Frank L. Harrington

FRANK L. HARRINGTON is a native son of Dewitt, Clinton County, and has made a successful record there in business affairs and in devotion to the best interests of the community.

He was born at Dewitt November 11, 1893, son of James S. and Harriet (Naylor) Harrington. His father was also a native of Iowa, while his mother was born in New York State and came to Iowa in 1890. His parents are farmers near Dewitt. Their four children are: Mary, wife of Herbert E. Wilkinson, of Dewitt, Chauncey S., George A. and Frank L.

Frank L. Harrington after graduating from the Dewitt High School, in 1912, spent two years in Iowa State College at Ames. For two years he was associated with his brother in operating the home farm and for five years engaged in farming on his own account. In the meantime he had his military experience during the World war. He served in Battalion No. 122 of the Engineers Corps and went to France in September, 1918. He was overseas nearly a year, returning home in 1919.

Mr. Harrington's experience as a practical farmer gave him a solid basis on which to build a business career when in January, 1926, he started the Frank L. Harrington Implement Company. He has a store building and two lots at 513 Eighth Street, affording him room for carrying on his business as representative of the John Deere and Rock Island lines of implements and machinery.

Mr. Harrington married, January 29, 1918, Miss Mina M. Mulky, daughter of Daniel B. and Margaret Mulky, now deceased. Her father for many years was located at Knoxville, Iowa, as horse buyer for the eastern market. The two children of Mr. and Mrs. Harrington are Dorothy and Robert.

Mr. Harrington in the spring of 1929 was elected a member of the Dewitt School Board. He is a Republican, is a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason, member of the American Legion, the Dewitt Community Club and the Congregational Church.