ROBERT E. RIDLEY.
Robert E. Ridley, a well known resident of Estherville, was born in Litchfield, Maine, July 5, 1833, a fact which makes him a venerable citizen of Emmet county, for he has passed the eighty-third milestone on life's journey. His parents, Robert P. and Sophronia (Watson) Ridley,were also natives of Maine and in the year 1857 they removed to Emmet County, Iowa, establishing their home upon a farm here at a period when the work of improvement and development had scarcely been begun within the borders of the county. Both passed away in this county and the community thus lost two of its worthy pioneer settlers. Their original home was a log cabin, which they occupied for a number of years. In their family were ten children, four of whom yet survive. R. E. Ridley was reared and educated in Maine. In 1856 he started west, going first to Michigan, where he spent one winter, and in the spring of 1857 he came to Emmet county, Iowa, which was then a frontier district in which few settlements had been made. Much of the land was still in the possession of the government and Mr. Ridley took up a claim in Estherville township on what is now the site of the city of Estherville. There he built a blockhouse and he has since erected more than one hundred dwellings in the city, which he has sold. He thus contributed much to the development of the city and he also built the first mill there. At the time of the Civil war Mr. Ridley put aside all business and personal considerations to espouse the cause of the Union and became a member of Company C. Second Iowa Infantry, in which he enlisted in 1864. He was with Sherman on his march to the sea and participated in several hotly contested engagements. With the close of the war he was mustered out at Washington, D. C., and returned to his home with a most creditable military record. Through the intervening period he has remained continuously in Emmet county.
In 1855 Mr. Ridley was united in marriage to Miss Esther A. Allen, who was born in Maine in 1832 and is a daughter of John and Sarah (Bennett) Allen, who were also natives of the Pine Tree state, in which they spent their entire lives. They had six children but Mrs. Ridley is now the only survivor. By her marriage she became the mother of two daughters and a son: Annie J., who was the first white child born in
Emmet county and who is now the wife of Milo Dana, of Wisconsin; Lucy E., deceased; and George E., a resident of Cheyenne, Wyoming. Both Mr. and Mrs. Ridley are members of the Baptist church and he is serving as one of its deacons. In the work of the church he has taken most active and helpful interest, doing everything in his power to advance the cause of religion. In politics he is a republican and has been honored with the offices of both treasurer and recorder of Emmet county.He also served as justice of the peace and married the first couple in the county. It will thus be seen that he is closely associated with many events that have shaped the history of this section of the state. He and his wife are numbered among its honored pioneer people and have been witnesses of its growth and development through all the passing years since 1857, or for much more than a half century. Mr. Ridley has long been a moving spirit in promoting the upbuilding of the section in which he resides, and no history of Emmet county would be complete without the record of his life.
Byron M. Coon is engaged in the practice of law in Estherville, being a well known attorney of Emmet county. He was born in Washington, D. C., March 3, 1880, and is a son of Byron C. and Janet(McPherson) Coon, who were natives of New York and of Maryland respectively. The father is now a distinguished citizen of the nation's capital and at present is filling a position in the office of the second assistant postmaster general. He has been connected with the post office department there for forty-five years and no higher testimonial of fidelity and capability could be found than the statement of the fact of his long connection with the department and his steady advancement in the service. Byron M. Coon, reared in his native city, attended the George Washington Law University, from which he was graduated on the completion of the regular course. He was then admitted to practice before the supreme court of the District of Columbia and in the United States courts in 1903. He spent six months in a law office, gaining practical experience, and on the expiration of that period removed westward to Estherville, Iowa, where he became associated in practice with George E. Patterson, opening an office in the old Coon block. This was before the fire of 1904. He continued his connection with Mr. Patterson for a year and later was associated in law practice with Judge N. J. Lee for a year subsequent to 1910 but between the years 1904 and 1910 was alone in practice. In April, 1916, he was joined by S. G. Bammer in a law partnership that is still maintained. He is devoting his attention to general law practice and is a strong and able attorney, preparing his cases with great thoroughness and care. He is resourceful, being seldom surprised by the unexpected attack of an adversary, and at all times his deductions are sound, his reasonings logical and his arguments convincing. He first gleaned knowledge of Estherville through a visit with relatives, Mr. and Mrs. C. C. Doolittle, and becoming impressed with the city and its opportunities, he returned to enter the field of active practice here in 1903. In 1901 he had been connected with the agricultural branch of the twelfth federal census, editing the agricultural data, and this brought him much knowledge concerning the state, its conditions and its opportunities, leading to his later investigation, with the result that Iowa gained a substantial citizen and Mr.Coon found here a profitable field of labor.
In 1906 occurred the marriage of Mr. Coon and Miss Mary E.Lesher, a daughter of W. A. and Alvira Lesher, then of Estherville. The mother is now deceased, while the father at the present time resides in Le Mars, Iowa. Mr. and Mrs. Coon have become the parents of three children: Paul L., who was born April 12, 1907; Janet, April 4, 1909; and Mary Elizabeth, June 30, 1912. The parents are members of the Presbyterian church and in the social life of the city they occupy an enviable position. Fraternally Mr. Coon is connected with the Elks, the Odd Fellows, the Modern Woodmen of America and the Yeomen. For two years he was venerable consul of the Modern Woodmen camp at Estherville and was lecturing knight for the Elks for a year. His political endorsement is given to the republican party and he has several times been called upon to fill positions of honor and trust. For four years he served as justice of the peace and his decisions in that office were strictly fair and impartial. For a similar period he filled the office of secretary of the independent school district of Estherville. In 1905 he was called to the position of city attorney, which office he occupied for four terms, resigning in 1913 to become county attorney, in which position he is now serving for the second term, making an excellent record by his devotion to duty, coupled with his comprehensive knowledge of the law and his ability to correctly apply its principles.
REV. N. C. STRANDSKOV
For more than seven years Rev. N. C. Strandskov has been pastor of St. John's Danish Lutheran church in Denmark township, Emmet county, and during that time has done much for the material and spiritual growth of the church. He was born on the island of M6en, (sic) off the coast of Denmark, March 31, 1863, a son of L. C. and Maria (Kasperdatter) Strandskov. In 1872 the family removed to the United States and the father purchased land in Freeborn county, Minnesota, where he followed agricultural pursuits until his demise, which occurred in 1890. The mother survives and resides with a daughter, Mrs. J. P. Jacobsen, at Dagmar, Montana. There were thirteen children in the family but only six are living, namely: H. C., pastor of the Danish Lutheran church near Brayton, Iowa; M. P. R., who is farming near Dagmar, Montana; N. C.; L. M., a farmer residing near Milltown, Wisconsin; Maren, now Mrs. J. P. Jacobsen, of Dagmar, Montana; and Line, who is the wife of N. C. Olsen and resides near Flaxton, North Dakota. Rev. N. C. Strandskov obtained his education in the United States as he was but nine years of age when he was brought to this country. He attended the Danish Seminary in West Denmark, Wisconsin, and the high school in Shelby county, Iowa, and was graduated from a theological seminary at West Denmark, Wisconsin. In 1892 he was ordained to the ministry at Viborg, South Dakota, and his first pastoral assignment was to Diamond Lake, Minnesota. After remaining there for two years he was for seven years stationed at Lookingglass, Nebraska, was next for two years at Cordova, Nebraska, and was later at Denmark, South Dakota, and Latimer, Iowa. Since October 25, 1909, he has been the pastor of St. John's Danish Lutheran church in Denmark township, Emmet county. His sincerity and zeal for the cause to which he has devoted his life have gained him the high respect of all who have come in contact with him irrespective of their creed and he has a secure place in the affection of his parishioners.
Rev. Strandskov was married in 1892 to Miss Maria Sorensen, a daughter of Jens and Matte (Kirstine) Sorensen, natives of Denmark,who in 1881 emigrated to Viborg, South Dakota. However,, they spent their last days in Tyler, Minnesota, and are buried in the Danish cemetery there. Eleven children have been born to Rev. and Mrs. Strandkov, namely, Holger, Ingeborg, Thyra, Heiluf, Marie, Astrid, Thorvald, Helva, Frede, Alma and Karl, all at home.
HON. B. F. ROBINSON
Honored and respected by all, there is no man who occupies a more enviable position among the citizens of Emmet county than Hon. B. F.Robinson, prominent banker and ex-member of the state legislature, whose devotion to the public good has ever stood as one of the unquestioned facts in his career. He has long been identified with financial interests as cashier of the First National Bank of Armstrong. A native of Connecticut, Mr. Robinson was born at Hampton, but remained a resident of New England only until he reached the age of fifteen years, when he removed to the middle west, establishing his home at Lee Center, Illinois. There he remained until 1868, when he became a resident of Grundy county, Iowa, settling near Conrad. He purchased a quarter section of prairie land in the midst of a district which at that time was but slightly developed. He turned the first furrows upon his
farm and continued its further cultivation and improvement until January 1, 1881, when he put aside the active work of the fields in order to enter upon the duties of county recorder of Grundy county, to which office he had been elected the previous fall. By reelection he continued to occupy that position for six years, after which he returned to the farm and thereon remained until 1892, when he became a resident of Armstrong, and in connection with William Stuart embarked in the banking business. On the 1st of July, 1900, they reorganized their bank under the name of the First National Bank, capitalized at fifty thousand dollars, at which time Mr. Robinson was chosen president, with John Dows as vice president and L. P. Gjermo as cashier. On the 18th of April, 1902, Mr. Dows was elected president, with William Stuart as vice president and Mr. Robinson as cashier, and through the intervening period of fifteen years Mr. Robinson was continuously acted as cashier, largely directing the policy and shaping the interests of this institution, which is regarded as one of the safest and most reliable banking concerns of northwestern Iowa. In 1892 the company erected the present bank building and through the intervening years the business has steadily grown and developed. The First National has ever most carefully safeguarded the interests of its depositors and to its patrons has extended all possible credit to a point that would not jeopardize the interests of the bank. In addition to his other business interests Mr. Robinson has dealt quite extensively in land and has improved a number of farms, thus contributing to the substantial development of the county.
In 1869, in Marshalltown, Iowa, was celebrated the marriage of B. F.Robinson and Miss Elizabeth Barnes, a daughter of Stephen Barnes, a native of New York, who on removing to Iowa took up the occupation of farming near Conrad, in Grundy county. Mr. and Mrs. Robinson have become the parents of five children, namely: Grace G.; Wilbert L., who is deceased; Fred S.; Edith, the wife of F. W. Ruef; and Clara. Extensive and important as have been the business interests of Mr.Robinson, he has yet found time to serve the public in various important connections and his fellow townsmen, recognizing his ability and public spirit, have again and again called upon him for aid and support of matters of public moment. He has been mayor of Armstrong, in which connection he gave to the city a business like and progressive administration. He was elected to represent his district in the twenty-ninth general assembly and so capable was, he as a member of the house that he was returned for service in the thirtieth and thirty-first sessions. He was the author of the lake bed bill, was active in support of drainage bills and in fact was connected with much important constructive legislation that has furthered the interests of his constituents and the commonwealth at large. He is well qualified for political leadership and it is well known that whenever subverts the public interest in an effort to promote personal welfare. Both Mr. and Mrs. Robinson are active and earnest workers in the Presbyterian church and he served as a member of the building committee at the time of erection of the church in Armstrong. He is equally loyal to the teachings and purposes of the Masonic fraternity and in fact has at all times been an honorable and upright career, characterized by all thosef orces which in every land and clime awaken confidence and regard.
WILLIAM W. PATON
William W. Paton, an honored veteran of the Civil war, is now living retired at Milford, Iowa. A native of Scotland he was born in Glasgow, December 23, 1842, and is a son of William W. and Mary( Muire) Paton, who were born, reared and married in Glasgow. By trade the father was a carpenter and cabinetmaker and for some time operated a factory in that connection in Glasgow. In 1847 he came to America and located at Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where he worked at the carpenter's trade for a short time. He then purchased a farm in Green Lake county, that state, which he improved but which he mainly left to the operation of his sons while he worked at his trade. He died upon that farm in June, 1871, and his wife passed away in 1887. Being only five years of age on the emigration of the family to the United States, William W. Paton was practically reared in Wisconsin and is indebted to the public schools of that state for the education which he acquired during his boyhood. Feeling that his adopted country needed his services at the outbreak of the Civil war he enlisted at the age of nineteen years in Company A, Thirty-fourth Wisconsin Infantry, and remained at the front for one year. Returning home he engaged in farming there until 1868 when he came to Dickinson county, Iowa,and purchased a tract of land. He did not remain here, however, at that time, but went to Rochester, Minnesota, where he bought another farm and devoted the following two years to its cultivation in partnership with his brother. He then engaged in farming alone for three years and at the end of that time returned to Dickinson county, Iowa,and took up his abode upon a farm which had come into his possession in 1868. He made many improvements upon the tract and for eighteen years successfully engaged in its operation. At the end of that time he became a resident of Milford, and turned his attention to the grain business, in which he engaged until 1907 when he sold out and has since lived retired enjoying the fruits of former toil. In Milford he owns a fine modern residence at the corner of Adams street and Broadway, and surrounded by his family and a host of warm friends he is spending the end of life.
On the 1st of January, 1869, Mr. Paton married Miss Marian Skirving, a daughter of John and Margaret (Robb) Skirving, natives of Edinburgh, Scotland, in which city Mrs. Paton was born in February, 1850. Her father followed blacksmithing in the old country and remained there until 1852, when he came to America. The voyage across the Atlantic consumed three months and ten days. The family located in New York City and they made their home either in New York or New Jersey until Mr. Skirving passed away in 1857. They then went to Wisconsin where his widow subsequently married. Christopher Davison. Later they came to Dickinson county, Iowa, and Mr. Davison was living in Milford at the time of his death which occurred in 1891. His wife survived him until 1895. Mr. and Mrs. Paton are the parentsof five children, namely: Jennie, the wife of Frank Hunt, a farmer of Dickinson county; George A., a banker of Redwood Falls, Minnesota; Walter D., who is engaged in the hardware and furniture business at Dickey, North Dakota; Lulu E., the wife of T. I. Brown of Des Moines,Iowa; and Lena C., the wife of Frank Williams, a merchant of Milford,Iowa. Since casting his first presidential vote for Abraham Lincoln, Mr.Paton has been a stanch supporter of the republican, party, and for a number of years served as assessor of Okoboji township, Dickinson county. He is an honored member of Waller Post, G. A. R., and also belongs to the Yeomen lodge. In religious faith he is a Congregationalist. He has witnessed almost all of the entire development and improvement of this section of the state and helped to haul the lumber from Sibley, Iowa, to build the second courthouse in Dickinson county. In early life he was most enterprising, an energetic business man, and he well merits the prosperity that has come to him enabling him to lay aside all business cares and spend the last days of his life in ease and retirement.
ANDREW L. ANDERSON
Andrew L. Anderson, editor of the Ringsted Dispatch and postmaster of Ringsted, was born in Denmark on the 3d of January, 1882, his parents being Chris and Christina (Thompson) Anderson, also natives of Denmark. In 1884 the family came to America and settled at Jewell, Hamilton county, Iowa, where the father found work at his trade of shoemaking, which occupation he still follows. Since 1896, however, he has also been in the employ of the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad Company. He has now reached the age of sixty years and his wife is also living. Andrew L. Anderson was only two years of age when he accompanied his parents on their emigration to America and he is indebted to the public schools of Jewell, Iowa, for the educational advantages he enjoyed during his boyhood and youth. He was graduated from the high school at that place in 1898 and then entered the office of the Record, where he learned the printer's trade, remaining there for three years. The following four years were spent in Webster City, where he worked on all the papers published there, and he has also been in theemploy of various other newspapers throughout the state. He spent three years in Des Moines in job offices and at the end of that time returned to Jewell, where he was employed as foreman of the Record for five years. In December, 1912, Mr. Anderson purchased the Ringsted Dispatch at Ringsted, Emmet county, and has since conducted that paper with growing success, making it a bright, newsy sheet with a good advertising patronage. He does general job work and has built up a large calendar business, in the interest of which he goes upon the road. Since March, 1915, he has also served as postmaster of Ringsted.
On the 27th of September, 1906, Mr. Anderson was united in marriage to Miss Annetta Rierson, and they have on child, Ralph Wilbur, born June 4, 1911. Mr. Anderson is a member of the Danish Brotherhood of Ringsted and is a stanch supporter of the democratic party. In religious faith he is a Lutheran. He is a public-spirited and enterprising citizen, taking a commendable interest in public affairs, and both personally and through his paper supports all worthy projects calculated to benefit the community in which he lives.
BRINGEL KNUTSEN ROKNE
Bringel Knutsen Rokne, residing on a farm on section 10, High Lake township, has always devoted his energies to general agricultural pursuits and for forty-one years has lived at his present place of residence. He is still active although he has now passed the eighty-fourth milestone on life's journey and such a career of usefulness might well put to shame many a man of less resolute spirit, who, grown weary ofthe struggles of business life, would relegate to others the burdens that he should bear. Mr. Rokne was born in Voss, Norway, April 15, 1833, a son of Knut Erickson and Bertha Helgeson, who were farming people of that country. The son pursued a common school education to the age of fifteen years and afterward worked out as a farm hand by the year until he reached the age of twenty. He then determined to try his fortune in the new world and came to the United States. His sister Anna came to the United States in 1850 with her husband, Lars Larson, located in Woodstock and died the same year. Bringel K. Rokne made his way to Chicago and spent the succeeding seven years in various kinds of work and in various places. In 1854 his brother Gilbert came to the United States and located in Wisconsin, where he afterward passed away as the result of an illness contracted during the Civil war. Two sisters, Inga and Dorothy, came in 1856 and both passed away in Wisconsin. The same year Barney Rokne arrived in America and is now a resident of High Lake township. The remaining brother, Erick, never left Norway.
It was in 1860 that Bringel K. Rokne took up his abode in Columbia county, Wisconsin, and there married Inga Johnson, a daughter of Lars and Martha Anderson, who have since passed away in Wisconsin. For six years after his marriage Mr. Rokne worked on his father-in-law's farm and on the 7th of July, 1866, came to Emmet county and purchased a farm from the railway company, investing in one hundred acres, which he cultivated for ten years. He afterward traded that property to George Osher for his present home and there he has lived for more than four decades. His labors have wrought a marked transformation in the appearance of the place, for he has converted it into a very valuable and productive farm equipped with modern improvements. He is still enjoying good health and is yet active at the age of eighty-four years. In 1916 Mr. Rokne was called upon to mourn the loss of his wife, who passed away on the 1st of October after a year's illness and was laid to rest in High Lake cemetery. They were the parents of nine children: Knut, who died unmarried; Louis, who is married and follows farming in Kanabec county, Minnesota; Martha, now the wife of K. A. Traefald, also of Kanabec county; John, who died leaving a widow; Bertha, who became the wife of S. A. Traefald and died leaving two sons, Albert and Martin, who are living with Mr. Rokne; Anna, the deceased wife of T. Dahle, whose daughter, Luella, is living with her grandfather; Erick and Andrew, at home; and Emma, the wife of Louis Isaacson, a farmer of High Lake township. Mr. Rokne has supported the republican party since age conferred upon him the right of franchise, casting his first presidential ballot for John C. Fremont. He has always been a stalwart champion of the principles of the party and has done everything in his power to promote its growth and ensure its success. He has held various township offices and for three years he was county supervisor, while for four years he filled. the office of county recorder. In 1900 he became census enumerator for Twelve Mile Lake and High Lake townships. He is today one of the oldest pioneer settlers and one of the most venerable citizens of High Lake township, having reached the age of eighty-four years, although in appearance and interests he seems much younger.
PAUL R. JOHNSON
Paul R. Johnson, who is now filling the position of assistant cashier of the Terril Savings Bank, was born on the 20th of June, 1893, in Butler county, Iowa, his parents being F. H. and Anna (Roalfs) Johnson, both natives of Germany. In early life they emigrated to the new world and in 1901 became residents of Emmet county, Iowa, taking up their abode upon the farm where they now reside. Paul R. Johnson spent his boyhood and youth upon his father's farm and after attending the district schools for some time entered the Terril high school, from which he was graduated in 1910. After putting aside his textbooks he followed farming until the 1st of January, 1910,when he entered the Terril Savings Bank as assistant cashier and has since acceptably filled that responsible position.
It was in 1916 that Mr. Johnson was united in marriage to Miss Bess Trenary, who is a native of Wisconsin and a daughter of Charles Trenary. Her father is deceased but her mother is still living. Mr.Johnson affiliates with the republican party and is a member of the Masonic fraternity. He is one of the,progressive young business men of Terril and merits the confidence reposed in him.
P. S. MOTT
Since 1869 P. S. Mott has been a resident of Dickinson county and has borne an active part in its' development along agricultural and commercial lines. A native of Vermont, he was born Under the shadow of the Green mountains, September 4, 1839, and there passed his boyhood and youth in much the usual manner of farm boys. On coming west he first located at Oshkosh, Wisconsin, and from there walked into the* country a distance of sixty miles to get work on a farm, and for one year was employed at twelve dollars a month. Later he drove the stage coach from Stevens Point to Portage City for two years, making forty-seven miles per day.
While a resident of Wisconsin Mr. Mott was married in Hancock, that state, in 1862, to Miss Angeline Hart, who was born in Pennsylvania but was reared in Wisconsin, where she came when twelve years old. They have become the parents of three daughters, namely: Amakette, the wife of H. A. Miller, a merchant and farmer of Sibley, Iowa; Katy, the wife of M. C. McGrew, a prominent business man and druggist of Spirit Lake; and Eva, the wife of John A. Miller, also a busines's men of Spirit Lake. After his marriage Mr. Mott purchased a farm of eighty acres in Waushara county, Wisconsin, and to its further improvement and cultivation he devoted his energies for about eight years. Selling out at the end of that time he came to Iowa in 1869, driving across the country, a distance of four hundred miles, in a covered wagon. He brought some stock with him and homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land near Spirit Lake. In order to build his house he had to haul lumber a distance of one hundred miles. He broke, fenced and improved his farm and resided thereon for about six years. He then took a contract to carry the mail from Spirit Lake to Sidney, a distance of forty miles, and also drove the stage on the mail route for one year. He next opened a livery stable at Spirit Lake, which was the first at that place, and he continued business along that line for twenty-six years. He also dealt in stock, brought the first imported stallion to Dickinson county and was considered the best judge of imported horses in the county. He made a specialty of fine, high-grade horses and also dealt in purebred Jersey cows and Holstein and
Aberdeen Angus cattle. At one time he owned more than thirteen hundred acres of land.Mr. Mott has always affiliated with the republican party and in 1879 ran for sheriff of Dickinson county upon that ticket. He was elected and so acceptably did he fill the position that he was twice reelected, serving three terms in all. He has borne an important part in the developmentand upbuilding of Dickinson county and is the owner of a neat residence and a large livery stable in Spirit Lake. His wife and daughters are members of the Presbyterian church and the family is one of prominence in the city where they have made their home for many years.
Charles Ogilvie conducted a grocery business in Armstrong until November, 1916, when he retired. He was born in Forfarshire, Scotland, November 2, 1832, a son of William and Susan (Gilbert) Ogilvie.The father was a laborer and neither he nor his wife ever came to the United States. They were the parents of two daughters and three sons, of whom Charles was the only one to emigrate to America, coming here when sixteen years of age. He attended school in his nativeland until fourteen years old and during the intervening two years until his emigration to this country he was employed as a clerk in a drygoods store. After remaining for a year in New York City he went to the province of Ontario, Canada, where he worked on a farm for sometime. At length he removed to Iowa and for a period engaged in teaching school south of Algona during the winter months and during the summer seasons worked on the farm of James Mitchell, with whom he made his home. At that time conditions in this state were largely those of the frontier and the schoolhouse in which he taught was made of sod. It was known as the Carroll school and was one of the first established in that section. A year before Armstrong was platted Mr. Ogilvie removed to this locality and became one of the first merchants of the new town, carry-ing a well chosen general stock. He was thereafter continuously connected with the business interests of the town and conducted an up-to-date and well patronized grocery store until November, 1916. He is enjoying good health at the age of eighty-four years.
In 1899 Mr. Ogilvie was married to Mrs. Laura (Bunt) Dutton, a daughter of Reuben and Eunice (Springsteen) Bunt, natives of New York, who were among the first settlers of Estherville, Iowa. They drove from Winnishiek county with an ox team and knew by experienceall the hardships of frontier life. Both are buried in Seneca, this state. Mrs. Ogilvie was first married to Ed Dutton, of Armstrong, and by that union had six children: Ella, who is the widow of E. P. Wood and with her five children is residing in Armstrong; Eunice, who married James
Huff, of Armstrong; Lucinda, deceased; Edna, at home; Carrie, also deceased; and Alice, now Mrs. Harold Atwood, of Armstrong. Mr. Ogilvie is a democrat in politics and although never an officeseeker has always discharged to the fullest the duties of a good citizen. He belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows at Armstrong and is highly esteemed by all with whom he has come in contact as he has consistently ordered his life in accordance with high ethical standards.
CHARLES B. MATHEWS
For almost half a century Charles B. Mathews has been a residentof Emmet county, and he has taken a very active and prominent part in its development and improvement along agricultural lines. He was born in Erie county, Ohio, on the 12th of December, 1844, and is a son of John and Mary (Bowen) Mathews, both natives of England who came to America before their marriage and located in Ohio. There the father died in 1847 and subsequently the mother removed to Wisconsin, where she lived for several years. Her last days, however, were spent in Nebraska. In the family were two children both of whom are still living. Charles B. Mathews was quite small when he accompanied his mother on her removal to Wisconsin, and there he was educated, attending the common schools. When the country became involved in Civil war he offered his services to the government, enlisting in 1863 in Company H, Thirty-third Wisconsin Infantry as a private. He participated in several hard fought battles including the engagement at Nashville and the siege of Mobile but fortunately was never wounded, and at the close of the war was mustered out at Mobile in 1865. On leaving the service he returned to Wisconsin but remained there only a short time and then removed to Minnesota, where he took up a claim. In 1871,however, he came to Emmet county, Iowa, and located on a farm in Armstrong Grove township, where he has since made his home, his time and energies being devoted to agricultural pursuits.
In 1870 Mr. Mathews was married to Miss Laura Matteson, who was born near Freeport, Illinois, and is a daughter of Truman and Maria (Chapman) Matteson, natives of New York and Connecticut, respectively. Both of her parents are now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs.Mathews have been born eight children, namely: Claude A.; Eva, the wife of Thomas Akre of Algona, Iowa; Mary, the wife of Frank Dundar; George W., a resident of Wisconsin; Daniel W., of South Dakota; Martha E., a nurse who is a graduate of the City Hospital at Minneapolis; Nellie, who is a graduate of the Cedar Falls Normal School and is now teaching at Ashland, Oregon; and Hattie K., who is pursuing a three years' course at the City Hospital in Minneapolis. Mr. Mathews is a prominent Mason and has filled all the chairs in both the Blue Lodge and the Eastern Star Chapter. He is a Knight Templar and exemplifies in his life the teachings of the craft. He supports the democratic party at the polls and his fellow citizens, recognizing his worth and ability, have called upon him to serve in several official positions of honor and trust. For four years he held the position of county supervisor and for the long period of sixteen years was a member of the school board. He has also been assessor, trustee and clerk of his township. At the present time he is practically living retired,having sold his land, but still owns a fine residence, which he occupies, in Armstrong Grove township. He is one of the honored veterans of the Civil war and is a man highly respected by all who know him.
One of the most influential and highly esteemed citizens of Lake Park, Iowa, is Julius Denkmann, cashier of the Lake Park State Bank. A native of Iowa, he was born in Walcott, Scott county, October 10, 1883, and is a son of Frederick and Wilhelmina (Telsro) Denkmann, both natives of Germany. The father was a young man when he came to the United States and took up his residence in Scott county, Iowa, where he subsequently married Miss Telsro, who crossed the Atlantic when a young woman. During his active life he continued to follow farming in that county but is now living retired in Walcott. His wife died in 1915. During his boyhood and youth Julius Denkmann attended the graded and high schools of Walcott and also pursued a course in the Davenport Business College, from which he was graduated in the spring of 1901. For three years following his graduation he was employed at office work in Davenport and in 1904 went to Round Lake, Minnesota, to become assistant cashier in the Bank of Round Lake, in which capacity he served for three years. He resigned that position to accept the assistant cashiership of the Lake Park State Bank of Lake Park, Iowa, and four years later was made active vice president of the institution. On the 1st of January, 1916, he succeeded A. C. Robertson as cashier and is now serving in that capacity to the entire satisfaction of all concerned. The Lake Park State Bank is the oldest institution of the kind in the city, having been founded in 1892, and its affairs have always been conducted along safe conservative lines, which have won for it the patronage of many of the most substantial people of the community.
Mr. Denkmann was married on the 2d of September, 1908, to Miss Marie Flentje, of Round Lake, Minnesota, and to them have been born two sons, Reginald and Harlan Earl. In religious faith both Mr. and Mrs. Denkmann are Presbyterians, and fraternally he is a member ofEstherville Lodge, B. P. 0. E., and the Modern Woodmen of America.By his ballot he supports the men and measures of the republican party and his fellow citizens recognizing his worth and ability have called upon him to serve as a member of the town council for seven years, he having filled that office almost continuously since coming to Lake Park.
ALBERT ANDERSON, M. D.
The consensus of public opinion places Dr. Albert Anderson in the from rank among the ablest and most distinguished representatives of the profession in northwestern Iowa. Indeed his ability makes him the peer of the ablest physicians and surgeons of the state. He was born in Linn county, Iowa, near Cedar Rapids, December 5, 1861. His great-great-grandfather, John Anderson, emigrated from the north of Ireland and settled in the wilds of western Pennsylvania before the Revolutionary war. The great-grandfather and the grandfather of Dr. Anderson were both born in that state. The wife of the latter was a native of Maryland but of English descent and the maternal grandparents of Dr. Anderson were both natives of Virginia and were of Scotch-Irish lineage. His father, Thomas H. Anderson, who was born in Ohio, became a resident of Iowa in 1854 and in 1860 he wedded Mary E. Blair, who was also a native ofthe Buckeye state but came to Iowa in 1848 and is now living with a daughter in Oklahoma. At the time of the Civil war Thomas H. Anderson responded to the country's call for troops, enlisting in the Union army in 1862. He remained on active duty until January, 1865, when he died in the service. Dr. Anderson acquired a common school education, supplemented by two years' study in a private school, after which he began preparation for the practice of medicine and surgery as a student in the medical department of the State University of Iowa, from which he was graduated on the 12th of March, 1890, the degree of M. D. being then conferred upon him. In the meantime he had taken up the profession of teaching and had won a teacher's first class certificate. Since completing his coursein the State University he has taken post-graduate work, completing his studies in the Post-Graduate Medical School of Chicago in May, 1896. His preparation for a professional career followed two years of teaching in the country schools and four years of service as telegraph operator and railroad agent. Laudable ambition, however, prompted him to enter a larger field of labor and after winning his professional degree he at once entered upon the active practice of medicine. His advancement since that date has been continuous and his practice has been of constantly growing extent and importance. From 1896 until 1912 he owned an interest in one of the leading drug stores of the city and in 1896 he was appointed division surgeon of the Burlington, Cedar Rapids & Northern Railway and in 1902 local surgeon for the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railway. He has since occupied the latter position. In 1900 he built a
private hospital, which he conducted for nine years. His practice is now largely limited to surgery and to consultation and his increasing powers have gained him distinction along professional lines. He has been a close and discriminating student of everything bearing upon the science of medicine and surgery and he keeps abreast with the latest researches and discoveries. He is now chief surgeon for the Anderson Hospital at Estherville and is chief medical examiner for twenty-five old line life insurance companies and medical examiner for the Dakota division of the Chicago,Rock Island & Pacific Railway.
On the 30th of May, 1883, in Palo, Iowa, Dr. Anderson was married to Miss Effie A. Conley, a daughter of J. W. Conley, who was a prominent farmer of Linn county, Iowa, emigrating westward from New York. He married Marietta J. Hutchins, a native of the Empire state, and their daughter Effie was born in Linn county, Iowa. Dr. and Mrs. Anderson are the parents of a son, Lloyd L., who married Mary Ferguson, of Spirit Lake, Iowa, and they have a daughter, Alberta F. Dr. and Mrs. Anderson attend the Presbyterian church and he holds membership with the Masons, belonging to lodge, chapter and commandery. He is also connected with the Knights of Pythias, the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Modern Woodmen of America, the Woodmen of the World and the Ancient Order of United Workmen. In politics he is a republican and was formerly chairman of the county central committee, taking an active and helpful part in promoting party success. For three years he was a member of the board of education and served as its president. For four years he has served as a member of the city council and for thirteen years he has been commissioner of insanity in Emmet County. He belongs to the Sioux Valley Medical Association, the Iowa State Medical Association, the American Medical Association, the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railway Surgeons' Association and the American Association of Railway Surgeons.
Frank Irwin is one of the proprietors of a well appointed general merchandise establishment at Wallingford and is accounted one of the progressive and enterprising business men of his town. He was born in the state of New York, March 6, 1873, a son of Eugene and Margaret Irwin. The father was a farmer by occupation and about 1880 removed westward to Iowa, settling at Lyons, where he turned his attention to horticultural pursuits. Mr. Irwin passed away in 1902, his remains being interred in Sullivan county, New York, and his widow now resides with her elder daughter. To him and his wife were born three children: Myra, now the wife of J. A. Haring, of Wallingford; Flo, the wife of S. B. Hill, of New York; and Frank. The last named was a little lad of but seven summers when he
accompanied his parents to the middle west and through the period of his boyhood he attended the public schools and also worked with his father until he reached the age of about eighteen years. In 1900 he came to Emmet county and spent two years on a farm in High Lake township. He afterward purchased a general store in Wallingford and was associated with E. G. Sando in the conduct of the business for two years. In 1908 he removed to Marseilles, Illinois, where he spent two years, and in 1910 returned to the old store in Wallingford, entering into partnership with J. A. Haring in the sale of general merchandise, hardware and meats. They enjoyed a good trade and their close application and enterprise have developed their business. along substantial lines.
In 1897 Mr. Irwin was united in marriage to Miss May Adams, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Adams. The father died during her girlhood and the mother afterward became a resident of Morrison, Illinois, where she passed away in 1915. Mr. and Mrs. Irwin have two children: Basil, born in 1902; and Ray, in 1908. The parents have the warm regard and friendship of those with whom they come in contact. Mr. Irwin belongs to the Mystic Workers and in politics maintains an independent course, voting for the candidates whom he regards as best qualified for office rather than for party.
Gustav Gilbert, whose well improved farm on section 10, Twelve Mile Lake township, gives evidence of the careful supervision and progressive methods of the owner, is numbered among Iowa's native sons, his birth having occurred in Fayette county on the 20th of February, 1869. His parents, Ingebret and Emily Gilbert, were natives of Norway and in early life the father followed, the occupation of farming, while later he turned his attention to merchandising in Elgin, Iowa. In 1878 he became a resident of Emmet county and purchased a farm in Ellsworth township, comprising the south half of the southeast quarter of section 30. There he continued to devote his attention to general agricultural pursuits until the last ten years of his life, which were spent in honorable retirement from labor. He died at the home of his son Gustav in 1908, having for six years survived his wife, who passed away in 1902. The family was well known in this county and Mr.Gilbert served as township clerk and was also a school director for a number of years. To him and his wife were born ten children, of whom five are yet living. Gustav Gilbert of this review spent his youthful days like the other children of the household, dividing his time between the acquirement of a public school education and such tasks as were assigned him by parental authority. He continued to work for his father until after he had attained his majority and gained broad and valuable practical experience in that connection. He afterward rented land from his father for five years and eventually he purchased the south half of the north-east quarter of section 10, Twelve Mile Lake township, and is now the owner of an excellent farm of eighty acres. He carefully and persistently tills his fields, which return to him golden harvests as a reward for the labor which he bestows upon them. In addition to tilling the soil in the production of crops best adapted to climatic conditions here he is engaged in the raising of thoroughbred shorthorn cattle. His farm is splendidly improved with all modern equipments and his success is indeed the legitimate reward of his labor.
On the 27th day of September, 1894, Mr. Gilbert was married to Miss Barbara Sando and they have become the parents of seven children: Alma, who is in the city clerk's office in Estherville; Frithjof,who is attending the Jewell Lutheran College at Jewell, Iowa; and Viola, Luella, Odena, Rudolph and Margaret, all at home. The religious faith of the parents is that of the Norwegian Lutheran church and politically Mr. Gilbert maintains an independent course, supporting men and measures rather than party. He has been township assessor for the past four years, was township clerk for eightyears and for four years occupied that position in Ellsworth township.He is never neglectful of the duties of citizenship and always faithfully performs every public service entrusted to him. He has many genuinely fine qualities and he is a representative of that class of successful agriculturists who have done much for the upbuilding of the state.
MARTIN H. PETERSEN
Martin H. Petersen has passed his entire life in Denmark township and has continued the work of his father in the improvement and cultivation of the homestead on section 12. His birth occurred May 11, 1894,and his parents were Robert P. and Kirsten (Jensen) Petersen, natives of Denmark, the former of whom was taken to Michigan when he was but six years old. The paternal grandfather, Morton Petersen, was one ofthe earliest of the Danish settlers in Denmark township, Emmet county,and took up land under the homestead act. Robert P. Peterson subsequently joined his father in this county and worked in his employ until 1890, when he bought the farm now owned by Martin H. Petersen. There were eight children in the family of Mr. and Mrs. R. P. Petersen, as follows: Anna, the wife of J. E. Hansen, a banker of Crystal Lake, Han-cock county, Iowa; Marie, who married 0. E. Olsen, of Comfrey, Minne-sota; Martin H.; W. E., of Cedar Rapids, Iowa; and Ella, Dora, Eugene and Edna, all at home. Martin H. Petersen entered the high school at Ringsted after completing the course offered in the district schools and still later was a student in the Iowa State Teachers' College at Cedar Falls, Dana College at Blair, Nebraska, and the Waterloo (Iowa) Business College, from the last of which he was graduated in 1913. His father died September 11, 1910, and after leaving business college Mr. Petersen of this review, began cultivating the place for his mother and since 1915 has owned the farm. He gives a great deal of careful thought to the management of his work, keeps in touch with the most advanced methods of agriculture and is meeting with highly gratifying and well-deserved success.
Mr. Petersen was married on the 22d of December, 1914, to Georgina Henricksen, a daughter of John and Hannah (Madsen) Henricksen, early settlers of Denmark township, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. Mr. Petersen is an adherent of the republican party but has never sought office. He holds membership in the Danish Lutheran church, which indicates the standards which have determined his life, and is oneof the most highly esteemed residents, of his township.
The business and financial interests of Spirit Lake have a worthy representative in Marcus Snyder, who is proprietor of a shoe store at that place and is also serving as vice president of the Spirit Lake National Bank. He was born in Dupage county, Illinois, November 6, 1849, and is a son of John 1. (sic) and Hannah (Vandusen) Snyder. The father was a native of Dutchess county, New York, where he grew to manhood and followed farming until 1847, in which year he came west, making the journey by the Great Lakes and overland to Dupage county, Illinois. There he continued to engage in agricultural pursuits until 1852, when he removed to Winneshiek county, Iowa, and in 1865 he came to Dickinson county, taking up a homestead in Lakeville township, where he followed farming for many years. Selling his farm, he then retired from active labor and spent his last days in Milford, where he passed away at the age of seventy-six years. His wife, who was also a native of Dutchess county, New York, died on the home farm in Lakeville township in March, 1873. Marcus Snyder was about three years of age when the family came to Iowa and in the district schools of Winneshiek and Carroll counties he acquired his education. In 1865 he commenced farming for his father and was thus employed for two years and a half. He was next engaged in railroad work in Kansas and Missouri, and although he had only one dollar in his pockets on leaving Dickinson county, he returned at the end of four years and ten months with eleven hundred and fifteen dollars in cash and a gold watch valued at one hundred dollars. He won part of this money as a champion stake puller, never having been defeated at this sport, and part as a runner against horses, he running forty rods
against eighty rods for the horse and in this also he never was defeated. With this capital he began loaning money at a time when interest was high and from 1872 until 1877 met with excellent success in that venture. In the latter year he established a private bank in partnership with William M. Smith under the firm name of Snyder-Smith & Company, theirs being the first bank opened for business in Dickinson county. It was on the 3d of January, 1877, that they commenced business in Spirit Lake in a building that stood at what is now the entrance of the Opera House on Main street. In 1879 Mr. Smith retired from the bank and Mr. Snyder was alone for a time. In March, 1882, he sold out to Duff Pearsall & Company, who had previously become interested in the business. A complete account of the early banking operations of Mr. Snydercan be found in Chapter Twenty-four of the historical volume of this work. For a few years after his retirement from the bank he continuedto loan money and later became a dealer in wagons and buggies. In the fall of 1899 he bought out an old established shoe business in Spirit Lake,which he has since conducted. From January, 1906, to January, 1910, he served as president of the Spirit Lake National Bank, and has since filled the position of vice president. He is the owner of some valuable farmland and for one year was actively engaged in agricultural pursuits in Dickinson county, but soon realized that he was unfitted for that occupation.
On the 18th of October, 1874, in Freeport, Iowa, Mr. Snyder was united in marriage to Miss Ocie Rorebeck, who was born, reared and education in Illinois, being a young lady when she accompanied her parents, John and Eliza (Bennett) Rorebeck, on their removal to Winneshiek county, Iowa, of which they were early settlers. The father, who was a farmer by occupation, was born in New York and the mother in Illinois. Both are now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Snyder have one child, Amy Vern, a native of Dickinson county. She taught music for a time and is now the wife of A. S. Tyler, who, is engaged in the shoe business with Mr. Snyder. The democratic party finds in Mr. Snyder a stanch supporter of its principles and he has served on the city council in Spirit Lake but the honors and emoluments of public office have no attraction for him as his time is wholly occupied by his extensive business interests. He is a man of recognized ability and sound judgment and the success that has cometo him is due entirely to his own well directed efforts.
FREDERICK WILLIAM JONES
There is probably no resident of Dickinson county more widely or more favorably known than Hon. Frederick William Jones, who represented his district in the state legislature during the thirty-fifth and thirty-sixth sessions and who is a leader in the agricultural circles of the county. His farm, which is known as Stony Point Farm, is beautifully situated on Spirit Lake and in its development and improvement is a fine example of what progressive methods can accomplish. Mr.Jones was born in Mitchell county, Iowa, January 10, 1868, a son of Walter B. and Jane (Corey) Jones, natives respectively of England And of Geneva, New York. In the '50s the father emigrated to the United States and located in Mitchell county, Iowa, where he farmed until the Civil war. He then enlisted in Company K, Twenty-seventh Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and was at the front throughout the entire period of hostilities, or for more than four years, enlisting for one year after the expiration of the three year term of his first enlistment. He took part in a great deal of hard fighting and made an enviable record for bravery in action. After peace was declared he returned to Mitchell county,Iowa, and there learned the mason's trade, which he followed until 1882. In that year he located upon a farm south of Milford, in Dickinson county, where he carried on agricultural pursuits until he retired from active life. He spent his last days in the town of Milford, where his widow is still living. Frederick W. Jones received his education in Mitchell county, Iowa,where he remained until 1882, when he accompanied the family on their removal to Milford township, Dickinson county. He operated his father's farm in that township until he was married, when he purchased a tract of land near Milford, to the operation of which he devoted his time and energies until 1899. In that year he was elected sheriff of Dickinson county and in 1900 took office. He proved so capable in the discharge of his duties that he was re-elected five times, serving in all for thirteen years and making a record for the length of incumbency in the office that has never been equaled. In 1914 he took up his residence upon Stony Point Farm, which is located on the shores of Spirit Lake,on sections 14 and 22, Spirit Lake township. It comprises two hundredand twenty-six acres and the improvements are all modern and greatlyf acilitate the work of the farm. He raises both grain and live stock, giving especial attention to the breeding of Duroc-Jersey hogs, and finds general farming more profitable than concentrating his energies entirely upon one phase of agriculture. He is vice president of the First National Bank of Spirit Lake and his judgment is highly respected in financial circles.
Mr. Jones was married at Wellsburg, New York, on the 12th of December, 1893, to Miss Cora Miller, a native of Bentley Creek, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, and a daughter of Lewis P. and Jane (Wright) Miller, also natives of that place. The father followed agricultural pursuits for many years but is now living retired. The mother also survives. To Mr. and Mrs. Jones have been born two children: Lewis W., who is a student in the Iowa State College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts at Ames, Iowa; and Beulah E., who is attending the local schools. Both children are natives of Dickinson county.
Mr. Jones is a leader in republican circles in this part of the state and has the enviable distinction of having been elected to every office for which he has been a candidate. As previously stated, he was sheriff of Dickinson county for thirteen years and for six years he was tax assessor of Milford township. He has also given of his time and thought to the management of the educational interests of his district, having served as school trustee for a considerable period. In 1912 he was honored by election to the house of representatives of the Iowa legislature and in 1914 was re-elected to that office. During the thirty-fifth session of the legislature he was a member of the committees on banks and banking, fish and game, roads and highways, commerce and traffic, labor and appropriations and because of his experience as an officer of the law was made chairman of the committee on police regulation. During the succeeding session he was chairman of the drainage committee and a member of the committees on roads and highways, railroad transportation, agriculture, fish and game, woman's suffrage and ways and means. Although he did efficient and faithful work on all the committees to which he was assigned he was especially active in the effort to secure the framing and passage of bills advancing the cause of good roads and succeeded in accomplishing much in that direction. He also did a great deal to secure better drainage laws. For years he has been a careful student of public affairs and is broad-minded and public-spirited in his attitude toward all questions affecting the general welfare. He holds membership in the Presbyterian church and has a number of fraternal connections, belonging to the Modern Woodmen of America, the Masonic blue lodge and chapter of Spirit Lake and the commandery and Mystic Shrine at Estherville, while both he and his wife belong to the Order of the Eastern Star.
Andrew Smith, well known in financial circles in Emmet county as the cashier of the Estherville State Bank, entered upon his present relation in 1914 and in so doing the town gained a substantial, enterprising and progressive citizen. He was born in the north of Holland on the 6th of December, 1872, a son of Walter and Janet Smith. The father departed this life in Holland, where his remains were interred, and the mother is still living in that country. In their family were five children, Andrew, Nick, Kate, John and Walter. Three of the number are now in the United States, John being a resident of Spencer,Iowa, while Walter makes his home in Lennox, South Dakota. Andrew Smith was a youth of seventeen years when he bade adieu to friends and native country and sailed for the United States. He had acquired a common school education in Holland and after making his way to the new world he settled at Rock Valley, Iowa, and soon afterward secured employment as a farm hand in that vicinity. He worked
at farm labor for two years and afterward spent four years as a journeyman blacksmith in South Dakota. At the call of President McKinley in May, 1898, on the outbreak of the war with Spain, he enlisted in a South Dakota regiment, becoming first sergeant of Company D, with which he served for more than a year in the Philippines, being on active duty for one hundred and thirty-two days. Two months were spent on the ocean. When the treaty of peace between the two countries was signed he received an honorable discharge, but returned to San Francisco to reenlist for service in putting down the insurrection of the Filipinos. He was honorably discharged in September, 1899. When the country no longer needed his military aid Mr. Smith returned to Sioux Falls, South Dakota, and afterward went to Emery, that state, where he filled the position of cashier in the Farmers Bank until October, 1914. In that year he came to Estherville and has since been closely associated with the Estherville State Bank, of which G.Zeeman is the president and A. D. Root vice president. Mr. Smith has continuously served as cashier with Sever T. Egerton and A. D. Schnapp as assistant cashiers. A general banking business is successfully conducted and the patronage of the institution is steadily growing. The bank is capitalized for fifty thousand dollars and has a surplus of ten thousand dollars. Its policy has to a considerable degree been formulated and promoted by Mr. Smith, whose previous banking experience well qualifies him for the responsibilities that devolve upon him in this connection.
On April 16, 1904, occurred the marriage of Mr. Smith and Miss Katherine E. Zeeman, a daughter of G. Zeeman, who is the presidentof the Estherville State Bank, and they now have one child, Russell C.,Who was born June 14, 1905. Mr. Smith and his wife attend the Episcopal church and their sterling worth ensures to them the hospitality of the best homes of Estherville. His political allegiance is given to the republican party and in his fraternal relations he is a Mason, loyal to the beneficent spirit of the craft and exemplifying at all times in his life its teachings concerning the brotherhood of mankind and the obligations thereby imposed.
Kasper Faltinson, a well-known member of the bar at Armstrong, has served as postmaster since June, 1913, and has made a record which is highly creditable to his efficiency and fidelity to trust. A native of this state, he was born in Iowa county, September 10, 1864, and is a son of Faltin and Anna Maria Faltinson, both of whom were born near Stavanger, Norway. In 1855 they came to the United States and five years later took up their residence on a farm in Iowa county, where the father died in 1889. The mother still lives on the homestead. They were the parents
of twelve children, of whom seven survive. After becoming a naturalized citizen the father supported the democratic party, casting his first vote for Stephen A. Douglas and taking an active part in local politics. Possessing the high regard for the individual and the strongly developed sense of personal independence characteristic of the Norwegian race, he hated a monarchial form of government and was heartily in sympathy with the ideals of the American democracy. Kaspar Faltinson was given unusually good educational advantages, as after attending the public schools he was a student in the Iowa City Academy and the State University of Iowa, graduating from the law department of the latter institution in 1891. In 1893 he located in Armstrong for the practice of his profession and has since been a member of the local bar. He has demonstrated his ability to meet successfully the problems that arise in the preparation and trial of cases and has builtup a representative clientage. From 1894 until 1908 he was also editor of the Armstrong Journal and since June, 1913, he has been postmaster. He has so discharged his duties as to win the commendation of the citizens of the town and in fact in all that he has done has proved highly capable.
On the 4th of June, 1899, Mr. Faltinson was married to Miss Lora Marie Haughton, who was born August 20, 1879, and is a daughter of Mr.and Mrs. L. R. Haughton. She is a granddaughter of Captain Hiram Haughton and a niece of Colonel Haughton, early settlers of Toledo, Ohio,and for many years prominent in business circles of that city and in state politics. When twelve years of age she accompanied her parents to Iowa and has since been a resident of this state. Mr. Faltinson was reared in the Lutheran faith and has always taken a keen interest in those movements which make for righteousness. He has been a member of the Masonic order since 1894 and in 1895 and 1900 served as worthy master of Emmet Lodge No. 533, A.F.&A.M. He is one of the most prominent democrats of his section of the state, has been a delegate to every state convention of the party since 1894, was its candidate for congress in the tenth district in 1900 and four years later was a candidate for county attorney, while for six years he served as mayor of Armstrong and was also for six years a member of the city council.
THOMAS R. PEGDEN
Thomas R. Pegden, who has lived within the borders of Dickinson county for a period of forty-seven years, was long an active factor in agricultural and business circles of the community but is now spending the evening of life in honorable retirement at Milford. His birth occurred in England on the 24th of August, 1831, his parents being William and Susan (Atkins) Pegden, also natives of that country. In 1835 the father brought his family to the United States, locating in New York, where he became a farmer and spent the remainder of his life. His demise occurred in the year 1849, while his wife, long surviving him, passeda way in 1874. Thomas R. Pegden was but four years of age when brought by his parents to the new world, and after obtaining his education he secured work by the month as a farm hand, being thus employed until 1862. In that year he became a private of Company D, One Hundred and Tenth New York Infantry, with which command he served for three years and twenty-two days, being mustered out with the rank of sergeant. He had proved a brave and loyal soldier and returned home with a most creditable military record. In 1866 he made his way to Ossian, Winneshiek county, Iowa, and rented a tract of land which he cultivated until 1870, which year witnessed his arrival in Dickinson county. Here he made a partial payment on a tract of land which he later traded for a homestead in Center Grove township, improving the same and continuing its operation for ten years. On the expiration of that period he sold the property and took up his abode at Okoboji, where he successfully conducted a dray line and made his home for fourteen years. In 1896 he removed to Milford, where he has resided continuously to the present time, enjoying a rest which he has truly earned and richly deserves.
In January, 1859, Mr. Pegden was united in marriage to Miss Katherine West, who passed away in January, 1910, at the age of seventy-six years. In politics Mr. Pegden is a republican, having ever stanchly supported the party which was the defense of the Union during the dark days of the Civil war. He still maintains pleasant relations with his old army comrades as a member of Waller Post, G.A.R. His religious faith is indicated by his membership in the Methodist church, the teachings of which he exemplifies in his daily life. The period of his residence in Dickinson county covers nearly a half century and he has therefore witnessed its development from pioneer times to the present. He has now passed the eighty-fifth milestone on life's journey and is one of the venerable and highly esteemed citizens of his community.
RALPH M. BUTLER
Ralph M. Butler, who is acceptably serving as cashier of the Farmers Savings Bank of Ringsted, is a native of Iowa, his birth occurring in Benton county on the 15th of February, 1890. His parents are Allen R. and Josephine (Grettenberg) Butler, the former a native of Ohio and the latter of Black Hawk county, Iowa. It was during his childhood that the father came to this state and located in Benton county, where he made his home until 1894, when he removed to'Emmet county, Iowa. After farming here for some time he embarked in the hardware business at Dolliver and in April, 1915, after serving as sheriff of Emmet county for eight years, removed to Ceylon, Minnesota, where he has since engaged in the banking business, being president of the First National Bank at that place and one of its leading business men. His wife is also living. Being only four years of age on the removal of the family to Emmet county, Ralph M. Butler was here reared and educated. At the age of eighteen he entered a bank at Dolliver as bookkeeper and held that position for three and one-half years. Subsequently he was cashier in a bank at Cylinder for the same length of time, and then came to Ringsted, Emmet county, to accept the position of cashier of the Farmers Savings Bank. This institution was organized in 1915 by Mr. Butler and his father and the capital stock is fifteen thousand dollars, while the deposits now amount to seventy thousand dollars. The present officers are Andrew Larson, president; J. M. Resh, vice president; R. M. Butler, cashier; andS . C. Horen, assistant cashier. Beside his interest in this bank Mr. Butler is a stockholder of the First National Bank of Ceylon, Minnesota. He is a man of good business and executive ability, thoroughly understands the financial interests of the country and in his chosen field of labor is meeting with excellent success. In politics Mr. Butler is a republican and is now serving as town clerk of Ringsted and as secretary of the school board. Religiously he is a member of the Presbyterian church and fraternally is connected with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Loyal Order of Moose, the Modern Woodmen of America, and the Yeomen. He is one of the representative young business men of Emmet county who has already met with success in life and a bright future seems in store for him.
JOHN T. VIGDAL
Since 1906 John T. Vigdal, a farmer and stock raiser of Iowa Lake township, Emmet county, has lived on his fine farm on section 23. He was born in Chickasaw county, Iowa, in September, 1874, of the marriage of John and Anna (Wickman) Vigdal. The father was born in Norway but in early life came to America and located in Algona, Iowa. He was an engineer in the employ of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway for several years and helped to construct the road as far west as Algona. He afterward engaged in farming in Chickasaw county and there passed away in 1888. His wife, who was born in Clayton county, Iowa, is still living. John T. Vigdal passed the days of his boyhood and youth in Chickasaw and Kossuth counties, Iowa, and remained with his mother until he became of age. He then bought from her a farm in Kossuth county which he operated for four years, after which he sold it back to his mother. He then went to Armstrong, Emmet county, and for two years farmed rented land. It was in 1906 that he bought his present property, which comprises eighty acres on section 23, Iowa Lake township. The improvements upon the place compare favorably with those found on neighboring farms. Every facility is provided for the care of live stock and he feeds about a carload of cattle a year. His well-directed activities are rewarded by a gratifying profit and he ranks among the best farmers of his locality.
In February, 1895, occurred the marriage of Mr. Vigdal and Miss Martha Lubka and they became the parents of seven children, Laura, Emma, John, Hazel, Myrtle, Roscoe and Martha. The wife and mother died in April, 1907, and in July, 1908, Mr. Vigdal wedded Miss Ida Lubka,a sister of his first wife. To the second union have been born three children, Theodore, Ida and Willie. Mr. Vigdal gives his political support to the republican party and is now serving his second term as township trustee and has also held the office of constable. Furthermore his interest in educational matters has been recognized by his election as a school director. Fraternally, he is connected with the Modern Woodmen of America and in religious faith he is a Lutheran.
GEORGE ALLEN NICHOLS
George Allen Nichols, editor and business manager of the Vindicator and Republican at Estherville, was born November 27, 1859, in Oneida county, New York, his parents being Charles B. and Henrietta E. (Taft) Nichols, who were natives of the Empire state and who is 1865 removed westward to Wisconsin, settling in Richland county among its early settlers. It was there that George A. Nichols obtained his education by attending the district and high schools and in 1881 he was graduated from the Sextonville high school, after which he entered upon the study of law in the Wisconsin State University and also read under the direction of his uncle, N. F. Nichols, a well known attorney of Aurora, Illinois. Having been admitted to the bar, he practiced his profession in the territory of Dakota in 1885 and 1886 and then turned his attention to the newspaper business, which he followed in Dakota territory and in South Dakota after the admission of the state into the Union. There he remained until 1893, when he removed with his family to Estherville, Iowa, and purchased a half interest in the Emmet County Republican, of which he afterward became the sole proprietor. The Republican was later merged with the Northern Vindicator and the paper is now published under the name of the Vindicator and Republican with Mr. Nichols as editorial and business manager. He has devoted his entire time to newspaper work since taking his initial step in that field save for the three winters of 1896, 1897 and 1898, which he spent in Des Moines as journal clerk of the senate in the state legislature. He has never been a politician in the sense of office seeking but served for two terms as a member ofthe city council of Estherville. His influence, however, has always been on the side of progress and improvement, of right and reform, and he has
done much to further advancement along those lines. His only financial interests, save for some minor investments, are in Estherville property and in land in Michigan and in Florida.
On the 16th of February, 1885, in Richland county, Wisconsin, Mr.Nichols was united in marriage to Miss Adelaide M. Carson, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Alonzo Carson, who were pioneer settlers of southwestern Wisconsin. The mother was the first white child born in what is now Muscoda, Wisconsin, and represented one of the oldest families of that portion of the state. The father remained an influential farmer and mill owner of southwestern Wisconsin until called to his final rest. Mrs. Nichols is liberally educated and is a graduate of the Minneapolis Conservatory of Music. By her marriage she has become the mother of a son and two daughters: Herbert T.; Emma E., now the wife of W. E. Deming, of Estherville; and Henrietta A., at home. Mr. and Mrs. Nichols hold membership in the Episcopal church and fraternally he is a prominent Mason, belonging to North Star Lodge, No.447, A.F.& A.M.; Jeptha Chapter, No. 128, R.A.M.; Esdraelon Commandery, No. 52, K. T.; and North Star Chapter, 0.E.S. He likewise belongs to the Elks lodge, No. 528, of Estherville, and from 1894 until 1896 inclusive he was secretary of North Star Lodge and in 1892 was commander of Esdraelon Commandery. His political allegiance is given to the republican party. He is a man of wide interests and marked public spirit and his influence has been a potent factor on the side of progress, development and improvement in Emmet county for many years.
For several years L. T. Petersen was actively identified with the agricultural interests of Emmet county but is now located at Graettinger,where he is engaged in business as a stock dealer. He was born in Germany in 1876 and there spent the first sixteen years of his life, most of that time being devoted to his education. It was in 1892 that he crossed the Atlantic to the new world and on reaching this country proceeded at once to Iowa, where for four years he worked as a farm hand. At the end of that time he was able to commence farming on his own account and for some years operated rented land. In 1906 he purchased three hundred and twenty acres in Emmet county, whereon he resided for ten years, devoting his attention to its cultivation and improvement during that time. He then rented his farm and removed to Graettinger and has since engaged in buying and shipping stock of all kinds. In this venture he has steadily prospered and has been able to add to his property, now owning one hundred and sixty acres of land near Graettinger and an eighty-acre tract in Florida which cost him fifty dollars per acre. He is avery enterprising, energetic and industrious business man and to these characteristics may be attributed his success, for on coming to the newworld he was without capital and has since been dependent entirely uponhis own resources.
JAMES B. KNIPE, M. D
Dr. James B. Knipe, who is successfully engaged in the practice of medicine in Armstrong, was born in Butler county, Iowa, February 15,1881, his parents being Jacob M. and Anna (Bolton) Knipe, the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of Virginia. During their childhood they were brought to Iowa, however, and on reaching mature years were married in this state. They now reside in Butler county. To them were born four children but the Doctor is the only one now living. Reared to manhood in Butler county, Iowa, Dr. Knipe obtained his early education in the common schools and later attended Cornell College for one year. For two years he was a student at Drake University in Des Moines and then entered the medical department of the State University of Illinois, from which he was graduated with the degree of M. D. in 1904. In August of that year he located in Armstrong and as time passed he gradually built up a good practice which he is now enjoying. He keeps well informed on the latest discoveries made in the science of medicine and surgery and today ranks among the leading physicians of Emmet county.
On the 1st of June, 1908, Dr. Knipe married Miss Grace Stuart, a native of Grundy county, Iowa, and a daughter of William and Jennie Stuart. The Doctor and his wife have two children, Alice Edith and William Jacob. They own a nice residence in Armstrong and are earnest and consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal church at that place. In politics the Doctor is a republican and is now serving as a member of the town council. For three years he was also a member of the school board and he never withholds his support from any enterprise that he believes will benefit the moral, educational or material welfare of his community. He is a member of the Masonic Lodge, No. 533, A.F.&A.M., in which he has filled all of the chairs, and also belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America.
August Kreis resides on a farm of section 12, in Twelve Mile Lake township, owning the southeast quarter of that section, which is a valuable and productive tract of land. The family home was maintained in Twelve Mile Lake township at the time of his birth, which occurred on the 15th of May, 1870. His parents were natives of Germany and were among the earliest settlers of Emmet county. There the father homesteaded, for at that period much of the land had not yet been taken up but remained in the possession of the government just as it came from the hand of nature. Not a furrow had been turned nor an improvement made upon the tract which Mr. Kreis secured and with the characteristic energy he began to improve and develop the property. Thereon he reared his family of five children, of whom two are living, the daughter being Carrie, now the wife of Sam Molster, of Story City, Iowa. The parents have both passed away. August Kreis attended the district schools in the winter months until seventeen years of age and through the summer seasons assisted more and more largely in the work of the farm as his years and strength increased. He continued his work upon the old homestead until he had attained his majority, after which he was employed at farm labor in various places. He now owns the southeast quarter of section 12, Twelve Mile Lake township, and in addition has two hundred and seventy-six acres of land in Aurora county, South Dakota. Mr. Kreis maintains an independent course, politically, casting his ballot for the candidates whom he regards as best fitted for office without regard to their party affiliation. He has a wide acquaintance in the county in which his entire life has been spent and it is a well-known fact that his success is due to hard labor, so that he deserves much credit for what he has accomplished, overcoming many obstacles and difficulties in the attainment of his present prosperity.
J. D. GEISSINGER, M. D.
Dr. J. D. Geissinger, one of the well-known physicians and surgeons of Spirit Lake, is a native son of Iowa, his birth occurring in Poweshiek county, February 2, 1880. His father, J. W. Geissinger, was born in Huntingdon county, Pennsylvania, where he grew to manhood, and having acquired a good practical education engaged in teaching in that state for some time.
In Huntingdon county he married Miss Mary Boden, who was born in Ireland but was reared in the Keystone state. About 1878 he removed to Iowa and settled in Poweshiek county, but in 1884 came to Dickinson county, purchasing a farm in Westfort township, where he engaged in farming. Upon this place he reared his family and remainedf or some years, but finally sold out and removed to Spencer. A few years later, however, he returned to Dickinson county and located in Milford. He has been honored by numerous official positions and is one of the highly esteemed citizens of his community. His wife is an active and consistent member of the Methodist Episcopal church of Milford. Dr. Geissinger was only four years of age when the family became residents of Dickinson county, and in its common schools he acquired his early education. Later he attended the Milford high school and was also a student at Highland Park College for three years. Having decided to take up the medical profession he subsequently entered the Northwestern University and was graduated in 1907 with the degree of M. D. The following eighteen months were spent in the Cook County Hospital at Chicago, where he supplemented his theoretical knowledge by active practice and on his return home was associated with Dr. Q. C. Fuller at Milford for a short time. Since then he has been a resident of Spirit Lake, where he has built up a large and lucrative practice, being recognized as one of the leading physicians and surgeons of the city. He has taken several post-graduate courses and keeps in touch with the advancement made along the line of his profession by his membership in the Dickinson County Medical Society, the Iowa State Medical Society and the American Medical Association.
On the 31st of August, 1910, at Milford, Iowa, Dr. Geissinger was united in marriage to Miss Ellen Anderson, who was reared and educated in Dickinson county, and is a daughter of John G. Anderson, now living at Colorado Springs, Colorado. The Doctor and his wife have two children, James D. and Rosemary Ellen. Dr. Geissinger is a Royal Arch Mason belonging to both the lodge and chapter in Spirit Lake, and is now serving as senior warden in the former. Both he and his wife are connected with the Eastern Star and they are people of prominence in the community where they reside.
SAMUEL L. PILLSBURY
One of the most prominent and Influential citizens of Dickinson county is Samuel L. Pillsbury of Spirit Lake, who for many years filled important official positions and has borne an active part in the development and upbuilding of this region. He was born in Kane county, Illinois, March 16, 1836, and is a son of Rev. S. Pillsbury, whose birth occurred in Johnsburg, New York, on the 12th of July, 1802. For sometime the Pilsbury family resided in Vermont and from that state removed to Monroe county, New York, where Rev. Pillsbury completed his education. There he engaged in teaching school for some years but in 1835 entered the ministry and after his removal to Illinois was ordained a deacon by the Rock River Conference in 1840. He preached at various places in the middle west but finally located in Winnebago county, Illinois, where he had charge of a church until super annuated. In 1863 he became a resident of Dickinson county, Iowa, locating at what is known as Pillsbury's Point, on Lake Okoboji. His first residence was the Gardner cabin.
On the 9th of June, 1829, in Monroe county, New York, Rev.Pillsbury was united in marriage to Miss Eliza Ann Latta, also a native of that state, and to them were born four sons and two daughters, all of whom reached years of maturity, and two sons and one daughter are still living. On coming to Dickinson county Rev. Pillsbury became prominently identified with its public affairs and for some years served as
county judge. After that office was abolished he served as county auditor for one year and spent his last days in retirement at Okoboji. He passed away on the 29th of October, 1888, at Milford, Iowa. Samuel L. Pillsbury passed the days of his boyhood and youth in Illinois, and his early education, acquired in the common schools, was supplemented by a course at Mount Morris Seminary. In 1860 he and his brother, Albert W., made a trip to Pike's Peak, where they engaged in mining for about three years, and at the end of that time Samuel L.returned to Illinois, while his brother went west. In 1863 the former, with his brother Wilbur, came to Dickinson county, Iowa, and took up their residence in the Gardner cabin at Pillsbury's Point, where Samuel L. entered a homestead and made some improvements thereon. In 1868 he was elected auditor of Dickinson county, being well fitted for that office as he had previously served as deputy under his father. Later he was relected at each succeeding election until he had served for twelve consecutive years. On his retirement from office he accepted the positionof cashier in the B. B. Van Steenburg & Company Bank and served in that capacity for eleven years. On the organization of the First National Bank of Spirit Lake he was made cashier of that concern and held the position for three years. At the end of that time he was again elected county auditor and for six years continued in that office, making eighteen years in all as auditor of Dickinson county a most remarkable record, probably without a parallel in Iowa. He has also served as a member ofthe city council of Spirit Lake for several terms and as a member of the school board for nineteen years. He was appointed administrator for the B. B. Van Steenburg estate which he has settled and adjusted satisfactorily.
At Okoboji, September 28, 1870, was celebrated the marriage of Mr.Pillsbury and Miss Frances 1. Phippin, who was born near Watertown, Jefferson county, New York, and was there reared and educated. She came to Dickinson county, Iowa, in 1861, and later became one of the pioneer teachers here. Her father was Samuel E. Phippin. Mr. and Mrs. Pillsbury began their domestic life in Okoboji but in 1873 removed to Spirit Lake which has since been their home. Their children are: Florence E., the wife of E. E. Bickal, of Spirit Lake, by whom she has two children, S. L. and Frances E.; Latta B., who served for six years as deputy auditor of Dickinson county but is now a resident of Redmond, Washington; Leon E., a business man of Spencer, Iowa; and Leo Vinton,who died at the age of three years. Since attaining his majority Mr. Pillsbury has always affiliated with the republican party and is a recognized leader in its local ranks. He has served as treasurer of the blue lodge of the Masonic order at Spirit Lake for more than thirty years, and both he and his wife are also members of the Eastern Star Chapter, of which she was matron for twelve years. She belongs to the Methodist Episcopal church and they are people of prominence in the community where they have so long made theirhome. They have spent several winters, however, on the Pacific slope, both at Seattle and in California, and have also spent some time in Florida. For over half a century Mr. Pillsbury has been a resident of Dickinson county and there is probably no man within its borders who has borne a more active part in its public affairs. No trust reposed in him has ever been betrayed in the slightest degree, and he commands the respect and confidence of all with whom he has been brought in contact either in public or private life.
For thirty-eight years Albert Myhre has been a resident of Emmet county, which covers the entire period of his life, for he is a native son of the county, his birth having here occurred on the 20th of January,1879. He is now engaged in general merchandising at Huntington under the firm style of Albert Myhre & Company and is numbered among the representative business men of his district. His parents were 1. 0.(sic) and Anna Myhre, both of whom were natives of Norway. Coming to Iowa in pioneer times, the father settled in High Lake township, Emmet county, in 1865 and there homesteaded, securing a tract of land which was just as it came from the hand of nature, not a furrow having been turned nor an improvement made upon the place. He at once began its developmentand his labors wrought a marked transformation in the appearance of the farm. At the time of the Civil war he put aside all business interests and, responding to the country's call for troops, joined the Fifteenth Wisconsin Infantry, with which he served for three years. During that period he participated in a number of important engagements and on one occasion was wounded in the left side. He was promoted to the rank of corporal and in later years he maintained pleasant relations with his old army comrades as a member of the Grand Army of the Republic. His fellow townsmen, recognizing his loyalty in citizenship, called him to fill several township offices. He died in the year 1905 and was laid to rest in Riverside cemetery, in High Lake township, Emmet county. His widow survives and is now living in Estherville. In their family were eleven children, eight of whom are yet living, six being residents of Emmet county. The surviving members of the household are: Dorothy,now the wife of Thomas Storhow, of Estherville township; Oliver, who is married and makes his home in Twelve Mile Lake township; Oscar,who is married and resides in Wallingford; Martin, who is married and is located at Graettinger, Palo Alto county, Iowa; Caroline, of Estherville; Albert; Anna, the wife of J. Anderson, of High Lake township; and Elmer, who is married'and makes his home at Swea City, Iowa.A fter acquiring a district school education Albert Myhre attended the Decorah Institute and was graduated from the business department. He continued to work for his father until he attained his majority and then went to Huntington, where he entered the employ of C. L. Jeglum & Company, proprietors of a general store, with whom he remained for five years. He later spent two years in the general store of A. 0. Myhre & Son, of Estherville, and in 1908 he became a partner in the firm of Albert Myhre & Company and has since been manager of the business. Theirs is a general store in which they carry a large line of clothing ,shoes, groceries and dry goods, for which they find a ready sale, as their reliable business methods commend them to the confidence and support of the public.
On the 4th of July, 1904, Mr. Myhre was united in marriage to Miss Minnie H. Harvego, a daughter of H. and Amelia Harvego. The mother has now passed away and was laid to rest in the Harvego cemetery in Ellsworth township, while the father now makes his home in Morrison county, Minnesota. Mr. and Mrs. Myhre have one child, John H., who was born May 27, 1914. The parents are consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal church and in politics Mr. Myhre is a stalwart republican, serving at the present time as postmaster of Huntington. He is well known as a representative and progressive business man of his town and his well-directed labors in the management of his business are bringing to him deserved and gratifying success.
ALBERT C. NIELSEN
Albert C. Nielsen, who has met with gratifying success as a farmer in Denmark township, Emmet county, was born in Clinton, Iowa, March 9, 1881, a son of Niels and Nicolena (Maflaeson) Nielsen, natives of Denmark. In 1882 the family left Iowa and took up their residence in Denmark township, Emmet county. This region was just being opened up to white settlement and in fact the Nielsens were the third family to locate in that township. The father purchased the south half of the northeast quarter of section 13 and for about a quarter of a century, or until 1905, he concentrated his energies upon the cultivation of that tract. Upon retiring from active life he removed to Ringsted, where he and his wife still reside. All of their three children are living, namely: Carrie,now Mrs. F. C. Petersen, of Ringsted; Albert C.; and George K., also a resident of Ringsted. Albert C. Nielsen attended the district schools until he was seventeen years old and subsequently worked for his father until the latter retired. He now owns the homestead and keeps everything about the place in excellent condition so that it is one of the model farms of the township. He raises both grain and stock and derives a gratifying income from his well-directed labors.
On the 18th of December, 1907, Mr. Nielsen was united in marriage to Mrs. Anna M. (Simonsen) Duhn. Her parents, Simon K. and Margaret Simonsen, brought their family from Denmark to the United States
when their daughter Anna was but eight months old. The family home was established at Graettinger, Palo Alto county, Iowa, and there the mother passed away and is buried. The father survives. Mrs. Nielsen was first married to Lars Duhn, who died July 7, 1906. By her second union she has three children, Ervin, Melvin and Harold. Mr. Nielsen takes the interest of a good citizen in public affairs although not an office seeker and in the exercise of his right of franchise supports the man rather than the party. He is identified with the Modern Woodmen of America of Ringsted, the Denmarks Minde Society of Ringsted and St. John's Danish Lutheran church. He was trained to hardwork and the success which is his is the direct result of his industry.
The financial interests of Emmet county have a worthy representative in Andrew Larsen, who is now serving as president of the Farmers Savings Bank of Ringsted. Like many of the leading citizens of Iowa he is of foreign birth, born in Denmark, November 3, 1855, and his parents, Lars and Anna Sophia Andersen, were also natives of that country. There the father engaged in business as a merchant throughout his active life and passed away there in October, 1914, at the advanced age of ninety years. The mother is still living at the age of eighty-seven. In the land of his nativity Andrew Larsen grew to manhood, acquiring his education in the common schools and working for his father until fifteen years of age, when he began learning the cabinetmaker's trade, which he followed in Denmark until 1878. During the following two years he served in the Danish army and in 1880 came to the United States, locating at Council Bluffs, Iowa, where he worked at his trade in the employ of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad for ten years.In 1890 Mr. Larsen came to Emmet county and settled in Denmark township on land which he had purchased in 1882. For some years he devoted his time and energies to agricultural pursuits with good results but in March, 1916, he retired from farming and removed to Ringsted. For three years he bad been interested in general merchandising at Emmetsburg, but on the organization of the Farmers Savings Bank at Ringsted in 1915 he became its president and has since served in that capacity. He is a stockholder in the Bankers Trust Company & Savings Bank of Minneapolis, in the Bankers Trust Company of Des Moines, and in the Iowa National Fire Insurance Company, of Des Moines, all of which are million dollar concerns, and is also a stockholder of the Ringsted State Bank and the Farmers Elevator Company, of which he was one of the organizers, serving as vice president of the same for some years. He was formerly secretary of the Ringsted Creamery Company. He has improved three different farms in Emmet county, but at present only owns one of these-a tract of one hundred and twenty acres on section 22, Denmark township, one of the best improved farms in that locality. On the 11th of May, 1914, most of the buildings upon the place were destroyed by cyclone. Mr. Larsen has been very successful in his farming operations and raised high grade stock on his land, feeding about one carload for market annually.
In November, 1882, Mr. Larsen married Miss Hansine Miller, who died leaving two children: Anna Eleanor, now the wife of Lars P. Larsen, a farmer of Emmet county; and Agnes Matonea, wife of Bernhard Nelsen, of Chicago. For his second wife Mr. Larsen married Miss Carolina Petersen, who died in 1891, and by that union there was one child, Hans Henry Grant Larsen, at home. In December, 1893, Mr. Larsen was united in marriage to Miss Katherine Petersen. Mr. Larsen supports the men and measures of the democratic party and he has served as township clerk and president of the school board for many years. He is a member of the Danish Lutheran church and is also connected with the Denmarks Minde, the Modern Woodmen of America, the Loyal Order of Moose and Danish Brotherhood of America. It is as a business man, however, that he is best known and he today occupies an enviable position in business circles. He is a banker of sound judgment and keen insight into financial affairs and the success that has come to him is the just reward of earnest and persistent labor guided by a mind alert and far sighted.
JOSEPH A. HARING
Joseph A. Haring, wide-awake, alert and energetic, is prominently connected with the business interests of Wallingford, where he is also filling the office of mayor, and in this connection is giving to the city a businesslike and progressive administration. He was born in Pennsylvania in 1872 and is a son of William and Magdalena Haring, who were also natives of the Keystone state. The father was a railway engineer for a long period and during the last few years of his life devoted his attention to agricultural pursuits. Both he and his wife have now passed away and their remains were interred at Clinton, Iowa. They had a family of eight children: George, now deceased; William, who is married and makes his home in Reading, Pennsylvania; Mary, the wife of J. S. Jones, of Lyons, Iowa; Lizzie, the wife of Charles Aue, of this state; Kate, the wife of J. F. Bockstaller, of Clinton, Iowa; John G., who is married and resides in Clinton; Joseph A.; and Robert, who is married and also makes his home in Clinton. Joseph A. Haring was a little lad of but six years when he accompanied his parents to Clinton, Iowa, where the father was first employed as a railroad engineer, while later he turned his attention to the growing of fruit. There Joseph A. Haring entered the public schools, which he attended until graduated from the high school. He afterward learned the machinists trade, which he followed until he reached the age of thirty-six years. Later he was engaged in merchandising with Frank Irwin at Marseilles, Illinois, for a year and after coming to Wallingford joined Frank Irwin in organizing the present firm of Irwin & Haring for the conduct of a general mercantile establishment. They also deal in hardware and meats and have built up a trade which is substantial and gratifying.
On the 24th of November, 1898, Mr. Haring was united in marriage to Miss Myra Irwin, a sister of his partner, and they have one son, Irwin,who was born in 1907. Mr. Haring is a Mason, belonging to the lodge at Lyons, Iowa, and he is also connected with the Modern Woodmen camp at Wallingford, of which he is serving as clerk. He attends the Presbyterian church. His political support is given to the republican party and he is acknowledged one of its leaders in his community. On the city ticket he was elected mayor of Wallingford and is now the present chief executive of the town, directing its interests and seeking ever to promote its welfare.
CHARLES G. HARRISON
Charles G. Harrison, whose home is on section 14, Armstrong Grove township, Emmet county, where he is successfully engaged in agricultural pursuits, was born on the 29th of August, 1862, in Wisconsin, and is a son of James and Martha (Pierson) Harrison, who were natives of Yorkshire, England, and came to America in the early '50s. Locating in Wisconsin, the father purchased land in Ironton, Sauk county, where he followed farming for many years. When the country became involved in civil war he enlisted in a Wisconsin regiment and remained in the service for three years. He then returned to his home and resumed farming, continuing to make his home in Wisconsin until his death, which occurred in 1906. His wife survived him five years, passing away in 1911. On the old home farm in Wisconsin Charles G. Harrison grew to manhood with the usual educational advantages and he remained under the parental roof until twenty-three years of age, when he went to Washington, where he remained eleven years and took up a homestead eight miles from Olympia. On his return east he settled at Luverne, Iowa, where he purchased land and engaged in its operation for five years. At the end of that time he came to Emmet county and bought one hundred and sixty acres on sections 14 and 24, Armstrong Grove township. He resides on the former section and now has a well-improved and valuable farm, pleasantly located only a half mile from the city limits of Armstrong. He has residence property and five acres of land in that place besides his farm.
In 1892 Mr. Harrison was united in marriage to Miss Ida M. Griffin, and to them were born two children: James A., who died in 1896; and Clifford C., who graduated in 1917 from high school and now follows farming. Mr. Harrison is a life member of State Lodge No. 68, A.F.&A.M., at Tacoma, Washington, and also belongs to the Yeomen. He attends the Methodist church at Armstrong and politically is identified with the republican party. He is one of the successful farmers and representative citizens of his community and well remits the respect which is accorded him.
In the death of John Cunningham Emmet county lost a substantial, worthy and respected citizen, a man who had long been prominently and actively identified with its agricultural interests and who in every relation of life had conducted himself with such signal (sic) energy as to win the esteem of all with whom he came in contact. He was born in Dublin, Ireland, on the 10th of May, 1822, and on crossing the Atlantic to the United States when twenty-six years of age made his way to Tennessee. There he worked as a stone and brick mason for a number of years and afterward went to Wisconsin, where he was employed at railroad work and in lumber camps. He also worked to some extent at the stone mason's trade. Thinking to find still better business opportunities in the new and growing western country, he made his way to Emmet county and was one of the first to settle within its borders. He came with the Mahers just after the Indians drove out the original settlers and before the Ridleys came. Mr. Cunningham purchased the south half of section 36, High Lake township, a tract of raw land on which not a furrow had been turned nor an improvement made. He at once began to develop and cultivate the property and lived thereon during the rest of the hard times when existence in Emmet county meant a continuous struggle. As the years advanced, however, times and conditions changed and Mr. Cunningham's efforts resulted in converting his tract of wild prairie into rich and productive fields from which be annually gathered good harvests that brought him a substantial financial return. He remained upon that place to the time of his death, which occurred September 22, 1904. His life was one of untiring industry, thrift and perseverance and his success was due to those qualities.
Mr. Cunningham was married in Wisconsin to Miss Elizabeth Banks, a native of Dublin, Ireland, whose parents never came to the United States. Eight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Cunningham: Michael,who has passed away; one who died in infancy; John, a resident of Emmet county; Thomas and William, both deceased; Adeline, living in Waterloo, Iowa; James, who is cultivating the old home farm; and Mary, the wife of Philbert John Lee Master, who is associated with her brother James in carrying on the old homestead. Mr. Cunningham was a Catholic in religious faith and in politics was a democrat. He held all the township offices and his loyalty in citizenship stood as an unquestioned fact in his career. His was an active and useful life and indicates what may be accomplished when there is determination and energy. In the face of obstacles and difficulties he worked his way upward and was thus able to leave to his family a very substantial competence as well as an honored name.
CHARLES W. CRIM
Charles W. Crim, a member of the Estherville bar, was born in Carroll county, Ohio, in May, 1850, a son of John and Salina Crim, who were farming people of the Buckeye state, whence they removed to Iowa in 1855, settling in Boone county, near Mineral Ridge, where they spent their remaining days. They were members of the Methodist Episcopal church and people of genuine personal worth. They reared a family of three sons and six daughters. The Crim family comes of German ancestry and was established on American soil prior to the Revolutionary war, settlement being made in Virginia. One branch of the family, opposed to the institution of slavery, removed to Ohio and from that state its representatives have gone to all parts of the country, especially to various states of the west. Charles W. Crim learned life's lessons practically in the hard school of experience. He worked on a farm through the summer and in the winter months mastered such branches of learning as were taught in the district schools near his father's home. Between the ages of eighteen and twenty-four years he taught school and devoted the hours which are usually termed leisure to the study of law, utilizing every possible moment in that manner until admitted to the bar on examination. In the meantime he had spent a few terms as a pupil in Simpson College at Indianola,Iowa, but otherwise he has been self taught. He had the usual experiences of the pioneer boy, living in a log cabin in an unsettled country with its attendant hardships, the meals of the family largely consisting of cornbread, pork and hominy. Such a life, however, is not without its pleasures and its opportunities. Necessity perhaps calls for hard labor, but at the same time it develops the best in the individual, gives hims trength and power of resistance and makes him ready for anything that may come. Laudable ambition prompted Mr. Crim to prepare for the bar and since his admission he has continuously practiced his profession in the state and federal courts. At the same time he has been a reader of general literature and has kept in touch with the trend of modern thought and progress. He has also broadened the scope of his business connections through investments in banks and other local enterprises, includinga wholesale grocery house and a telephone company.
In September, 1890, Mr. Crim was married to Miss Sarah McCulla,
a daughter of Robert and Jane McCulla, of a Scotch-Irish-Canadian family of farming people. Mrs. Crim was born in Iowa and engaged in teaching school prior to her marriage. Their daughter, Grace, who has been a student in the Universities of Minnesota and of Iowa, is now completing course in language, liberal arts and music. The son, Charles Harold, is student of engineering in the State University of Illinois. As a farm boy Mr. Crim became a member of the Grange. He has since become identified with the Masonic bodies and the Knights of Pythias. His military experience covers service with the Iowa State Militia from 1878 until 1880. From 1892 until 1898 he filled the office of prosecuting attorney but has never been an aspirant for office, preferring to concentrate his efforts upon the private practice of law. In politics he has always been a republican and is a believer in preparedness, military and otherwise. He is also a protectionist and is rather inclined to the Hamiltonian than the Jeffersonian theory of popular government. He has ever believed that the surest road to permanent success in life is through untiring industry, hard work and unflinching integrity and he has thus shaped his course with the result that he stands today among the most able and prominent of the lawyers of this section of thes tate. He is a believer in the religion of correct living as defined by the golden rule and as explained in Bryant's "Thanatopsis."
WALTER B. JONES
Walter B. Jones, deceased, was one of the honored citizens of Dickinson county, who served for three years as a soldier of the Civil war and in times of peace was always found to be a loyal and patriotic citizen of his adopted country. He was born on the other side of the Atlantic, his birth occurring in Kent county, England, January 10, 1839, and his parents, Frederick and Jane Jones, never left that country, both dying in England some years ago. Walter B. Jones was reared and educated in his native land and was nineteen years of age when, in 1858, he came to the United States and located at Northwood, Worth county, Iowa, where he spent three years. He next made his home in Mitchell county, Iowa, and while residing there he enlisted in 1862 in Company K, Twenty-seventh Iowa Volunteer Infantry, with whom he served until hostilities ceased. During his service his health became permanently impaired and he was unable to do much work after the war. He was a mason by trade and continued to follow that occupation in Mitchell, Iowa, until 1881, when he came to Dickinson county and purchased land in Milford township. He improved his farmand engaged in its cultivation for sixteen years, at the end of which time he retired from active labor and spent the remainder of his life in retirement at Milford. The farm which he purchased for seven dollars per acre
has recently been sold for two hundred dollars per acre, so valuable has land become in this section of the state.
On the 7th of November, 1865, Mr. Jones was united in marriage to Miss Olive J. Carey, a daughter of William W. and Lydia Jane (Domburgh) Carey, who were natives of New York. Her father, who was a farmer by occupation, died in 1880, and her mother passed away in 1886. To Mr. and Mrs. Jones were born six children, namely: Elizabeth, the wife of John L. Pitcher, of Spencer, Iowa; Fred W., who served as sheriff of Dickinson county for fifteen years and was state representative four years but is now living on a farm near Spirit Lake; Guy, a resident of Fort Collins, Colorado; Nellie E., who died June 17, 1904, at the age of twenty-eight years; Earl, a resident of Spencer; and Zella, who is the wife of Jarvis J. Dennis, of Milford, and has one child, Frederick, born November 17, 1916. After a useful and well-spent life Mr. Jones passed away February 14, 1914, having been ill only one week. He laid the foundation for the first business house in Milford and was actively identified with the upbuilding and development of this region. For forty-eight years he was an honored member of the Masonic fraternity and was also. a prominent member of Waller Post, G.A.R. In politics he was a republican and in religious faith was an Episcopalian. Wherever known he was held in high regard and when he departed this life he left a host of friends as well as his immediate family to mourn his death.
GEORGE H. WEST
A well improved farm property is that owned by George H. West, who has one hundred and sixty acres on section 8, Center township, Emmet County. He was born on that section May 25, 1871, a son of George and Ann (Cousins) West, the former a native of Ireland and the latter of Canada. It was in 1859 that the father crossed the Atlantic to America, making his way first to Ohio, while in 1866 he became a resident of Emmet County. The work of development and improvement had scarcely been begun in this section of the state, much of the land being still in possession of the government. He took up a homestead on section 8, Center Township, to which he afterward added by additional purchase, increasing his holdings from time to time until he had four hundred and eighty acres at the time of his death, which occurred in 1909. George H. West of this review is one of a family of fourteen children, twelve of whom are yet living. He was reared and educated in Center township, attending the common schools through the winter months, while the summer seasons were devoted to farm work. He continued to assist his father until he reached the age of twenty-seven years and then began farming on his own account on rented land. He. was thus engaged until 1911, when he purchased the farm upon which he now resides, comprising a quarter of section 8, Center township. His labors have been productive of splendid results in the development and improvement of this tract. He has erected fine buildings, has purchased the latest improved machinery to facilitate the work of the fields and has divided his farm by well-kept fences. In fact, none of the accessories of the model farm property of the twentieth century are lacking.
On the 1st of January, 1904, Mr. West was married to Miss Anna Maniece, a native of Ireland and a daughter of Frank and Eleanor (Burrell) Maniece, who were also natives of the Emerald isle, whence they came to the United States in 1883, at which time they settled in Wisconsin. They afterward removed to Iowa and took up their abode upon a farm in Emmet township, Emmet county. Mr. and Mrs. West have become the parents of four children, Margaret M., Elizabeth E., Kenneth E. and Florence F. Mr. and Mrs. West hold membership in the Methodist Episcopal church and are loyal and consistent Christian people. Fraternally he is connected with the Modern Woodmen of America. His political support is given to the republican party and he has served as township clerk and as school director. He is always interested in matters pertaining to the general welfare and coOperates in many plans and measures for the development and upbuilding of the county. A lifelong resident here, he has witnessed its many changes through forty-five years and is today numbered among the honored early settlers.
PAUL M. WADE
Paul M. Wade, proprietor of a general store in Terril, was born on the 26th of March, 1886, in Illinois, of which state his parents, Jacob M.and Hannah (Clump) Wade were also natives. In the spring of 1893 the family removed to Dickinson county, Iowa, and located upon a farm where the parents remained until 1911. They are now living at Superior, Iowa. All of their four children survive. Paul M. Wade was about seven years of age when he became a resident of Dickinson county, and in its common schools he has acquired the greater part of his education. For one year he attended the high school of Terril. He remained under the parental roof until twenty-one years of age and then engaged in farming on his own account for two years. In 1910 he turned his attention to mercantile pursuits and now owns a good general store in which he carries a well-selected stock. He has built up a good trade, his patronage coming from the village and the surrounding country. Besides his town property he also owns one hundred and sixty acres of land in North Dakota.
On the 9th of September, 1908, Mr. Wade was united in marriage to Miss Maud Pearl Clark, who was born in Dickinson county and is one of a family of six children, her parents being John C. and Martha (Granling) Clark, who are still living in Dickinson county. Mr. and Mrs. Wade have two children, Lyle Elwin and Evelyn Maurine. In politics Mr. Wade is a stanch republican and he is taking an active interest in public affairs, being now a member of the town council of Terril. He is a member of Terril Lodge, No. 612, A.F.& A.M., and also belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America. Both he and his wife hold membership in the Methodist Episcopal church and he is now serving as one of its trustees. He owns a fine residence in the village and is numbered among its representative business men. Prosperity has come to him through his own unaided efforts, for he started out in life for himself empty handed and by industry, economy and good judgment has become quite well-to-do.
Richard Horswell, deceased, was for many years identified with the agricultural and stock raising interests of Emmet county, his home being on sections 13 and 14, Armstrong Grove township. He was born in England, March 25, 1822, and was a son of John and Mary (Upham) Horswell, who never came to America but died in England, the former in 1835 and the latter in 1830. In the land of his birth Richard Horswell was reared and educated and at the age of thirteen years started out to make his own way in the world. When fourteen years old he began learning the milling business which he followed in England and Canada for thirty-five years. At the age of twenty-one he removed to Canada but was afterward taken ill and returned to his native land for the benefit of his health. He remained there four years, during which time he was married. At the end of that time he again went to Canada accompanied by his wife and their two children, but twelve years later we again find them in England, in order that their children might have better educational advantages.I n 1867 Mr. Horswell again took his family to Canada, where his wife died the same year. From there he removed to Humboldt county, Iowa,where he remained for two years and then came to Emmet county, taking up a homestead of one hundred and sixty acres on section 14, Armstrong Grove township. Subsequently he purchased another quarter section across the road on section 13. He at once began the improvement of his place and made it one of the finest farms in the county. He was a breeder of thoroughbred Durham cattle and Poland China hogs, and during his residence here met with well-deserved success in his labors. He continued to reside upon his farm up to the time of his death, but for the last ten years practically lived retired, renting his land to tenants.
In 1845 Mr. Horswell was united in marriage to Miss Mary A. Wood,by whom he had seven children, John R., Mary E., Adeline, George, Charles, Albert and Victor. The last named is now deceased and the wife and mother passed away in 1867. In March, 1870, Mr. Horswell wedded
Dorcas Cronk, a daughter of David and Nancy (Clark) Cronk, natives of Canada. Her father, who was a farmer by occupation, continued to reside in Canada throughout life and passed away in 1867 at the age of sixty-five years, and her mother died in 1890 at the age of seventy-nine years. By his second marriage Mr. Horswell had the following children, Victoria, Walter, Maude, Thyrza, Frances, May, Garfield, Blanche, Blaine and Lincoln. Of these Frances is deceased. After a useful and well-spent life Mr. Horswell passed away on the 4th of August, 1915, at the advanced age of ninety-three years, four months and ten days. His widow still makes her home on the farm. He was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and a Methodistin religious faith. Politically, he supported the men and measures of the republican party. During his residence in Emmet county he became widely and favorably known, and at his death left many friends as well as his immediate family to mourn his loss.
AMASA D. ROOT
Amasa D. Root, living retired at Estherville, became a resident of that city in 1890 and for twenty-two years was prominently identified with its business interests as a dealer in lumber, coal and machinery. The unfailing enterprise and reliable business methods which he manifested brought to him a substantial measure of success that now enables him to rest from further labor. He was born in Delaware county, New York, in 1846, a son of Daniel and Cornelia (Grim) Root, who were a1so natives of the Empire state, where the father followed the occupation of farming. In 1852 he removed with his family to Richford, Wisconsin, and there carried on general agricultural pursuits up to the time of his death, which occurred in 1860. In the family were five children: Elmira, the widow of T. G. Bartlett and a resident of St. Paul, Nebraska; Anna, the widow of Henry Burgess and a resident of North Loup~(sic) Nebraska; Ora, who resided near Portage City, Wisconsin, but is now deceased; Elizabeth, the widow of Rufus Collins and a resident of Ord, Nebraska; and Amasa D., of this review. The last named spent his youthful days in the usual manner of farm lads, working in the fields through the summer months and attending the public schools in the winter seasons until he reached the age of fourteen years, when his father died and he took over the management of the home farm, which he continued to cultivate for three years. On the expiration of that period he went to Nebraska and was engaged in farming near St. Paul. He resided in Butler county, Iowa, for ten years and for four years was engaged in the creamery business at Greene, Iowa. In 1890, as previously stated, he came to Estherville and until 1912 was actively engaged in the lumber and coal trade and in the machinery business, in which connections he won a patronage that was extensive and gratifying. His business methods were such as would bear the closest investigation and scrutiny and his unfaltering energy and determination brought him well-merited success. While still retaining a financial interest in the business he has retired from its active management and is now enjoying awell-earned rest, being most comfortably situated in a pleasant and attractive home at No. 502 South Ninth street.
In 1870 Mr. Root was united in marriage to Miss Elizabeth Montgomery, who passed away in 1909 and was buried in the Oak Hill cemetery at Estherville. They became the parents of three children: Mabel,who married Grant Hardman, of Greene, Iowa, and died in 1890; Charles A., who for six years filled the position of county auditor and is now a traveling salesman; and Frank 0., who is employed in the superintendent's office of the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad Company at Estherville. In 1910 Mr. Root was again married, his second union being with Lizzie Archer, a daughter of 0. T. Archer, of Estherville. Politically, Mr. Root is an earnest republican and at all times keepswell informed on the questions and issues of the day. He has served ascouncilman and exercised his official prerogatives in support of various measures for the general good. He has also been vice president of the Iowa State Savings Bank. His religious faith is that of the Presbyterian church and his entire career has commanded for him the confidence and respect of his fellowmen, for it has been guided by high and honorable principles.
M. J. IVERSON
M. J. Iverson, who is successfully engaged in farming on section 8, Lincoln township, was born in Franklin county, Iowa, on the 24th of July, 1871, a son of Iver and Anna (Erickson) Iverson, natives of Norway, where they were reared and married. Immediately following their marriage they came to the United States in 1868 and established their home in Franklin county, Iowa, the father purchasing forty acres of land on which he began farming. From time to time he has added to his holdings by additional purchase as his financial resources have increased until his landed possessions now embrace five hundred acres, constituting a very valuable and productive tract. M. J. Iverson pursued his education in the common schools of his native county and in 1893 came to Emmet county, his first investment in land making him owner of one hundred and sixty acres, on which he now resides. Ambitious to attain success, however, he has added to his possession and is now the owner of two hundred and sixty-eight acres in his home farm, in addition to which he has one hundred and sixty acres on section 18, Lincoln township, and two hundred and forty acres in Martin county, Minnesota. He is a progressive agriculturist, studying closely the best methods of tilling the soil and caring for his crops, and he annually gathers rich harvests. He also raises thoroughbred stock and is one of the progressive and successful agriculturists of Emmet county. In addition to his farming interests he was one of the organizers of the Farmers Savings Bank of Dolliver and in 1915 was elected to the presidency, in which position he still continues.
In 1895 Mr. Iverson was united in marriage to Miss Cora Olson, of Hardin county, Iowa, by whom he has three children: Albert, Josephine and Leona. Politically, Mr. Iverson is a republican and has served as ownship trustee and township clerk. He has also been a member of the school board for many years and the cause of education finds in him a stalwart champion. The extent and importance of his business affairs and his activity in support of those interests which contribute most to the welfare of the community make him an influential and valued citizen of Lincoln township.
For several years Conrad Braun was actively identified with the agricultural interests of Dickinson county but although he still owns land within its borders he has now laid aside active labors and is living retired in Milford. He was born in Baden, Germany, December 25, 1842, and is a son of Conrad and Margaret (Struble) Braun, also natives of Baden, where the father followed farming until 1847. That year witnessed his emigration to America and he became a resident of Rock Island county, Illinois, but was not long permitted to enjoy his new home as he passed away in 1848. The mother subsequently married Conrad Lenhart and they lived upon a farm in Rock Island county, Illinois, where Mr. Lenhart died in 1892 and his wife in 1881. Conrad Braun remained with his mother until he reached manhood, attending the public schools of Rock Island county and assisting in the labors of the farm. In 1862 he joined the boys in blue of Company C, Thirty-fifth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, with which he served for three years. At the close of the Civil war, when his services were no longer needed, he was honorably discharged and returned to Rock Island county, Illinois, where he remained until 1870. He then removed to Nichols,Iowa, where he engaged in farming upon rented land for two years, but at the end of that time purchased a farm in Muscatine county at fourteen dollars and a half an acre. He improved that place and engaged in its operation until 1902, when he came to Dickinson county and located on land which he had purchased in 1890 for fourteen dollars and a half an acre. In 1902 he bought one hundred and sixty acres in Westport township at forty-five dollars an acre, which he now rents. In 1907 he bought one hundred and sixty acres for sixty dollars an acre but has since sold that quarter section. He is now living retired in Milford, where he owns and occupies a nice residence.
On the 2d of February, 1868, Mr. Braun was married in Jefferson county, Iowa, to Miss Maggie Schmidt, and to them have been born six children, namely: Mary, now the wife of John Trabert, a farmer of Westport township, Dickinson county; Henry, a farmer of Muscatine county; Louisa, the wife of Fred Wrang, a farmer of Westport township, Dickinson county; Emma, the wife of Thomas Hartman, of Mercer county, Illinois; Mollie, the wife of Elmer Meyerdirk of Milford, Iowa; andA nnie, the wife of Jacob Frutchy, a farmer of Okoboji township, Dickinson county. Mr. Braun affiliates with the republican party and during his residence in Muscatine county served as county supervisor in a most creditable and acceptable manner. He is an honored member of Waller Post, G.A.R., and religiously is identified with the Congregational church. Upright and honorable in all the relations of life, he has commanded the confidence and respect of all with whom he has been brought in contact and wherever he has lived has made many warm friends.
TOLLEF 0. SANDO
Tollef 0. Sando is now living retired in Wallingford but for many years was closely and prominently connected with agricultural interests in Emmet county and is still the owner of a valuable farm of two hundred and eighty acres, which returns to him a gratifying annual income. He is a native of Wisconsin, his birth having occurred in Rock county, December 22, 1845. His parents, Ole E. and Barbara (Opsata) Sando, were both natives of Norway and in 1845 they came to the new world, taking up their abode upon a Wisconsin farm, which they occupied until 1849, when they came to Iowa, settling in Clayton county upon a farmw hich remained their home for four years. They then removed to Mitchell county, Iowa, where they resided until 1863, which year witnessed their arrival in Emmet county. They took up their abode upon a farm in Estherville township, the father homesteading this land, for up to that time it had been in possession of the government and was a wild and totally unimproved tract, not a furrow having been turned upon the place. His first buildings were constructed of logs and covered with clapboard roofs and amid such conditions the family lived for several years or until the father could earn a sufficient sum to introduce modern improvements. As soon as possible he built a more commodious and attractive home and in time he added substantial barns and outbuildings, converting his place into one of the best improved farms of the district. He was a very energetic, industrious man and his success was the measure of his enterprise and determination. He died in the year 1882, while his widow, surviving him for more than two decades, passed away in 1903. In their family were six children, of whom three are now living. Tollef 0. Sando has practically been a lifelong resident of Iowa and
to its public school system is indebted for the educational opportunities which he enjoyed. His early training was that of the home farm and he continubd to assist in the development of the fields until he attained his majority, when he took up a homestead in Estherville township. He, too, first built a log cabin upon his place and his was one of the primitive homes of the district. With characteristic energy he began the arduous task of developing his fields and his labors soon wrought a marked transformation in the appearance of his land. Later he sold his original property and bought a farm in Twelve Mile Lake township which he occupied until 1914, converting it into a very valuable place. In that year he retired and removed to Wallingford but still owns his farm of two hundred and eighty acres, constituting a splendidly improved property which adds materially to his income. In addition to his Emmet county property he owns an interest in eighty acres of land in Minnesota. His life has been well spent and his prosperity is the deserved and merited reward of his persistent, earnest and honorable labor.
In 1871 Mr. Sando was married to Miss Berget Sando, a native of Norway, and they have become the parents of nine children: Barbara, the wife of G. Gilbert; Randina and Beatta, at home; Herman, now a resident of Jackson, Minnesota; Erick, living in Estherville, Emmet county; Helen and Otto, who have passed away; Emma, the wife of Antony Story; and Ferdinand, deceased. The parents are consistent and faithful members of the Lutheran church, in the work of which they take an active and helpful part. They are highly respected in the community where they reside, having many warm friends who greatly esteem them for their personal worth. Mr.Sando has justly won the proud American title of self-made man. Through his own efforts he has acquired a handsome fortune and is now reaping the benefit of his former toil, his success making it possible for him to enjoy all the comforts and some of the luxuries of life without further recourse to labor.
BERT L. CLARK
Bert L. Clark, engaged in the real estate and insurance business at Dolliver, was born in Rock Falls, Wisconsin, April 29, 1882, and is a son of B. P. and Ella (Wallace) Clark, the former also a native of Wisconsin and the latter of Pennsylvania. The parents were married in Wisconsin where they continued to reside until 1889 and then came to Emmet county, Iowa, locating on a farm in Iowa Lake township which the father still owns. The mother passed away October 26, 1916, leaving two children, namely: Grace, now the wife of W. A. Richmond; and Bert L., of this review. The latter was seven years of age on the removal of the family to Emmet county, where he passed the days of his boyhood and youth in much the usual manner of farmer boys. He attended the common schools and was graduated from the high school of Estherville in 1901. He also pursued a commercial course in a business college at Cedar Rapids and for one year was connected with the Iowa Savings Bank at Estherville, Iowa. In 1906 he was made cashier of the Citizens Bank of Dolliver and after its reorganization as the Farmers Savings Bank in 1912 continued in that position until January 1, 1917. He is now engaged in the real estate and insuranoe business. He owns a nice residence in the village and also one hundred and twenty acres of land and a half interest in an eighty-acre tract in Emmet county.
Mr. Clark was married in 1911 to Miss Hazel Follett, a native of Emmet county and a daughter of E. A. and Katherine (Gardner) Follett. Her father was born in New York state and her mother in Vermont, but for many years they have made their home in Iowa. To Mr. and Mrs.Clark have been born three children: Faye C., who died March 15, 1916; Loraine E.; and Mavis C. Mr. Clark affiliates with the republican party and is now serving on the town board. Fraternally, he is identified with Armstrong Lodge, No. 533, A.F.&A.M. He is one of the representative business men of the town and wherever known he is held in the highest esteem.
JOHN B. BLOM
John B. Blom, living on section 3, Center township, was born in Holland, June 26, 1860, a son of Barnard and Mary (Myers) Blom, who were also natives of the same country. In 1871 they severed home ties there and came with their family to America, establishing their home at Ackley, Hardin county, Iowa, where their remaining days were passed. They had a family of twelve children, seven of whom are yet living. John B. Blom was a youth of eleven years at the time of the emigration to the new world and upon the home farm in Hardin county he was reared, while his education was acquired in the district schools of the neighborhood. He was early trained to the work of the farm and soon became familiar with the best methods of tilling the soil and caring for the crops. After attaining his majority he began railroad work with the bridge and wrecking gang of the Iowa Central Railroad, with which he was connected for five years. At the end of that time he married and began farming on his own account on rented land in Grundy county,Iowa, where he remained for seven years. In 1892 he removed to Emmet county and purchased his present farm on section 3, Center township, becoming owner of one hundred and sixty acres, which he has since improved with substantial buildings. His farm is today one of the attractive features of the landscape. In addition to the work of tilling the soil he has made a specialty of raising and feeding stock of all kinds and this branch of his business is proving very profitable, for he is an excellent judge of stock and therefore makes his investments wisely, lead-ng to profitable sales.
Mr. Blom was united in marriage to Miss Tillie Juergens, a native of Germany. They have become parents of eight children: Jerry, living in Emmet county; Bennard, now of Minnesota; Aldrick, Joe, Chris and Thomas, all in Emmet county; Mary, the wife of Charles Fank; and one who died in infancy. The parents are consistent and loyal members of the Lutheran church and Mr. Blom is a stalwart supporter of the republican party, believing that is platform contains the best elements of good government. He is now serving as road superintendent and he has also served on the school board. He is interested in all those forces which work for the progress and upbuilding of the community and at no time is he remiss in the duties of citizenship. He works for the benefit and upbuilding of the district as well as for the advancement of his own fortunes and in his business career he may well be termed a self-made man, for he owes his prosperity entirely to his close application and indefatigable energy.
MORRIS P. BACHMAN, M. D
Dr. Morris P. Bachman, a prominent physician and surgeon of Lake Park, Iowa, was born on the 18th of April, 1867, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and is a son of William H. and Anna D. (Kriebel) Bachman, also natives of the Keystone state, where they were reared and married. In the latter part of 1867 or the fore part of 1868 they came to Iowa and located on a farm in Black Hawk county, but after residing there for two years removed to Waterloo, where the father was engaged in the farm implement business for a time but subsequently turned his attention to the music business, with which he was identified for many years. About 1911 he retired from active business and in 1914 returned to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where he now resides. His wife died in Waterloo, Iowa,in 1912. Dr. Bachman was educated in the schools of Waterloo and after leaving the high school he was appointed a cadet in the Annapolis Naval Academy in 1887 but at the end of two years resigned and returned to civil life. Shortly after his return to Waterloo he entered the railroad service as an office man and was identified with that line of work for about ten years, six years of that time being employed as ticket agent in the Southern Pacific office at Portland, Oregon. While serving in that capacity he began the study of medicin6 in 1895 under the perceptorship of Dr. Harry McKay, of Portland, and the following year returned to Iowa, entering the medical department of the Iowa University, from which he was graduated in the class of 1900. After receiving his M.D. degree he was for two years located near Oskaloosa as assistant surgeon at the coal mines, and in 1902 located at Mitchell, Iowa, where he spent four years. In 1906 he became a resident of Lake Park, where in the intervening ten years he has built up a lucrative practice and has won a foremost place for himself among the medical practitioners of northern Iowa.
In 1904 Dr. Bachman was united in marriage to Miss Lucy O'Donnell, of Epworth, Iowa, and to this union has been born a son, Donnell William. Dr. Bachman is a member of the American Yeomen and of Ivanhoe Lodge, No. 1, K. of P., of Portland, Oregon. He is a veteran member of the latter organization, having received the jewel on the 12th of October, 1915. In the line of his profession he belongs to the Dickinson County Medical Society, the Iowa State Medical Society and the American Medical Association. He stands high in the esteem of his professional brethren, who recognize his ability, and he today ranks among the prominent physicians and surgeons in this part of the state.
JOSEPH SOPHUS PETERSON
Joseph Sophus Peterson, now acceptably serving as cashier of the Ringsted State Bank, is a native of Iowa, born near Neola in Pottawattamie county, March 4, 1882, and is a son of Mr. and Mrs. James Peterson, who came to this country from Denmark in 1881. They first located near Neola but in 1883 removed to Council Bluffs, where they resided for three years, and in 1886 became residents of Emmet county. Three years later they went to Palo Alto county and made their home near Emmetsburg for twelve years but in 1901 returned to Emmet county and have since lived near Ringsted. During his boyhood and youth Joseph S. Peterson accompanied his parents on their various removals and his early education was largely acquired in the country schools of Palo Alto county, his first teacher being Mrs. L. P. Stillman, then Miss Nina Wells. Later he attended Humboldt College at Humboldt, Iowa, for two years and a half. He began his business career as a bookkeeper in the Ringsted State Bank in August, 1904,and two years later was elected assistant cashier of that institution. In 1909 he resigned in order to become identified with the Bank of Hedges,at Hedges, Montana, of which he was cashier until December, 1910, when he resigned and returned to Ringsted to accept the cashiership of the Ringsted State Bank. In January, 1915, he bought an interest in the bank and was elected a director. He is a man of good business and executive ability, who makes a thorough study of financial affairs and much of the success of the bank is due to his untiring efforts and sound judgment. He is the owner of a nice home in the village and is also interested in two farms near Ringsted.
On the 19th of August, 1909, Mr. Peterson was united in marriage to Miss Marthilda Petersen, of Randall, Iowa, who was born in Denmark and came to the United States to live with her brother. Her parents are
deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Peterson have three children: Inas Marie, born October 6, 1911; James Marlow, born October 20, 1913; and George Harold, born November 6, 1915. Fraternally Mr. Peterson is connected with the Modern Woodmen of America, the Homesteaders and the Masonic order, while religiously both he and his wife are members of the Presbyterian church. In politics he is a democrat and he takes a commendable interest in public affairs, never withholding his support from any enterprise calculated to promote the general welfare.
Actively identified with the farming interests of High Lake township is Christopher Anderson, now the owner of eighty acres on section 24,constituting one of the valuable and well-improved farm properties of the district. He was born in Green county, Wisconsin, November 20,1851, a son of Andrew and Ingeborg Anderson, who were natives of Norway. Coming to America in 1848, they established their home in Wisconsin, where the father carried on general farming until 1865. That year witnessed his arrival in Emmet county, Iowa, which was at that time a pioneer district in which the work of improvement and development seemed scarcely begun. Much of the land was still in possession of the government and he homesteaded the northeast quarter of section 24. Upon that tract not a furrow had been turned nor an improvement made. He built a log cabin with a sod roof and in true pioneer style began life in his primitive western home, but his labors soon wrought a marked transformation in the appearance of his place and success attended his efforts. To him and his wife were born eight children, four of whom are yet living. Through the period of his boyhood and youth Christopher Anderson aided in the development of the home farm, continuing thereon until he attained his majority, at which time he bought eighty acres, constituting the west half of the old homestead. He has since given his attention to its further development and improvement and he annually gathers good harvests as the result of his practical methods in operating his land.
Mr. Anderson was married in 1874 to Miss Andria Johnson, a daughter of Lars and Martha Johnson, who were natives of Norway. They afterward became farming people of Wisconsin, in which state they took up their abode in 1844, and subsequently they removed to Emmet county, where they spent their remaining days. Mr. and Mrs. Anderson have a daughter, Mabel, now the wife of Herbert Bryan, who is the owner of a farm of eighty acres on section 13, High Lake township, and they have become the parents of three children, Ralph A., Ardythe L. and Wayne H. Mr. and Mrs. Anderson are members of the Norwegian Lutheran church. He votes with the republican party but has never been an office seeker, preferring to give his undivided attention to his business affairs,which are wisely and carefully directed, so that he is acknowledged to be one of the enterprising farmers of his district.
HANS J. RASMUSSEN
Hans J. Rasmussen, proprietor of a general store and one of the leading citizens of Ringsted, was born on the 15th of May, 1883, in Denmark, of which country his parents, John and Mary (Hansen) Rasmussen, were also natives. Deciding to try their fortunes on this side of the Atlantic the family came to America in 1888 and first located in Manistee, Michigan, where they resided for two years. From there they removed to Cerro Gordo county, Iowa, and made their home there until the spring of 1902, when they came to Emmet county. The father purchased land in Denmark township adjoining the town of Ringsted, and engaged in its operation for six years, since which time he has lived retired, making his home in Ringsted at the age of eighty-three years. The mother is now seventy-eight years old and they are numbered among the most highly esteemed citizens of the place. Being a little lad of seven years on the removal of the family to Cerro Gordo county, Iowa, Hans J. Rasmussen was practically educated in the schools of that locality. He remained with his parents until reaching manhood and assisted his father with the operation of the home farm. Later he engaged in farming and threshing on his own account for a few years, but in 1911 he opened a general store in Ringsted and has since given his attention wholly to mercantile pursuits. He carries a well-selected stock and enjoys a liberal share of the public patronage.
InSeptember, 1913, he was united in marriage to Miss Emma Jensen. They hold membership in the Lutheran church and by his ballot Mr. Rasmussen supports the men and measures of the republican party. He is now serving as a member of the town council and takes an active and commendable interest in public affairs.
GEORGE W. MURRAY
George W. Murray, of Estherville township, has the enviable distinction of being the owner of what is generally conceded to be the finest farm in Emmet county, Iowa. His land is in a high state of cultivation and the improvements leave nothing to be desired. He is specializing in the breeding of full blooded stock and is recognized as a leader in that field. He was born in Sheridan, Ohio, on the 12th of March, 1861, and his parents, John and Marie (Underwood) Murray, were natives respectively of Pennsylvania and of Ohio. The mother died in 1873 and the father in 1880 and both are buried in Sheridan, Ohio. To them were born two children: George W. and Kate, the wife of G. H. Wheelock. After the death of his mother George W. Murray made his home with George and Sarah (Underwood) Wells, an uncle and aunt, living in Grundy county, Iowa, remaining with them until 1881. For twelve years he lived in first one place and then another but in 1893 formed a partnership with his uncle, Mr. Wells, settling on a farm owned by,the latter in Kossuth county. Mr. Wells was one of the earliest' settlers of Grundy county. He acquired large tracts of land in Grundy and Kossuth counties and also at one time held title to thirty-eight hundred acres of land in Emmet county, although he never resided here. Mr. Murray remained upon the farm in Kossuth county until 1905 and subsequently operated another tract in that county for three years but in 1908 came to Emmet county and purchased the south half of section 12, Estherville township, where he has since resided. He spares no time nor expense in bringing his farm to the highest possible state of development and all the improvements are thoroughly modern, the barns being of concrete and of the most approved design, while the residence is one of the finest farm houses in Emmet county. He raises grain but pays particular attention to breeding full blooded Percheron horses and registered Duroc hogs.
Mr. Murray was married in 1892 to Miss Frances Gaines, a daughter of P. W. and Margaret (Tolen) Gaines, of St. Paul, Minnesota. They previously resided in Winona, that state, and there they are buried. Mr.and Mrs. Murray have two children: John Gaines, at home; and Kathryn Margaret, a student in the University of Wisconsin at Madison. Mr. Murray believes in the basic principles of the republican party but where no national issue is at stake votes independently. He belongsto the Modern Woodmen of America and is well known in local Masonic circles, belonging to the commandery, shrine and consistory. His wife and children are communicants of the Catholic church. The success which he has achieved through his own efforts is proof of his ability and enterprise and the high esteem in which he is universally held testifies to his worth as a man.
ROBERT IRVIN CRATTY
One of the most prominent and influential citizens of Armstrong Grove township, Emmet county, is Robert Irvin Cratty, the proprietor of The Maples, located on section 11. He was born in Butler county, Pennsylvania, February 5, 1853, and is a son of William C. and Martha (Hirsch) Cratty, who were also natives of the old Keystone state. The father followed farming in Pennsylvania until 1863, when he removed with his family to Illinois and continued to engage in the same occupationin that state until his death in 1875. The mother had passed away in 1865.
Robert Irvin Cratty began his education in the schools of Pennsylvania and later pursued his studies in the schools of Illinois. On leaving the latter state in 1877 he came to Iowa, where he engaged in teaching school for twenty-one years. He was principal of the schools of Estherville from 1879 to 1882. Prior to this, in 1878, he purchased his present farm of one hundred and sixty acres on section 11, Armstrong Grove township, and began its improvement. He now has a very valuable tract on which are good and substantial buildings and the land is under excellent cultivation.
Mr. Cratty was married April 19, 1878, to Miss Lovina E. Canon, who died on the 22nd of December, 1896, leaving four children, namely: Mabel E.; Edna R.; Alta M.; and Ralph W. On March 4, 1910, Mr.Cratty was united in marriage to Mrs. Mollie E. Webster, of Minneapolis, Minnesota. They are active and consistent members of the Presbyterian church and Mr. Cratty holds the office of Elder. In politics he is arepublican and at present is serving as township clerk, which position hehas filled for many years. He has also been township trustee and, in fact, has held either one or the other of the two offices for twenty years. He was also treasurer of the school board for twenty years and is a stockholder of the First National Bank of Armstrong. Botany has become his hobby and he has made a large collection of Iowa and Minnesota plants, having a herbarium of six thousand species. He has also written much on the flora of Iowa and has devoted much of his leisure time to that study. He is one of the leading citizens of his community and is aman who commands the respect and confidence of all with whom he is brought in contact in both business and social life.
DANIEL M. CLUMP
Daniel M. Clump, who follows farming on section 22, Superior township, Dickinson county, and also devotes considerable attention to stock raising, was born in Lake county, Illinois, on June 15, 1860, his parents being Frederick J. and Elmira (Mitchell) Clump, the father a native of Buffalo, New York, and the mother of Stephenson county, Illinois. They were married in Freeport, Illinois, and continued to reside in that state until 1884, when they came to Dickinson county, Iowa, and located on a farm on section 34, Richland township. They lived there until 1901, when Mr. Clump retired and located on a small farm of fifty-six acres within the town limits of Superior, where he has since resided. Daniel M. Clump passed the days of his minority in Illinois and is indebted to its public schools for the education he acquired during that time. It was in 1881 that he came to Iowa and took charge of his fathers farm on section 34, Richland township, Dickinson county. At that time the land was all wild prairie and he erected the buildings and set out trees thereon. He has practically witnessed the entire development of this
region and is thoroughly familiar with pioneer conditions. The trip from Illinois to Iowa was a hard one as the country was then snow-bound, and he arrived in Spencer on the first freight train that had reached that place for three months. It had required a whole week to make the journey. On reaching Spencer he was only able to buy one loaf of bread and as his trunk did not arrive on the same train he made the trip to Spirit Lake in a pair of wooden shoes. An uncle had previously come to Dickinson county and he had built a shack upon the father's farm which he stocked with provisions, but on the arrival of our subject he found that the neighbors had grown hungry and had taken all the meat left there. For some time he was obliged to live on graham mush and graham bread. So severe had been the winter that on the fourteenth day of April, 1881, he was able to cross Okoboji Lake on the ice with a load of oats. Mr. Clump continued to reside upon the old home farm until 1893 when he removed to Des Moines, where he was identified with the real estate business for four years.
While at that place he was married on November 25, 1895, to Miss Josephine Apple of Racine county, Wisconsin. In 1897 they removed to Estherville, Emmet county, and for the following two years Mr. Clump conducted a meat market at that place. At the end of that time he moved his market to Jackson county, Iowa, where he and his father purchased a section of timber land and for several years he cut cord wood and also engaged in the cattle business. In 1903 he returned to Estherville, where the following two years were passed, and since that time he has remained upon his present farm of two hundred and forty-three acres in Superior township, Dickinson county. As an agriculturist he has met with excellent success and for several years past has devoted considerable attention to the feeding of cattle for market, which branch of his business he has also found profitable. Mr. and Mrs. Clump have two daughters of their own and also an adopted son, namely: Irene A., Ruth 1. and Arthur Dale. The parents are members of the Methodist Episcopal church and have a wide circle.of friends and acquaintances in both Emmet and Dickinson counties.In politics Mr. Clump is independent, preferring to support men and measures that he believes best calculated to promote the general interests of the community. He is one of the representative citizens of Dickinson county and his course in life has ever won for him the respect and esteem of those with whom he has been brought in contact.
J. M. HARRIS
J. M. Harris, one of the leading citizens and prosperous farmers of Dickinson county, owns and operates a valuable tract of land on section 10, Lloyd township. He is one of Iowa's native sons his birth occurring in Tama county on the 22nd of August, 1869. His parents are William and Elizabeth (Whiteside) Harris, natives of Perthshire,Scotland and County Sligo, Ireland, respectively. Both were reared on the other side of the Atlantic but in early life came to the United States and located in Clinton county, Iowa, where they were married. In the spring of 1869 they removed to Tama county, where they made their home for forty-two years, but for the past six years they have made their home with our subject in Dickinson county. J. M. Harris began his education in the public schools of this state and later pursued a course in the business department of Highland Park College at Des Moines. When about twenty years of age he took charge of the home farm and for some time engaged in its operation. In 1900 he purchased one hundred and sixty acres of his present farm in Lloyd township, Dickinson county, and a year and a half later bought an adjoining quarter section, so that his farm now consists of three hundred and twenty acres of some of the finest land in Dickinson county. He has erected thereon good, substantial buildings and has made his place one of the most valuable tracts in the locality. Besides this farm he is the owner of one entire section of land in Ransom county, North Dakota, which is one of the richest agricultural sections of that state. He is a very progressive and up-to-date man and keeps everything about his place in good condition so that he derives the best possible results from his labors. For ten years he rented his Dickinson county land to tenants, but since 1911 has had charge of the place himself. He is paying special attention to the raising of Aberdeen Angus cattle and finds that branch of the business very profitable. Mr. Harris is an earnest and consistent member of the Presbyterian church and is an ardent republican in politics, but has never had time or inclination for public office, preferring to devote his undivided attention to his extensive business interests. He is one of the best known farmers in his community and is a business man of recognized ability whose success has come to him through his well directed efforts.
PETER W. PETERSEN
For several years Peter W. Petersen has been prominently identifed with the business interests of Ringsted where he is now conducting one of the best garages in the state. He handles the Oakland, Studebaker and Maxwell cars and also deals in farm implements. A native of Iowa he was born in Clinton, December 11, 1878, and is a son of Martin and Anna (Petersen) . Petersen, who were born in Denmark but came to America in early life and located in Manistee, Michigan. There the father engaged in the furniture business for a short time and later was similarly employed in Chicago, Illinois. From the latter place he removed to Clinton, Iowa, where he worked in a saw mill for eight yearsand then came to Emmet county, buying land on section 1, Denmark township, to the improvement and cultivation of which he devoted his energies for many years. He then retired from active labor and removed to Ringsted, where he passed away in September, 1911. His wife survived him about two years, dying in August, 1913. Reared upon his father's farm in Emmet county, Peter W. Petersen acquired his early education in the country schools but later attended college at Elkhorn, Iowa. He remained with his parents until twenty-one years of age and gave his father the benefit of his services in the operation of the home farm. In 1900 he embarked in the hardware and implement business in Ringsted, and continued along that line until November, 1916, when he sold out and purchased a well equipped garage. As previously stated he now handles the Oakland, Studebaker and Maxwell cars and is doing an excellent business as a dealer in automobiles. He also handles all kinds of farm implements and has built up a trade of extensive proportions.
On the 19th of October, 1905, Mr. Petersen married Miss Mary C.Linnett, by whom he has two children, Stella, born October 3, 1906, and Alice, born January 11, 1908. Mr. Petersen affiliates with the republican party and has been called upon to serve on the town council for nine years, while at the present time he is a school director. He belongs to the Lutheran church and is also identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Danish Brotherhood. He is one of the representative business men of Emmet county, is wide-awake, energetic and progressive, and usually carries forward to successful conclusion whatever he undertakes.
A fine farm of one hundred acres of excellent land in Armstrong Grove township, Emmet county, is evidence of the industry and thrift of Henry Cronk, who died February 7, 1917. He was a progressive and successful farmer and stock raiser. He was born in Canada in September, 1840, a son of David and Nancy (Clark) Cronk, also natives ofthat country. The father engaged in farmhIg there until his deathin 1866 and nine years later the mother also passed away. Henry Cronk remained at home until he became of age and obtained his education' in the public schools of the Dominion. After beginning his independent career he farmed there for a time and also engaged in threshing during the summer seasons but in 1866 he came to Emmet county, Iowa, and bought a relinquishment on a claim of three hundreda cres on section 13, Armstrong Grove township. . He at one time owned three hundred and twenty acres but disposed of all save one hundred acres, which he continued to operate until his death. He raised grain but paid particular attention to the breeding of fine stock. He was the first man to bring a thoroughbred animal into Emmet county and for some time engaged extensively in raising shorthorn cattle and Poland China hogs. Success attended his well directed labors and a substantial competence was his.
Mr. Cronk was married in February, 1867, to Miss Bessie Horswell, an account of whose parents appears in the sketch of Richard Horswell elsewhere in this work. To Mr. and Mrs. Cronk were born twelve children, namely: Byron, Amy, Charley, George, Richard, Olive, Earl, Bessie, Irwin and Jennie, all of whom survive; and Addie and Ross, both of whom died in infancy. Mr. Cronk was a stanch republican in politics but never was an aspirant for official honors. He belonged to the Free Methodist church and in all his dealings conformed his conduct to high ethical standards.
LESLIE E. FRANCIS
A prominent member of the bar in northwestern Iowa is Leslie E. Francis, of Spirit Lake, who was born upon a farm near that place April 4, 1871, his parents being John and Eliza Francis, the former a native of England, while the latter was born in New England. Removing to the west, John Francis secured as a homestead claim the farm upon which occurred the birth of his son Leslie, obtaining that property in 1860. The following year he enlisted for service in the Civil war and remained with the army until 1865. Because of the Indian massacre which occurred on the 29th of August, 1862, near Spirit Lake, the mother left the Iowa farm, her husband being absent at the front, in order that she and her family might escape trouble and perhaps death. Leslie E. Francis was a pupil in the country schools of his native county and afterward attended the high school at Spirit Lake, subsequent to which time he entered the law department of the State University of Iowa. He was reared as a farm boy with the usual experience of the lad who finds it necessary to begin work in the fields at an early day. Later he was employed as a day laborer in Spirit Lake, wheeling brick and mortar for a year while the courthouse was in process of construction. In this way he earned the money that enabled him to purchase his law course and on the 16th of June, 1893, was admitted to the bar. He has practiced continuously in Spirit Lake since that time and has won a more than local reputation as a lawyer of marked ability. He tries cases in many parts of Iowa and has also been called into Minnesota and North and South Dakota. As the years have gone on he has invested heavily in ands, owning and selling at least thirty thousand acres in Canada, twenty-six thousand in Colorado, twenty-five thousand in Florida and probably ten thousand acres in Iowa and he now owns about thirty thousand acres in various states. He seems to possess almost intuitive judgment concerning the value of property and his investments have been made most judiciously, bringing to him well-deserved success.
On the 23d of June, 1896, at Spirit Lake, Iowa, Mr. Francis was married to Miss May E. Owen, a daughter of H. C. Owen, who was an old settler and soldier of this part of the state. To this Marriage have been born two children, Miriam and Merwyn, aged respectively eighteen and sixteen years. The religious faith of the family is that of the Presbyterian church and along fraternal lines Mr. Francis is well known as a Mason. He has ever been deeply and actively interested in vital political questions and from his boyhood has been frequently heard as a speaker in behalf of the republican party, of which he has always been a stalwart champion. On the 1st of January, 1894, he became deputy county attorney and so served until January 1, 1895, when he was made county attorney, occupying that position for three terms of two years each. He retired from the office on the 1st of January, 1901, as he had entered it-with the confidence and goodwill of all concerned. On the 1st of January, 1909, he became a member of the state senate, representing the forty-seventh senatorial district, and by reelection was continued in the office until January 1, 1917. He has given most earnest consideration to all vital problems coming up for settlement and his opinions, based upon sound reasoning and a thorough knowledge of conditions, have made him largely a leader of public thought and action in his district and to a considerable extent in the state. He has ever been a student of the signs of the times and has kept abreast with the best thinking men of the age. He is a diligent student not alone of the law but of all literature, having a law library of about five thousand volumes and a private library, covering general literary, historical and scientific subjects, of nearly the same number of volumes.
Herman Oransky, a dry goods merchant of Estherville, belongs to that class of progressive, energetic and farsighted business men who in promoting individual success contribute also to the public welfare, for the advancement of a city or district does not depend so largely upon the machinery of government, or even upon the men who fill the public offices, as it does upon those who are active in controlling its trade relations. Mr. Oransky was born in Poland in 1876, a son of the Rev. J. H. and Charnow Oransky, who, were natives of that country, the father beinga minister of the Jewish faith. In their family were ten children, all of whom were brought to America by the parents, the family home being established in Des Moines. All are yet living. One of the sons, Louis Oransky, came to Estherville in 1890 and established a dry goods business in the corner room of the Masonic building. A few years later he removed to the Opera House block. Herman Oransky received special training for a commercial career through a course of study in the Capital City Commercial College of Des Moines, of which he is a graduate. He also completed three years'study in the East high school of Des Moines and his initial practical experience along business lines was obtained in a clothing store of the capital city. Coming to Estherville, he entered the employ of his brother and in 1900 succeeded to the business, the store being then conducted in the Groves building, which had been erected by his brother. He remaineda t that location for eight years and then sold out, building with his brother a modern business block, into which he removed his stock of dry goods, ladies' ready-to-wear and millinery. He occupies the entire building,which is situated on Sixth street, and he is today at the head of the oldest dry goods establishment of Estherville. He has always concentrated his efforts along this line and his progressiveness, diligence and determination have constituted the salient features in his growing prosperity.
In 1906 Mr. Oransky was married to Miss Lillian May Freedman, a daughter of S. S. and Carrie (Frank) Freedman, of Corsicana, Texas. The father has passed away and his remains were interred at Corsicana, where the mother still makes her home. In the family of Mr.and Mrs. Oransky are two children: Merrill Bernard, born. in 1907; and Cornelia, born in 1908. Politically, Mr. Oransky is a republican and keeps well informed on the salient issues before the people. He is well known in fraternal circles, having attained the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite in Masonry, while with the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine he has crossed the sands of the desert. He also belongs to the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Modern Woodmen of America. He became a charter member of the Commercial Club of Estherville, of which he has been one of the directors and the president, and in this connection he has put forth every possible effort to advance the interests of the city, extend its trade relations and uphold its civic standards. His has been a well-spent, active and useful life, fruitful of good results, and Estherville numbers him among its valued and representative citizens.
A representative of general farming interests in Ellsworth township, Emmet county, is Fred Sternborg, who is living on section 9, where he has an excellent tract of land of two hundred and thirty acres. A native of Germany, he was born November 19, 1863, of the marriage of Albert and Christina Sternborg, who were also natives of that country, where the father followed the occupation of farming in order to provide for his family, which numbered seven children. When the son Fred was seventeen years of age the family came to the United States, the father settling in Grundy county, Iowa, where for seven years he engagedin the cultivation of rented land. There he passed away and his remains were interred in the cemetery at Grundy Center. He had lost his Wife ere he brought his children to the new world. Fred Sternborg pursued his education in the schools of Germany and, as previously stated, accompanied his father to the United States, after which he worked on the home farm until he had attained his majority. Anxious to engage in business for himself, he then rented land in Grundy county, where he continued to engage in farming for nine years.In 1901 he removed to Emmet county, settling upon the place where he now resides. The money which he had saved from his earnings was invested in his present farm, comprising a fraction more than two hundred and thirty acres of rich and productive land, situated on section 9, Ellsworth township. Hard work has been his rule of life and his unfaltering industry and perseverance have constituted the basis of his success, for he started out in the business world empty handed.
In 1887 Mr. Sternborg was united in marriage to Miss Eka Sternborg, who is his cousin. They have become the parents of seven children: Richard, who is married and resides upon his father's farm in Ellsworth township; and Albert, Fred, Katherine, Edna, Pearl and Ellen, all at home. Mr. Sternborg belongs to the Modern Woodmen camp at Huntington and he and his wife hold membership in the Methodist Episcopal church. For thirty-seven years he has been a resident of northwestern Iowa and for sixteen years has lived in Emmet county, where he has become known as a representative citizen and thoroughly reliable business man.
Christopher Larson, engaged in general merchandising at Wallingford, has also been prominent in connection with the public life of the different communities in which he has lived and in a word is a enterprising and progressive citizen of Emmet county. He was born in High Lake township, August 23, 1870, and is a son of Peter and Anna (Aaby) Larson, who were natives of Norway. On coming to America they made their way westward to Iowa and cast in their lot with the pioneer settlers of Emmet county, taking an active and helpful part in promoting its progress and improvement. They had a family of eleven children: Halvor, who is now married and resides in Wallingford; Anna, who is the widow of I. B. Peterson, of Williams, Minnesota; Tom, a widower living at Whittemore, Iowa; Belle, the widow of A. B. Peterson and a resident of Lake Mills, Iowa; Christopher; Bertha, the wife of Ole Lee, a resident of Oakley, Minnesota; Oliver, who is engaged in farming in Twelve Mile Lake township; Andrew, who follows farming at Coteau, North Dakota; Thea, the wife of L. Nelson, of Coteau, North Dakota; Lena, the wife of L. Carter, a farmer of West Bend, Iowa; and Emma, the wife of 0. T. Akre, of Mankato, Minnesota. Christopher Larson attended the common schools and worked with his father upon the home farm until he reached the age of sixteen years. He was afterward variously employed for about six years and when a young man of twenty-two established the second store in Wallingford, securing a stock of general merchandise. He successfully conducted that business for fifteen years and then sold out, after which he removed to Turtle Lake, Wisconsin, where he owned a general store for four years. He next went to St. Paul, Minnesota, where he was connected with general merchandising for two years, and on the 1st of May, 1915, he returned to Wallingford, where he purchased the hotel building, the postoffice and three residences. In 1916 he erected a new general store building and now handles a complete line of groceries, shoes, dry goods and men's furnishings. He has won a liberal patronage and his success is the merited reward of earnest, persistent labor intelligently directed. In community affairs Mr. Larson has also taken a deep and helpful interest and for five years he filled the office of postmaster under President Cleveland. He was justice of the peace for eight years, during which time his rulings were strictly fair and impartial. For seven years he served as president of the school board and while at Turtle Lake, Wisconsin, was police justice and justice of the peace and also a member of the town council and the board of health. He has never lightly regarded the obligations of citizenship but has faithfully performed every task devolving upon him in that connection. He became a member of Turtle Lake Lodge, No. 328, I.0.0.F., assisted in organizing the Modern Woodmen camp at Wallingford, of which he served as clerk for eleven years, and also became connected with the Royal Neighbors. He holds membership with the Norwegian Lutheran church and he has always voted with the democratic party. It is well known that he is a man true to his honest convictions and nothing can swerve him from a course which he believes to be right.
Among the successful and progressive farmers of Ellsworth township is Thomas Sunde, a native of Norway. His birth occurred on the.6th of December, 1859, and he is a son of Lars and Engeborg Sunde, who passed their entire lives in the land of the midnight sun. They had a family of eight children, but only two are now living. Thomas Sunde obtained his education in the schools of Norway and remained in that country until 1884, when he crossed the Atlantic to the United States, having heard much concerning the opportunities here offered the young man of industry and enterprise. For some time he was employed as a farm hand in Grundy county, Illinois, but since 1887 hasresided in Emmet county, Iowa. He owns three hundred and twenty acres of rich and well improved land on section 15, Ellsworth township,
and his annual income is such as to insure him the comforts of life. He raises stock on an extensive scale and is thoroughly familiar with all phases of that business.
Mr. Sunde was married in 1906 to Mrs. Gertrude (Mathison) Olson, who as a child accompanied her parents, Knut and Sarah Mathison, from Norway to America. Both her father and mother are still living in Grundy county, Illinois. By her first marriage Mrs. Sunde has three children: Torkel, residing in Ellsworth township; Amos T., of Estherville; and Sadie C., at home. To Mr. and Mrs. Sunde have been born two children, Elvin L. and Hazel I. Mr. Sunde is a republican and has served acceptably as trustee of his township. He is also a trustee of the Lutheran church, to which his wife likewise belongs, and all forces seeking the moral advancement of their community receive their hearty support. The determination, sound judgment and energy which have enabled him to win success have also gained him the respect of those who know him, and added to these admirable qualities are unswerving honesty and a scrupulous regard for the rights of others.
JOHN F. DAVIS
John F. Davis, the period of whose residence in Dickinson county covers a third of a century and who was long and successfully identified with agricultural pursuits in Okoboji township, has lived retired in Milfords ince 1912 but still owns two hundred and forty acres of valuable farming land. His birth occurred in Ohio on the 13th of February, 1849, his parents being James and Jane (Fullerton) Davis, who were natives of Ireland and of Scotch-Irish descent. The father, an agriculturist by occupation, emigrated to the United States and took up his abode in Ohio in 1847, there purchasing land which he improved and cultivated during the remainder of his life. He passed away on the 2d of July, 1901, at the age of eighty-four years and five months, while the demise of his wife occurred April 7, 1910, at the age of eighty-three years and ten months. John F. Davis was reared and educated in the state of his nativity and remained under the parental roof until he had attained the age of twenty-three years. He taught school in Ohio for a time and in 1873 made his way to Jones county, Iowa, where he worked by the month as a farm hand for seven years, during three winter seasons of which period he followed the profession of teaching. Subsequently be spent two yearsin farming with his brother and in the spring of 1884 came to Dickinson county, taking up his abode on a tract of land in Okoboji township which he had purchased in 1882. He at once began the further cultivation and improvement of the property and there successfully carried on agricultural pursuits until 1912, when he put aside the active work of the fields and removed to Milford, where he has since lived in the enjoyment of weil-earned ease. He still owns two hundred and forty acres of rich and productive land and is rated with the wealthy residents of Dick-inson county.On the 29th of November, 1911, Mr. Davis was united in marriageto Miss Georginea Boxwell, a daughter of Robert and Prudence. (Jolly)Boxwell, who were natives of~ Pennsylvania and Indiana respectively.The father, a farmer by occupation, settled in Linn county, Iowa, in1846, taking up government land in Linn township for which he paida dollar and a quarter per acre. He improved the property and con-tinued its cultivation during the remainder of his life, passing away onthe 4th of September, 1916,' at the age of eighty-four years, six monthsand twenty-two days, for his natal year was 1832. His widow, who wasborn in 1838, still survives. Mrs. Davis taught school from 1891 to1910, the last six years being spent as mission teacher among the Mexi-cans in San Pablo, Colorado.Mr. Davis is a stanch republican in politics and ably served astrustee of Okoboji township for a period of twelve years. His religiousfaith is indicated by his membership in the Congregational church. Hisrecord is indeed worthy of emulation and praise, for his success hasbeen won through untiring industry and careful management and hehas gained a place among the respected and leading citizens of his com-munity.
EDWIN H. BAILEY
Since 1913 Edwin H. Bailey has conducted a hardware store in Terril and is today regarded as one of the leading business men of that place. He was born in Clay county, Iowa, October 1, 1873, and is a son of William and Alma A. (Wells) Bailey, both natives of Vermont. From the Green Mountain state they came to Iowa at an early day and here the mother died, but the father is still living and three of their five children also survive. Edwin H. Bailey attended the common and high schools of his native county and later pursued his studies in the State Normal School at Cedar Falls, Iowa. He also took a business course in a commercial college at Cedar Rapids. At the age of eighteen years he started out in life for himself and has since been dependent entirely upon his own resources for a livelihood, For several years he successfully engaged in teachings chool and later was with the Farmers Insurance Company of Cedar Rapids for one year. For fifteen years he was a resident of Spencer, engaged in the lumber business, but in 1913 he came to Dickinson county and has since engaged in the hardware business at Terril with marked success.
Mr. Bailey was married in 1898 to Miss Temperance M. Hagerty, a native of Wisconsin and a daughter of William and Adaline (Williams) Hagerty, who are still living in Clay county, Iowa. Mr. and Mrs. Bailey have three children: Mabel E. and Wellard L., who are now attending high school in Terril; and Alma A. The family attend the Christian church, of which Mr. and Mrs. Bailey are members. He is also identified with Terril Lodge, No. 612, A.F.& A.M.; the Odd Fellows lodge, No. 247, of Spencer, Iowa, in which he has filled all the chairs; and the Camp and the Rebekahs, of Spencer. In politics he affiliates with the republican party and is now serving in the town council. He is one of the leading citizens of Terril, being a prominent representative of its business interests and an influential factor in public affairs.