Burr Oak Ridge School No. 3

Woodland Township, Decatur County, Iowa
1903 - 1904
Edith Bryson, Teacher

Joseph Hurley, Director
Eli Hutchinson, County Supt.

Names of Pupils

Lizzie Hurley
Mabel Clark
Ellen Hurley
Oscar Parsons
Laurence Barry
Jesse Arnold
Walter Shaw
Joseph Minthorn
Lester Webster
Lee Parsons
Elmer Shira
Fay Shaw

George Webster
Maynard Minthorn
Floyd Webster
Earl Bennett
Elva Johnson
Andrew Barry
Tommy Parsons
Glen Smith
Frank Smith
Patrick Barry
Bessie Clark
Fred Ray
James Barry
Claude Bryson
Eber Minthorn
Etta Parsons
Walter Johnson
Dot Webster
Cleo Clark
Pansy Shira
Belle Webster
Cahrley Johnson
Agnes Barry
transcribed by Conni McDaniel Hall
contributed by Decatur County Historical Museum
Leon Reporter, Leon, Iowa
Thursday, September 13, 1900

GEORGE WALLACE, of Woodland Township, handed us a curiosity Tuesday in the shape of an original teacher's report for a term of school taught in sub-district No. 3, Woodland Township by J.F. BAUGHMAN, thirty-nine years ago. The term commenced March 4, 1861, and closed August 24, 1861. The text books used were McGuffy's Orthography, McGuffy's Reader, Ray's Arithmetic, and the teacher's copies for writing. The school had a total enrollment of 44, and strange to say it was evenly divided, there being 22 boys and 22 girls. The ages of the boys ranged from 6 to 14 years and the girls from 5 to 17 years. Many of the pupils of this pioneer school still reside in Decatur County and it will be interesting to them to read the following list of pupils who attended the school:

BOYS -- W.A. Evans, James R. Evans, John Grogan, Timothy Grogan, Michael Grogan, Thomas Grogan, Joseph Wallace, George Wallace, Samuel Wallace, Henry Wallace, Al Wainscot, John M. Saul, Charles T. Lilly, Patrick Griffin, Daniel Griffin, James Daughton, Joseph Daughton, W.H.W. Hickman, John Mullin, Both. Mullin, Wm. Hinds, Wm. Barrett.

GIRLS -- Catharine Wallace, Elizabeth Wallace, Anna Wallace, Julia Daughton, Elizabeth Saul, Hester Saul, Isabelle Lilly, Melvina Lilly, Mary Wainscot, Sarah Wainscot, Hannah Griffin, Mary Evans, Catharine Evans, Phebe Wainscot, Lucinda Kilbern, Susan McDaniel, Mary Jane Saul, Mary Grogan, Ellen Wallace, Zamina Trembly, Sarrilda McDaniel, Mary Wallace.

Copied by Cordelia Suzann, December 29, 2002
Original page created by Sharon Becker, 2015; reformatted by Conni McDaniel Hall, Oct 2019.
Schools Directory *** Decatur County IAGenWeb