At The Helm

Dec. 2, 1890



To-day Clinton has as her honored guests a large delegation of men whose nerve, skill, and courage form the safeguard of many millions of dollars worth of property, as well as precious lives.They are members of the Brotherhood of Upper Mississippi river Pilots, who have come from their various and distant homes to meet together in this city for the purpose of discussing matters of vital interest to themselves as well as to the welfare of the country t large, and to elect officers for the ensuing year.The session will continue four days, morning afternoon, and evening sessions being held, and the Armory is the place in which they will make their head quarters.The spacious drill room has been transformed into a convention hall and profusely decorated with beautiful flowers, flags, and pictures and paintings of famous and well known vessels which have plied the waters of the mighty Mississippi in years past, recalling many incidents and scenes to the minds of the hardy navigators, many standing their tricks in the pilot house.On the north side of the room, under a canopy of American flags, is erected a rostrum, the front of which is formed by a pilot wheel, the natural wood being completely hidden from view by flowers.A know of black ribbon appears on the spoke in memory of the gallant Capt. Frank Looney, who died last winter.Above the president's stand appears the initials of the order, and in the background are the figures 1888, denoting the year in which the brotherhood was first organized.Floral wreaths, shields, hearts, and anchors abound on every hand, and add beauty and fragrance to the scene.
The association has a membership of 184, including all the pilots running on the Upper Mississippi.Among its objects is the information service by which all members are quickly made aware of any changes in the current, snags, or other obstructions in the channel.A death benefit is also paid to the family of a deceased member, amounting to a $2.50 assessment from each surviving member.The brotherhood has also become a recognized power in the direction of work and improvements on the river.
The present officers are: President, Capt. J. W. Rambo, Le Claire, Ia.Vice President, Capt. Jas. Beeson, Wabasha, Minn.: Secretary, Capt. M. L. Looney, La Cross, Wis.; Assistant Secretary and Treasurer, Capt. Vol. Bigelow, La Cross, Wis.
Following is the entire list of members, many of whom are already in the city, and many others will arrive during the session:

Adolph, Chris La Cross Wis.
Alexander Cy., Winona Minn.
Buisson Cyp. Wabasha Minn.
Buisson Joseph, Wabasha Minn.
Buisson Henry, Wabasha, Minn.
Brassler, Geo., Stillwater, Minn.
Bresse H. B. Brownsville, Minn.
Blair Walter, Davenport, Iowa
Bigelow, V. A., La Cross, Wis.
Burrough, Vetell, La Crosse, Wis.
Bell, Harry, Le Claire, Ia.
Baldwin, F. R., Clinton, Iowa
Bradley, John Winfield Mo.
Brown, R. S., Summer Hill Ill.
Buckingham, D. G., Albany, Ill.
Cassidy, R. N., Menominee, Wis.
Coleman, Andrew, Davenport, Ia
Chacey, J.D., Garden Plain, Ill.
Chacey, E.J. Hillsboro, Ill.
Carpenter, Geo., Fulton, Ill.
Carpenter, A.M., Fulton, Ill.
Carpenter, C.O., Fulton, Ill.
Carroll, J. H., St. Louis, Mo.
Calhoun, Jule T. Burlington, Ia.
Case August, Winona, Minn.
DeCamp, Ira, Wabasha, Minn.
Denberg, Gara, Davenport, Iowa
Day, L.A. La Crosse, Wis.
Duley, Joseph, Clinton, Iowa
Dalson, Thos. H., Dubuque, Iowa
Davis, W.M., Dubuque, Iowa
Davidson, Dan'l., Reeds Landing
Dodds, Robt., St. Louis, Mo.
Darling, L., Brownville, Minn.
Dorrance, D. F., Le Claire, Iowa
Desmond,Wm., Galena, Ill.
Dorrance, D.A., Le Claire, Iowa
Duncan, Thos., Clinton, Iowa
Davidson, C.H., Reeds Landing
Dickson, Dick., Dubuque, Iowa
Dobler, Wm., Summer, Wash. Ter.
Davis, Gordon, Lyons, Iowa.
Day, A. O., Le Claire, Iowa
Egan, I., V., Dubuque, Iowa
Fuller, Ira A., Pepin, Wis.
Follimer, J. C, La Cross, Wis.
Fuller, Ira A., Pepin, Wis.
Ferguson, Harvey.
Gallagher, Anthony, La Cross, Wis.
Gleason, Jas., St. Louis, Mo.
Gordon, W. W., La Cross Wis.
Gentzkow, Geo., Minneiska, Mo.
Gerlick, Paul, Galena, Ill.
Goyette, Henry, LaCross, Wis.
Hanks, S. B. Albany, Ill.
Hunter,Walt. Pepin, Wis.
Hight, Wash., St. Louis, Mo.
Hanks, S.S, Princeton Ia.
Hanks S. I., Princeton, Ia.
Hanks F. G., Princeton, Ia.
Hampton, J. Davenport, Ia.
Huttenhow, E., Trempealeau, Wis.
Hoy, John, Stillwater, Minn.
Hoy, Thos., Stillwater, Minn.
Heskell, J. S., La Cross, Wis.
Hill, A. J., La Cross, Wis.
Hire, J. S., Wabasha, Minn.
Hawthorn, J. M., Le Claire Ia.
Holsaple, W. D., Le Claire, Ia.
Hugunin, Jas., Albany Ill.
Law, D.C., Lyons,Ia
Langford, Perry, Albany,Ill.
Lancaster, S.E., Le Claire, Ia.
McCaffery, Hugh, Kellogg, Minn.
McCarthy, John, La Crosse, Wis.
McCaffery, John, Clinton, Ia.
Monroe, John, Clinton, Ia
Moore, J.G., Lyons, Ia.
Mossman, Henry, Le Claire, Ia.
Martin, Geo. G. Bellevue, Ia
Mitchell, J.B., Albany, Ill.
McGinley, O. E., Rock Island Ill.
McMahon,C. E., Clinton, Ia.
Metzgar, B.J., Princeton, Ia.
Mitchell, Abe, Clinton, Ia.
Mitchell W. S., Clinton, Ia.
McCaffery, Wm., Clinton Ia.
Millirou, Ira H, Pepin, Wis.
McCall, R. B., Le Claire, Ia.
McCarthy, John, Galena, Ill.
Mifford, D. G., Keokuk, Ia.
Nichols, Geo. S. La Cross, Wis.
Newcomb, O. J., Pepin, Wis.
Newcomb, I. M., Pepin, Wis.
O'Rourke, Thos., La Cross Wis.
O'Rourke Peter, La Cross Wis.
O'Connor, John, Rock Island, Ill.
Owen, R. S., Montrose, Ia.
Odell, Bruce, Wabasha, Minn.
Pearson, J. D., Andrew, Ia.
Pallis, Henry, Trempealeau, Wis.
Pollock, H. H., Le Claire, Ia.
Pevay, H. L., Stillwater, Minn.
Roundy, Robt., Wabasha, Minn.
Rocque, Antoine, Wabasha, Minn.
Rambo, J. W., Le Claire,Iowa.
Rhodes, Chas. S. Stillwater, Minn.
Root, E. T., St. Paul, Minn.
Ressor, J. G., Clinton, Ia.
Rook, John, Princeton, Ia.
Rutherford,Geo., Minneapslls.Minn
Roman, C./ B., Camanche, Ia.
Ruby, Jerome, Buffalo, Ia.
Short, A. M., La Cross, Wis.
Short, J. H., La Cross, Wis.
Short Geo. L., La Cross Wis.
Short J. E. Canton, Ia.
Smith, Orrin, Le Claire, Ia.
Short, Chas. M., Albany, Ia.
Savage, I. E., Morrison, Ill
Savage W. J., Morrison, Ill.
Schmidt, J.T., Reeds Landing, Minn.
Smith I. F., Le Claire, Ia.
Suiter, J. G., Le Claire, Ia.
Sprinsby, J. S. Le Claire, Iowa
Slocumb, W. R., Albany, Ill.
Suiter Zach, Le Claire, Iowa
Senthouse Geo., Le Claire, Ill.
Slocumb H. F., Winona, Minn.
Speak, Chas, Montrose, Iowa
Speak, Sam, Montrose, Iowa
Stebbins, Geol Sr. Le Claire, Ia.
Smith, F. Alma, Wis.
Turner, J. M. Lansing, Ia.
Tromly, Geo., Jr., Le Claire, Ia.
Tromly R. H., Le Claire, Ia.
Tromly, Geo. Jr., Le Claire, Ia.
Thompson, O. J. Davenport, Ia.
Withrow, A. R. La grange, Mo.
Whistler, W. H., Rock Island, Ill.
Withrow S. B., Winona, Minn.
Winans, Geo., Waukesha, Wis.
Wassen I. H., Le Claire, Ia.
Wilcox, H. C. Wabasha, Minn.
Woodward, Asa, Ft. Madison, Ia.
Wild, Frank, Albany, Ill.
Walker, Henry C., Argyle, Minn.
Whistler, J. L., Albany, Ill.
Whistler, John, Albany, ILL.
Wilson, Thos., Wabasha, Minn.
White,C. H. St. Louis, Mo.
Weave, Wm., Alma, Wis.
Walker, John S., Reeds Landing,
Wetenhall, Frank, La Cross, Wis.
Withrow, T. C., Lansing, Ia.
Wooders J. H., Canton, Mo.
Woodin, Wm., Winona, Minn.
York, W. M., Clinton, Iowa
Young, Joe H., Le Claire, Iowa