The clothing firm of Nau Brothers at Estherville is composed of Knut K. and Chris K. Nau, both prominent and representative citizens who through their commercial activity have contributed to the substantial development of this part of the state. Chris K. Nau was born in Norway in 1871 and Knut K. Nau in 1874. They are sons of Knut and Christina Nau. The father died in 1914 but the mother is still living in Norway, where a brother is engaged in merchandising and is also filling the office of postmaster. The sons acquired a common school education and afterward attended college in Norway and Germany. Chris K. Nau was a young man of twenty years when he came alone to the United States, first making his way to Chicago, where he was employed as a clerk in a clothing store until 1898, when with his brother Knut he came to Estherville.
It was in the year 1906 that Chris K. Nau was united in marriage to Johanna Isaakson, a daughter of Isaac and Marit Olson. In his political views Mr. Nau is a republican and, while never an office seeker, the fact that he is interested in the general welfare and progress of his community is shown in his identification with the Commercial Club. Fraternally he is connected with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. Knut K. Nau continued his education in the College of Languages in Norway until he reached the age of eighteen years, when he, too, crossedt he Atlantic, making the voyage alone. He then traveled over the conthient as far as Rochelle, Illinois, where he secured employment in a dry goods store, with which he was connected for five years. In the spring of 1898 he came to Estherville, where in connection with his brother Chris he established a store for the sale of men's clothing and furnishings and for the past eleven years they have occupied their present quarters. They handle the Hirsh Wickwire and Society Brand clothes, the Michaels Sterns and Keith "Tiger" hats and the Florsheim shoes. Theirs is the oldest clothing house in Estherville and they carry a large and attractive stock, while their reasonable prices and honorable business methods have secured to them a constantly growing patronage. They are ever courteous and obliging in their treatment of patrons and their business integrity stands as an unquestioned fact in their career.
In 1904 Knut K. Nau was married to Miss Evaline Lein, a daughter of Thomas and Christina Lein. Her father was a veteran of the Civil war and became one of the early settlers of Emmet county. He is now deceased but his widow yet makes her home in Estherville. Knut K. Nau gives his political support to the republican party and he belongs to the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Knights of Pythias. He is also a member of the Commercial Club and he is justly regarded as a progressive, enterprising business man and one whose record should serve to inspire and encourage others, showing what may be accomplished through determination, energy and laudable ambition.
LUMON L. BIXBY
Lumon L. Bixby, deceased, was for many years a resident of Emmet county, where for a time he was engaged in general agricultural pursuits and then turned his attention to commercial interests. He was always thoroughly reliable and his upright life, characterized by honorable principles, won for him the confidence and high regard of those who knew him. He was born in Vermont, April 5, 1839, a son of William and Patience (Nye) Bixby, who were also natives of the Green Mountain state, in which they spent their entire lives. They had a family of thirteen children, of whom but two are now living. Lumon L. Bixby spent the days of his boyhood and youth in Vermont and more than forty years ago came to Iowa, settling on a farm in Emmet county, after which he devoted his time and attention to the cultivation and development of the fields for a number of years. Later he took up his abode in Estherville, where he established a harness store and later he conducted a meat market. He was a thrifty, energetic and active business man who contributed much to the material development of the city in which he made his home. He was thoroughly reliable in his undertakings and his well-directed energy brought to him a substantial measure of success. Mr. Bixby was a Civil war veteran, for following the outbreak of hostilities between the north and south he joined Company D of theT enth Vermont Volunteer Infantry, with which he served for one year, when he was honorably discharged because of illness. He then returned to his home and family in Vermont, for he had previously married.
It was in 1S60 that he wedded Miss Ellen M. Wells, who was born in the Green Mountain state in 1842, a daughter of Nathaniel and Lovey (Carr)Wells, who spent their entire lives in that state. Mrs. Bixby was the
youngest in a family of five children, four of whom have passed away, and by her marriage she became the mother of thirteen children: Amanda Jeannette, the wife of Orville Manning, a resident of Waterloo, Iowa; Lumon J., now living in Minneapolis, Minnesota; Arby Anson; Clarence M.; Roswell W., living in Waverly, Iowa; Burt G., Cora B., Cora E. and Daisy M., all now deceased; Charles D.; Adelbert R., who is living in South Dakota; Archie, of Estherville; and Migie, who has also departed this life. The death of the husband and father occurred December 2, 1905, and he was laid to rest in the East Side cemetery, leaving a widow and seven children to mourn his loss. He held membership in the Grand Army post at Estherville and his demise was greatly deplored by his old army comrades as well as by many other friends who had learned to know and highly respect him through the long years of his residence in Estherville. He lived a quiet and unostentatious life but he possessed many sterling traits of character that endeared him to those with whom he came in,contact.
WILLIAM S. OSBORN
William S. Osborn, now living retired in Milford, Iowa, was born December 20, 1854, in Lockport, New York, and is a son of Stephen and Sarah (White) Osborn, natives of England and Indiana respectively. In early life the father came to America and after spending about three years in New York continued westward to Iowa, taking up his abode near Plymouth Rock in Winneshiek county, where he bought a relinquishment. He made many improvements upon his farm and engaged in its operation for forty years, after which he retired from active labor and removed to Cresco, Iowa, there spending the remainder of his life. He died in the fall of 1900, having long survived his wife as she passed away in 1887. It was during his infancy that William S. Osborn was brought to Iowa by his parents and in Winneshiek county he was reared and educated. He remained under the parental roof until twenty-five years of age and then rented the home place, which he operated for three years in addition to a farm of his own which he had purchased from his father. He continued farming in Winneshiek county until 1894, when he came' to Dickinson county and purchased eighty acres of land in Excelsior township. Later he bought another tract of eighty acres and upon his place he made many useful and valuable improvements. In connection with general farming he devoted considerable attention to stock raising, including some thoroughbred shorthorn cattle. He continued to engage in agricultural pursuits until the fall of 1910, when he retired and removed to Canton, Minnesota, but after living there
for one year he returned to Dickinson county, Iowa, and has since made his home in Milford.
In November, 1884, Mr. Osborn was united in marriage to Miss Alice Seelye, by whom he had five children: Stacey, who died in 1885; Garner T., Sidney S. and Floyd, all living; and Bernice who died in infancy. The mother of these children passed away in October, 1893, and in September, 1894, Mr. Osborn married her sister, Miss Julia Seelye. To them has been born one child, Grace, now the wife of J. W.Caauwe, a farmer of Osceola county, Iowa. Mr. and Mrs. Osborn hold membership in the Methodist Episcopal church and are most estimable people who have a host of friends in Milford. Politically Mr. Osborn affiliates with the republican party and he has always taken a commendable interest in local affairs, efficiently serving as school secretary in Excelsior township for six years; as township clerk one year; as assessor for five years; and as township trustee for two years. He has always been found true to any trust reposed in him and is regarded as one of the foremost citizens of his community.
HANS C. JENSEN
Hans C. Jensen is farming on sections 12 and 13, Denmark township, and has never had occasion to regret the choice of agriculture as a life work. He was born in Denmark, June 9, 1869, and his parents,Jorgen and Caroline (Hansen) Jensen, were likewise natives of that country, where the father engaged in farming. They came to the United States when their son Hans was fifteen years of age and the father bought the north half of the northeast quarter of section 13 and subsequently added thereto the south half of the southeast quarter of section 12, Denmark township, Emmet county. He also became the owner of the northeast quarter of the northwest quarter of section 13 and resided upon his land until two years before his death. Having accumulated a competence, he removed to Ringsted, where he lived retired until his demise, which occurred on the 20th of June, 1914. He was survived by his wife until November, 1915. Both are buried in St. Paul's cemetery. They had three children: Hans C.; Jens P., who is farming in Denmark township; and Christine, now Mrs. H. J. Fink, of Ringsted. Hans C. Jensen received a common school education and assisted his father in the cultivation of the home place until he was thirty years of age, when, in 1900, he began farming on his own account, buying the south half of the southwest quarter of section 12, which he still owns, together with the north half of the northwest quarter of section 13. He is energetic and progressive and derives a good annual income from his farm.
In 1901 occurred the marriage of Mr. Jensen and Miss Katrine N. Jensen, whose parents, Nels and Elsie (Petersen) Jensen, lived and died in Denmark. To Mr. and Mrs. Jensen have been born six children, namely,, Anna, Richard, Esther, Harold, Jens, Christian and Ruth. Mr. Jensen votes the republican ticket but has never held political office. He has, however, served as school director and has always felta strong interest in everything relating to educational advancement. He is a communicant of St. Paul's Danish Lutheran church and his life has conformed to the highest standards of manhood.
MISS HATTIE RUDD
Miss Hattie Rudd is the owner of a valuable and well improved arm of.two hundred and fourteen acres on section 22, Superior township, Dickinson county, where she now makes her home. A native of Iowa, she was born in Des Moines and is a daughter of Samuel and Emma (Armstrong) Rudd. The father was born in England and in the '60s came to the United States. His death occurred in Missouri, but the mother, who was a native of Iowa, died in this state. They were the parents of seven children, of whom five are still living. In 1914 Miss Rudd purchased her present farm in Dickinson county and upon it she and her brother Reuben have since resided. He gives his attention to its operation and in connection with general farming makes a specialty of raising mules. The place is known as Cottonwood Farm and its neat and attractive appearance plainly indicate the care and labor bestowed upon it. Miss Rudd is an earnest member of the Methodist Episcopal church and is a woman of good business and executive ability, who capably manages her affairs and who is held in the highest esteem by all who know her.
FRED R. DOWDEN
A well known representative of banking interests in Emmet county is Fred R. Dowden, numbered among Iowa's native sons, his birth having occurred in Marion county, December 29, 1882, his parents being W. 0. and Frances (Hyer) Dowden, who were natives of Ohio. In the year 1855 they came to Iowa and established their home upon a farm in Marion county. In 1892 they removed to Emmet county and took up their abode upon a farm in Lincoln township. To them were born five children, all of whom are yet living. Fred R. Dowden was a lad of ten summers when the family home was established in Emmet county, so that he has been largely reared and educated within its borders. After mastering the branches of learning taught in the district schools he continued his education in the Dolliver high school, from which in due course of time he was graduated. He continued under the parental roof until after he attained his majority and, starting out in business life, was employed as a bookkeeper in the Dolliver Savings Bank, there remaining for four years. On the expiration of that period he went to South Dakota, where he continued for a year, and in 1908 he removed to Gruver, where he now makes his home. In that year he accepted the position of cashier in the Gruver Savings Bank, in which capacity he still continues. That he has prospered as the years have gone by is indicated in the fact that aside from his bank stock he owns a residence in Gruver and is the owner of one hundred and sixty acres of excellent farm land on section 31, Ellsworth township.
In 1908 was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Dowden and Miss Bessie E. Reed, who was born in Carroll county, Illinois, a daughter of Samuel B. and Sylvia (Bailey) Reed, who were likewise natives of that state and in 1891 came to Emmet county, where they settled upon a farm. Mr. and Mrs. Dowden have become parents of three children: Opal L., who was born December 17, 1909; Avis V., born January 19,1911; and Eileen E., born September 27, 1914. Mrs. Dowden is a member of the Presbyterian church. Mr. Dowdenis well known in fraternal circles, holding membership in the masonic lodge at Estherville, in which he has filled all the chairs, and in the Odd Fellows Lodge, No. 67, in which he has occupied some of the offices. He is also connected with the Modern Woodmen of America and his political allegiance is given to the Republican party. He is actuated by a spirit of enterprise and progress in all that he does and in hisbusiness career has made steady advancement that is the direct result of ability and fidelity.
Soren Andersen, who passed away on the 19th of April, 1913, was one of the leading farmers of Denmark township, Emmet county, where he had made his home since 1889. His early life was spent on the other side of the Atlantic, for he was born in Denmark, April 2, 1851, and wasa son of Andrew Sorensen, a small farmer in that country. In the family were seven children. The parents never came to the United States, but continued to reside in Denmark until called to their final rest. In his native land Soren Andersen pursued his education in the district schools near his boyhood home and later devoted a year and a half to military training. As an occupation he followed farming in the employ of others until his emigration to America in 1886. For two years he was a resident of Cerro Gordo county, Iowa, and in 1889 came to Emmet county, being engaged in farming on rented land in Denmark township for six years. At the end of that time he purchased the south
east quarter of section 20 in the same township and continued its operation up to the time of his death. His remains were interred in St. John'scemetery.
In 1894 Mr. Andersen was united in marriage to Miss Maren Oxholm, who was born in Schleswig, Germany, June 2, 1865, and of that province her parents, Hans and Anna Marie Oxholm, were lifelong residents. When she was nineteen years of age she came to the new world with her brother Carl, who is now a resident of Tyler, Minnesota. Four years later she returned to Denmark and when she again came to the United States she was accompanied by her other brother, Steffen. who is now a banker at Tyler, Minnesota. At the time of her marriage Mrs.Andersen was living in Ringsted, Iowa, with a friend, Mrs. Andrew Larson, with whom she had spent a few months. The children born to Mr.and Mrs. Andersen are Anna, Hans, Einma and Alma, who are at home with their mother and assist in the operation of the farm. The place is in a high state of cultivation and the fields yield bounteous harvests for the labor bestowed upon them. Mr. Andersen was an enterprising and progressive farmer and the success that he achieved was due entirely to his own well directed efforts. He was a democrat in politics and acceptably served as township road supervisor for one year.
WILLIAM 0. HOWARD
William 0. Howard, editor of the Armstrong Journal, was born March 10, 1874, in Drakesville, Davis county, Iowa, and is a son of George 0. and Susan F. (Seay) Howard, natives of Ohio and Iowa respectively. The father, who was a shoemaker by trade, died in 1878, and the mother then removed to Clarinda, Iowa, to make her home with her father, the Rev. Isaac M. Seay, who was a pioneer Baptist minister of the state. William 0. Howard was reared and educated in Clarinda, and at the early age of twelve years entered the office of the Page County Democrat, where he quickly acquired a good knowledge of the printer's trade. At the age of sixteen years he established the Bradyville News and became the youngest newspaper publisher in Iowa. On disposing of the business there he worked at his trade in Minnesota for ten years, a part of which time he was in the employ of Brown & Bigelow, art calendar publishers of St. Paul. In 1908 Mr. Howard located at Forest City, Iowa, and for three years owned the controlling interest in the Forest City Summit. On selling out there he purchased the Wall Lake Blade, which he published until the spring of 1916 when he sold out, and in the fall of that year became a resident of Armstrong, Emmet county. Here he bought the Armstrong Journal which he now publishes. He has a well equipped office and being a thorough newspaperman undoubtedly will meet with success in his new field of labor.
On New Year's Day of 1897 Mr. Howard was united in marriage to Miss Sadie Peterson, a native of Norway, and they have become the parents of four children, namely: Harold M., born May 6, 1898; Morton 0., July 3, 1899; Francis E., June 22, 1901; and Ruth M., September 17, 1904. Fraternally Mr. Howard is a member of the Masonic order and is also identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. In politics he is a progressive republican, taking a commendable interest in public affairs and supporting all worthy enterprises for the benefit of his town and community.
MRS. SARAH GUNDERSON
Mrs. Sarah Gunderson is well known in Emmett County, where she has long resided, her home being now on section 12, in Twelve Mile Lake township. She is the widow of Andrew Gunderson and is a native of Columbia County, Wisconsin. Her parents were Knut and Olive (Isaacson) Knutson, who were natives of Norway, and her father made farming his life work. Coming to the new world, he established his home in Wisconsin and was there residing at the time of the outbreak of the Civil War. Responding to the country's call for military aid, he joined Company A of the Second Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry and went to the front, serving until honorably discharged on account of illness. He never recovered his health and died three years after leaving the army. He had three sons who were also in the service: John, who was wounded while at the front but recovered; Thomas, who was killed, thus laying down his life on the altar on his country, and Isaac, who died from illness in a hospital during his term of service. Mrs. Gunderson spent her girlhood in her native state, was confirmed in Iowa and pursued her education in a Norwegian school in Wisconsin.
When eighteen years of age she gave her hand in marriage to Andrew Gunderson and two years later they left Wisconsin for Iowa, taking up their abode in Twelve Mile Lake township, Emmet County. Mr. Gunderson purchased the northwest quarter of section 12 and later the northeast quarter of section 11, but afterward forty acres of the farm was sold to his brother, L. L. Gunderson. Andrew Gunderson was born in Norway, June 1, 1843, a son of Louis and Lena Gunderson, the former a shoemaker by trade. The son attended the common schools of his native country and when eighteen years of age came to America with his parents, the family home being established in Dane County, Wisconsin. The father followed shoemaking in Lodi, Wisconsin, and there he and his wife remained until called to their final rest. Their family numbered four sons and three daughters. Andrew Gunderson became familiar with the trade of shoemaking and worked with his father up to the time of his marriage. He then started out independently and, as previously indicated, became interested in farming in Emmet County, securing a tract of land which he converted into rich and productive fields. He annually gathered golden harvests as a reward for the care and labor which he bestowed upon his place and became recognized as one of the foremost agriculturists of his district. To Mr. and Mrs. Gunderson were born eleven children, of whom nine are yet living. The eldest, Lena, became the wife of George Wigdahl and died in 1896, leaving her husband, who is now a resident of Colton, South Dakota, and two children: Oberner, a resident of Chicago, and Lawrence, also of Colton, South Dakota. The second child of the family was George Leland, who died in infancy. The others of the household are: Olive, the wife of Henry Beucus, of Monee, Illinois; Louise, who married Otley R. Westfall, of Chicago; Hans, who married Bertha Ellingbo and is now living with his mother, for whom he cultivates the home farm; Knut, at home; Ellen, the wife of John Christman, of Chicago; Emma, the wife of Clay Foley, of Chicago; Andrew, who married Ada Waldo and is living in Monee, Illinois; and Hazel and Alma, both residing in Chicago. The death of the husband and father occurred December 11, 1894, and he was laid to rest in Riverside cemetery at Wallingford. He served as a member of the school board in Twelve Mile Lake township and was much interested in the cause of education, recognizing the fact that the public school system is one of the bulwarks of the nation. He voted with the Republican party but was never an aspirant for office. His religious faith was that of the Norwegian Lutheran Church. He won material success in life through his indefatigable industry and perseverance and at his,death he left to his family not only a comfortable competence but also the priceless heritage of an untarnished name. Mrs. Gunderson, surviving him, is numbered among the old-time residents of the county, having long made her home here, so that she is familiar with the history of its development from pioneer days to the present.
DON H. SPAULDING
Don H. Spaulding, who is connected with farming interests in Emmet county as the owner of a good tract of land on section 26, Center township, was born on the 11th of February, 1875, in Carroll county, Illinois, of the marriage of Harris and Frances (Knox) Spaulding. The father was a native of Pennsylvania and the mother of Wisconsin, and in early life they removed westward to Illinois, living for a time in Carroll county, while subsequently they became residents of Grundy county, Iowa, where they continued to make their home until called to their final rest. They had a family of two children, both of whom are yet living. Don H. Spaulding was largely reared and educated in Grundy county and through the period of his minority he assisted in the work of the fields, thus becoming well qualified by practical experience to undertake work of that character on his own account after he had reached man's estate. He continued to engage in farming in Grundy county until 1909, when he came to Emmet county and subsequently he purchased the farm upon which he now resides on section 26, Center township. This is a tract of two hundred and forty acres, now well improved. He tills the soil according to most modern methods, practicing the rotation of crops and recognizing the need of the soil in every way. In addition to general farming he engages in stock raising and is meeting with success in that field.
In 1900 Mr. Spaulding was married to Miss Marie Smith, a native of Grundy county, Iowa, and a daughter of Thomas and Eliza (Dubert) Smith. Her mother is now deceased, but the father yet survives. Mr.and Mrs. Spaulding have'twins, Wayne and Wava, who were born June 26, 1910. Mr. Spaulding is a democrat in his political views but has no time nor inclination for office, preferring to give his undivided attention to his farming interests, which are of growing importance, making him one of the representative and successful agriculturists of the community.
been located at Estherville since 1915, drawing his patronage from a wide territory.
ARTHUR EMANUEL ERICKSON
Estherville, with its varied and growing business enterprises, may well be proud of the one which Artbur E. Erickson has developed in its midst, for he is there conducting the finest photographic studio in northwestern Iowa. Familiar with all the latest processes and improvements of photography, his work ranks with the best to be found in the larger cities and at all times he keeps abreast with the highest standards of the art. A native of Illinois, be was born at Kensington, Chicago, May 23,1885, his parents being Lars August and Johanna Mathilde Erickson, both of whom were natives of Orebro, Sweden. They became residents of Chicago in 1871 and the father was employed on the building of the foundation for the Pullman car shops at Pullman, Illinois, where he has worked continuously since. In 1917, however, he will be pensioned by the company as a recognizition of long, capable and faithful service. His wife died in 1900. Arthur E. Erickson acquired his education in the West Pullman school, from which he was graduated on the 23d of June, 1899. He tookup the study of photography and became a traveling photographer, in which connection he traversed the country from Canada to Texas. Continually he has progressed in his chosen field of labor and the excellence of his work has been the basis of his growing success until now he is owner of the finest photographic studio in northwestern Iowa. He has
On the Ist of October, 1913, at Linn Grove, Iowa, Mr. Erickson was united in marriage to Miss Mabel May Reese, her parents being Mr. and Mrs. Henry Reese, of that place. They now have a daughter, Enid. In his fraternal connections Mr. Erickson is a Mason and exemplifies in his life the beneficent spirit of the craft. He also belongs to the Photographers Association of America. He is ever actuated by laudable ambition and he has that keen interest and delight in his work which is always the basis of successful accomplishment.
C. A. YARNES
There is probably no man in Dicxinson county more familiar with its pioneer conditions than C. A. Yarnes, who has been a resident within its borders since September 22, 1864. For many years he was actively identified with the agricultural interests of the county, but is now living retired in Spirit Lake, enjoying a well-earned rest. He was born in Broome county, New York, November 22, 1840, and is a son of C. M.Yarnes, also a native of the Empire State, where he grew to manhood and married. During the Civil War the father enlisted in the Thirty-Seventh New York Volunteer Infantry, which was assigned to the Army of the Potomac under the command of General McClellan. Later he was discharged for disability and returned home, where he soon died. In the county of his nativity C. A.. Yarnes grew to manhood upon a farm, and on leaving New York went to Michigan, where he worked in a lumber camp for one winter. In the fall of 1864, as previously stated, he removed to Iowa and became a settler of Dickinson county. He homesteaded a tract of one hundred and eighty-one acres on the eastside of Spirit Lake, and erected thereon a log cabin, in which he lived while opening up and developing his farm. Later he built a good frame residence, barns and outbuildings, and now has a well improved and valuable farm. He devoted considerable attention to the raising and feeding of stock for market, making a specialty of high grade cattle, horses and hogs, and as the years passed he steadily prospered and was able to add to his property until he had three hundred acres in his homeplace and also another farm of two hundred and forty acres of well improved land in Dickinson county, besides two farms aggregating five hundred acres in Minnesota. He is a very influential and progressive farmer and stock raiser and the prosperity that came to him was due entirely to his own well directed efforts. Having accumulated a valuable estate, in 1901 he retired from active labor and purchased a residence in Spirit Lake, where he has since made his home.
Mr. Yarnes was married in Dickinson county, September 15, 1887,to Miss Clara Lynne Snow, who was born in Oxford, Iowa, and for a time engaged in teaching school in Ozark, Arkansas. They became the parents of three children who are still living, namely: Charles, who is a well educated man, having studied both at Spirit Lake and Chicago, and who for the past two years has served as deputy treasurer of Dickinson county; and Annie Grace and Bessie, who are now attending Des Moines College. Mr. and Mrs. Yarnes lost a son, Robert, who died in 1908 at the age of nineteen years. He, too, received a good education and was serving as station agent and operator for the Milwaukee & St.Paul Railroad at Emmet at the time of his death. In religious faith Mr. and Mrs. Yarnes are Baptists, and are consistent members of the church of that denomination at Spirit Lake. They have always been liberal contributors to church work and Mr.Yarnes served on the building committee at the time of the erection of the church at Spirit Lake. In politics he is an ardent Republican and has been called upon to serve as treasurer and trustee of his township, besides filling other local offices of honor and trust. He can relate many interesting incidents of early life in this locality, as he came here when Dickinson county was practically a wilderness, few settlements having been made and most of the land being wild and uncultivated. He experienced all the hardships which come to the pioneer and bore his part in the development and upbuilding of this region.
S. H. LEE
S. H. Lee, who owns and cultivates an excellent farm comprising the northeast quarter of section 35, Emmet township, in Emmet county, was born in Norway on the 16th of June, 1844, and is a son of Hans and Mary (Nelson) Lee, who were both of Norwegian birth and spent their entire lives in the land of the midnight sun. In their family were four children, three of whom are yet living. S. H. Lee was reared and educated in Norway, enjoying the privileges afforded by the public schools. He had attained his majority when in 1865 he bade adieu to friends and native land and sailed for the United States, hoping to find better business opportunities in the new world. He at once made his way to Iowa and was employed as a laborer until 1878, but during that period he carefully saved his earnings, for he was ambitious to engage in business on his own account and secure farm property. In 1878, therefore, he came to Emmet county and purchased the northeast quarter of section 35, Emmet township. He at once took up his abode upon that place, which he has now occupied for about thirty-nine years, and he has wrought a marked transformationin its appearance by the many improvements which he has added to his farm. It is now a valuable property, made so by the efforts and progressiveness of Mr. Lee, whose life has been one of untiring industry and perseverance.
In 1878 Mr. Lee was united in marriage to Miss Christina Nelson, a native of Norway and a daughter of Nels and Anna (Olson) Nelson. The year 1874 witnessed their arrival in Emmet county, Iowa, and the father here purchased a farm on which both he and his wife spent their remaining days. Mr. and Mrs. Lee have five children, as follows: Hans N., a railway engineer, and Anna M., Carl 0., Arnt T. and Louisa, all at home. The parents are members of the Norwegian Lutheran church, and Mr. Lee gives his political support to the Republican party, with which he has voted since becoming a naturalized American citizen. He is conversant with the leading questions and issues of the day and he has become thoroughly American in spirit and interests, one of the substantial adopted sons that Norway has furnished to the United States.
GEORGE W. CANON
George W. Canon, who is living retired in Armstrong, is characterized by an unusual degree of public spirit and has been active in local affairs, especially in the promotion of the educational interests of the town. He was born in Sullivan county, New York, June 30, 1865, and his parents were Cornelius and Ruth (Wood) Canon, natives of Sullivan county and Delaware county, New York, respectively. In June,1872, the family emigrated to the west and took up their residence in Armstrong Grove township, Emmet county, Iowa, where the father homesteaded land. He devoted the remainder of his life to the operation of that farm and passed away on the 2nd of August, 1895, when seventy-three years old. The mother died in March, 1902, also at theage of seventy-three years. George W. Canon was reared and educated in this county and has been a witness of much of its development. He remained with his parents until he attained his majority and then farmed rented land for a year. At the end of that time he purchased one hundred and sixty acres in sections 24 and 25, Armstrong Grove township, which he farmed until 1896. He then sold that place and bought another tract of land which he operated for three years and then sold. He then came to Armstrong and for eight years engaged in the produce business, handling poultry and eggs. At the end of that period he again turned his attention to farming, purchasing land in section 20, Iowa Lake township. For five years he cultivated that tract and then disposed of it and bought a quarter section in Pipestone county, Minnesota, but at the end of a year sold that place and returned to Emmet county, farming land belonging to his father-in-law for two years. He then purchased five acres within the corporation limits of Armstrong and has since resided here, enjoying a well-earned leisure. He erected a fine residence modern, in every particular.
In July, 1891, Mr. Canon was united in marriage to Miss Victoria Horswell, a daughter of Richard and Dorcas Horswell. Mr. and Mrs.Canon have a daughter, Winifred, whose birth occurred on the 27th of April, 1894. Mr. Canon is a stanch supporter of the Republican party, in religious faith is a Methodist, and fraternally is connected with the Masonic Order. He was assessor for one year and for seven years has been a member of the school board. He was instrumental in the building ofthe new consolidated school at Armstrong, of which the community is justly proud, and was also a member of the board that erected the old schoolhouse. All that he has undertaken he has done to the best of his ability and his efforts have been crowned with success.
Since 1884 Mike Nece has been a resident of Dickinson county and for many years was one of the most influential citizens of Spirit Lake township, where he followed farming, but since 1909 has lived retired in the city of Spirit Lake, enjoying a well earned rest made possible by former toil. He was born in Germany on the 9th of December, 1849, and is a son of George and Catherine Nece, also natives of that country, where they were reared and married and where the father followed farming until his emigration to America in 1852. After spending a short time in Chicago, Illinois, he went to Indiana, where in the late '50s he purchased a tract of wild land, from which he cut the timber and sold it for fuel. Later he removed to Blue Island, Illinois, sixteen miles south of Chicago, and for a few years was employed at odd jobs but later engaged in the saloon business, which he had also followed in Indiana. He passed away over fifty years ago and his widow later came to Dickinson county, Iowa, where her death occurred. Mike Nece was about three years of age when brought by his par-nts to the new world and his boyhood and youth were passed in Indiana and Illinois. On coming to Dickinson county, Iowa, in 1884, he purchased a quarter section of land on section 25, Spirit Lake township, andt here followed farming with good results until his retirement from active labor in 1909, since which time he has resided in Spirit Lake.
In the fall of 1871, at Akron, Ohio, Mr. Nece married Miss Annie Collins, who was born, reared and educated in Ireland, being seventeen years of age when she came to the United States. She died in Spirit Lake in 1914, leaving many friends as well as her immediate family to mourn her loss. The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Nece are as follows: Annie, the wife of Mike O'Day, a retired farmer of Spirit Lake; Katherine, the wife of Daniel Sarazine, a farmer of Spirit Lake township; Lucy, the wife of Fred Smith, a farmer of Superior township; Carrie, the wife of Henry Williamson, also a farmer of Spirit Lake township;
Rickie, the wife of Roy Cooper, of the same township; Bessie, at home with her father; George, a farmer of Pipestone county, Minnesota; Frank,a farmer of Spirit Lake township, Dickinson county, Iowa; and Mike, a farmer of Pipestone county, Minnesota. Mr. Nece is a stanch democrat in politics and on that ticket was elected supervisor of Dickinson county for a term of three years although the county is strongly republican. His election therefore indicates his personal popularity and the confidence and trust reposed in him by his fellow citizens, who recognize his worth and ability. He endeavors to support those enterprises best calculated to promote the public interests, making party politics a second consideration. He creditably filled the office of supervisor and while living in Spirit Lake township also served in other local offices, including that of school director. In religious faith he is a Roman Catholic. Mr. Nece is a director of the Spirit Lake National Bank and as a public-spirited and progressive citizen has done all in his power to advance the welfare of the community in which he has resided. While on the farm he helped to organize elevator and threshing machine companies in his locality and has been a strong advocate of cooperation among the farmers to promote mutual interests. His career has ever been such as to win for him the commendation and high regard of all with whom he has been brought in contact either in business or social life.
A valuable farm of one hundred and ninety-six acres on section 22, High Lake township, pays tribute to the care and labors bestowed upon it by its owner, Jacob Herum, who is acknowledged one of the progressive and enterprising agriculturist of Emmet county. He was born in Dane county, Wisconsin, January 24, 1862, and is a son of Peter E.and Bertha Herum, who were natives of Norway. On coming to the United States they made their way to Dane county, Wisconsin, in 1847 and there resided for almost a quarter of a century, or until 1870. In the latter year they came to Emmet county, Iowa, and Mr. Herum purchased farm land in High Lake township. He then began to develop and improve his farm, bringing his fields to a high state of cultivation. He continued active in that work until his death and his wife has also passed away. In their family were twelve children, nine of whom are yet living. The common school system of Emmet county afforded Jacob Herumthe educational privileges which he enjoyed. He was but eight years of age when brought by his parents to Iowa and through the period of his boyhood and youth his time was divided between the duties of the schoolroom, the pleasures of the playground and the work of the home farm.
In fact he continued upon the home place until 1896, when hewas united in marriage to Miss Ina Bauge, a daughter of Joe and Julia (Halverson) Bauge, natives of Norway, who became early settlers of Iowa, where they still reside. Mr. and Mrs. Herum have become the parents of five children, Percy B., Joseph G., Raymond J., Robert G.and Margaret M. Devoting his time and energies to general agricultural pursuits, Jacob Herum is now the owner of one hundred and ninety-six acres of land, which embraces the northeast quarter of the northwest quarter of section 22, High Lake township, the north half of the northeast quarter of section 22 and the southeast quarter of the northeast quarter of the same section. He has resided thereon continuously since his marriage and is now engaged in general farming and in dairying, keeping good grades of cows for that purpose. There are excellent improvements upon his land in the way of good buildings and well kept fences, his machinery is of the latest improved models and his farm work is carried on according to the most progressive methods. Mr. and Mrs. Herum are members of the Norwegian Lutheran church. His political endorsement is given to the Republican party and he has filled the office of road supervisor. He has also been school director for two years and the cause of education finds in him a stalwart champion. Practically his entire life has been passed in Emmet county, where he has now lived for forty-seven years, and there is no phase of its development and progress with which he is not familiar, having witnessed the greater part of its growth and upbuilding.
GEORGE W. SHADLE
Commercial activity in Estherville finds a substantial, well known and highly respected representative in George W. Shadle, who is numbered among the native sons of the state. He was born in Pleasantville,Iowa, in 1873, a son of F. M. and Ann (Pence) Shadle, who are natives of Pennsylvania, but removed westward to Iowa, where since 1879 the father has been identified with mercantile pursuits. To him and his wife have been born seven sons: Owen, who is residing at Pleasantville; George W., Christian, Merlin, who is a widower; Lee, Elton, and Willard, deceased.
George W. Shadle, spending his youthful days under the parental roof, mastered the branches of learning taught in the public schools of Pleasantville, continuing his studies through successive grades until he became a high school pupil. He afterward worked for his father until he reached the age of twenty-five years and later spent three years in the drug business at Pleasantville. In 1901 he came to Estherville and has since been identified with the commercial interests of the city. His stock of goods was destroyed by fire in 1914, but with characteristic energy he resumed business operations and is today one of the progressive and reliable merchants of the city, dealing in dry goods of all descriptions and Stylecraft garments. His store displays the latest output of the manufactories of the country and the progressive methods of the proprietor insure to him continued and growing success.
In 1906 Mr. Shadle was married to Miss Emma Thorson, a daughter of T. L. and Jennie Thorson, the former proprietor of the pioneer hardware store of Armstrong, Iowa. They have two children, Francis, born in 1907; and Virginia, in 1912. Theirs is an attractive home on Maple treet and its hospitality is greatly enjoyed by their many friends. Fraternally Mr. Shadle is connected with the Elks and with the Knights of Pythias. His religious belief is that of the Presbyterian church, while his political support is given to the Republican party. He has never sought to figure prominently in any public light outside of business, preferring to concentrate his energies upon his commercial interests which, carefully, wisely, systematically and intelligqntly directed, have brought to him substantial success.
GEORGE T. HAAHR
George T. Haahr, of Denmark township, has gained a competence through unrelaxing attention to his work as a farmer and through the practice of thrift. His birth occurred in Denmark, August 25, 1875, and he is one of seven children born to Knud and Christiana (Andersen) Haahr. The mother passed away in 1884 in Audubon county, Iowa, where the family had located upon their emigration to the United States in 1883. The father subsequently married again, choosing as his second wife Karen Mikkelsen, by whom he had eight children. He purchased a farm in Audubon county, but after living there for seven years removed to Buena Vista county, whence after two years he went to Larimore, North Dakota, where he and his wife are still living. George T. Haahr attended the district schools for a time in Audubon county, but as soon as he was old enough began working as a farm hand. When twenty-six years of age he rented a farm in Buena Vista county which he operated for two years. Since the spring of 1905 he has resided in Denmark township, Emmet county, and after farming the northwest quarter of section 11 for three years under lease he purchased the place, which he is still operating. The farm is well improved and everything is kept in first-class condition, thus facilitating the work of caring for the crops and livestock. Mr. Haahr was for some time a director of both the Denmark Creamery and the Farmers' elevator and is accounted one of the substantial men of his township.
On the 2nd of October, 1901, he was united in marriage to Miss Kate M. Christiansen, a daughter of Christopher and Karen M. (Nelsen) Christiansen, who located in Blackhawk county, Iowa, on removing from their native Denmark to the United States. They resided in that county for eighteen years and subsequently lived for a considerable period inBuena Vista county, but at length took up their residence in Denmark township, Emmet county, where the father died. He is buried in St.John's cemetery. The mother survives and makes her home with her children in Denmark township. Five children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Haahr, as follows: Earl, deceased; Orvil Eugene, Earlys Ardell, Marion Thorlund, and Lavinia Christiansen. Mr. Haahr supports the Democratic party where national issues are at stake, but ai local elections votes for the candidates whom he deems best fitted to fill the office without regard to their party affiliation. He is identified with the Danish Brotherhood and his religious faith is indicated by his membership in St. John's Danish Lutheran church. He began his independent career with no assets save his knowledge of farmwork, his energy and his determination to succeed, and with these as a foundation he has builded well, gaining financial success and the unqualified respect of all who know him.
JAMES WARREN MORSE
Prominent among the representatives of the Emmet county bar is James Warren Morse, who is now practicing as a member of the firm of Morse & Kennedy. He was born in Mitchell county, Iowa, October 21,1877, and is a son of Isaac H. and Olive Morse, in whose family were three children. Those besides our subject are: Albert, now a resident of Mitchell county; and Mrs. Lois Wolff, also of that county. The parents are both living at Osage, Iowa. A student in the State University of Iowa from 1898 until 1901, James W. Morse devoted that period to the study of law and the classical course in the college of liberal arts and following his admission to the bar located for practice in Estherville. He bad no friends or relatives there and alone and unaided made his initial professional step. He practiced alone until 1903, when he became a partner of M. H. Kendall, with whom he continued until February, 1904. He then removed to Emmetsburg and was associated in a partnership with E. B. and P. H. Soper, father and son. In 1907 he returned to Estherville and entered into partnership with C. W. Crim, an association that was maintained until the 1st of July, 1910. For about four years thereafter Mr. Morse was again alone in practice, but on the 1st of April, 1914, entered into his present relation as a member of the law firm of Morse & Kennedy. He devotes his attention to the general practice of law and is recognized as a strong and able attorney. He is never surprised by the unexpected attack of an opponent, for he most carefully prepares his cases, preparing for attack as well as for defense. He follows a clear course of reasoning and his application of legal principles is seldom, if ever, at fault. He never seeks to enshroud his cause in any sentimental garb or illusion but presents it in the strong, clear light of reason and his close conformity to a high
standard of professional ethics has won for him the high respect of colleagues and contemporaries. In the early years of his residence in Estherville he served as city attorney, resigning the office when he removed to Emmetsburg. In 1908 he was elected county attorney and filled that position in a most acceptable manner for four years.
On the 5th of August, 1903, Mr. Morse was married to Miss Winifred Williams, a daughter of John and Olive Williams, of Mitchell county, Iowa, and they have become the parents of two children: Olive, born November 24, 1907; and John, born September 22, 1911. Mr. and Mrs. Morse are well known in Estherville, where high regard is entertained for them by the many friends whom they have won during the period of their residence in this city. Mr. Morse gives his political allegiance to the republican party and he is connected with several fraternal organizations, being a past master of the Masonic lodge and a member of the Yeomen, the Modern Woodmen of America and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.
JOHN T. CHEEVER
John T. Cheever, who owns and operates two hundred and forty acres on sections 14 and 15, Iowa Lake township, was born in Oneida county, New York, August 12, 1866. His parents, S. W. and Helen (Tufts) Cheever, were also natives of the Empire state. The father followed contracting there until 1874, when with his family he removed to Butler county, Iowa, where he became a landowner. There he engaged in farming until his death on the 2nd of June, 1891, at the age of sixty-six years and three months. The mother's death occurred in March, 1896, and she was at that time fifty-seven years and seven months old. John T. Cheever attended the public schools in New York State and Butler county, Iowa, in the acquirement of his education, and through assisting his father as a boy and youth gained a valuable knowledge of farm work. After attaining his majority he rented land in Butler county, in March, 1896, came to Emmet county and rented land here. He operated that place for two years,. after which he bought his present farm, comprising two hundred and forty acres on sections 14 and 15, Iowa Lake township. The buildings are located on section 14 and they, as well as the other improvements upon the farm, have been placed there by Mr.Cheever. His property is one of the best developed and most attractive and valuable farms in the locality. He raises both grain and stock and finds that the two phases of farming coordinate well. He is a stockholder in the Armstrong Cement Company.
Mr. Cheever was married on the 31st of January, 1893, to Miss Ella M. Babcock, and they have become the parents of three children,namely: Carl A., who was born January 9, 1895, and died the following June; Linden L., born in September, 1899, and Laura H., born December 3, 1904. Mr. Cheever is an advocate of Republican principles and supports the candidates of that party at the polls. He is now township assessor and for the past two years has been one of the school directors. He has been characterized throughout his life by industry, perseverance and strict integrity, qualities which go far toward gaining success in any field of endeavor.
O. P. OLSEN
One of the most substantial farmers and influential citizens of Lloyd township, Dickinson county, is 0. P. Olsen, who owns and operates a highly improved farm of one hundred and sixty acres in section 12. He is a native of Denmark, born September 4, 1855, and is a son of Nels and Catherine (Jensen) Olsen, both of whom spent their entire lives in that country. In the common schools of Denmark he acquired a good practical education and he continued to make his home there until 1885, when he crossed the Atlantic and became a resident of Shelby county, Iowa. During his first two years in this country he worked as a farm hand and then began farming on his own account upon rented land. Subsequently he removed to Clay county, Iowa, where he resided for eight years, and in 1900 came to Dickinson county. It was in 1912 that he purchased his present farm of one hundred and sixty acres and he has since devoted his time and energies to its improvement and cultivation. There are good and substantial buildings upon the place and the fields yield bounteous returns for the labor he bestows upon them.
In February, 1885, Mr. Olsen was united in marriage to Miss Christina Krieger, a native of Germany, and to them have been born five children, namely: Christ, deceased; Thomas and Louis, both residents of Arnolds Park, Dickinson county; Catherine, the wife of Claude Ferguson, of Estherville; and Peter, at home. Both Mr. and Mrs. Olsen are earnest and consistent members of the Lutheran church, and in politics he is an ardent Democrat. He has never regretted his emigration to the new world, for here he has steadily prospered and today is regarded as one of the leading citizens of his community.
WILLIAM H. HAGEBOECK
William H. Hageboeck, a well-known druggist of Lake Park, Iowa, was born on the 23rd day of July, 1873, in Germany, of which country his parents, William F. and Mary (Konemann) Hageboeck, were also natives. His father, who was an officer in the German army, died in that country, and the mother is still living there. Our subject spent the first sixteen years of his life in his native land, attending school during the most of that time, and in 1889 came to the United States, landing in New York City on the 26th of May. He proceeded at once to Iowa and first located in Davenport, where he began his apprenticeship in the drug house of C. L. Richards, but in 1890 removed to Clinton, this state. In 1895 he took a course in the Chicago Institute of Pharmacy and the following year passed the required examination and received his diploma as a registered pharmacist. In 1897 and 1898 Mr. Hageboeck was employed as a pharmacist at Calmar, Iowa, but in the latter year started on an educational trip through America and Europe, being gone thirteen months. Coming to Lake Park, Iowa, in February, 1899, he purchased the drug store of Shultz & Company, over which he has since presided, and in the meantime he has built up an excellent business.
On the 21st of November, 1905, Mr. Hageboeck was united in marriage to Miss Amy Thompson, a daughter of Henry Thompson, who is a retired business man of Lake Park, and to this union has been born a son, William Thompson Hageboeck. Mr. Hageboeck affiliates with the Republican party and for thirteen years efficiently served as a member of the town council of Lake Park. He is an honored member of Silver Lake lodge, No. 527, A.F.&A.M., and is regarded as one of the foremost business men and leading citizens of the town. He is public-spirited and progressive, and is willing to aid all worthy enterprises calculated to promote the general welfare of the community.
F. W. RUEF
F. W. Ruef, one of the proprietors and the general manager of the Maple Hill Mercantile Company, owning and conducting a general merchandise business, a grain elevator and an extensive lumber yard at MapleHill, Emmet county, has in his life demonstrated the possibilities for the attainment of success even when one has to start out without the assistance of family or friends. Iowa claims him as a native son, his birth having occurred in Clermont, Fayette county, on the 2nd of January, 1883, his parents being Ferdinand and Margaret (Sutter) Ruef, the former a native of Germany and the latter of Switzerland. In young manhood and young womanhood they came to the new world, settling first in Fayette county, Iowa, where they were married and spent their remaining days. The father was a stone mason by trade and thus provided for the support of his family. He died in 1896, while his wife survived only until 1898. F. W. Ruef was a lad of but thirteen years at the time of his father's death and was left on orphan when fifteen. Being an only son, at his father's death he became the bread-winner for the family and has not only made his own way in the world from that time forward, but also contributed to the support of his mother during her lifetime. He was first employed in a brickyard at Clermont, where he received a wage of three dollars per week. Following the death of his mother he made his home with an older sister in Armstrong, Iowa, and there found employment in a hardware store. During his three years' service in that connection he learned much of the plumbing business and in 1901 he went to the Pacific coast, where for eight years he was employed in a plumbing establishment, working throughout the state for a firm at Salem, Oregon. In 1910 he returned to Iowa and settled at Maple Hill, where he purchased the interest of Mr. Dows in the Maple Hill Mercantile Company, the present owners of the business being Mr. Ruef, Mrs. Grace Slessor and B. F. Robinson, the last named being also cashier of the First National Bank at Armstrong, Iowa. The firm conducts an extensive mercantile and lumber business and operates the Maple Hill elevator. In fact this firm is one of the most important in the business circles of Emmet county, controlling and directing large interests which contribute much to the commercial upbuilding and consequent prosperity of this section of the state.
In 1908 Mr. Ruef was united in marriage to Miss Edith Robinson, her father being B. F. Robinson, of Armstrong, senior member of the Maple Hill Mercantile Company. Mr. and Mrs. Ruef have two children, Elizabeth Margaret and Benjamin Edward. In his political views, Mr.Ruef is a Republican and has filled the office of postmaster at Maple Hill. He is also the treasurer of the Consolidated School of Maple Hill, one of the important educational institutions of the county, in which are employed five teachers. A new school building has been erected at a cost of twenty-one thousand dollars. Fraternally, Mr. Ruef is connected with Emmet Lodge, No. 565, F.& A.M., of Armstrong, and he and his wife are members of the Presbyterian church, guiding their lives according to its teachings. Mr. Ruef is a representative citizen and leading businessman, and in the accomplishment of his purposes has followed honorable methods.
MRS. SUSAN JOHNSON
Mrs. Susan Johnson is well known in High Lake township, making her home on section 11, where she owns a good farm. She was born in Sogn, Norway, March 30, 1845, a daughter of Peter N. Brudjeld and Gertrude Thorsness. Her parents came to the United States when their daughter Susan was a little maiden of three summers, bringing with them their family of five children. They made their way to Wisconsin,settling in Columbia county, where they resided until 1865, in which year they came to Iowa, establishing their home in High Lake township, Emmet county. They were among its earliest residents and contributed in no small measure to the development of the district.
Mrs. Johnson was a young woman of twenty years at the time the family came to this state and she was married in 1870 to John K. Johnson,a son of Knut and Sigre Johnson, who were natives of Norway, in which country the mother passed away. The father afterward came to the new world and for a time was a resident of Emmet county, Iowa, but spent his last days in Faribault county, Minnesota, where his death occurred in 1884. The birth of John K. Johnson occurred in Norway, September 3, 1841, and he was twenty years of age when he came with his parents to the United States. Following their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Johnson located on the west half of the southwest quarter of section 11, High Lake township, on which farm they still make their home, and where he and his son are actively and successfully engaged in general agricultural pursuits. To Mr. and Mrs. Johnson were born eight children: Tina, now the wife of 0. T. Johnson, of Bricelyn, Minnesota; Nels, who is on the home farm; Hannah, the wife of 0. M. Olson, a resident of Pequot, Minnesota; Carrie, the wife of Olin Anderson, living in High Lake township, Emmet county; Helen, the wife of L. E. Berg, whose home is in Twelve Mile Lake township; Sena, the wife of J. 0. Carter, of Pequot, Minnesota; Bertha, who died in infancy; and Manda, the wife of Otto Larson, of High Lake township. Mr. Johnson is a republican in his political views and he belongs to the Norwegian Lutheran church, in which Mrs. Johnson also holds membership. She is today one of the oldest residents of Emmet county in years of continuous connection therewith, having lived in High Lake township for more than a half century. She has witnessed many changes that have brought the county to its present condition of advancement and improvement and she can relate many an interesting tale concerning the early settlement here. Her many good qualities have won her the high esteem of those who know her and she has a wide circle of acquaintances in this part of the state.
Among the up-to-date farmers and stock raisers of Denmark township who are not only prospering individually but are also contributing to the development of their localities, is Hans Madsen, whose birth occurred in Denmark, October 9, 1864. His parents, Paul and Maren Sophia (Mikkelsen) Madsen, were born in that country and there the father engaged in farming until his death. Subsequently the mother came to the United States and spent her last days with her son Hans, dying on the 29th of May, 1906. She is buried in St. John's cemetery. Her only daughter is still living in Denmark. Hans Madsen attended school in his native country until he was confirmed and subsequently worked for others in that country until he attained his majority, when he came to the United States. He was employed as a farm hand in Brown county, Wisconsin, for a short time,and in 1885 arrived in Denmark township, Emmet county, Iowa. After remaining in the employ of others for two years he purchased an eighty acre tract on section 14, which he still owns and upon which he has made many improvements. He raises both grain and high grade stock and his well directed labors yield him a good financial return.
On the 14th of July, 1899, Mr. Madsen was united in marriage to Miss Nicolena Jensen, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Chris Jensen, life-long residents of Denmark. Mr. and Mrs. Madsen have become the parents of eight children, Paul C., Lars Herman, William F., Maren, Katrina M., Ella, Carl M. and Anna Eleanor. Mr. Madsen is a Republican and takes the interest of a good citizen in public affairs, but has never been an aspirant for office. He has made his own way in the world since a youth in his teens and has just cause to be proud of what he has accomplished.
Throughout his active business life, William Warburton was identified with the agricultural interests of Iowa and at the time of his death,which occurred December 9, 1913, was living upon his fine farm of two hundred and forty acres in Lakeville township, Dickinson county. He was born in England on the 12th of March, 1852, and was a son of John and Mary (Gibson) Warburton, also natives of England. On the emigration of the family to America they located at Cresco, Howard county, Iowa, and in that locality the father engaged in preaching as a Methodist minister up to the time of his death. During the Civil War, however, he manifested his loyalty to his adopted country by enlisting in Captain T. W. Burdick's company, Sixth Iowa Cavalry, with which he served for three years, and was made chaplain of his regiment. When hostilities ceased he returned to his home in Cresco, where he died May 21, 1867. His wife, who was born December 25, 1815, passed away in February, 1895.It was during his boyhood that William Warburton became a resident of Howard county, Iowa, where he was reared and educated, and he remained with his mother until twenty-seven years of age. He wast hen married and located on a farm in Howard county, which he operated for sixteen years. In 1895 he came to Dickinson county and purchased two hundred and forty acres of land in Lakeville township, upon which he made many useful and valuable improvements. There he spent the remainder of his life and as previously stated passed away December 9, 1913, after three years illness.
On the 15th of March, 1879, Mr. Warburton was united in marriageto Miss Bessie Clink, a daughter of Joseph and Jane (Stewart) Clink, who were natives of Scotland and came to the new world at an early day locating in Janesville, Wisconsin. There the father followed farming for some time and subsequently removed to Howard county, Iowa, where he died in April, 1907. His wife had departed this life on the 28th of December, 1903. The children born to Mr.'and Mrs. Warburton are Gaylord, a farmer of Dickinson county; Fred and Frank both residents of Milford; Jeanie, at home with her mother; and Marietta, the wife ofF. (sic) J. Hemphill, a farmer of Dickinson county. Mr. Warburton supported the Republican party at the polls and for several years served as road supervisor and also as school director. He was an earnest and consistent member of the Methodist church, to which his widow also belongs, and he had the respect and confidence of all who knew him on account of his honorable, upright life.
Clem N. Peterson, actively engaged in the grocery business in Estherville, has throughout the entire period of his business career been connected with the trade interests of this city. He was born in Solomon, Kansas, March 4, 1879, a son of Lawrence and Gertrude Peterson, who were natives of Sweden and of Germany, respectively. In early manhood the father was employed by a lumber company and when his son Clem was three years of age he removed with his family to Estherville, where he established a lumber business which he conducted for six or seven years. He then turned his attention to general merchandising and continued his operations in that field until his death, which occurred in 1906. His widow survived him for about seven years and passed away in 1913, the remains of both being interred in the Catholic cemetery, which indicates the fact that they were members of the Catholic church. Clem N. Peterson, spending his youthful days under the parental roof, entered the public schools and was graduated from the high school of Estherville. He then became the active assistant of his father in the general merchandise store, with which enterprise he was associated as an employe until 1901, when he was admitted to a partnership by his father, this relation being maintained until 1906. He then engaged in the grocery business in partnership with his brother, Charles H. Peterson, and in 1913 he bought out his brother's interest and now carries on business alone, handling a complete line of staple and fancy groceries. He makes a specialty of the goods put up and handled by Reid, Murdoch& Company, the Monarch brand goods, and the Pillsbury and Golden Cream flours. His trade has steadily grown, for his business methods commend him to the patronage and support of the public and he now has a business of gratifying proportions, making his one of the fine stores of the town.
On the 5th of October, 1911, Mr. Peterson was married to Miss Mabel Thorson, a daughter of T. L. and Jennie Thorson, of Armstrong, Iowa, where her father is engaged in the hardware business. They have one child, Marian, born May 5, 1916. The religious faith of the family is that of the Catholic church, and Mr. Peterson is identified also withthe Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He votes with the Republican party and he has membership in the Commercial Club, thus cooperating in well-defined plans and measures for the upbuilding of his city and the extension of its commercial connections.
EDWARD H. ELLERSTON
Many of the substantial citizens of Emmet county are of Norwegian birth or ancestry and possess the sterling traits of that hardy race, whoBhave ever been characterized by industry and reliability. Among the number in Emmet county is Edward H. Ellerston, who was born in Chicago on the 14th of December, 1868, a son of Christian and Jennie(Jensen) Ellerston, who were natives of Norway. After coming to the new world the father became captain of a commission boat on Lake Michigan but later removed to Iowa and engaged in the milling business at Norway, Benton county, taking up his abode there when his son Edward was but a year old. He continued his residence there until about 1890, when he returned to the old country, where he died. Later his widow came to Estherville, where she is now living. Edward H. Ellerston has practically been a lifelong resident of Iowa and in the district schools he pursued his education to the age of fifteen years. He worked at different vocations for ten years and when a youngman of twenty-five years came to Emmet county, where he invested his savings in land, becoming the owner of the north half of section 25, Emmet township. He still owns this property, comprising three hundred and twenty acres of rich and productive land which he has carefully cultivated throughout all the intervening years, converting the tract into well tilled fields which are divided by well built fences. He has good buildings upon his farm and is leading a most busy life in the further cultivation of the land in the production of those cereals which are best adapted to soil and climate.I
in 1893 Mr. Ellerston was joined in wedlock to Miss Mary Johnson,a daughter of John and Mary Johnson, of Norway, Iowa. Their four children, Irving, Ruby, Verna and Leona, are all attending the Estherville schools and reside with their paternal grandmother. In his political views Mr. Ellerston has always been a republican and is now filling the office of road superintendent. He belongs to the Episcopal church and his entire life is in harmony with his professions. He has ever been
found honorable and upright and thoroughly reliable in his business connections, and those who know him entertain for him warm personal regard.
C. J. APPELQUIST
Sweden has furnished to Iowa many of her most enterprising and progressive business men, and among these are numbered C. J. Appelquist, who is now conducting a general store in Terril. He was born in Sweden, January 20, 1886, and is a son of John and Ingerborg Appelquist, who throughout life continued to reside in that country.. In their family were only two children, the daughter being Ebba, who is now the wife of F. 0. Flygare, a resident of Minnesota. C. J. Appelquist, the only son, obtained his education in the schools of his native land, where he spent the first seventeen years of his life, but in June, 1903, he came to America and first located in Minnesota. In 1913, however, he became a resident of Dickinson county, Iowa, and has since engaged in general merchandising at Terril. He has built up a good trade which is constantly increasing owing to his courtesy, fair dealing and reasonable prices.
In 1908 Mr. Appelquist married Miss Anna Flygare, who was born in Martin county, Minnesota, but is of Swedish parentage, being a daughter of Swen and Christina Flygare, natives of Sweden, whence they came to America in early life. Her father is deceased, but her mother is still living. Mr. and Mrs. Appelquist have four children, namely: Alvira,Leonard, Katherine and LeRoy. In politics Mr. Appelquist is a Republican and he takes a deep andc ommendable interest in public affairs, now serving as a member of thet own council. He belongs to Terril Lodge, No. 612, A.F.&A.M., and both he and his wife are members of the Lutheran church. He is one of the self-made men of his community, and is one of the leading merchants of Dickinson county.
Among the successful farmers whom Denmark has given to Emmet township is Niels Jakobsen, who now owns one hundred and sixty acres on section 11, Denmark township. His birth occurred November 4, 1870,and he was one of the seven children born to Robert and Carrie (Hansen) Jakobsen, who passed their entire lives in their native country. He received his education in the public schools of Denmark and after putting aside his textbooks worked for others there until he was nineteen years of age, when he came alone to the United States. He made his
way to the vicinity of Grandville, Michigan, and during the summer was employed as a farm hand, while the winter was spent in the lumber camps. In the spring of 1890 he came to Denmark township, Emmet county, Iowa, and for thirteen years rented land here. At the end of that time he had saved sufficient capital to enable him to purchase the north half of the southeast quarter of section 11, where he still resides. He is industrious and up-to-date in his methods and it is but natural that he should receive a gratifying financial return from his land.
In 1894 occurred the marriage of Mr. Jakobsen and Miss Elsie Marie Mikkelsen, a daughter of Lars and Paulina Mikkelsen, natives of Denmark, where both passed away. To Mr. and Mrs. Jakobsen have been born seven children, Robert, Lawrence, Clara, Ernest, Lillian, Metha and Harvey. Mr. Jakobsen is a stanch Democrat in politics, but has confined his activity in public affairs to the exercise of his right of franchise. He holds membership in St. John's Danish Lutheran church and fraternally is connected with Denmarks Minde. He has made his own way unaided since a boy in his teens and the competence which he has won is the best evidence of his ability.
William Nelsen*is living retired in Ringsted save for the supervis-ion which he gives to his property interests. A native of Denmark, hewas born September 21, 1844, a son of Anders and Anna Nelsen, alsonatives of that country, where the father followed the profession ofteaching. He died there in 1851'but the mother survived for many years,passing away in 1894 when ninety years old.William*Nelsen was reared in his native country and after complet-ing his education worked as a farm hand for three years, but at the ageof seventeen went to sea before the mast. He followed the sea until1865, when he again turned his attention to agricultural pursuits, inwhich he was engaged until 1869. In that year he emigrated to theUnited States and made his way across the country to Clinton, Iowa,where he worked as a farm hand for a year. He was next employed ata sawmill at Clinton and remained there for thirteen years, or until 1883,when he came to Emmet county, Iowa, and purchased land in ' Denmarktownship, to the cultivation and improvement of which he devoted nineyears. He then returned to Denmark, where he remained during thesummer and then came 'again to the United States, settling at Algona.,Iowa. He engaged in the dairy business for some time. He remainedat Algona for seven years and during that period built a number of resi-dences which he rented, thus adding in substantial measure to his income.When the town of Ringsted was founded about 1899 he took up his abodehere and built four residences and a store building, which he still owns. He derives a good rental from these properties and is living practicallyretired. He is also interested financially in the Ringsted State Bank.In October, 1872, Mr. Nelsen was married to Miss Riga Bossen andthey have had two children: Ambrosina, the wife of F. M. Stacey, of Ringsted, by whom she has five children, Myrta, Clara, Carl, Helen andFlorence; and one who died in infancy.Mr. Nelsen is a Democrat in politics and served as trustee of Den-mark township for some time, has been a member of the town councilof Ringsted and has been honored by election to the 'office of mayor forthree terms. He has also been a member of the school board and inwhatever office he has served has invariably placed the public good aboveall other considerations. He belongs to the Yeomen and the DanishBrotherhood, and in religious faith is a Lutheran. His life has been along and useful one and he is held in the highest esteem wherever known.
GEORGE W. VANCE
As the improvements upon the farm belonging to George W. Vance, of Spirit Lake township, are thoroughly modern and everything is kept in the best of condition, it is evident that he is a successful, progressive and energetic agriculturist and this is further indicated by the fact that he has won many prizes for the high quality of his corn. He has also secured an unusually large yield per acre, his crop more than once averaging one hundred bushels to the acre. He has likewise been successful as a stock raiser. A native of Indiana, his birth occurred on the 29th of May, 1852, and he is a son of John F. and Mary (Cooper) Vance. The father was born in Pennsylvania, where he remained until he was twenty-one years of age, when he removed to Ohio, later locating in Indiana. After spending several years in that state he removed still further west, arriving in Winneshiek county, Iowa, on the 14th of October, 1857. He purchased land near Castalia and there carried on general farming until his death on the 5th of March, 1909. His wife was a native of Ohio and continued to reside in that state until after her marriage. Following the death of Mr. Vance she removed to Dickinson county and here she passed away. George W. Vance was but five years old when the family removed to Winneshiek county and his education was acquired in the public schools there. In early manhood he took charge of the operation of the homestead and followed agricultural pursuits there until 1887, when he went to Dakota territory, arriving in Aurora county on the 10th of March. He bought one hundred and twenty acres of good land there and for five years devoted his entire attention to its improvement and cultivation. He at length decided, however, that conditions were more favorable in Iowa, and traded his South Dakota farm, comprising one hundred and twenty acres, free of encumbrance, for eighty acres on section 23, Spirit Lake township, Dickinson county, Iowa, assuming a five hundred dollar mortgage on the Iowa farm. He has spent a great deal of money in improving his place, erecting new buildings, setting out shade trees and also a good orchard and in many other ways adding to the beauty and value of his farm. The land is divided into twenty acre fields and no equipment that has proved of value in farm work is lacking. Mr. Vance is one of the most successful corn growers in the state, his yield often averaging one hundred bushels to the acre, and his corn has taken prizes at the Farmers' Institute for several years past, which indicates that the quality is also unusually high. He has given considerable attention to the raising of high grade hogs and has likewise engaged in breeding horses. He has owned a number of registered horses and his team of Hambletonian colts has taken first prize wherever shown,
Mr. Vance was united in marriage to Miss Elizabeth Mitchell, a representative of a pioneer family of this state, but a native of Canada. When she was but eight years old she was brought to Iowa by her parents, John and Margaret (Ross) Mitchell, who were born, reared and married in Scotland. On emigrating to the new world they located in Canada, whence they removed to Winneshiek county, Iowa. After farming there for a number of years they came to Dickinson county and are now living at Spirit Lake. To Mr. and Mrs. Vance have been born two children, Ruby May and James Waldo, both at home. The son is assisting his father with the operation of the home farm and owns land in South Dakota. Mr. Vance is an advocate of Republican principles and supports the candidates of that party at the polls but has never sought office. Hed oes not belong to any lodges or clubs, preferring to spend his leisure hours at his own fireside and deriving the greatest pleasure from the companionship of his family. The operation of his farm has made such heavy demands upon his time and energy that he has had no opportunity to take part in public affairs, but in successfully carrying on the work of cultivating the fields and raising stock he has not only won a substantial competence for himself but has also contributed to the development of his locality along those lines.
LOUIS A. KOON
Louis A. Koon, cashier of the Terril Savings Bank, is a native of Illinois, born in Clay county, August 2, 1882. He is a son of Charles J.and Louise (McMeans) Koon, the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of Illinois. They are now residents of Salem, Oregon, and are the parents of seven children, five of whom are still living. Louis A. Koon was practically reared and educated in Ford county, Illinois, where he attended the common schools and was also graduated from a seminary. In 1908 he removed to Calhoun county, Iowa, where he
lived for two years and in 1910 came to Dickinson county. Here he purchased a farm and successfully engaged in agricultural pursuits for a time. He has bought and sold over two thousand acres of land in this locality and is still the owner of a fine farm of two hundred and sixty acres. In 1914 he became a resident of Terril and turned his attention to the banking business, becoming cashier of the Terril Savings Bank. In that capacity he is still serving and is regarded as one of the able financiers of Dickinson county.
Mr. Koon was married in 1904 to Miss Martha Wood, a daughter of John and Martha Wood, both deceased. They have become the parents of five children, namely: L. Vernon, Mildred, Dorothy, and Clifford and Cleora, twins. Mr. and Mrs. Koon hold membership in the Methodist Episcopal church and he is quite prominent in fraternal circles, being amember of the Blue Lodge No. 612, A.F.& A.M., at Terril, in which he has filled all the chairs. He has also taken the degree of the Royal Archchapter and is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. Both in business and social circles he stands high, and he is today recognized as one of the foremost citizens of Terril.
JOHN W. GEISSINGER
Since 1881 John W. Geissinger has been a resident of Dickinson county and he bore an important part in its early development, especially along agricultural lines, owning and operating a fine farm in Westport township. At the present time, however, he is living retired in Milford, enjoying a well-earned rest. He was born on the 13th of December, 1835, in Huntingdon county, Pennsylvania, of which state his parents, John and Jane (Barrick) Geissinger, were also natives. The father, who was a farmer by occupation, died in Pennsylvania in 1886, and the mother passed away there in 1870. In the Keystone state John W. Geissinger grew to manhood, his early life being devoted to the acquirement of an education and to assisting in the operation of the home farm. He remained under the parental roof until twenty-six years of age, giving his father the benefit of his services, and then commenced farming on his own account. In 1881 he came to Dickinson county, Iowa, and after operating rented land for several years purchased one hundred and sixty acres in Westport township. He improved and cultivated that tract until 1902, when he sold the place and retired. The following ten years were spent in Spencer but since that time he has made his home in Milford, where he owns a nice residence, and surrounded by all the comforts of life is spending his last days in ease, free from the cares of business life.
On the 13th of June, 1861, was celebrated the marriae of Mr. Geissinger and Miss Mary Boden, a daughter of Mathew and Margaret Boden, who were natives of Scotland. The father died in Ireland prior to the emigration of the family to America, but the mother came to this country with her children and located in Lewisburg, Union county, Pennsylvania. She passed away in that state in 1900. To Mr. and Mrs.Geissinger have been born ten children, namely: Anna, now the wife of Henry Herrick, of Grimes, Iowa; Mattie, the wife of Frank Ewen, a farmer of Dickinson county; Ida, who died at the age of a year and a half; Irvin, a resident of California; Flora, a resident of Milford, and the widow of Reuben Donaldson, who was killed in an automobile accident; Margaret, the wife of A. W. Hall, of Canada; Alonzo, also a resident of Canada; Mary E., who died at the age of six months; Clara, who died in 1902 at the age of twenty-four years; and John D., a physician of Spirit Lake, Iowa. The Republican party finds in Mr. Geissinger a stanch supporter of its principles and while a resident of Westport township served for six years as township assessor and was also a member of the school board. In religious faith he is a Methodist and has tried to conform his life to the principles of that church. During his long residence in Dickinson county he has made a host of warm friends and wherever known is held in the highest regard.
MILTON MAHAN KNAPP
Milton Mahan Knapp, division freight agent at Estherville for the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railway Company, has a notable record of faithful and continuous railroad service, having never lost a day's salary during the last forty-four years. He was born August 6, 1851, near Larue, Marion county, Ohio, a son of Calvin Williams and Emily( Gilmer) Knapp. He is a representative of the eighth generation of thed escendants of Nicholas Knapp, who emigrated from England to America in 1630 and settled in Watertown, Massachusetts, with Governor Winthrop's second installment of colonists to Massachusetts. Early records, covering the years 1279 and 1280, show the name to have been of Saxon origin. Milton M. Knapp acquired a country school education and when a youth of seventeen years entered the telegraph office at Larue, Ohio, on the 19th of October, 186S.(sic) He was afterward employed in various localities as telegraph operator and station agent and on the 11th of August, 1873, he was appointed train dispatcher and superintendent of telegraph for the Davenport & St. Paul Railroad Company at Davenport, Iowa,in which position he remained until 1879, when the railroad was absorbed. He was next appointed agent for the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul at Sabula, Iowa, and served as agent for the same railway at Davenport, Iowa, from 1882 until September 9, 1884, when he received the appointment of agent of the Burlington, Cedar Rapids & Northern Railway at Luverne, Minnesota. His next appointment, received on the 25th of August, 1885, made him traveling freight agent for the same road, and in 1886 he became traveling passenger agent. On the 1st of March, 1889, he was appointed chief clerk in the general freight office at Cedar Rapids, Iowa, and on the 4th of January, 1891, was advanced to the position of general agent at Davenport, Iowa. On the 1st of September, 1893, he was appointed division freight agent, which position he still retains, with headquarters at Estherville. Forty-four years of continuous service without a day's loss of salary indicates a record that is indeed most commendable. His fidelity stands as an unquestioned fact in his career, as does his capability, for great corporations like the railroad companies do not retain incompetent men in their employ. Added duties and responsibilities have come to him with his various promotions and his powers have been found adequate to every task imposed upon him.
On the 20th of September, 1877, at Davenport, Iowa, Mr. Knapp was united in marriage to Miss Jessie C. Randall and they have a daughter, Mabel R., who was married August 17, 1905, to Alexander Johnston, of Estherville, by whom she has one child, Virginia Knapp Johnston, born November 26, 1912. In his political views Mr. Knapp has always been a stalwart Repub-lican, but not an office seeker. He belongs to North Star Lodge, No. 445,F. & A. M., of which he served one term as senior warden, and he was enrolled as the second charter member of Estherville Lodge, No. 528, B.P.0.E. He is today one of the best known representatives of railroad interests in the state with a record unsurpassed for faithful andl oyal service.
O. C. OLSON
O. C. Olson, who is actively connected with farming interests in High Lake township, Emmet county, his home being on section 15, owns and cultivates two hundred and seventy-five acres of rich and valuable land. He was born in Norway, March 8, 1866, and is a son of Colman and Carrie Olson. The mother died in the land of the midnight sun and the father afterward came to the United States but has now passed away. In their family were eight children, seven of whom are yet living. 0. C. Olson was a lad of twelve years when he accompanied his father to the United States and through much of the time until hea ttained his majority he was employed at farm labor.
After reaching man's estate he was married in 1892 to Miss Tena Peterson, a native of Emmet county and a daughter of William and Carrie Peterson, who were also natives of Norway, but became pioneer residents of Emmet county and homesteaded in High Lake township. They lived for a timei n a log cabin and met the usual hardships and privations incident to settlement on the frontier. Both the father and mother are now deceased. Their family numbered eight children, of whom five are yet living. Mr. and Mrs. Olson became the parents of seven children, Clarence L., Blanche L., Lloyd P., Artie A., Myrtle A., Orlando i. and Norman R., but Artie A., the fourth in order of birth, is deceased. Following his marriage Mr. Olson began farming on his own account on rented land, which he continued to lease for eight years, but during that period he carefully saved his earnings until his industry and economy had brought him sufficient capital to enable him to purchase the farm where he now resides, situated on the south half of section 15, High Lake township. He owns altogether two hundred and seventy-five acres of rich and productive land, from which he annually gathers good crops. He is also a stockholder and one of the directors of the Farmers' elevatorat Wallingford and his business interests have been so wisely and carefully conducted that he is now numbered among the substantial citizens of his part of the state. Mr. Olson votes with the Republican party and keeps well informed on the questions and issues of the day. He has served for the past eight years as township trustee and has also been township school director. Those who know him recognize him as a man of sterling worth, and in his business career he has so managed his interests and directed his efforts that he has won substantial success and his life history indicates what may be accomplished when there is the will to dare and to do.
WILLIAM LUSCOMBE, SR
The farm in Armstrong Grove township belonging to William Luscombe, Sr., is in itself evidence of his progressiveness and enterprise, for it is one of the most highly developed places in Emmet county. He is largely concentrating his attention upon the raising of high grade stock and derives a gratifying income therefrom. A native of England, he was born in Devonshire in March, 1846, and is a son of John and Jane (Willing) Luscombe, also natives of that country. The father was a gamekeeper for a time but learned the shipbuilders' trade, which he followed in his native country until 1849, when with his family he crossed the Atlantic to America and located in Rockford, Illinois. That was long before the advent of the railroad in the west and he drove from Chicago to Rockford, the trip requiring several days. While on the way his wife died and added to his grief at her demise was the burden of financial worry, for when he arrived at Rockford he had only fifty cents in money. However, he succeeded in renting land, which he farmed. In order to add to his income he broke prairie and threshed for others, thus securing enough to support his family. After nine years' residence in that locality he removed to Carroll county, Illinois, where he rented land until 1865,in which year he arrived in Marshall county, Iowa. For three years he
was largely employed in breaking prairie and then removed to Hardin county, where he bought land, upon which he made his home until his death in 1897. William Luscombe, Sr., grew to manhood in Illinois and received his education in the public schools there, but at the age of eighteen, or in 1864, enlisted for service in the Union army, becoming a member of Company G. One Hundred and Forty-second Illinois Infantry, with which he served for nine months. He was mustered out at Chicago and returned home, remaining with his parents until he was twenty-five years old. He then rented land in Hardin county, Iowa, and for many years operated farms belonging to others. He also worked in the timber to some extent, getting out ties for the railroad. At length he purchased four hundred acres of land in Hardin county and also a farm in Franklin county which he operated until 1900. He then came to Emmet county, Iowa, and purchased his present farm, comprising two hundred and five acres on section 4, Armstrong Grove township. He realizes fully the value of up-to-date equipment and his barn is said to be one of the best in the entire state. He has been unusually successful in raising Poland China and Duroc Jersey hogs and shorthorn cattle and is considered an authority upon questions pertaining to stock breeding. He is also financially interested in the Farmers' Elevator at Armstrong and in the opera house building there.
On the 25th of February, 1871, Mr. Luscombe was married to Miss Catherine Glazier and they have eight children, Amy, Mary J. and Ann E.,twins, Dorothy, William, Ida, James and John. Mr. Luscombe is a stalwart adherent of the democratic party and in religious faith is a Presbyterian. He takes justifiable pride in wearing the little bronze button which indicates him to be a member of the Grand Army of the Republic and through this organization he keeps in touch with others who fought the nation's battles at the time of the Civil war. Throughout his life he has discharged to the full all the obligations resting upon him and his many admirable qualities have gained him a high place in the regard of his fellows.
J. W. HAMMES
J. W. Hammes, a well known citizen of Terril, was born on the loth of October, 1856, in Germany, of which country his parents, Michael and Margaret Hammes, were also natives. The mother died in that country and in 1872 the father brought his family to the new world, locating in Keokuk county, Iowa, where his death occurred in 1879. He had ten children and of that number six are still living and all are residents of Iowa. .At the usual age J. W. Hammes began his education in the schools of Germany and there continued his studies until the emigration of the
family to America. In early life he learned the shoemaker's trade, which he has since followed. He resided in Keokuk county, Iowa, until 1902,when he removed to Mills county, this state, remaining there until 1911. The following two years were spent in Franklin county and at the end of that time he came to Dickinson county, having since engaged in business at Terril, where he conducts a repair shop and also deals in shoes and men's furnishings. Besides his town property he owns three hundred and eighteen acres of land on section 17, Lloyd township, which is well improved and under good cultivation.
Mr. Hammes was married in 1878 to Miss Mary Weber, a native of Iowa, by whom he has five children: Frank, who is now engaged in the shoe business in Portsmouth, Iowa; John; Clara, the wife of Charles Higgins; Helen, who is teaching school in Terril; and Leonard, who is attending college at Grinnell, Iowa. In politics Mr. Hammes is a Democrat, but he has never cared for official honors, preferring to give his undivided attention to his business interests. He started out in life for himself empty handed and the success that has come to him is due entirely to his industry, enterprise and sound judgment in the management of his affairs.
Peter Conlin followed agricultural pursuits throughout his active life and his well directed labors yielded him a good financial return. His last days were spent in honorable retirement from business cares in Armstrong, where he passed away September 4, 1916. He was born in Massachusetts on the 20th of March, 1845, and is a son of James and Anna (Gallagher) Conlin, who emigrated to this country from Ireland in an early day and located in Massachusetts. The father farmed there until the removal of the family to Wisconsin, where he became a landowner. He passed away in 1886 at the advanced age of eighty-four years, and the mother died in 1858. Peter Conlin spent his boyhood and youth in Wisconsin and received his education in the public schools of that state. When not quite seventeen years of age he was employed in hauling provisions for the Union army and was at the front for about three years. He was taken captive and because of the terrible conditions of prison life became so emaciated that he was little more than a skeleton when he returned to his homein Wisconsin. As soon as he had sufficiently recovered his strength he went to work as a farm hand and so continued until 1871, when he came to Emmet county, Iowa, and took up a homestead in Armstrong Grove township. He brought that place to a high state of cultivation and made many improvements thereon. For thirty-three years his time and energy were taken up with the operation of his farm, and his good management and thrift enabled him to accumulate a competence. At length he retired and took up his residence in Armstrong, where he died September 4,1916, at the age of seventy-one years and five months.
On the 4th of December, 1869, Mr. Conlin was married to Miss Delia Harrity, a daughter of John and Bridget (Thornton) Harrity, who were natives of Ireland but emigrated to America, locating near Cleveland, Ohio. The father was for a time foreman on a large farm there, but later the family removed to Wisconsin and he purchased land, which he cultivated until his death. To Mr. and Mrs. Conlin were born five children: Anna, who died April 24, 1906; Mary and John, twins; James,and Patrick, who is a resident of Emmetsburg. Mr. Conlin was a Democrat in politics but was without ambition to hold office, being content to discharge his duties as a citizen in a private capacity. However, he was chosen by popular suffrage trustee of his township. In religious faith he was a Catholic. The patriotism which prompted him to give his services to the Union at the time of the Civil War characterized him throughout life and he always placed the general welfare above his personal interests.
PETER S. ANDERSON
Peter S. Anderson, who is engaged in general farming on section 15, Twelve Mile Lake township, is one of Norway's contributions to the citizenship of Emmet county. He was born in the land of the midnight sun January 9, 1864, a son of Ole and Haldis Anderson, the former a carpenter by trade. Leaving their native country, they came to America in 1871 and established their home in Emmet county, where the father secured a homestead claim in High Lake township. For almost two decades he engaged in farming upon that place, remaining there until 1890, when he retired to Wallingford to enjoy a rest which he had richlye arned and justly merits. In the family were five children. Peter S. Anderson was a little lad of but seven years when the family came across the Atlantic to the United States and upon the homefarm he was reared, with the usual experiences of the farmbred boy who divides his time between the work of the fields and the acquirement of a district school education. He continued to work for his father until 1890 and when his father removed to Wallingford, Peter S. Anderson purchased a farm comprising the northeast quarter of section 15, Twelve Mile Lake township. He now gives his entire attention to the further development and improvement of this property and has brought his fields to a high state of cultivation, so that he annually gathers good harvests.
Mr. Anderson was united in marriage to Miss Christie Herum, a daughter of Peter and Bertha (Talle) Herum, of High Lake township. Mr. and Mrs. Anderson have a family of six children: Hilda, who is teaching in the schools of Wallingford; Chester, at home; Alvin, who isa ttending Jewell Lutheran College at Jewell, Iowa; Harold, a high school pupil in Estherville; and Pearl and Theodore, who are attending the district schools. The parents are members of the Norwegian Lutheran church and Mr. Anderson gives his political support to the Republican party, of which he has been a stalwart advocate since age conferred upon him the right of franchise. He represents one of the old-time families of the county, having for forty-six years resided within its borders, so that his memory forms a connecting link between the primitive past and the progressive present. He was acquainted with pioneer conditions here and he has lived to witness a remarkable change as the labors of man have claimed the region for the purposes of civilization, converting the once wild prairie into rich and productive farms, dotted here and there with thriving towns and villages. The spirit of enterprise has ever beena strong force here and Mr. Anderson has displayed that same spirit in the conduct of his private business affairs. He has served as school treasurer for the past eight years, has also been township trustee and is a director of the Farmers' Bank of Wallingford.
SILAS G. PALMER
Silas G. Palmer, a real estate dealer and one of the leading citizens of Lake Park, claims Iowa as his native state, for he was born in Waterloo, June 18, 1856, and is a son of John and Louisa (Jeffrey) Palmer, both natives of Devonshire, England. When the former was a young man and the latter a young woman they started for Canada on the same vessel and, becoming well acquainted during the several weeks' voyage, were married soon after landing in Quebec in 1853. A year later they came to the United States and after spending some time in Chicago proceeded to Waterloo, Iowa, driving across the country in a democrat wagon drawn by one horse, and arriving in May, 1856. They brought with them a stove and a few small household utensils and had a cash capital of two hundred dollars when they reached Waterloo. The father purchased land near that city and began farming. He also quarried rock out of the river and in that way contracted chills and fever, which prevented him from working all of the time and he lost the tract of eighty acres which he had bought. Later he removed to Butler county, Iowa, where he purchased government land at one dollar and a quarter per acre, and lived thereon for five years, raising wheat, which he hauled forty miles to Cedar Falls and Waterloo and then sold for thirty cents a bushel. He later sold this land for ninety cents an acre. He returned to Black Hawk county and again bought land there, on which he lived up to the time of his death, May 10, 1901. His widow still survives him and is now living with her daughter in Eagle Grove, Iowa. Silas G. Palmer obtained a limited education in the common schools of this state, but his early training was largely acquired between the
handles of a plow. He remained at home, assisting in the labors of the farm, up to his twenty-second year and then started out in life for himself, working as a farm hand for six months. For two summers he herded cattle and attended school during the winter months. During the following two years he engaged in farming for himself and in 1880 embarked in the livery and drayage business in Dows, Iowa, at the same time selling agricultural implements. He successfully carried on operations there for twelve years and then accepted a position on the road for Warder, Bushnell, Glessner & Company, manufacturers of harvesting machinery, his territory covering Iowa and Minnesota.
On the 24th of November, 1894, Mr. Palmer became a resident of Lake Park, establishing himself in the real estate, loan and insurance business, which he has since carried on with marked success. During the intervening years he has acquired extensive farm lands in Iowa, Minnesota, Illinois, North and South Dakota, and is today one of the most prosperous citizens of his community. Besides his other interests be is a stockholder in the Lake Park State Bank.
In October, 1881, Mr. Palmer married Miss Minnie C. Clow, of Wright county, Iowa, and to them were born three children, two of whom survive, namely: Bessie, now the wife of J. B. Elstun, of Colorado Springs, Colorado; and Susie G., the wife of Elmo L. Bush, of Dickinson county, Iowa. The wife and mother passed away on the 10th of March, 1891. Mr. Palmer was subsequently united in marriage to Minnie M. King, of Lake Park, by whom he has two children, Silas K. and Floyd G. By a previous marriage Mrs. Palmer has a daughter, Goldie Fern, the wife of L. D. Bush, of Russell, Minnesota. Mr. Palmer gives his political support to the republican party and for several years served as a member of the town council of Lake Park. He was also mayor for four years and gave to the town a businesslike and public-spirited administration. He is a member of Silver Pearl Lodge, No. 211, K. P., of Lake Park, and is widely recognized as one of the foremost citizens of the place, standing prominent in business affairs and always ready to advance any public measure for the good of the community. He is a far-sighted, energetic business man and usually carries forward to successful completion whatever he undertakes.
CARL E. GILL
Carl E. Gill, of the firm of Gill & Company, druggists of Terril, was born in Hennepin, Minnesota, April 12, 1881, and is a son of Charles J. and Anna L. (Kingsley) Gill, natives of Illinois and Vermont, respectively. They became residents of Iowa, where the father died, but the mother is still living, and four of their five children also survive. Carl E. Gill was practically reared in Pocahontas county, Iowa, where he attended both the common and high schools, and having decided to become a druggist he took up the study of pharmacy. He passed the required examination and received his license in 1902, after which he and his brother William embarked in the drug business at Terril under the name of Gill & Company. They have one of the leading stores of the kind in the county and have secured a good patronage.
In 1908 occurred the marriage of Carl E. Gill and Miss Maud Smith, who was born in Hardin county, Iowa, and is a daughter of Jason B. and Rebecca Smith, both now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Gill have been born two children: Merwyn C., and Eugene W., who died when six months old. Mr. Gill affiliates with the Republican party and is a representative of the Masonic fraternity, belonging to Blue Lodge, No. 612, A.F.&A.M., and to Chapter No. 132, R. A. M. He has held office in that order and is also a member of the Yeomen. In business affairs he has steadily prosp6red since starting out in life for himself and besides the interest in the drug store he owns a good residence in Terril and he and his brother own a fine farm in Minnesota, consisting of one hundred and sixty acres. He is one of the foremost citizens of his town and wherever known is held in high regard.
LARS PETER LARSEN
Lars Peter Larsen is devoting his time to farming and has never had occasion to regret his choice of an occupation, for he has won a gratifying measure of success. He was born in Denmark, June 5, 1872, a son of Nels and Maren Larsen, who are still living in that country, where the father is a small farmer. Of their six children, five daughters and one son, Lars Peter Larsen, was the only one to come to the United States. After completing the course offered in the district schools he attended what corresponds to the American high school from the age of sixteen to eighteen, and when nineteen years old came alone to America. For about a year he managed a creamery in Freeborn county, Minnesota, and then purchased eighty acres of land in Wharton county, Texas, where he remained for a year. He then rented his farm and removing to Ringsted, Iowa, was employed for seven years as a brick and stone mason. He next rented a farm just across the line in Kossuth county for three years, after which he bought the west half of the north-east quarter of section 15, Denmark township, which he has since cultivated. He raises both grain and stock and has been very successful in he management of his interests.
On the 28th of February, 1905, Mr. Larsen was married to Miss Anna Larson, a daughter of Andrew Larson, of Ringsted. To this union have been born six children, Nels, Signe, Thyra, Dagmar, Andrew and Erling. Mr. Larsen votes for the man rather than the party and is an intelligent student of the issues of the day. He belongs to the Yeomen and the Danish Brotherhood of Ringsted and is a communicant of St. John's Danish Lutheran church. He has thoroughly identified himself with his adopted country and is American in spirit as well as in name.
Forceful and resourceful in all that he undertakes, accomplishing a given purpose through the energy and determination that will brook no obstacles that honest effort can overcome, August Sindt is now contributing in substantial measure to the material development of Lake Park and Dickinson county. He is today widely known as the president of the Lake Park State Bank and also as a grain and coal merchant. He was born in Walcott, Scott county, Iowa, on the 4th of December, 1873, is a son of Henry H. and Catherine (Horst) Sindt and is descended from an old family of Holstein, Germany. His grandfather, Thies Sindt, came from that country in 1848 on a sailing vessel which dropped anchor in the harbor of New Orleans, whence he proceeded up the Mississippi river to Davenport. He is a tinner by trade but has devoted much of his life to agricultural pursuits and is still living at the very venerable age of ninety-one years. His son, H. H. Sindt, father of August Sindt, was born in Scott county, Iowa, and after reaching man's estate was identified with the hotel business in Davenport for many years, but in 1873 removed to Walcott, where he again became proprietor of a hotel and also engaged in the grain trade. He was born in the year 1850 and spent his entire life in his native county, for although in 1884 he purchased land near Lake Park, Dickinson county, he never located thereon,his death occurring in Walcott in 1898. August Sindt, who was one of a family of four children, spent his youthful days under the parental roof, enjoying the advantages usually offered to lads of that locality and period. In the pursuit of his education he attended the Walcott public school and the Davenport Business College, following which he occupied a position in the office of clerk of the courts of Scott county. On the 10th of January, 1896, he removed to Lake Park and entered the office of H. H. Sindt & Company, grain buyers, the business having been established by his father, H. H. Sindt,together with Theodore Sindt and Louis Stollenburg, in 1885. In 1899 the Theodore Sindt Grain Company, Incorporated, was organized and took over the business of H. H. Sindt & Company at Lake Park, at which time August Sindt of this review became assistant manager of the business. In 1903 Mr. Stollenburg retired and Mr. Sindt was made secretary, treasurer and general manager, in which connection he has since been actively and prominently connected with the grain trade. The company shipped the first carload of barley ever sent out from north-western Iowa. Their business furnishes an excellent market for the grain producers in this fertile farming region and their annual purchases and sales are extensive. They also engage extensively in shipping hogs and have a large coal trade. Mr. Sindt likewise deals in real estate, has owned some valuable property and has erected some of the substantial buildings of Lake Park. His holdings of Minnesota and Iowa farmlands are extensive. In 1909 he purchased stock in the Lake Park State Bank and in 1911 was elected president of the institution, in which important capacity he has since served. He is a man of constructive ability, an organizer and builder, and has been the moving force in various plans and projects which have led to the further development and upbuilding of the little city of Lake Park.
In 1897 Mr. Sindt was united in marriage to Miss Clara Weise, of Walcott, Iowa, by whom he has six children, as follows: Waldemar H.,who is a freshman in the State Agricultural College at Ames, Iowa; Herbert P., a high school student at Lake Park; Irma A. and Arthur A., who attend the graded schools; Elsa C., and August T. The hospitality of the Sindt home is one of its most attractive features and the friends of the family, and they are many, are always assured of a cordial welcome. Mr. Sindt is an exemplary representative of the Masonic fraternity, belonging to Silver Lake Lodge, No. 527, F.& A.M., of which he was secretary for several years. His political support is given to the Democratic patty and he is the present city treasurer of Lake Park, which position he has continuously filled for twelve years, a fact indicative of his thorough ability and fidelity. In matters of citizenship he is never remiss. He stands for those things which are effective factors in public progress and which are matters of civic virtue and of civic pride. In business, too, he has held to the highest standards, never building his success upon others' failures, but at all times using constructive methods which have made his interests a feature in public development as well as a source of private success.
HORACE I. SPEAR
Horace 1. Spear, engaged in general farming in High Lake township, Emmet county, his place being situated on section 9, is numbered among the native sons of the state, his birth having occurred in Dallas county, Iowa, March 17, 1877. His parents, John and Mary M. (Blackman) Spear, were natives of Ohio and Indiana, respectively, and are well-known farming people of Dallas county, where they yet reside. In their family were seven children, Lillian May, Edward 0., Roscoe R., Horace I., Darius, Ethel and Floyd, four of whom are residents of Dallas county. Roscoe R.is living in Los Angeles, California, and Darius makes his home in Oregon. The youthful experiences of Horace I. Spear were those of the farm-bred boy. He assisted in the work of the fields until he attained his majority and in the meantime had acquired a common school education.
For a time he engaged in cultivating land which he rented from his father and others and in 1911 he removed from Dallas to Emmet county and made investment in one hundred and sixty acres of land, constituting the southeast quarter of section 9, High Lake township. Through the intervening period of six years he has continuously and successfully cultivated his fields, bringing the farm to a high state of development and adding to it various modern improvements which indicate his practical and progressive spirit.
On the 7th of November, 1906, Mr. Spear was married to Miss Katherine Wacht, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Nick Wacht, natives, respectively, of Germany and of New York. The father is a prominent farmer residing in Dallas county but the mother died when her daughter Katherine was but five years of age and was laid to rest in Booneville cemetery. There were six children, all of whom are living in Dallas county, Frances, Nicholas, John, Henry, Mrs. Spear and Harnion. Mr. and Mrs. Spear have become the parents of six children, namely, Nicholas, Paul, Thelma Ruth, Katherine, Dorothy and William. The religious faith of the faimly is that of the Catholic church and they are communicants of the church at Graettinger. Mr. Spear votes with the republican party, which he has supported since age conferred upon him the right of franchise. He has never been an aspirant for office, preferring always to give his undivided attention to his agricultural pursuits, which are now bringing to him deserved success.
CHARLES H. HIGINBOTHAM
Charles H. Higinbotham, who is engaged in general merchandising at Gruver, was born in Winnebago county, Iowa, April 26, 1870. His parents, William and Rachel (Miller) Higinbotham, are natives of Ohio and Virginia, respectively. About the year 1860 they took up their abode in Iowa and are still residents of Winnebago county. They had a family of eight children, of whom six are yet living. Spending his youthful days under the parental roof, Charles H.Higinbotham was educated in the common schools of Winnebago county and in the high school at Forest City. He continued upon the home farm until he attained his majority, when, thinking to find other pursuits more congenial, he turned his attention to commercial interests by securing a clerkship in a store, in which he was employed for a year. Later he was connected with a grain elevator for six years or until 1899, when he built an elevator in Gruver, which he conducted for a short time. He then sold out and established his present general merchandise store, which he has since conducted. He carries a substantial and attractive line of goods and finds a ready sale therefor, owing to his reliable business methods, his reasonable prices and his earnest desire to please hispatrons. He owns the store building which he occupies.
In 1893 Mr. Higinbotham was united in marriage to Miss Grace Lawrence, a native of Kansas and a daughter of Lester L. and Irene (Kays) Lawrence. Her mother is now deceased, while the father resides in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Mr. and Mrs. Higinbotham have become the parents of two children, William L. and Lawrence. Mr. Higinbotham is a well known and representative member of the Odd Fellows' Lodge No. 69, also of the Knights of Pythias and the Modern Woodmen of America, and in the local organizations has filled various chairs. He votes with the Republican party and his fellow townsmen, appreciative of his worth and ability, have frequently called upon him to fill public offices, so that he has served as justice of the peace, as town clerk and as a member of the school board. His wife belongs to the Presbyterian church, and both are highly esteemed in the community where they make their home, their many substantial characteristics winning for them the high and favorable regard of all who know them.
HARVEY E. CLARK
Harvey E. Clark, a well known representative of farming interests in Center township, Emmet county, resides on section 5, where a well-improved farm of one hundred and sixty acres pays tribute to the care and labor which he bestows upon it. Indiana claims him as a native son, his birth having occurred in Putnam county, May 6, 1862, his parents being Alexander C. and Nancy (Ely) Clark, natives of the Hoosier state, who in 1864 removed to Dallas county, Iowa, where they settled upon a farm. Both are still living. To them were born fourteen children, eight of whom survive. Harvey E. Clark was but two years of age at the time of the removal to Dallas county, so that the period of his youth was largely passed there and to the public school system he is indebted for his educational opportunities. His farm training was received under his father's direction and he continued to assist in the development of the old homestead until he reached the age of twenty-five years, when, desirous of engaging in farming on his own account, he bought land in Dallas county, which he continued to cultivate until 1911, when he sold that property and invested in six hundred acres in Center township, Emmet county, constituting his present home property. This is well improved and his attention is systematically given to the work of the farm and results in the harvesting of good crops annually.
In 1887 occurred the marriage of Harvey E. Clark and Miss Deborah C. Mills, a native of Dallas county, Iowa, and a daughter of Jeremiah and Nancy (Etchison) Mills, both now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Clark have become the parents of six children, but lost their firstborn, Bertha. The others are: Earl C., Ivol W., Esther P., now Mrs. T. 0. Marriott; Everett A., and Dean A. The parents are consistent members of the Christian church and Mr. Clark gives his political allegiance to the'Democratic party. He is now serving as chairman of the board of trustees in his township and is ever loyal in his support of all plans and projects tending to promote the public welfare. His has been an active and well spent life and his labors have found their legitimate reward in substantial success.
A. D. TAYLOR
A. D. Taylor, engaged in general farming on section 28, Jack Creek township, Emmet county, was born near Columbus, Ohio, on the 26th of July, 1867, a son of Andrew and Elizabeth (Mitchell) Taylor, who were also natives of the Buckeye state, where they spent their entire lives, the father devoting his attention to general agricultural pursuits. A. D. Taylor is indebted to the common school system of Ohio for the educational privileges which he enjoyed and on putting aside his textbooks at the age of nineteen he started out to earn his own living and made his way to Iowa, settling first in Marshall county, where he was employed as a farm hand. He worked there for two years and in 1888 bought his first land, becoming the owner of eighty acres in Jasper county. Three years later he sold that property and invested in one hundred and sixty acres in Marshall county. In subsequent years he bought and sold various farms and he has probably made more money on his farm investments than he has in the tilling of the soil. He displays sound judgment concerning the value of property and his purchases are therefore judiciously made, while his sales bring to him a substantial profit. In 1909 he removed from Tama county to Emmet county, where he has since lived, and here he acquired four hundred acres of valuable land but in 1916 sold eighty acres, making his present possessions three hundred and twenty acres in Emmet county, constituting one of its valuable and highly improved farms. He also owns four hundred and eight acres in Morton county, North Dakota. For several years he has been extensively engaged in feeding stock, especially sheep, but in 1916 concentrated his efforts more largely upon the feeding of cattle. His business affairs are most carefully and wisely managed and his success is the legitimate outcome of his persistent, earnest efforts.
In 1888 Mr. Taylor wag united in marriage to Miss Leretta Jones, a daughter of Hugh Jones, one of the earliest pioneers of Marshall county, where he located in the '50s on coming to the new world from Wales. He is still residing there in his ninety-first year. To Mr. and Mrs. Taylor have been born six children, Hugh, Earl and Effie, twins, Glenn, Nellie and Mae, all at home. In his political views Mr. Taylor is a republican but while he keeps well informed on the questions and issues of the day and is interested in all that pertains to public progress, be has never been an office seeker, preferring to concentrate his time and energies upon his business affairs and the result of his close application, indefatigable effort and keen insight is seen in the splendid success which is today his.
JOHN C. IRWIN
John C. Irwin, now living retired, is an honored veteran of the Civil war and one whose loyalty in citizenship has never been called into question. He has always stood for progressiveness and improvement in public affairs as well as in private life. He was born in Mercer county, Penn-ylvania, September 23, 1837, and is a son of Luke and Mary (Adams) Irwin, both of whom were natives of the Keystone state. In 1851 they arrived in Jackson county, Iowa, and settled on a farm, there spending the remainder of their days. In their family were eleven children but only two are now living. John C. Irwin was a youth of fourteen years when the removal was made to this state and his early education, begun in Pennsylvania, was supplemented by further study in Jackson county. He assisted his father in the work of the fields through the period of his boyhood and youth, remaining at home until he attained his majority, and he became familiar with all of the experiences and hardships of this district when it was a frontier settlement. After attaining adult age he engaged in breaking prairie with five yoke of oxen for three years and spent two years in Missouri previous to his beginning farming in Iowa. With the outbreak of the Civil war his patriotic spirit was aroused and in response to the country's call for troops he enlisted in 1861 as a member of Company D, Ninth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, serving with the rank of sergeant. He remained with his command for three years and participated in the siegeo f Vicksburg, the battle of Missionary Ridge and in the campaign from Atlanta to the sea. He was mustered out in Georgia and returned to his home with a most creditable military record, for he had never faltered in the performance of any duty assigned him, whether called to the firing line or stationed on the lonely picket line. His loyalty and valor were unquestioned and his course was indeed commendable. When the country no longer needed his aid Mr. Irwin took up his abode in Benton county, Iowa, where he purchased a farm which he developed and improved for eighteen years, transforming it into a very productive tract. He afterward removed to Cherokee county, Iowa, where he resided until 1901 and then came to Emmet county, settling in Estherville, where he has since lived retired. He was an active and progressive agriculturist through many years of his life and his well directed industry and thrift brought him a substantial measure of success.
On February 22, 1865, Mr. Irwin was united in marriage to Miss Amanda Beller, a native of Ohio and a daughter of Robert and Rachel
(Davis) Beller, who removed to Peoria county, Illinois, and afterward became residents of Benton county, Iowa. There the mother passed away, while the father's death afterward occurred in Ponca, Nebraska. Mr.and Mrs. Irwin had seven children. L. W., the eldest, is now a resident of Independence, Iowa. Minnie E. is the wife of C. E. Person, of Estherville, Iowa. Perry C. is engaged in farming in Emmet county. Estella has departed this life. J. Albert is living in Emmet county. Wiley C. is also deceased.
Olive R. is the wife of Roy A.Burt who was born in Emmet county, July 17, 1882, a son of Peter H. and Anna (Davis) Burt. He was reared and educated in Emmet county and pursued a course in dairying at the Agricultural College at Ames, being graduated in 1902. He afterward worked as butter maker in a creamery for ten years and in March, 1911, came to Estherville, where he established a feed and seed store. In 1914 he sold a half interest to F. M. Jones and business has since been conducted under the name of the Burt & Jones feed and seeds tore. They also handle coal.
It was in 1906 that Mr. Burt wedded Miss Olive Irwin and they have become parents of a daughter, Eloise Ruth, born June 20, 1914. Mrs. Amanda Irwin passed away in 1905 and was laid to rest in the East cemetery at Estherville, Iowa. She had many admirable traits of character worthy of all praise and her death was deeply regretted by many friends as well as by her immediate family.
Mr. Irwin holds membership in the Methodist Episcopal church and guides his life according to its teachings. He belongs to the Grand Army post of Estherville and thus maintains pleasant relations with his old army comrades. His political support has always been given to the republican party since he cast his first presidential vote for Abraham Lincoln, and in days of peace he has been as true and loyal to his countryas when he followed the old flag on the battlefields of the south.
BATY K. BRADFIELD
Baty K. Bradfield, who is now so efficiently serving as sheriff of Dickinson county and is also engaged in the real estate and live stock business in Spirit Lake, was born in Hardin county, Iowa, on the 4th of April, 1876, and is a son of Charles N. and Alwilda (Darling) Bradfield, natives of Ohio. They continued to reside in the Buckeye state until after their marriage and later became pioneer settlers of Hardin county, Iowa, where the father engaged in farming. From there he removed to Winnebago county and subsequently to Wright county, this state, where he served as sheriff for three terms, but is now living retired in Dickinson county. In the public schools of Wright county Baty K. Bradfield began his education and the knowledge there acquired was later supplemented by a high school course at Clarion, Iowa. On starting out in life for himself he engaged in farming near Buffalo Center, Winnebago county, but in 1901 came to Dickinson county and located on a farm in Excelsior township, where he followed farming and also engaged in the live stock business until elected sheriff in 1912. So acceptably did he fill the office, that he was re-elected in 1914 and again in 1916, being the present incumbent. He has proved a broad-minded and capable official in every respect and well merits the confidence reposed in him.
At Clarion, Wright county, March 9, 1898, occurred the marriage of Mr. Bradfield and Miss Josephine Rowen, who is a native of that county and a daughter of Rev. John M. and Mary Jane Rowen. Her father was a minister of the United Brethren church and a man prominent in public affairs, serving as state senator in Iowa and as United States consul to the Falkland islands. After a useful and well spent life he passed away in Wright county in 1914. Mrs. Rowen now lives on the old homestead near Rowan, Wright county. To Mr. and Mrs. Bradfield have been born three children: Marguerite Rowena, born in Winnebago county; and Herbert Charles and Winnefred, both born in Dickinson county. The last named is now deceased. In politics Mr. Bradfield is a stalwart republican, exerting considerable influence in local politics, and in religious belief both he and his wife are Presbyterians. He is a member of Silver Lake Lodge, A.F. & A.M.,and of the Eastern Star Chapter, to which Mrs. Bradfield also belongs, and he is connected with the Elks Lodge at Estherville and the Modern Woodmen of America.
FRED J. WHITE
Fred J. White is president of the Northern Lumber Company, with general offices in Estherville. This is one of the important business concerns of northwestern Iowa, owning a chain of yards in the northern partof the state. He was born in Grand Island, Nebraska, September 3, 1874. His father, Jay E. White, is a native of Michigan and has devoted his attention to the insurance and real estate business. He married Eliza Watts, a native of England, and they became residents of Grand Island, Nebraska, and subsequently of Lincoln, Nebraska .Fred J. White attended the public schools of his native city to the age of fourteen years and then accompanied his parents on their removal to Lincoln, where he became connected with his father in business, that association being maintained from 1892 until 1902. In the latter year he came to Emmet county to enter upon the duties of treasurer of the Northern Lumber Company, with general offices in Estherville. He continued to fill that position until 1914, when he was elected to the presidency and so continues. This company owns a number of lumberyards in northern Iowa and is constantly extending its trade relations. The other officers of the company are: M. P. Chumlea, vice president; G. A. Lyon, secretary; and J. E. Howard, treasurer. Their business constitutes one of the most important commercial concerns of this section of the state, supplying the trade in large measure, its annual sales now reaching an extensive figure.
In 1901 occurred the marriage of Mr. White and Miss Susan Spalding, a daughter of James D. and Sarah Spalding, of Sioux City, Iowa. They have become parents of three children: James, Susan and Mary, all at home. Mr. and Mrs. White hold membership in the Episcopal church. His political allegiance is given the republican party but he never seeks the honors nor emoluments of office as a return for party fealty, preferring to concentrate his undivided attention upon his business affairs.
Peter Brown, one of the substantial and highly esteemed citizens ofTerril, was born on the 22d of March, 1861, in Germany, of which country his parents, Peter and Kathrine Brown, were life-long residents,their home being in northern Germany. In their family were four children, one of whom is now deceased. In his native land Peter Brown, Jr., grew to manhood and was given good educational advantages. On attaining his majority Mr. Brown emigrated to the United States, becoming a resident of Pocahontas county, Iowa, in 1882, and there he worked as a farm hand for three years. He was not only in limited circumstances on coming to this country but also owed his sister fifty dollars for his passage. As fast as he could save a few dollars he invested the money in cattle, which he let out to farmers on shares for one-half the increase. At length he was able to purchase a team and for one year he rented a farm in Pocahontas county, on which he put all his stock. He sold out, however, at the end of that time and his proceeds amounted to seven hundred dollars. During the following year he worked for the Northwestern Railroad and one year later resumed farming, purchasing at that time eighty acres of land in Pocahontas county, on which he spent nine years. In 1900 he disposed of his property in that county and came to Dickinson county, where he has since made his home. For a year and a half he conducted a drug store in Terril and later engaged in the stock business, which he found quite profitable, but is now practically living retired, looking after his invested interests. Mr. Brown purchased one hundred and sixty acres of land on section 28, Lakeville township, which he still owns, and also bought twenty-four and a half acres and fourteen town lots in Terril.
In 1902 Mr. Brown was united in marriage to Miss Emma Wolle, who was born in Will county, Illinois. Her parents, Christ and Kathrine Wolle, were natives of Germany and on coming to this country in 1868 first located in Illinois but afterward came to Iowa, where Mr. Wolle died. His widow is still living. Mr. and Mrs. Brown have three children: Minnie K., born September 6, 1904; Clarence P., born June 24, 1906; and Mabel L., born September 15, 1907. In religious faith Mr. and Mrs. Brown are Lutherans and in politics he is a republican. He takes an active interest in public affairs and has been called upon to serve as mayor of Terril for one term. He is a stockholder in the First National Bank and is a man of recognized business ability whose success in life has come to him as the result of his own industry, enterprise and good judgment. His public and private life are alike above reproach and he stands high in the esteem of his fellow citizens.
county and has lived on his present farm in Swan Lake township. He is a progressive and up-to-date farmer and since locating here has met with good success in his labors.
GEORGE HERRICK, SR.
George Herrick, Sr., who is successfully engaged in agricultural pursuits on section 24, Swan Lake township, was born in Sturton, Lincolnshire, England, on the 20th of May, 1849, and is a son of John and Ann (Wheateroft) Herrick, who continued to make their home in England throughout life, the father being engaged in farming. Our subject attended the common schools of his native land, but his educational privileges were limited. Although he left school at the age of eleven years he has always been a reader and a student, and is today a well informed man.In 1871 Mr. Herrick sailed for the new world and landed in Quebec,Canada, whence he made his way to Chicago and from there came direct to Iowa. He crossed the Mississippi river at Burlington on the 8th of July, 1871, and although his ticket was to Ottumwa he stopped over at Mt. Pleasant to visit relatives. His wife accompanied him, and on their arrival at Mt. Pleasant they found that their capital consisted of only ten dollars and it was necessary for Mr. Herrick to go to work. He secured a position as a farm hand and his wife assisted in the housework, thus paying for her board. He received twenty dollars a month for his services and remained with his employer until the close of corn picking, when he and his wife went to live in a log cabin on the farm where he had worked and where he was still employed at doing odd jobs until the following spring. On moving to Mt. Pleasant he secured a position in a nursery where he remained for four or five years, and after the death of his employer he was with his successor. He had charge of selling the nursery stock and also farmed the surplus land. The farm was finally sold and the business discontinued. Mr. Herrick then removed to Fillmore county, Nebraska, where be rented a farm on the cash basis and engaged in agricultural pursuits on his own account. His wheat crop was poor, however, and only sold for forty cents a bushel and the grasshoppers ate his corn. In the fall he returned to Iowa. He had paid one hundred dollars for a freight car to move his goods to Nebraska, but the return trip was made by horse and wagon. Mr. Herrick located at Grand Junction, Iowa, where he ran a dray line for two or three years, and then resumed agricultural pursuits, purchasing a small farm which he operated until 1891. Since that time he has been a resident of Emmet
Before leaving England Mr. Herrick was married in 1871 to Miss Elizabeth Chamberlain, by whom he has had six children, two sons and four daughters, namely: Anna, who is now the wife of E. P. Myers, ofSpencer, Iowa, and has three children, Bethel, Mildred and Donald; Carrie, the widow of J. M. Taylor, of Iowa Falls, who was accidentally killed December 16, 1916; Grace, who is the wife of L. R. Taylor, of Armstrong, Iowa, and has three children, Leora, Dorothy and Beryl; Lilly M., the wife of John S. Dininger, who is now operating Mr. Herrick's farm; George, Jr., a resident of Denison, Iowa; and Ira D., who is living in Maple Hill, Emmet county, is married and has four children, Earl, Walter, Thelma and Lura. Mr. Herrick casts his ballot for the men and measures of the republican party and has most acceptably served as justice of the peace for ten years and as township trustee and road supervisor for several terms. He is a member of Armstrong Lodge No. 635, I.0.0.F. of which he was one of the organizers and both he and his wife hold membership in the Baptist church. He is one of the most influential citizens in his community and has a host of warm friends in Emmet county.
Chris Kessey, a retired blacksmith living in Milford, was born in Norway in April, 1846, and is a son of Jacob and Mary (Gestwang) Kessey, who spent their entire lives in that country. The father died in 1852 and the mother's death occurred in 1872. In their family were twelve children, eleven sons and one daughter. Chris Kessey was reared and educated in his native land, and in 1867 he and his brother Isaac, now county treasurer of Winnebago county, Iowa, came to the new world. Locating in Winneshiek county, Iowa, he there found employment as a farm hand but followed that occupation only a short time. He then learned the blacksmith's trade in Decorah, where he spent one year, and continued working at his trade in Plymouth Rock, Winneshiek county, for three years. In 1871 he came to Milford, Dickinson county, and worked in the shop of his father-in-law until the latter's death, when he bought out the business and erected a new building, where he continued to engage in blacksmithing until his retirement from active life in September, 1914. He then sold the shop. He is the owner of a nice residence and eight acres of land in Milford and also fifty acres adjoining the town.
On the 10th of February, 1869, Mr. Kessey was united in marriage to Miss Emma Zink, a daughter of Samuel and Mary (Grayborne) Zink, the former a native of Connecticut and the latter of England. On coming to Iowa, Mr. Zink located in Plymouth Rock, Winneshiek county, where he engaged in blacksmithing until 1871, when he removed to Milford at the time Mr. Kessey also settled there, but the former was not long permitted to enjoy his new home for he passed away the same year, being accidently killed. Mrs. Zink long survived him, dying December 8, 1911. Mr. and Mrs. Kessey have two children: Henry Curtis, now a resident of Victor, Colorado; and Orville B., who is conducting a bank at Springfield,Oregon. Politically, Mr. Kessey affiliates with the republican party, and he has served as trustee and treasurer of Milford township, Dickinson county. In religious faith he is a Congregationalist. During his early life he worked untiringly until prosperity crowned his efforts and he is justly entitled to the rest he is now enjoying. He is one of the representative citizens of his community and is held in high regard by all who know him.
NIELS CHRIS NIELSEN
Niels Chris Nielsen, a retired farmer residing in Ringsted, was born in Denmark on the 28th of October, 1855, of the marriage of Niels and Johanna (Christensen) Nielsen. The father passed away in that country in 1857 and in 1871 the mother came to the United States and spent the remainder of her life here, dying in Parkersburg, Iowa. Niels C. Nielsen was reared and educated in Denmark but his opportunities for schooling were very meager as when seven years of age he had to begin earning his own living, his father having died when he was but two years old. In 1874, when nineteen years old, he came to.America and for three years worked on farms near Parkersburg, Iowa. During that period he carefully saved his money and at length was able to rent a farm, which he operated for two years. The following summer he was again employed as a farm hand but in the autumn he went to Cedar Falls, Iowa, where he was connected with a flour mill for three years. The next seventeen years were devoted to the operation of rented land, but in 1900 he came to Emmet county, Iowa, and took up his residence upon a farm belonging to his wife. There he successfully engaged in farming and stock raising until 1912, when, having accumulated a competence, he retired from active life and built a comfortable residencein Ringsted, where he has since lived. He is a stockholder in the Farmers Elevator Company at Ringsted and also in the opera house here.
On the 4th of March, 1881, Mr. Nielsen was united in marriage to Miss Christina Oster, who passed away in 1898. She was the mother of five children, namely: Andrew, who is the proprietor of a hotel in Ringsted; Mary, the wife of John Timmion, of Cedar Falls; Alfred, who is farming in Denmark township, this county; William, who died in 1894; and Elvina, the wife of Fred Timmion, who is living near Cedar Falls. In January, 1901, Mr. Nielson was married to Mrs. Christina (Kroh),Schultz, widow of Peter Schultz, by whom she had four children, John, Anna, Ole and Betilda C. Mr. Schultz, who was one of the first settlers in Denmark township, purchased land here which he cultivated until his death in 1895. Mr. Nielsen supports the republican party at the polls and for the past twelve years has been road superintendent of Denmark township. He is a member of the Lutheran church and is also identified with Denmarks Minde, a society composed of those of Danish descent.
THADDEUS S. HAYS
In the death of Thaddeus S. Hays, Emmet county mourned the loss of one of its valued and representative citizens, for he was long identified with business and financial interests in the county and was ever found loyal and faithful to the trust reposed in him. He was born in Prairie City, Illinois, in November, 1867, a son of Charles and Mattie (Loughry) Hays, who were natives of Pennsylvania and at an early day became residents of Illinois. While living in McDonough county, that state, the father served as county sheriff and accordingly became a resident of Macomb. Later he removed to Iowa and subsequently to South Dakota, where he filled the office of county treasurer. Thaddeus S. Hays was largely reared and educated in Shenandoah, Iowa, and after putting aside his textbooks was appointed to the position of deputy county treasurer under his father at Woonsocket, South Dakota. After retiring from that position he entered a bank there and later removed to Chicago, where he was employed in the collection department of Deering & Company for four years. When that period had passed he went to Graettinger, Iowa, where he engaged in the banking business but later removed to Armstorng, where he became cashier of the Armstrong State Bank and one of its large stockholders. He continued to act in that official capacity throughout his remaining days and was not quite thirty-seven years of age when, after an illness of less than a week, he passed away in August, 1904. In addition to his business interests at Armstrong he was the vice president of a bank at Dolliver and director of the bank at Winnebago, Iowa, and he also owned considerable farmland in Kossuth and Emmet counties.
It was on the 3d of June, 1896, that Mr. Hays was united in marriage to Miss Hannah L. Gaarder, a daughter of Harry and Bergitte Leerberg) Gaarder, who were natives of Norway, whence they came to the new world in early life. The father was a farmer and engaged int illing the soil for many years. Eventually he became a resident of Graettinger, Iowa, and in that vicinity purchased land which he rented. He died in 1901, while his wife passed away in Wisconsin. Mr. and Mrs.Hays became the parents of three children, Gladys, Francis and Thaddeus S., all of whom are attending school, the eldest being now a college student in Huron, South Dakota. Mrs. Hays has taken up the managementof her husband's business interests. She has been a stockholder and one of the directors of the Armstrong State Bank for the past twelve years and she has valuable property holdings which return to her a most gratifying income. Her residence is one of the most beautiful homes of Armstrong and is the abode of warm-hearted hospitality. In all of his business career Mr. Hays was thoroughly reliable as well as enterprising and his activities measured up to the highest Standards. He ever assisted in movements for the benefit and welfare of his community and he served as a member of the town council of Armstrong and also as a member of the school board. His political allegiance was given to the republican party. Fraternally, he was a Mason and a Knightof Pythias, while his religious faith was that of the Presbyterian church..While devoted to the public welfare and to the interests of his friends, his best traits of character were ever reserved for his own home and fireside and there he was a most devoted husband and father, counting no sacrifice on his part too great if it would enhance the happiness and welfare of his wife and children.
WILLIAM A. KERR
William A. Kerr, who since 1910 has been manager and is one of the stockholders of the Estherville branch of the Spurbeck-Lambert Creamery Supply Company of Algona, Iowa, was born at Eagle Center, this state, on the 12th of April, 1875, a son of William and Eliza (McMurray) Kerr, who were natives of Ireland and New York respectively. Through the period of his youth William A. Kerr attended the common schools and worked upon his father's farm until he reached the age of sixteen years, when he secured a position in a tin shop, with which he was connected until 1906. He worked his way gradually upward in that business and during the last three years of the time was proprietor of the shop. In 1906 and 1907 he was employed in a hardware store at Bancroft and in the latter year he entered the employ of the Spurbeck-Lambert Creamery Supply Company of Algona, Iowa. In 1910 he was made manager of the Estherville branch of the business and is now one of the stockholders in this company, which is operating extensively along the line indicated and controls a large and gratifying business. This company was incorporated as an Algona concern in 1892 but the original owners are now deceased, their plants being taken over by others, Mr.Kerr being now vice president. The company manufactures butter tubs, tanks, etc., and handles a complete line of creamery supplies of all kinds. They find an excellent market in Iowa, which is so largely given to dairying, and their trade now covers a wide territory.
In 1900 Mr. Kerr was united in marriage to Miss Lotta Bliss, adaughter of A. E. and Charlotte (Liscum) Bliss, then of Fenton, Iowa,
but later of Bismarck, North Dakota. The father has now passed away, his remains having been interred at Springdale, Arkansas, but the mother is yet living and makes her home at Bismarck. Mr. and Mrs. Kerr have become the parents of a son, William, who was born in 1901. Mr. Kerr exercises his right of franchise in support of the men and measures of the republican party. Fraternally he is connected with the Masons and exemplifies in his life the beneficent spirit upon which that organization is based. His religious faith is that of the Methodist church and his has been an upright, honorable life actuated by good purposes and fraught with kindly deeds.
Gunder Matheson, an honored pioneer and one of the substantial citizens of Dickinson county now living retired in Milford, was born on the 27th of August, 1838, in Norway. His parents, Mathes and Magdeline Matheson, spent their entire lives in the land of the midnight sun. The father, who was a fisherman and farmer by occupation, died in 1860, and the mother passed away in 1847. In his native land Gunder Matheson grew to manhood, receiving the usual educational advantages afforded in that country at that time, and he remained with his father until 1857, when he decided to try his fortune on this side of the Atlantic. After reaching the United States he spent two months in Chicago and then went to Michigan, where he worked in the pineries for one year. The following winter was spent in Winneshiek county, Iowa, and in 1859 he came to Dickinson county, where he has since made his home. On his arrival here he homesteaded eighty acres of land in Okoboji township, which he at once began to improve, and he also bought an adjoining eighty acre tract. Upon his place he erected the largest log house in the county and as time passed made many improvements upon his farm, which he continued to operate until 1900. He then retired from active labor and removed to Milford, where he has built one of the finest residences in the town.
On the 7th of July, 1866, Mr. Matheson married Miss Anna Larson, who was born in Norway, June 11, 1847, and is the oldest daughter of Nels and Sarah Larson. When she was five years of age the family emigrated to America and settled in Wisconsin, but in 1865 removed to Jackson county, Minnesota, where Mr. Larson followed farming throughout the remainder of his life, dying there in 1881. His wife passed away in 1901. Mr. and Mrs. Matheson have three children. Anna, born January 17, 1868, is now the life of Carl Thorstenson of Milford and they have seven children, Kella, Selma, Tilen, Nanson, Rowell, Milford and Gunder. Daniel, born June 30 1870, is married and living in Montana. He has one child, Lloyd. Tilda, born December 22, 1876, is the wife of John Amundson, who is now operating Mr. Matheson's farm in Dickinson county, and they have eight children, Geno, Inga, Justin, Isabelle, Alton, Rose, Harold and Roweld. Feeling that his adopted country needed his services during the Civil war, Mr. Matheson enlisted at Spirit Lake in 1861 in Company A, Seventh Iowa Cavalry, and was mustered in at Sioux City. Later his command was changed to Company I. In the spring of 1863 his regiment, together with the Sixth Iowa Cavalry and the Second Nebraska Cavalry, were sent to quiet the Indian uprising at White Stone Hill in the Devils Lakec ountry of North Dakota. At the end of his first term Mr. Matheson re-enlisted, in the fall of 1864 and remained in the service for three years and forty days, most of that time being spent in the north keeping the Indians in subjection. He is today an honored member of Waller Post, G.A.R., at Milford, and has been a stanch supporter of the republican party since casting his first presidential vote for Abraham Lincoln. Both he and his wife are faithful members of the Lutheran church and stand high in the community where they reside. Three times they have returned to Norway on visits and although they thoroughly enjoyed these trips, they have never regretted their emigration to America for here they have prospered and made for themselves and family a most comfortable home. Although now seventy-eight years of age, Mr. Matheson has not a gray hair on his head and has the vigor and strength of a man much younger. He has always taken a commendable interest in the affairs of his community and served as school director and trustee of Okoboji township while living in the country. He is a stockholder and director of the First National Bank of Milford and is one of the representative citizens of his community, a man honored and esteemed wherever known.
Henry Peters, living on section 11, Lloyd township, is one of the representative farmers of Dickinson county. He claims Germany as his native land, his birth there occurring September 8, 1850, his parents being Christ and Margaret (Meyer) Peters. The father died in Germany in 1868 and two years later the mother came to America with her two daughters and her son Henry. The family located in Will county, Illinois, where her death occurred. After residing in Will county, Illinois, for about twelve years, Henry Peters removed to Otter county, Nebraska, where the following five years were spent, and in 1894 he came to Dickinson county, Iowa. Ten years previous to this he had purchased his present farm of one hundred and sixty acres in Lloyd township from the Milwaukee Railroad, and on locating upon his property gave his undivided attention to its cultivation and improvement. He is a man of good business and executive ability and in his farming operations has met with most excellent success.
While residing in Will county, Illinois, Mr. Peters was married in 1884 to Miss Mary Hahn, also a native of Germany, and they became the parents of four children, three of whom are still living, namely: Henry, at home; Minnie, the wife of Henry Ernst, of Lloyd township; and Elizabeth, also at home. The mother of these children died in the early '90s and in 1896 Mr. Peters was united in marriage to Miss Sophia Polso, of Will county, who was also born in Germany. There are four children by this union, Christ, John, Annie and Herman, all at home. Mr. and Mrs. Peters hold membership in the Lutheran church andh ave a wide circle of friends and acquaintances throughout Dickinson county. By his ballot Mr. Peters supports the men and measures of the republican party, and he takes an active and commendable interest in the welfare of his adopted country.
JENS J. RAVN
The population of Denmark township consists chiefly of farmers and among them is numbered Jens J. Ravn, whose progressiveness and.hard work have gained him a substantial competence. He was born in Denmark on the 29th of November, 1867, and is a son of Hans Jensen and Signe (Hansdatter) Ravn. The father was during his active days a maker of wooden shoes and was also known as a violinist. He is still living at the age of seventy-seven but the mother died when sixty-seven years old. Jens J. Ravn, who is one of a family of four children, attended the common schools until he was fourteen years old, when he was confirmed. For the next three years he worked as a bricklayer, but when only seventeen years old, came alone to the United States and settled in Armstrong Grove township, Emmet county, Iowa. After working as a farm hand for several years he cultivated rented land in Denmark township for six years, during that time carefully saving his money, as it was his ambition to become a landowner. At length he bought the north half of the northwest quarter of section 15 and has since operated that place. He has made a number of improvements thereon, carefully conserves the fertility of the soil and keeps everything in excellent condition.
On the 22d of March, 1892, Mr. Ravn was married to Miss Helena Marie Gaarde, a daughter of A. N. and Anna Marie Gaarde, who were among the early settlers of Denmark township, living for a number of years upon the farm that is now the home of Mr. Ravn. They are both deceased and are buried in St. Paul's cemetery. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Ravn are nine in number, namely: Hans Martin, Myrtie Jensina, Ralph Peter, Adella Marie, Esther Martina, Arna Sievert, Lehmann Christian, Velinda Andrea and Brady Gordon. Mr. Ravn does not consider himself bound by party ties but casts his ballot independently. He is identified with the Danish Brotherhood, thus keeping in touch with others of his race, and in religious faith is a Danish Lutheran, holding membership in St. John's church. His has been a life of hard work intelligently directed and the prosperity which is now his is well deserved.
GLENN L. REISINGER
Glenn L. Reisinger is widely and prominently known as one of the extensive stock raisers of Emmet county and his home in pleasantly and conveniently located on sections 26 and 35, Center township, where he has four hundred acres of rich and valuable land, constituting one of the best farms of this district. In its management and control he displays excellent business ability and his plans are always carefully considered and promptly executed. He is a native of the neighboring state of Illinois, his birth having occurred at Baileyville on the 12th of July, 1866, his parents being Peter and Priscilla Reisinger, who were natives of Ohio and Canada respectively. The father was a blacksmith by trade. Glenn L. Reisinger was reared by his grandparents between the ages of six and nine years, or from 1872 until 1875, and afterward remained with relatives until he reached the age of thirteen. He then started out independently and has since earned his living through persistent, able and determined effort. He continued to work as a farm hand for others until he reached the age of twenty-two years, when, desirous of engaging in business for himself, he rented land in Grundy county about 1888.
Mr. Reisinger was united in marriage March 5, 1891, to Miss Margaret Smith, a daughter of Thomas H. and Eliza (Dulbert) Smith, then of Smith county, Kansas, but afterward residents of Grundy county, Iowa. The mother departed this life in March, 1908, and was laid to rest in the cemetery at Reinbeck, Iowa, while the father made his home with his daughter, Mrs. Don Spaulding, of Center township, Emmet county, until his death, which there occurred December 18, 1916. Mr. and Mrs. Reisinger have become the parents of five children. Wesley E., of Gruver,Iowa, married Leona Stagg, a daughter of Dr. W. A. Stagg, of Estherville, and they have a son, Glenn William. The other members of the family are Vera E., Rex Thomas, Ralph W. and Ruby B., all at home. The family residence is situated on section 26, Center township, and theirs is one of the fine farms of the county, being equipped with substantial buildings and the latest improved facilities for promoting farmwork. Mr. Reisinger makes stock raising an important feature of his business and is now extensively engaged in raising cattle, horses and hogs. His life has been one of untiring industry intelligently directed. He has made each move and investment count for the utmost and as they ears have passed his labors have brought the substantial results which his laudable ambition sought. At the same time he has been appreciative of the opportunities of citizenship and had aided in many plans for the public good. He votes with the republican party and for three years he filled the office of county supervisor. His religious faith is that of the Presbyterian church and his fellow townsmen recognize in him a man whom to know is to trust and honor.
William Wertz was well known in Emmet county and his death on the 12th of November, 1909, was widely regretted and was recognized as a loss to his community. His birth occurred in Knox county, Ohio, December 16, 1839, but when seven years of age he was taken by his parents to Scott county, Iowa, where he remained until 1879. He then removed to the vicinity of West Branch, in Cedar county, and seventeen years later, or in 1896, came to Emmet county, where he remained until his death. He was a man of ability and energy and his well directed efforts were rewarded by a gratifying success. He was laid to rest in the cemetery in Iowa City.
In 1870 Mr. Wertz married Miss Julia A. Waldron, who was born in Pennsylvania. Her parents, John L. and Elizabeth (Stewart) Waldron, were natives respectively of the Keystone state and of Ohio, but in 1856 removed to the vicinity of Iowa City, Iowa, where both passed away. To them were born six children and by her marriage Mrs.Wertz became the mother of five children, all of whom survive. She is a woman of fine business ability and now owns and manages the Dolliver Telephone Company. She is thoroughly conversant with the details of the business and keeps in close touch with what is being done in all phases of the work. She is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church and her support can be counted upon to further movements seeking the moral advancement of the community.
JOHN H. MORRICE
John H. Morrice, a stockholder and the manager of the Farmers' elevator at Wallingford, belongs to that class of men who have based their success upon industry and resolute purpose. He is a native of Scotland, his birth having occurred in Aberdeenshire on the 9th of August, 1874, his parents being James and Elizabeth Morrice. The father was a sailor. Spending his youthful days in his native country, John H. Morrice pursued his education in the common schools and in a business college of Scotland and when twenty-two years of age determined to seek his
fortune in the new world, at which time he crossed the Atlantic to the United States . He did not tarry on the eastern coast but at once made his way to Emmet county, Iowa, and for three years was employed as a farm hand near Estherville. He then returned to Scotland, where he remained for six months, and then again came to the new world, accepting a position at an elevator at Wallingford in the employ of Joseph Hardy, there remaining for ten years. He afterwards spent two years as manager of an elevator at Graettinger, Iowa, and in 1907 he returned to Wallingford, where he has since had the management of the Farmers' elevator, of which he is one of the stockholders. He has carried on this business continuously now for the past ten years, carefully and wisely directing the interests of the elevator, in which connection he has built up a big grain trade, furnishing a market to a large percentage of the producers in this section. He is thoroughly familiar with every phase of the grain business and long experience and sound judgment have contributed to his success. He is also secretary and manager of the Wallingford Telephone Company.
In 1902 Mr. Morrice was united in marriage to Miss Laura Everson. Her parents were residents of High Lake township, but are now deceased, their remains having been interred in Riverside cemetery. Mr. and Mrs. Morrice have two children, Leroy and Victor. Mr. Morrice belongs to the Modern Woodmen Camp, No. 4740, at Wallingford, also to the Loyal Order of Moose and to the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks at Estherville. His political allegiance is given to the republican party and at the present time he is serving as justice of the peace in Wallingford. He also belongs to the Presbyterian church and his has been an honorable, upright life characterized by many admirable qualities which have won for him the friendship and kindly regard for those with whom business or social relations have brought him in contact.
David Dundas, who is farming on section 10, Armstrong Grove township, Emmet county, has been a witness of the development of the county since an early period in its history and has done his part in bringing about its advancement along agricultural lines. He was born in Canada in 1849 and is a son of James and Anna (McFadden) Dundas, natives respectively of Scotland and Ireland, although the mother was also of Scotch descent. They emigrated to the Dominion in an early day and the father cultivated land there for many years. At length he went to DeKalb county, Illinois, whence in 1865 he removed with his family to Kossuth county, Iowa. After farming there for five years he came to Emmet county, Iowa, and bought land in Armstrong Grove township and also took up a homestead there. He operated his farm for a number of years and met with gratifying success. He died in Armstrong, February 9, 1891, and four days later his wife also passed away. David Dundas received his education in the public schools and remained at home until he was twenty-three years of age, when he took up a homestead in Armstrong Grove township which he operated for thirty-one years, at the end of which time lhe traded that property for eighty acres on section 10, Armstrong Grove township, adjoining the town of Armstrong, where he has since resided. He has made a number of improvements upon the place and his well directed labors are rewarded by good crops.
Mr. Dundas was married in November, 1874, to Miss Hattie Churchill, a daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth (Smith) Churchill, who were born in New York. They were pioneers of this county, where the father homesteaded land, and he was identified with agricultural interests here until his death in 1886. The mother is still living. Seven children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Dundas, namely: Alfred; Ella, the wife of John Fox; Cora, who married Peter Richardson; Archie; Libbie, the wife of Lee Hoppus; Walter, who died when nine months old; and Leonard, who died at the age of two years. Mr. Dundas is a republican in his political belief and in religious faith is a Methodist and the fact that those who have known him intimately since boyhood are his stanchest friends is evidence of the uprightness and rectitude of his life.
CLARENCE G. LIGHTER
Clarence G. Lighter, whose life work has been that of newspaper publication, is now editor and owner of the Terril Tribune. He was born on the 6th of March, 1879, upon a farm in Melrose township, Grundy county, Iowa, a son of Joseph H. and Emma F. Lighter, who were pioneer residents of Grundy county. The father engaged in the newspaper business for thirty years and for more than twenty-five years was connected with newspaper publication at Rolfe, Iowa, but failing health at length obliged him to retire and after an illness of five years he passed away in March, 1916. He was the first mayor of Conrad, Iowa, and throughout his active life filled many positions of public honor and trust. Clarence G. Lighter enjoyed the educational opportunities afforded in the graded schools of the towns in which he lived. He was a little ]ad of but nine years when he went with his parents to Conrad, Iowa, and two years later to Hubbard, Iowa. In 1890 he removed to Rolfe, this state, where he resided until February, 1914. From early boyhood he has been connected with the newspaper business, assisting his father and thereby gaining practical and comprehensive knowledge of the trade. He worked as devil in his father's printing office when but ten years of age while attending school. When a youth of sixteen he was able to hold positions in the mechanical department, and he served as foreman of several printing offices through a period of thirteen years.In 1903, in connection with his father, J. H. Lighter, he purchased the Rolfe Reveille, which they sold in February, 1914, and during the last three years of that period Clarence G. Lighter was active as its business manager. On the 18th of February, 1914, he purchased the Terril Tribune, which at that time had almost reached a point where it could exist no longer. He took charge, bent every energy to the upbuilding of the paper by making it an attractive and readable journal carefully managed in its business interests, and today it is one of the best of the country papers of the state.
On the 4th of February, 1898, at Havelock, Iowa, Mr. Lighter was united in marriage to Miss Emma C. Gill, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs.C. E. Gill of that place. She is a high school graduate and prior to her marriage was a successful school teacher. Mr. and Mrs. Lighter now have six children, namely: Norma, Theron, Charline, J. H., Kingsley and Jeane. Fraternally Mr. Lighter is connected with the Knights of Pythias, the Modern Woodmen of America and the Brotherhood of American Yeomen and has filled several offices in all of these. He is a man of social disposition, has a wide acquaintance and his substantial qualities have won him the friendship and regard of all with whom he has come in contact.
Eric Juhl, a resident farmer of Center township, his home being on section 4, was born in Lee county, Iowa, near Keokuk, on the 13th of January, 1876, a son of Gregers and Dorothy Juhl. He was about eleven years of age when the family removed to Emmet county and under the parental roof he spent the days of his boyhood, attending the district schools until he reached the age of eighteen. He was early trained to the work of the fields and he continued to assist his father until he reached the age of twenty-five. He then rented land in Ellsworth township, upon which he lived for four years, and for three years thereafter he engaged in the cultivation of a rented farm in Center township. During that period he carefully saved his earnings until his industry and economy enabled him to purchase land. He then bought a farm in Diekinson county upon which he lived for two years, after which he sold his property and invested in two hundred and ten acres in Center township, including the northeast quarter of section 4. Upon that place he now makes his home and he has converted the tract into one of the splendidly improved farms of the district.
In 1901 Mr. Juhl was united in marriage to Miss Carolina Hanson, her father being Christian Hanson, who is a native of Denmark and still resides in that country. To Mr. and Mrs. Juhl have been born three children, Dorothy, Clarence and Edwin. Mr. Juhl is connected with the Woodmen of the World and his moral standards are indicated in the fact that he is a consistent member of the Presbyterian church. His political endorsement is given to the republican party and for two years he filled the office of constable, but he prefers to concentrate his efforts upon his business affairs. He has won success by hard work and his life proves the force of diligence, indefatigable energy and sound judgment as factors in the attainment of prosperity.
HUGH B. LAWRENCE
Hugh B. Lawrence is proprietor of the leading clothing store of Estherville an establishment which would be a credit to a city of muchlarger size, for he carries a complete and well selected stock of clothing and his store is tastefully appointed, neatly arranged and systematically conducted. Mr. Lawrence has been proprietor of this establishment since 1907 and in the intervening years his business, as the result of his careful management and enterprise, has constantly expanded. Iowa numbers him among her native sons, his birth having occurred at Lawler in 1883, his parents being William and Pauline Lawrence, natives of Maryland and of Michigan respectfully. They became residents of Iowa in childhood days and after attaining his majority the father engaged in the harness and implement business at Lawler, where he became known as a representative citizen and business man. To him and his wife were born four children: Nellie, the wife of H. G. Graaf; Cora, the wife of L. S. Kucker; Mary, the wife of G. E. Ridley; and Hugh B. of this review. In the attainment of his education Hugh B. Lawrence completed a course in the high school at Lawler and later attended the Nora Springs Seminary. He has been identified with commercial interests in Estherville since 1899, at which time he accepted a clerkship in the Graaf clothing store, where he remained for seven years, gaining comprehensive knowledge of the business and wide experience during that period. He afterward conducted business along the same line on his own account in Parker, South Dakota, for a year, but in 1907 returned to Estherville and purchased the store of Mr. Graaf. Since then he has successfully conducted and managed the business, handling a large and well selected stock, making a specialty of the Hart Schaffner & Marx clothing, the Walkover shoes and the Stetson hats-all standard goods.
In August, 1904, Mr. Lawrence was united in marriage to Miss Marybelle Scoville, a daughter of George and Bertha Scoville, of Grundy Center, Iowa. The mother passed away and was laid to rest in the cemetery at Vinton, Iowa, while the, father is now a resident of Conrad, Iowa. Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence have one son, George, who was born in 1909. Mr. Lawrence is identified with all the different Masonic bodies and with the Eastern Star and he likewise has membership with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. In politics he is a republican with independent tendencies, for while he is a believer in the principles of the party, he does not consider himself bound by party ties and at local elections considers the capability of a candidate rather than his party affiliation. He and his wife are members of the Presbyterian church and they occupy a prominent social position in Estherville, where they have an extensive circle of warm friends.
THORWALD B. PETERSEN
Thorwald B. Petersen, of Ringsted, is devoting his best energies to the conduct of his hardware business and his well directed efforts have been rewarded by a trade of gratifying volume. He was born in Clinton,Iowa, on the 23d of October, 1881, and is a son of Morton and Anna Petersen, natives of Denmark. For some time after the emigration of the family to America the father was employed in a sash factory in Clinton, Iowa, but in 1883 removed to Emmet county and purchased the southwest quarter of section 1, Denmark township, which he farmed until he retired from active life in 1902 and took up his residence in Ringsted, where he passed away in 1913. He won a competence through his hard work and was held in high esteem by all who knew him. He was honored by election to a number of township offices and gave the same careful attention to the discharge of his official duties that he displayed in the management of his private interests. He was survived a year by his widow, who died in 1914, and both are buried in St. Paul's cemetery. To them were born six children, namely: Robert P., who engaged in farming in Denmark township until his death in 1911 andwhose widow resides in Ringsted; Christina, now Mrs. P. C. Petersen,of Denmark township; Chris M., who lives near Armstrong; Peter W., of Ringsted; Thorwald B.; and Marie, who is now Mrs. Sirl Nelson and lives near Ringsted. The mother also had a daughter by a former marriage, Augusta, the widow of Laua Juhl, Askov, Minnesota. Thorwald B. Petersen attended the public schools until he was nineteen years old and was subsequently for one term a student in the United Lutheran College at Elk Horn, Iowa. He then returned to the home farm and worked for his father for a time, after which he entered Highland Park College at Des Moines, Iowa, remaining there during the year 1901-2, while the succeeding school year was spent as a student in the Iowa Teachers' College at Cedar Falls. He followed the profession of teaching in district No. 7, Denmark township, for one year, but in 1904 turned to commercial interests, joining his brother, Peter W. Petersen, and his father in the establishment of a hardware store in Ringsted. After the father's demise the two brothers continued the business until 1916, when Mr. Petersen of this review bought out his brother's interest and has since been sole proprietor of the store. In addition to handling a full line of general hardware he specializes in the sale of gasoline engines and also carries lightning rods and his thorough familiarity with the conditions of the trade and his up-to-date business methods have made him one of the most successful merchants of the town.
On the 15th of December, 1909, occurred the marriage of Mr. Petersen and Miss Anna C. Sorensen, whose parents, J. A. and Marie Sorensen, were former residents of Denmark township but are now living retired in Ringsted. Mr. and Mrs. Petersen have two daughters, Elfredo and Phyllis. Mr. Petersen endorses the principles of the republican party but at local elections votes for the best candidate irrespective of his political affiliation. He was city clerk for several years and is never indifferent to matters affecting the general welfare. He holds membership in the Danish Brotherhood lodge, No. 134, at Ringsted and also belongs to St.John's church. The gratifying measure of success which is his is the direct result of his own industry and good management and has never been won at the price of questionable dealings.
E. M. IVERSON
E. M. Iverson, actively engaged in general farming on section 9, Lincoln township, Emmet county, is numbered among Iowa's native sons, for his birth occurred in Franklin county on the 22d of August, 1869. Like many of the most substantial citizens of the state, he is of Norwegian descent, his parents, Erick S. and Martha (Erickson) Iverson, being natives of Norway, whence they came to the new world in young manhood and young womanhood. They first settled in Green county, Wisconsin, and were there married. They established and maintained their home in that county until after the birth of three of their children and in 1868 they removed to Iowa, settling in Franklin county, where they continued to make their home until called to their final rest. At the time of the Civil war Mr. Iverson had responded to the country's call for aid and went to the front with a Wisconsin regiment of volunteer infantry, with which he participated in a number of important engagements that contributed to the victory that finally crowned the Union arms. He died August 23, 1903, in his seventy-second year, and his death was deeply regretted by all who knew him. He was a devout Christian man, a member of the Norwegian Lutheran church and was one of the most highly esteemed citizens of Franklin county. His widow survived him until 1907, when she, too, passed away. E. M. Iverson, following the acquirement of a common school education, came to Emmet county in the spring of 1893, when a young man of about twenty-four years. He had purchased one hundred and sixty-two and one-half acres of land in the previous fall and upon his arrival he began the cultivation of this tract.
He further completed his arrangements for having a home of his own by his marriage on the 11th of July, 1894, to Miss Olena Ula, of Blanchardville, Wisconsin, in which state she was born and reared. Her parents came to this country from Norway in childhood with their respective parents, who were among the earliest settlers of Green county, Wisconsin. Mr. and Mrs. Iverson have two children, Elva J. and Maurice T., both at home. Politically Mr. Iverson is a stalwart republican and for seven or eight years served as a member of the township board of trustees, while for two years he was a member of the school board. He and his wife are identified with the Norwegian Lutheran church and his influence is always on the side of progress and improvement, of truth and right. His life, ever a busy and useful one, has been devoted to agricultural pursuits and his present farm comprises a little more than two hundredand eight acres of land, constituting one of the well improved properties of Lincoln township.
JAMES C. SMITH
James C. Smith, the well known cashier of the Superior Bank at Superior, Iowa, is a native of this state, his birth occurring in Delaware county, January 11, 1867. His parents were Don B. and Rachel (Johnson) Smith, the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of Ohio. In 1857 they became residents of Iowa and when the country became involved in civil war the father enlisted as a private in an Iowa regiment, remaining in the service for over three years. In the family were six children, five of whom are still living. In this state James C. Smith grew to manhood and is indebted to its common schools for the education he acquired during his youth. In 1884 he came to Dickinson county and settled on a farm, being engaged in agricultural pursuits for some time. Later he devoted eleven years to the grain business and in 1907 entered the Superior Bank as cashier, in which capacity he has since served. Much of the success of that institution is due to his capable management and he is regarded as one ofthe leading business men of the community.
In 1900 Mr. Smith married Miss Anna Reilly. By a former marriage he has two sons, namely: Don B., who is now connected with a bank in Canada; and Harry, a farmer of Dickinson county, Iowa. Mr. Smith is a prominent member of North Star Lodge, No. 447, A.F.& A.M., of Estherville, Iowa, and Lodge No. 674, I.0.0.F., in which he has filled all the chairs. By his ballot he supports the men and measures of the republican party, and he is now serving as treasurer of the school board. He stands high both in business and social circles and is regarded as one of the foremost citizens of Superior.