the high school at Peterson, Iowa. Subsequently he taught a district school in Okoboji township for two years, but in 1903 he came to Milford and became a member of the firm, Woods & Woods, at the time of his father's death. They carry a general line of farm implements and give particular attention to their trade in tractors, which have been found adapted to so many uses on the modern farm. The proven reliability of the partners has been an important factor in the development of their large trade and custom once gained has usually been retained. They have a large stock, which is strictly up-to-date, and spare no pains to satisfy their patrons.
In Jesup, Iowa, on August 25, 1909, Mr. Woods was married to Miss Alice Barger, a daughter of James and Lovina Barger, of Hampton,Iowa, both of whom are now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Woods have been born three children, Jene, Marion and Winifred. Mr. Woods is a stanch supporter of the republican party and is recognized as a leader in affairs of local government. For the past ten years he has been a member of the town council and he is now mayor, in which capacity he has done excellent work in furthering the interests of the municipality. He belongs to the Methodist Episcopal church and is also identified with the Masonic blue lodge and with the Modern Woodmen of America. He is a man of varied interests and has a broadminded outlook which enables him to give to each factor in life its due emphasis.
BERT B. ANDERSON
A prominent figure in connection with the grain trade in this section of Iowa is Bert B. Anderson, of Estherville, who owns a number of elevators along the line of the Rock Island Railroad. He possesses marked business enterprise and determination and carries forward to successful completion whatever. he undertakes, allowing no obstacle to bar his path if it can be overcome by persistent, earnest effort. Mr. Anderson is a native of the state of New York. He was born October 2, 1859, of the marriage of George A. and Nancy Anderson, who were also natives of the Empire state and who in 1873 removed with their family to Winneshiek county, Iowa, where they took up their abode upon a farm. In 1877 they became residents of Lyon county, Iowa, where the father and mother spent their remaining days. Theyh ad a family of five children, all of whom are yet living. Bert B. Anderson was a youth of fourteen at the time the family came to this state. He acquired a public school education in New York and in Iowa and through the period of his minority aided more and more largely in the work of the home farm as his age and strength increased. After attaining his majority he purchased land in Lyon county and resided thereon for five years, at the end of which time he sold that property and turned to commercial pursuits, engaging in the hardware,implement and grain business in connection with G. M. Anderson at Inwood, Iowa. He was located there for many years, but at length removed to Minneapolis, where he became a stockholder in the Skewis Moen Grain Company. He was traveling auditor for the company for four years and at the end of that time the company dissolved. In 1905 Mr. Anderson came to Estherville and here began dealing in grain and coal. He has since acquired elevators at various points along the Rock Island Railroad and is doing an extensive business as a grain merchant. He thoroughly understands the trade and his enterprise and progressiveness are bringing to him substantial returns.
In 1885 Mr. Anderson was united in marriage to Miss Lydia J.Harrington, of Farmington, Illinois, by whom he has two children, George H. and C. Morton, both at home. In his political views Mr. Anderson is a republican, but has never been an aspirant for office. Fraternally he is connected with the Masons and the Odd Fellows at Estherville, with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the United Commercial Travelers. He is also a member ofthe Commercial Club and both he and his wife hold membership in the Presbyterian church. Their lives are actuated by high and honorable principles and they are now numbered among Estherville's most valued and respected citizens, having here a circle of friends almost coextensive with the circle of their acquaintance.
J. ANTON SORENSEN
J. Anton Sorensen so managed his affairs while actively engaged in farming that he secured a gratifying profit from the sale of his grain and stock and his resources are now such that he is able to live retired in Ringsted. He was born in Denmark, September 30, 1856, and is a son of Soren and Hannah Sorensen. The father was'a farmer by occupation and passed his entire life in Denmark, dying when his son J. Anton was a year old. His death was due to disease contracted as the result of exposure while serving in the Prussian war. The mother survived for fifteen years. J. Anton Sorensen, who was one of a family of three children, attended the public schools until he was confirmed and subsequently was employed on farms until he was eighteen years old, when he came to the United States and located in Dakalb county, Illinois. He remained there for five years, during the greater part of which time he worked as a hired hand, and later he purchased eighty acres of good land in Franklin county, Iowa, to which he subsequently added one hundred and sixty acres. For twenty years he farmed in that county, but in 1902 bought the northwest quarter of section 24, Denmark township, Emmet county, upon which place he resided for eleven years. He also acquired by later purchase the south half of the southwest quarter of section 13 and the north half of the southeast quarter of section 24 and the operation of those tracts left him little time for outside interests. In 1913 he put aside the active work of the fields and removed to Ringsted, where he erected a fine modern home.
In 187S occurred the marriage of Mr. Sorensen and Miss Mary Davidsen, a daughter of Daniel and Maren Davidsen, natives of Denmark. The mother passed away in that country, but the father came to
the United States and for the last twenty years of his life made his home with Mr. and Mrs. Sorensen. He died in 1901 and is buried in Franklin county. To Mr. and Mrs. Sorensen have been born eight children: Daniel, who is married and is operating the home place; John, of Ringsted; Anna, the wife of T. B. Petersen, of Ringsted; Torvald, who is farming in Kossuth county; Peter, who is with his brother Torvald; Alfred, who died when eighteen years old and is buried in St. John'scemetery; and Lena and Helga, both at home. Although Mr. Sorensen believes in the basic principles of the republican party he votes independently when he believes that he can best serve public interests by so doing. He is now the incumbent in the office of township trustee and has made an excellent record in that capacity, performing his duties promptly and efficiently. He belongs to St. John's Lutheran church and takes a commendable interest in the furtherance of its work.
John Jackson is numbered among the self-made men of Wallingford with a record that redounds to his credit and honor, for it has been through persistent purpose, indefatigable energy and perseverance that he has won the success that now enables him to live retired. He was born in Scotland, August 20, 1860, and his parents, George and Anna (Carrol) Jackson, were also natives of that country, where the father was a shepherd. In their family were twelve children. Reared in the land of hills and heather, John Jackson remained there until twenty-three years of age, when the reports which he heard concerning the opportunities of the new world led to his determination to try his fortune on this side the Atlantic. He came alone to America and made his way to Bismarck, North Dakota. Soon afterward he became identified with the sheep and cattle industry there, working for others for four years, on the expiration of which period he purchased a homestead right in Emmons county, North Dakota, where he lived for fifteen years. In 1899 he came to Emmet county, Iowa, after having paid a visit to his old home in Scotland. The following spring his mother, two brothers and two sisters came to the United States, two older brothers having previously crossed the Atlantic. All went to North Dakota and with the exception of Mr. Jackson of this review none of the family ever became residents of Iowa. His father had died in Scotland in 1896 ere the mother and four children came to the new world. Mrs. Jackson still makes her home in Bismarck, living with her son Hugh, and is enjoying good health at the age of eighty-three years. After taking up his abode in Emmet county, Iowa, John Jackson joined Benjamin Allen in the purchase of land in Twelve Mile Lake township. Seven years later they divided their land interests, Mr. Jackson becoming the owner of the east half and the southwest quarter of section 23. Since that time he has sold one hundred and sixty acres but still retains the east half of the section, upon which his son, Charles P. Jackson, now resides. It constitutes a valuable property of three hundred and twenty acres of rich Iowa farm land which he converted into very productive fields, annually gathering there from abundant harvests as a reward for the care and labor bestowed upon the land. He also added many substantial improvements to the place in the way of good buildings, well kept fences and modern machinery and his progressive farmwork made him in time one of the men of affluence of Emmet county.
On September 5, 1887, Mr. Jackson was united in marriage to Miss Margaret Keith, a daughter of Archie and Kate (McArthur) Keith, natives of Scotland, where they passed away, the mother in 1870 and the father in 1901, never having come to the United States. To their union were born nine children. Following the death of his first wife Mr. Keithmarried Mary Quantin and they became the parents of five children, of whom two survive. Six of the children of the first marriage are still living but Mrs. Jackson is the only one who has come to the United States. Mr. and Mrs. Jackson have two children. Charles P., who is farming the old home place in Twelve Mile Lake township, was married September 18, 1912, to Miss Mabel Andahl, a daughter of George and Anna Andahl, of the same township, and to this union has been born a son, Bernard Francis, whose natal day was June 17, 1916. Janet K. was married on the 26th of November, 1913, to Arthur Andahl, who is also engaged in farming in that township, and they have a daughter, Goldie May, born October 20, 1915. Mr. Jackson continued upon the farm until 1912, when he put aside the cares of business life and established his home in Wallingford, where he is now comfortably located. He gives his political endorsement to the men and measures of the republican party and he and his wife are consistent members of the Presbyterian church, their well spent lives having gained for them the goodwill and kindly regard of those with whom they have been associated.
JOHN L. McDONALD
John L. McDonald, proprietor of Sunny Crest Farm in Estherville township, is one of the representative agriculturists of Emmet county. He was born in Elgin, Kane county, Illinois, on the 1st of October,1865, his parents being John and Rebecca (Frost) McDonald, natives of Scotland and England respectively. By occupation the father was a farmer. In the family were ten children, of whom John L. is the youngest. The others still living are Mary, now the widow of Henry Allenson and a resident of Minneapolis; G.H., of Pasadena, California; and Nettie, the wife of Archer Johnson, of Palo Alto county, Iowa. During his boyhood and youth John L. McDonald attended the public schools and also an academy at Elgin, Illinois, and on laying aside his textboods at the age of eighteen years began clerking in a dry goods store, where he was employed until 1899. In that year he turned his attention to agricultural pursuits, purchasing a farm of one hundred and sixty acres in Palo Alto county, Iowa. which he operated for nine years. In 1909 he came to Emmet county and bought a tract of similar size in Center township, there on he lived for two years. On selling that place he purchased the west half of the northwest quarter of section 13, Estherville township, and fifty-five acres in the northeast quarter of section 14, the same township. Here he is now successfully engaged in general farming and dairying and has a well improved place, known as Sunny Crest Farm.
Mr. McDonald married Miss Kittie C. Briggs, a daughter of Henry J.and Sarah A. (Bartlett) Briggs. Her father was killed in the Civil war and her mother is also deceased. The father was buried at Springfield, Missouri, and the mother at Elgin, Illinois, where she made her home. Mr. and Mrs. McDonald have three children: Boyd J., at home; and Marine and Glenn B., now in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. While a resident of Palo Alto county, Mr. McDonald filled most of the township offices, but has never taken an active part in public affairs since coming to Emmet county. In politics he is a republican, and in his religious connection is a member of the Presbyterian church. He is widely and favorably known and well merits the confidence reposed in him.
WARNER L. HOPPUS
The operation of his fine farm of one hundred and sixty acres in Armstrong Grove township requires practically the entire attention of Warner L. Hoppus, leaving him little time for outside interests. He was born in Clayton county, Iowa, December 8, 1857, and is a son of Daniel and Frances (Hamia) Hoppus, natives respectively of Pennsylvania and of Ohio. The father was a butcher by trade but following his removal to Iowa carried on farming here. Subsequently he was similarly engaged in Minnesota and in Canada, his death occurring in the Dominion in August, 1912, when he had reached the venerable age of eighty-eight years. His wife is still living in that country. Warner L. Hoppus grew to manhood in Hardin county, Iowa, and had the privilege of attending the common schools until he was fourteen years old. He then began working as a farm hand and so continued until 1881, when he rented land. Two years later he bought a farm in Hardin county which he operated for three years but at the end of that time he again rented land, which he cultivated for two years. He at length purchased another farm in Franklin county, Iowa, but after giving five years to its operation he came to Emmet county in 1894. For seventeen years he operated one farm in Armstrong Grove township under leas ebut at the end of that time realized a long cherished purpose as he purchased one hundred and sixty acres of fine land. His place is situated on section 21, Armstrong Grove township, and its value has been increased by many improvements. He is engaged in general farming and his yearly income is a gratifying one.
Mr. Hoppus was married on the 28th of December, 1881, to Miss Julia Rogers and to them were born three children: Lyman E., who was born on the 13th of November, 1883, and died in 1886; Lee L., who was born October 7, 1887, and is now farming in Armstrong Grove township; and Luella Blanche, born July 30, 1889. On the 6th of May, 1911, the wife and mother died suddenly of heart failure. She had many warm friends and her demise was the occasion of much sincere grief. In politics Mr. Hoppus is a republican and fraternally is identified with the Modern Woodmen of America. In successfully managing his agricultural interests and improving his farm he is not only gaining prosperity for himself but is also contributing to the development of his township and county, whose wealth consists chiefly of rich farm lands.
CARL H. OLSON
Prominent among the energetic, farsighted and successful businessmen of Estherville is numbered Carl H. Olson, who is the proprietor of a well equipped jewelry store, carrying a large and attractive line of goods. His progressive spirit has enabled him to work his way steadily upward in a business way and he has been dependent upon his own resources from the age of fifteen years. A native of Norway, he was born in Christiania, June 22, 1871, a son of Nels and Karn (Bolsoe) Olson, both of whom were natives of the land of the midnight sun, where they spent their entire lives, the father there engaging in business as a tailor. Carl H. Olson was reared and educated in Norway and when a youtho f fifteen years began learning the jeweler's trade, which he followed in his native country until he attained his majority. He then bade adieu to friends and native land and sailed for America, hoping to benefit his financial condition by the opportunities offered in the new world. He located first at Moscow, Idaho, and there secured employment in a jewelry store, remaining in that city until 1896, when he removed to Milford,Iowa, where he was employed until 1898. He then came to Estherville,where he worked at the jewelry business for three years and then started a store on his own account. His first location was in the building now occupied by the drug store of Charles Kane and later he was where Strube Brothers' music store is now seen. In September, 1916, he removed to his new store and now has a thoroughly up-to-date jewelry establishment,carrying a large and attractive line. His reasonable prices, honorable dealing and earnest desire to please his patrons are the qualities which have secured to him a growing and representative trade, making him one of the prosperous merchants of his adopted city.
In October, 1907, Mr. Olson was married to Miss Anna Olson, a daughter of Halvor and Annetta Olson, the latter now deceased. Her father is still living and is engaged in farming in Emmet county. Mr.and Mrs. Olson hold membership in the Lutheran church and he gives his political allegiance to the republican party. He keeps well informed on the questions and issues of the day and is a loyal son of his adoptedc ountry, striving ever to further the interests and welfare of city and state. He has never regretted his determination to come to the new world, for here he has found the opportunities which he sought and in their utilization has made steady advancement along business lines.
E. J. STARKEY
E. J. Starkey, assistant cashier of the First National Bank of Terril, was born in Jerauld county, South Dakota, on the 23d of February, 1884, a son of Louis S. and Belle (Bergeson) Starkey, the former a native of AlIamakee county, Iowa, while the latter was born in Winneshiek county, this state. Her parents came to Dickinson county during the early girlhood of Mrs. Starkey and filed on a homestead two miles southeast of Terril. Louis S. Starkey came to Dickinson county with two brothers, K. S. and S. Starkey, in young manhood. In this county he was married and four or five years later removed to South Dakota, taking up a homestead claim in Jerauld county. In the fall of 1895 he returned to Dickinson county and for four years devoted his energies to farming, after which he spent ten years as an implement dealer of Terril, while for the past three years he has resided in Palo Alto county. In his youthful days E. J. Starkey became a pupil in the publics chools and passed through consecutive grades to the high school of Terril, while later he attended the Spencer (Ia.) Business College and the schools of Estherville. Following the completion of his studies he was for some years identified with his father's implement business and later he became manager of two grain elevators in Terril, to which business he devoted his attention for two years. In 1911 he entered the First National Bank of Terri] as assistant cashier and is now serving in that capacity. He is well known in the city where he resides, the greater part of his life having here been passed, and his life history is as an openbook which all may read.
In 1909 Mr. Starkey was united in marriage to Miss Laura Winslow,of Terril. In politics Mr. Starkey maintains an independent course, voting for men and measures rather than party. He is now serving as town treasurer and is also treasurer of the school board. Fraternally he is connected with Richloyd Lodge, No. 612, F.& A.M., and he and his wife are members of Gloaming Chapter, No. 225, 0.E.S. He likewise has membership with the Modern Woodmen of America, and both Mr. and Mrs. Starkey worship at the Methodist Episcopal church. He is one of the leading and representative young men of Dickinson county, highly esteemed wherever known and most of all where he is best known. He has attractive social qualities as well as marked business ability and thus he has become popular in the community in which he has so long lived.
S. B. REED
S. B. Reed, of Dolliver, manifested marked enterprise and industry in the development of his fine farm in Lincoln township, Emmet county, and since his removal to Dolliver has been an important factor in insurance and banking circles here, being president of the Farmers Mutual Aid Insurance Company and being one of the organizers and also a director of the Dolliver Savings Bank. His birth occurred in Carroll county, Illinois, December 22, 1849, and his parents were William and Mary (Buckmaster) Reed, who removed from Ohio, their native state, to Illinois with an ox team in 1840. The father became the owner of a farm there and the primitive conditions of life in that locality are indicated by the fact that their first home there was a log cabin with a clapboard roof. In 1859 removal was made to Missouri, where they remained until 1861, when on account of the strong feeling engendered by the Civil war he left as the alternative to such a course was to join the rebel army. He returned to Mount Carroll, Illinois, where both he and his wife passed their last years. Five of their nine children still survive.S. B. Reed attended the common schools of Carroll county, Illinois,in the acquirement of his education and remained at home until he became of age, when he purchased a farm in Carroll county, upon which he lived until 1888. In that year he sold the place and bought three hundred and twenty acres of raw prairie land in Lincoln township, Emmet county, which he brought under cultivation as soon as possible. As the years passed the place was transformed into a highly developed and well improved modern farm and he derived a gratifying annual income from the sale of his grain and stock. In 1901 he retired from farming and has since lived in Dolliver. He has not led a life of inactivity, however,as his duties as president of the Farmers Mutual Insurance Company demand a good part of his time and attention. He is also a director of the Dolliver Savings Bank, which he aided in organizing.
Mr. Reed was married in 1876 to Miss Sylvia E. Bailey, who was also born in Carroll county, Illinois, and is a daughter of Elijah and Elmira (Holman) Bailey. The parents removed from Vermont to Illinois at an early day in the development of that state and there both passed away. To Mr. and Mrs. Reed ten children have been born, namely:
Walter B., now a resident of Minnesota; Ruth, the wife of S. B. Caylor; Mira, who married Ben Trimble, a resident of Wyoming; James, who is also living in Wyoming; Mima, the wife of Roy Wertz, a resident of South Dakota; Alice, who married A. L. Koenecke; Bessie, the wife of Fred R. Dowden, a banker of Gruver, Iowa; Olive, the wife of Emil Eckhart; Bruce M.; and Sarah, deceased. Mr. Reed is a republican and has served as trustee of his township. His record of official service in connection with the schools is unusual and highly creditable to his interest in the cause of education as for twenty years he was president of the school board. He belongs to the Methodist Episcopal church and his wife is a member of the Baptist church.
JACOB K. BERVEN
Prosperity has crowned the efforts of Jacob K. Berven in the operation of his home farm on section 36, Swan Lake township, to which he has given the name of the Instenes Farm for his father's old farm in Nor- way. He is a native of that country, born July 7, 1866, and is a son of Knute and Christi (Jacobson) Berven, who never left the land of the midnight sun. Both have passed away but with one exception all their nine children survive them. In the schools of Norway Jacob K. Berven obtained a good practical education and early became familiar with farm work in all its phases. Believing he would find better opportunities for advancement in the new world he came to America in 1883 and first located in Lee county, Illinois, where he worked as a farm hand for ten years. At the end of that period he went to Montana, where he spent thirteen years engaged in railroading and ranching. Since then he has made his home in Emmet county, Iowa, having purchased a farm on section 36, Swan Lake township. He has made many useful and valuable improvements upon the place, erecting good and substantial buildings and placing the land under excellent cultivation.
Mr. Berven was married in 1889 to Miss Bell Knutson, and to them were born seven chilren, namely: Kearney, George C., Clarence, Edmund W., Jacob A., Elmer L. and Emma C. The wife and mother died in Montana, June 10, 1903, and Mr. Berven was again married in 1906, his second union being with Miss Marie Peterson, a native of Denmark, by whom he has three children: Evelyn, Martin L. and Oscar J. Mr. and Mrs. Berven are faithful members of the Lutheran church, and he is also identified with the Modern Woodmen of America and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, having filled all of the chairs in thel ocal lodge of the latter organization. The republican party finds in him a stanch supporter of its principles and he served as assessor of Swan Lake township for one term. He is now a school director, having been a member of the school board for the past ten years, and he always gives his support to any enterprise calculated to promote the moral, educational or material welfare of the community in which he lives.
H. C. HANSEN
H. C. Hansen, who owns and operates a fine farm of one hundred and twenty acres on section 21, Denmark township, Emmet county, comes of a good old Danish family, his birth occurring in Denmark, June 12, 1858. He is a son of Mads P. and Karen Marie (Jensen) Hansen, in whose family were eight children. In 1880 they crossed the ocean and took up their residence in Story county, Iowa, where they lived for five years, and then settled on a farm in Palo Alto county, just across the line from Denmark township, Emmet county. Both parents have now passed away and are buried in St. John's cemetery. H. C. Hansen was reared and educated in his native land, being twenty-two years of age when the family came to the new world. Coming to Iowa he worked as a farm hand in this state for ten years and has since engaged in agricultural pursuits on his own account. After his marriage he purchased one hundred and twenty acres of land on section 2, Independence township, Palo Alto county, and continued its improvement and cultivation until 1900, when he purchased his present farm on section 21, Denmark township, Emmet county, which also consists of one hundred and twenty acres. In connection with general farming he is raising registered Hereford cattle and finds that branch of his business quite profitable.
In 1890 Mr. Hansen was united in marriage to Miss Ellen C. Petersen, a daughter of Eric Petersen, of Muskegon county, Michigan, where he had homesteaded and where he continued to reside until his death in 1915. She lost her mother when quite small. Of the seven children born to Mr. and Mrs. Hansen two died in infancy, the others being Anna, Carrie, Ruth, Eric and Julius, all at home. They hold membership in St. Paul's Lutheran church, and Mr. Hansen is a republican in politics, taking a deep and commendable interest in public affairs.
Peter Tornell, who gained a competence through the operation of his farm in Armstrong Grove township and moved to Estherville in the spring of 1917, was born in Sweden in September, 1862. His parents, Olof and Carrie (Sundberg) Tornell, came with their family to America in 1865. The father became a landowner in Boone county, Iowa, and
followed agricultural pursuits there until his death in 1896. Five years later the mother passed away. Mr. Tornell received his education in the public schools of Boone county, Iowa, but when fourteen years of age was compelled to begin providing for his own support. He worked as a farm hand for several years and later cultivated rented land in Webster county, Iowa, for three years in partnership with a brother. In 1891 he came to Emmet county and bought three hundred acres of fertile land on section 30, Armstrong Grove township, on which he resided with the exception of three years until his removal to Estherville. He took care to maintain everything about his place in good condition and followed such methods of cultivating the fields as would conserve the fertility of the soil. In the fall of 1916 he sold his agricultural implements and the greater part of his live stock and retired from farming in the spring of 1917.
Mr. Tornell was married in March, 1893, to Miss Lottie Gifford, by whom he has had six children: Leonard, who is twenty-three years old and is at home; Florence, who died in 1899, at the age of three years; Gladys, who is nineteen years old and is clerking in a store at Halfa; and Robert, seventeen; Harriett, thirteen; and Luella, eleven years old, all of whom are at home. Mr. Tornell is a republican and for ten years has been the trustee of Armstrong Grove township and for a still longer period has served on the school board. He holds membership in the Presbyterian church and his salient qualities of character are such as commended him to the respect and esteem of all who know him.
George Felkey, who carried on agricultural pursuits in Armstrong Grove township, had a large acquaintance in Emmet county and his demise was deeply regretted. A native of Illinois, his birth occurred October 29,1847, and he was a son of Daniel and Florinda Felkey, an account of whose lives appears in the sketch of H. J. Felkey elsewhere in this work. George Felkey was reared under the parental roof and received his education in the schools of Illinois and Iowa, the family home having in the meantime been established in this state. After attaining his majority he rented land in Mitchell county, Iowa, for three years but in 1871 took up a homestead in Armstrong Grove township, Emmet county. In 1873 when there were but few settlers in this section he began carrying the mail from Algona to Swan Lake and was so employed for six years and nine months. He also took advantage of the tree claim act, thus acquiring title to another eighty acres, and subsequently bought forty acres, making his holdings in all two hundred and eighty acres. He brought all of his land under cultivation, erected substantial buildings and otherwise improved his place. He was at once energetic and progressive and
it was but natural that he should meet with success. For a number of years he was a director of the Farmers Mutual Insurance Company and was recognized as a man of business ability. He died after a long illness October 31, 1910, when sixty-three years of age.
In August, 1868, Mr. Felkey was married to Miss Mary Churchill, a daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth Churchill, further mention of whom is made in the sketch of Charles S. Churchill elsewhere in this work. To Mr. and Mrs. Felkey were born eight children. Rose is the wife of F. M.Goldsberry, a farmer of Armstrong Grove township. Jesse J. is also a farmer of this township. John is a resident of Armstrong. Isabelle married Chris Peterson, a farmer of Lincoln township. Elmer, who is operating the home place, was married on the 14th of December, 1910, to Miss Addie Patterson, a daughter of John and Emma (Stewart) Patterson, of Kossuth county, Iowa, and has two children, Fay Leona and Ethel Fern. Mary is the wife of Chris M. Peterson, a farmer of Swan Lake township. Myrtle and Albert are both deceased. Mrs. Felkey still resides upon the home farm and has many warm friends throughout the county. Mr. Felkey was an adherent of the republican party and held the offices of trustee and road supervisor. In religious faith he was a Presbyterian. Those who knew him intimately still hold his memory in honor, for he was a man of sterling worth and of many attractive personal qualities
Andrew Olson, a farmer of Jack Creek township, Emmet county, was born in Norway, May 7, 1847, a son of Ole and Anna Olson, who spent their entire lives in Norway, their native land. They had a family of seven children, six of whom are yet living. Andrew Olson was reared and educated in Norway but came to America in 1870. He made his journey across the continent to Rock county, Wisconsin, where he secured employment as a farm hand, working there for six months. He afterward removed to Austin, Minnesota, where he resided for ten years and in 1882 he came to Iowa. Later he purchased his present farm, comprising eighty acres on section 5, Jack Creek township, and upon this place has since made his home, his time and attention being energetically given to the further development and improvement of his fields, from which he annually gathers good crops.
In 1877 Mr. Olson was married to Miss Ella Nelson, a native of Norway, who came to America in 1870 with her parents, Lars and Marie Nelson, both now deceased, the father having passed away at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Olson, at the very advanced age of ninety-nine years. Mr. and Mrs. Olson have become the parents of eleven children: Anna M., the wife of Ole Berkland; Lewis 0., now living in South Dakota; Mary B., the wife of A. R. Hanson; Carrie A., the wife of Edward Holmes, a resident of Colorado; Ole 0., living in Minnesota; James U., of South Dakota; Andrew, also of Minnesota; Martin E., who is living on a farm near Fenton; Christina, deceased; John, at home; and Christine, now a pupil in the high school at Estherville. Mr. Olson votes with the republican party and has served as a trustee in his township and also as school director but prefers to leave office holding to others and concentrate his time and efforts upon his farmwork. All that he possesses he has made since coming to America, for he arrived in this country empty handed, and that he is a successful agriculturist shows that his life has been well spent. Both Mr. and Mrs.Olson hold membership in the Lutheran church and the latter has been a member of the League for fourteen years. They enjoy the warm regardof all who know them and are numbered among the valued citizens of Jack Creek township.
Charles Rosenberger, a prosperous farmer and influential citizen of Center township, Emmet county, claims Germany as the land of his birth, being born there June, 13, 1865. His parents were August and Kathrine (Untermann) Rosenberger, who spent their entire lives in Germany, and the father was a sea captain. In their family were four children of whom three are living. Like most boys living in Germany, Charles Rosenberger was given good educational advantages but later he believed he could better his financial condition by coming to America, and in 1881 he crossed the ocean and came direct to Iowa, first locating in Jackson ocunty, where he worked as a farm hand for a time. In 1892 he removed to Emmet county and purchased a farm on section 1, Center township, where he now owns two hundred and four acres of very valuable and productive land. He has made many improvements upon the tract and placed the land under a high state of cultivation, and in addition to general farming has also devoted considerable attention to the raising of stock of all kinds.
In 1892 Mr. Rosenberger was united in marriage to Miss Noemi Ahrens, also a native of Germany and a daughter of Paul and Amelia (Ingwersen) Ahrens, who were born in the fatherland and came to the United States in 1880, taking up their residence in Clinton county, Iowa, Mr. Ahrens, who is a shoemaker by trade, is now living in the state of Washington, but his wife passed away in 1910. Mr. and Mrs. Rosenberger have two children, August B., and Paul A., both at home. Mrs. Rosenberger is a member of the Presbyterian church but Mr.Rosenberger is a Lutheran in religious faith. He is a stanch supporterof the republican party and is now serving as school director. He is a self-made man, for on coming to this country he was without capital, and the success that he has achieved is due entirely to his persistent efforts, for he is industrious, enterprising and progressive, his business methods are thoroughly reliable, and he usually carries forward to successful completion whatever he undertakes. He has traveled quite extensively and has spent a year and a half in California.
OLE AANONSONOle Aanonson, a resident farmer of Emmet county, has for morethan a half century lived within its borders, so that its history is familiar to him from the period of its early development down to the days of modern progress. He is now engaged in farming on section 5 Jack Creek township, where he has an excellent property. He was born in Norway on the 15th of February, 1849, and is a son of Onond and Julia (Lewison) Christianson, who came to the United States in 1853. After two years spent in Dixon, Illinois, they removed to Iowa, settling first in Mitchell county, where they remained for a number of years, arriving in Emmet county in 1862. The father then homesteaded a quarter section of land in Swan Lake township but later there proved to be a flaw to his title and he received a deed for only eighty acres. He continued to reside upon that farm until his death, which occurred in 1884. His widow long survived him and passed away in 1902. Ole Aanonson was but four years of age at the time of the arrival of his parents in the new world.
His education was acquired in the common schools of Iowa and after reaching young manhood he worked with his father upon the old homestead and also as a farm hand in the neighborhood, but at length he determined to start out in the business world on his own account and he also made arrangements for having a home of his own by his marriage on the 19th of November, 1880, to Miss Sarah Peterson, also a native of Norway, whence she came to the United States in the year of their marriage. In the spring of 1880 Mr. Aanonson purchased eighty acres of his present home farm. Upon that place he has since continued and in subsequent years he has added forty acres to his original holdings, so that he now has an excellent farm of one hundred and twenty acres which in its neat and thrifty appearance indicates the continuous care and labor which he has bestowed upon it. He has most carefully, persistently and wisely tilled his fields and everything about his place indicates his careful supervision and progressive effort. To Mr. and Mrs. Aanonson have been born nine children, seven of whom survive, as follows: Julia, the wife of A. Stueland, of Estherville,Iowa; Onon, who follows farming in Swan Lake township; Anna, who is the wife of D. W. Lucas, of Estherville, Iowa; John, an agriculturist of Swan Lake township; Helen, who gave her hand in marriage to Vern Haines, of Estherville, Iowa; Peter, who cultivates the home farm; and Halvor, an agriculturist of Swan Lake township, Emmet county.
In politics Mr. Aanonson is a republican, having supported that party since age conferred upon him the right of franchise. He has served as township trustee and for several years was a member of the school board. He belongs to the Norwegian Lutheran church and he is one of the well known and valued pioneer settlers of the county, with the history of which he is thoroughly familiar, his memory forming a connecting link between the primitive past and the progressive present.
Louis Stoltenberg, president of the German Savings Bank of Lake Park, occupies an enviable position in business circles of Dickinson county and has been an important factor in the commercial and agricultural development of this section of the state. A native of Iowa, he was born in Scott county, December 14, 1863, and is a son of Hans and Louisa (Wiese) Stoltenberg, who came to this country from Germany at an early day and settled in Scott county, Iowa. The father purchased a farm in Blue Grass township and engaged in its operation.for many years, finally passing away there in 1912. The mother died in 1872. Of the eight children born to them seven are still living. Reared on the home farm in Scott county, Louis Stoltenberg began his education in the district schools near his home and later attended a business college at Davenport, thus acquiring a good practical education. In 1884 he came to Dickinson county and here he has since made his home. During the first season he broke prairie and put under cultivation some of his father's land in Minnesota, which he later purchased. For one year he clerked in a store at Lake Park and then turned his attention to the grain business for seventeen years, during which time he met with excellent success. Mr. Stoltenberg has purchased land from time to time as his financial resources have increased until he now owns eighteen hundred acres of very valuable land, all improved and under cultivation. In 1901 he became one of the organizers of the German Savings Bank at Lake Park and has since served as its president. He is also vice president of the State Bank of Round Lake, which was organized in 1906, and is quite prominent in financial circles.
In 1894 Mr. Stoltenberg was united in marriage to Miss Amelia Denkmann, also a native of Scott county, Iowa, and a daughter of Frederick and Wilhelmina Denkinann. By this union two children have been born, namely: Walter F., who is a graduate of the high school of Lake Park and also a commercial college; and Arnold H., who is now attending commercial college. Mr. and Mrs. Stoltenberg are members of the Lutheran church and he is a stanch supporter of the republican party but has never taken an active or prominent part in political affairs, preferring to give his undivided attention to his business interests. As the years have gone by he has
steadily prospered for he is a man of sound judgment and good executive ability, usually being able to carry forward to successful completion whatever he has undertaken