This page was last updated on Saturday, 05 July 2008

IAGenWeb Project.

 Delaware County, Iowa  

 Government Center


County Officials


Manchester, Iowa



 ~ Part 1~  ~ Part  2 ~ Part 3 ~





1861 - 1870


In 1860 the county judge system of county government was abolished, and a board consisting of one supervisor from each township was constituted. One-half of the first board served one year and the other half two years, after which eight members were elected annually for two years.


Year Official   Year Official
1861 Z. D. Scobey,         Chairman   1866 Joseph Grimes       Chairman
  Joseph Lichtenberg     H. C. Drybread
  Charles Carpenter     Alexander Loban
  Clement Coffin     S. A. Thompson
  William Price     James LeGassick
  William Crozier     Cummings Sanborn
  Peter Richardson     Ferdinand Dunham
  Silas Gilmore     D. P. Baker
  Ephraim Frost     John Galyean
  Francis McFall     Samuel F. Parker
  Aaron Richardson     William Crozier
  Samuel P. Whittaker     Thomas J. Annis
  Christopher L. Flint     L. Jackson
  Daniel Fuller     Samuel P. Whittaker
  Daniel Sheldon     J. M. Annis
        Daniel Fuller
1862 Silas Gilmore          Chairman   1867 Joseph Grimes       Chairman
  Ephriam K. Frost     Charles Malven
  Cornelius T. Peet     Alexander Loban
  Daniel Sheldon     Daniel Sheldon
  Francis Rubly     James LeGassick
  Francis. McFall     Richard Boon
  Noble Ruggles     Ferdinand Dunham
  Abram Parliman     D. P. Baker
  Philip Stoner     John Galyean
  John M. Brayton     Samuel F. Parker
  William Crozier     William Crozier
  Peter Richardson     Thomas J. Annis
  Samuel P. Whittaker     William Spence
  Christopher L. Flint     J. M. Annis
  Daniel Flint     Christopher L. Flint
        Patrick Donnelly
1863 Noble Ruggles      Chairman   1868 Christopher L. Flint     Chairman
  Joseph Grimes     Joseph Chapman
  Job Gildersleeve     Charles Malvern
  Cornelius T. Peet     Cornelius T. Peet
  S. A. Thompson     Daniel Sheldon
  Francis Rubly     James LeGassick
  William Cattron     Richard Boon
  Philip Stoner     William Cattron
  William Crozier     R. Norton
  James Harper     Jesse B. Bailey
  Samuel P. Whittaker     R. Holdridge
  B. P. Miller     John Brownell
  W. G. Campbell     H. Gardner
  Francis Schultz     William Spence
  William M. Hartshorn     J. M. Annis
        Patrick Donnelly
        D. P. Baker
1864 Job Gildersleeve      Chairman   1869 R. Norton           Chairman
  Joseph Grimes     A. G. Smith
  O. S. Boggess     Joseph Chapman
  S. A. Thompson     William Cattron
  Francis Rubly     James LeGassick
  Cummings Sanborn     Thomas Conner
  Ferdinand Dunham     Cummings Sanborn
  Abram A. Parliman     R. Holdridge
  Philip Stoner     J. H. Campbell
  William M. Hartshorn     Henry Ehlers
  D. K. Fox     H. Gardner
  J. Harper     John Brownell
  Samuel P. Whittaker     Charles Malvern
  B. P. Miller     Cornelius T. Peet
  W. G. Campbell     Philip Dale
        J. B. Bailey
1865 O. S. Boggess           Chairman   1870 R. Norton           Chairman
  Joseph Grimes     A. G. Smith
  H. C. Drybread     Joseph Chapman
  Francis Rubly     H. M. Cougar
  Cummings Sanborn     James LeGassick
  Ferdinand Dunham     O. E. Taylor
  D. P. Baker     Cummings Sanborn
  Philip Stoner     J. F. Jackson
  W. M. Hartshorn     William Ford
  William Crozier     Henry Ehlers
  George Cowell     J. Chapman
  Leroy Jackson     Philip Dale
  S. P. Whittaker     Charles Malvern
  J. M. Ames     Albert Boomer
  D. Fuller     M. P. Spence
  H. G. Doolittle     Thomas Conner




Official  Office Year in Office
Roland Aubrey Judge of Probate Court 1841-1844
Clement Coffin Judge of Probate Court 1844-1847
A. K. Eaton Judge of Probate Court 1847-1850
Z. A. Wellman Judge of Probate Court 1850-1851
John Benson County Judge 1851-1855
Frederick B. Doolittle County Judge 1855-1857
A. E. House County Judge 1857-1860
Joel Bailey County Judge 1860-1861*
Z. A. Wellman County Judge 1861-1865
Jeremish B. Boggs County Judge 1866-1869




1870 - 1913

The township system was abolished 14 April 1870  It was succeeded by a board of three, elected by the voters of the county.


Year Official    Year Official
1870 Ferdinand Dunham   Chairman   1891 Charles Crocker        Chairman
  Joseph Chapman     Henry Ehlers
  J. Salisbury     John F. Graham
1871 Ferdinand Dunham   Chairman   1892 John F. Graham       Chairman
  Joseph Chapman     G. Merriam
  Jesse B. Bailey     Henry Ehlers
1872 Ferdinand Dunham   Chairman   1893 John F. Graham      Chairman
  Joseph Chapman     Thomas Rose
  Jesse B. Bailey     G. Merriam
1873 Ferdinand Dunham   Chairman   1894 G. Merriam        Chairman
  Joseph Chapman     Thomas Rose
  Jesse B. Bailey     F. A. Grimes
1874 Ferdinand Dunham   Chairman   1895 Thomas Rose     Chairman
  Joseph Chapman     G. Merriam
  Jesse B. Bailey     F. A. Grimes
1875 J. B. Bailey           Chairman   1896 F. A. Grimes       Chairman
  Ferdinand Dunham     Thomas Rose
  Henry C. Merriam     G. Merriam
1876 Ferdinand Dunham   Chairman   1897 G. Merriam          Chairman
  Henry C. Merriam     Thomas Rose
  George Staehle     F. A. Grimes
1877 Henry C. Merriam     Chairman   1898 F. A. Grimes       Chairman
  George Staehle     Thomas Rose
  Ferdinand Dunham     S. P. Carter
1878 George Staehle      Chairman   1899 S. P. Carter            Chairman
  Ferdinand Dunham     F. L. Durey
  James LeGassick     F. A. Grimes
1879 James LeGassick       Chairman   1900 S. P. Carter            Chairman
  Ferdinand Dunham     F. L. Durey
  B. P. Miller     Thomas Lindsey
1880 James LeGassick       Chairman   1901 S. P. Carter            Chairman
  Ferdinand Dunham     F. L. Durey
  B. P. Miller     Thomas Lindsey
1881 B. P. Miller            Chairman   1902 S. P. Carter            Chairman
  James LeGassick     F. L. Durey
  Henry P. Chapman.     Thomas Lindsey
1882 Henry P. Chapman     Chairman   1903 Thomas Lindsey         Chairman
  B. P. Miller     S. P. Carter          
  W. M. Sawyer     F. L. Durey
1883 W. M. Sawyer              Chairman   1904 Thomas Lindsey         Chairman
  Henry P. Chapman     F. L. Durey
  Charles Crocker     James LeGassick
1884 W. M. Sawyer              Chairman   1905 Thomas Lindsey         Chairman
  Charles Crocker     J. J. Kirkwood
  Ryal Hickox     W. B. Robinson
1885 W. M. Sawyer             Chairman   1906 ** Thomas Lindsey         Chairman
  Charles Crocker     J. J. Kirkwood
  Ryal Hickox     W. B. Robinson
1886 W. M. Sawyer            Chairman   1907 J. J. Kirkwood       Chairman
  Charles Crocker     A. M. Burbridge
  Ryal Hickox     W. B. Robinson
1887 W. M. Sawyer            Chairman   1909 J. J. Kirkwood      Chairman
  Charles Crocker     A. M. Burbridge
  Henry Ehlers     W. B. Robinson
1888 Charles Crocker        Chairman   1911 F. M. Robinson     Chairman
  Henry Ehlers     J. J. Kirkwood
  John F. Graham     W. B. Robinson
1889 Charles Crocker        Chairman   1913 W. B. Robinson    Chairman
  Henry Ehlers     F. A. Mead
  John F. Graham     James Kehoe
1890 Charles Crocker        Chairman      
  Henry Ehlers      
  John F. Graham      


** Under the law passed a short time before, the first biennial election was held, in Iowa for all state and county officers, in November, 1906. This made it necessary for all officers to hold over one year that would otherwise have finished their terms in 1905.

 ~ source: History of Delaware County, Iowa and its People, Illustrated, Volume I. The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1914, Chicago. Pages 75 - 78.   Call Number 977.7385 H1m

~transcribed by Constance Diamond for Delaware County IAGenWeb



back to Delaware County Home                 back to Government Center  Index