IAGenWeb logo

Delaware County, Iowa


 Biography Directory


Delhi Savings Bank




    The Delhi Savings Bank in the fifteen years of its existence has proved a reliable and progressive financial institution and has won the complete confidence of the town and the surrounding country. It was organized in 1899 with a capital of ten thousand dollars and among those concerned in its establishment were Thomas Simons, Sr., A. E. House, G. W. Klockentager, William Lewis, C. D. Stone and and E. R. Stone. The officers were: President, Thomas Simons, Sr.; vice president, E. R. Stone; and cashier, G. W. Klockentager. After the first year A. E. House became president and continued so until 1902, when E. R. Stone succeeded to that office, which he has held ever since. The vice president at the present time is J. W. Swinburne and the cashier is F. E. Stimson. Mr. Klockentager held the office of cashier until 1901, when the present incumbent succeeded to the office.

      In 1909 the capital was increased to twenty thousand dollars, which is its present figure. The officers and directors of the institution are business men of wide knowledge and sound judgment and under their careful management the bank not only earns a good dividend for the stockholders but adequately safeguards the funds of the depositors and promotes the growth of business in Delhi by the judicious extension of credit. It has proven an important factor in the commercial and financial development of the town and the district contiguous to it and has the confidence of all classes of people. The others concerned with its organization aside from those mentioned were James Burton, C. F. Fleming, Albert Boomer, J. W. Swinburne, R. H. Bowman, G. O. White, Mrs. E. C. Perkins, O. A. Holdridge, J. W. Hartmann, John Porter, Arthur A. House, E. H. Blanchard, W. H. Baker, Curtis Miller, Peter Lux, Daniel F. Jones, L. Schnittjer, James M. Phillips, G. B. Davis, G. H. Fuller, Austin Bowman, Allan L. Boomer, John R. White Jr., Mrs. Isabel Saunders and Clemenia Knowles.  



~ source: History of Delaware County, Iowa and its People, Illustrated, Volume II. The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1914, Chicago. Page 415.  Call Number 977.7385 H2m; LDS microfilm #934937.

~transcribed and contributed by Constance Diamond for Delaware County IAGenWeb


Return to Delaware County