Jane Lamb Memorial Hospital Training School

The following information is from the 50th Anniversary 1901-1951 booklet.

Fifty Years of Progress

FIFTY YEARS, half a century sounds long.  It represents the work of faithful women who have guided 450 young women through the Jane Lamb Memorial School of Nursing.

Nurses at Jane Lamb Memorial Hospital SchoolThe School of Nursing had its beginning in 1901 under the leadership of Miss Elizabeth Stewart, a graduate of the Chicago Policlinic Training School of Nurses, who was superintendent of the Agatha Hospital at the time.

At that time young women entered the hopital for two years training.  They were taught in service and received diplomas at the end of the two year period.  Registration and State Boards of Nurse Examiners were unknown at that time.  The Superintendent of the hospital was also Superintendent of Nurses and Instructor.

In 1904, Miss Augusta Maxfield succeeded Miss Stewart and directed the school for about 1 1/2 years.  Miss Smith followed Miss Maxfield and remained until 1908.

The first formal commencement exercises were held in 1906.  The Women's Ward was cleared of patients and the exercises were conducted there, for a class of five nurses.

Miss Smith presented Agatha Hospital pin and diploma, and delivered the commencement address.

After the formal exercises the class felt that the ceremony was not complete without a class yell, so someone quickly came forth with the following:

"Hickory, Hickory, Hickory, Biff, Boom, Bah, Prunes Agatha." Our informant told us, "Just think, they bought 20 pounds of prunes at a time, and they lasted forever."  How happy the average dietition would be to make them go that far.

Mrs. M. S. Jordan, of Clinton and Mrs. Mary Moles of Kansas City were members of the 1906 class.  Mrs. Sara Wanless Florence was among the first graduates of Agatha.  She practically grew up in the hospital, as her mother did practical nurse work in the hospital, ever since its beginning.

Jane Lamb Memorial Hospital

During the severe typhoid epidemic in 1905, the hospital closed its doors to all except typhoid patients and emergencies.  All nurses were assigned to duty with typhoic cases except one who was assigned to emergency work.  The devotion to service of these nurses is best told by the older citizens of Clinton.  It was through their faithful service that the death rate was very low, but one of their students succumbed to the dread disease.

Miss Marietta Tanner came to the hospital in 1908.  Shortly after that, the period of training was changed from two to three years, to conform with the trend to more formal teaching of nurses.  It is interesting to note that about the same time the school here was inspected by the representatives of the State Board of Health and the school and curriculum were fully approved.  At that time the hospital had 50 beds and 23 student nurses.

Miss tanner retained the position of Hospital Administrator.  A Director of Nursing and an instructor were added to the staff.

Miss Lucy Druegert came to us as Director of the School in 1927.  She was succeeded in 1930 by Miss Ann Butterfield, who in turn was followed by Miss Edith Reinhart in 1931. 

The Alumnae was organized in 1918.  It has always been active in promoting the welfare of its Alma Mater and furthering the advancement of Nurses.

The Journals of Nursing since 1927 are bound every year by the Alumnae Association.

Many improvements in the Nurses Home, especially the kitchen, have been made by the Alumnae Association.  They have also maintained a room in the hospital since 1923.

Emma Young Nurses Home

During the recent drive for funds to build a new addition to Jane Lamb Memorial Hospital, the members of the Alumnae and their friends pledged $3,607.50 as a memorial to the nurses.

In looking over a roster of our graduates, we find our nurses in every field of nursing: Administration, Anesthestists, Education, Army, Navey, Veteran's Administration, General Hospitals, Special Hospitals, Public Health, X-ray Technicians and Industrial.

Miss Tanner resigned as Hospital Administrator in 1940.  She was followed by Miss Ada Alverson and Mrs. Margaret Kirkpatrick.

Mrs. Kirkpatrick left us this year, and Mr. Robert Riggs has taken over the reigns.

Looking back over what has been accomplished during the past 50 years by our school, we can look confidently into the future, and hold our banner high.

Roster Jane Lamb Memorial Hospital Alumnae Association