IAGenWeb logo

This page was last

updated on 02/12/2012

Delaware County, Iowa  



History of Delaware County, Iowa and its People

History of Delaware County, Iowa and its People, Illustrated, Volume I.

Captain John F. Merry Supervising Editor. The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1914



Chapter XXIV




      Masonville is one of the thrifty little villages of Delaware County. It is located on the southwest corner of the township, on section 31 and was laid out July 22, 1858, by Francis Daniels and the Iowa Land Company. Mr. Daniels owned the quarter section on which the village was built and as an in­ducement to the land company to locate a station here, he offered to donate one-third of the tract of land to the company, which was accepted and a depot was built thereon. Eight years later another depot building took the place of the old one, which was converted into a carpenter shop.


     Oscar Wellman, who came West from New York in 1852, built the first house in Masonville in 1854, in which he kept hotel. He also had a stable for the public and for the accommodation of the stage line that passed through here at that time. Masonville has a population of about three hundred. It is sur­rounded by one of the richest grain and grass belts in this section of the state and is a station on the Omaha branch of the Illinois Central Railroad. It has three general stores, a lumberyard, two implement houses, two elevators, a farmers' cooperative creamery, three churches, a savings bank and a public school. The Catholics and Methodists both have good substantial buildings. Ebenezer Lodge, No. 587, Order of Odd Fellows, has headquarters in a frame building of its own. There is a commodious two-story frame school building, where the classes are graded. The enrollment for 1913 was seventy-five pupils. This is a good shipping point, from which are transported large quantities of grain, hay, creamery products, poultry and eggs, hogs and cattle.


     The Farmers Savings Bank was organized in 1905 by Daniel Fagan, M. Lillis and F. S. Griffin. It was capitalized at $10,000 and began business in a rented building belonging to Mrs. O'Hagan. Recently the concern erected a new brick structure, which it now occupies. President, Daniel Fagan; cashier, M. Lillis.


    Ebenezer Lodge, No. 587. I. O. O. F., was organized August 3, 1893, under a dispensation. In October of that year a charter was granted to the following members: F. H. Parkhurst, F. S. Harris, C. E. Durston, Thomas Rose, George Harwood and about fifteen others. The first officials were: F. H. Parkhurst, N. G.; George Harwood, V. G.; C. E. Durston, secretary; Thomas Rose, treas­urer; F. S. Harris, financial secretary. The lodge held its first meetings in what is now Preston's warehouse. The membership is about forty-eight.


     North Star Chapter, No. 260, Daughters of Rebekah, was organized in October, 1895. The charter members were: E. H. and Ella Blanchard, C. H. and Kate Blanchard, Lewis and Winnie Huyck, F. H. and Ada Parkhurst, J. W. and Melissa Preston, F. S. and Augusta Harris, W. A. and Etta Dover, W. P. and Leola Seward, S. J. Kelly, T. E. Smith, Maria Smith, Thomas and L. L. Rose, John and Anna Rose and Frank Kenyon.


    The post office was established here February 8, 1860, with H. H. Tubbs in charge. The names of his successors follow: William A. Crowther, June 1, 1861; A. J. Pease, May 17, 1864; Lucius Kinsman, March 4, 1870; Reuben Norton, August 1, 1872; William E. Lawrence, December 23, 1878; S. W. Quick, October 13, 1882; John Latimer, January 2, 1885; Thomas Gordon, October 30, 1885; Charles O'Hagan, December 13, 1888; James W. Turley, August 23, 1893; Charles O'Hagan, July 29, 1897; Josephine O'Hagan, Febru­ary 17, 1905; Mamie I. O'Hagan, June 20, 1913.



~ source: History of Delaware County, Iowa and its People, Illustrated, Volume I. The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1914, Chicago.  Page 285-288.  Call Number 977.7385 H2m.

back to History home

back to Delaware county home