1
Van Allen Building (Petersen-Harned-Von Maur, Inc.), 200 5th Avenue South; 1913-
 1915; Louis Sullivan, Architect, of Chicago; Daniel Haring, Contractor. 
The Van Allen Building consists of four floors plus basement and attic.  The  exterior has 
brick spandrels and piers over the structural steel skeletal frame.  Terra cotta is used for 
horizontal accent banding and for three vertical applied mullion medallions on the front 
façade.  Marble facing is used around the glass show windows on the first floor. 
In 1976, Phil Feddersen, Architect, of Clinton, established a rehabilitation program for 
the building.  The deteriorated Luxor Prism windows above the first-floor show windows 
were replaced by solar bronze sheet glass.  The entry doors of aluminum, which replaced 
the original wood doors, were in turn replaced by glass and mahogany doors. 
The building is an excellent and important work if Architect Louis Sullivan.  The 
building design is dignified, with emphasis on the modern expression of the steel skeletal 
frame.  At the same time, some terra cotta ornamentation is applied in Sullivan's unique 
style of Floral inspiration design. 

2
Ankeny Building, 201-211 5th Avenue South; 1930; Harold Holmes, Architect, of  
Chicago; Daniel Haring, Contractor. 
Two stories in height, the building street facades are clad with cream-colored terra cotta 
panels.  Upper story windows are steel and lass in a stylized "Chicago window" 
expression.  Signs and some storefront revisions are the only changed to the original 
architecture.  The building is a good local example of the so-called "Modernistic Style" 
or Art Deco Style.  The terra cotta ornament is expressive of the Art Deco movement. 

3
Wilson Building (J. C. Penney/Wilson Building), 217 5th Avenue South, 1812-1914; 
John Morrell & Son, Architects, of Clinton; Daniel Haring, Contractor.
The building is the tallest one downtown and is a major landmark.  The front façade is of 
white terra cotta.  The vertical lines are accented in the typical "skyscraper" fashion of 
Sullivan.  Horizontal spandrels of terra cotta claddings and ornament over the structural 
beams are suppressed so that the vertical piers can de dominant.  Changes from the 
original construction include removal of a heavy, projecting cornice at the roof line, 
replacement of the double-hung windows, and ground-floor storefront alterations.  The 
building is a good local example of the Commercial Style which was originally derived 
from the "Chicago School of Architecture".  The front façade is richly textured, patterned 
and ornamented—yet, the major lines of the structure still retain definition and 
appropriateness. 

4
1st National Bank (vacant), 226-228 5th Avenue South; 191101912; John Morrell & Son, 
Architects, of Clinton; Daniel Haring, Contractor.
This bank building, now vacant, is two stories high and fifty feet wide.  The front façade 
is of dressed stone and is distinguished by a central portical of flanking, fluted ionic 
columns which support a pediment.  The facade is marred by a metal marquee and sign.  
However, the building is still a good local example of the Neo-Classical Revival Style of 
the early 20th Century.

5
Allen's Tea Room (vacant), 230 5th Avenue South; c. 1870.  This vacant commercial 
building is of brick, with segmented arches at the upper-story window heads.  The facade 
is of simplified Italianate Style.  The building is intact except for the first-floor storefront 
which has been drastically altered.  For years, a well-known tea room was located here.  
The restaurant interior is reportedly intact and preserved, with historic finishes.  

6
Jacobsen Building/The Lamb Block & Masonic Temple (F. W. 
Woolworth/Jacobsen Building), 242-246 5th Avenue South; 1886; Josiah L. Rice, 
Arhitect, of Clinton. 
A large, three-story building of red brick with stone "flat-arched" windows.  It has street 
facades in relief with fluted piers and string courses.  The ground-floor storefronts have 
been "modernized" and the easterly frontage of the building has been rebuilt and reclad. 
Highly eclectic in design, the building combines elements of the Second Empire Style  
(such as the mansard roof and cornice treatment); the High Victorian Gothic Style (such 
as the fluted pilasters with vertical emphasis and window head treatment).  In addition, 
the Chateauesque Style influence is evident with the double window grouping and 
general freedom of organization.

7
U. S. Post Office, 301 5th Avenue South; 1901-1902; James Knox Taylor, Supervising 
Architect, U. S. Treasury Department; Louis Simon, Architect; M. Yeager & Son, 
Contractor. 
A large, one and one-half story building, the Post Office is clad with stone and has a flat 
roof.  An addition of similar style was built to the rear in 1934 by John Redding, 
contractor, of Whiting, Indiana with Henry Hines as Construction Engineer.  The entry 
steps on the east were a 1966 revision as designed by the GSA Design and construction 
Division, Region 6, Kansas City, Missouri.
The Building is highly eclectic in design derivation.  The massiveness, monumentality,  
use of Ionic column capitals, and other classical elements are of Neo-Classical 
Revival Style, while the emphasis on raked horizontal joints of the stonework and 
window head work suggests a rustification and scale of Renaissance Style-inspired 
design.

8
Charles F. Curtis Coach House, (rear) 417 5th Avenue South; c. 1885; Josiah L. Rice, 
Architect, of Clinton.
This is the coach house for the Charles Curtis mansion.  It is located at the rear of the 
wide side yard and east of the mansion.  The coach house is of brick with a steeply 
pitched roof.  The building was remodeled in 1965 with apartments constructed.  
Alterations include removal of a centrally located cupola from the roof ridge and 
installation of aluminum storm windows.  Like the mansion, the design of the coach 
house is of Queen Anne Style; however, it is more reserved in the variety of materials 
employed, and makes use of symmetry. 
Charles F. Curtis House (Fifth Avenue Realty Apartments), 417 5th Avenue South; c. 
1885; John Fegan, Builder.
This Mansion is of brick with stone trim.  A corner turret, which formerly had a conical 
roof, anchors the northeast corner of the building and acts as a pivot between the wide 
side yard and the front yard.  The building has now been converted to apartment use.  In 
the mode of the Queen Anne Style, the design of the mansion employs a variety of 
materials, textures, colors, and patterns.  Very opulent and extravagant with material 
usage, the building was a showcase of one of the co-owners of the Curtis Company 
woodworking factory of Clinton. 
George M. Curtis Coach House ("Carriage House Community Theater"), 420 5th Avenue 
South (rear); c. 1885; Josiah L. Rice, Architect, of Clinton.
The Coach House has a brick lower story, wood shingle upper story, and newer asphalt 
shingle gabled roof.  The building has been converted to a theater for the Clinton 
Community Theater.  Like the mansion, the building is of Queen Anne Style but is more 
quiet in design, with symmetrical composition and fewer diverse forms and materials 
than the mansion.  This approach, however, it appropriate and the two buildings together 
create a pleasant setting of historic architecture. 

9
George M. Curtis House (The Clinton Woman's Club), 420 5th Avenue South; c. 1880.
A  large. two and one-half story brick veneer mansion, the building makes sumptuous use 
of materials—especially brick—and a variety of roof planes and windows.  The original, 
lacy wood porch has been replaced by the present semicircular in plan, was removed in 
the 1940's.  The building is now used for the Clinton Woman's Club, which purchased 
the house in 1925.  The mansion is a good example of the Queen Anne Style.  An 
important house for an important industrialist in the history of Clinton, the building is 
notable—a fact that is recognized by the state in its approval of the building for National 
Register status. 

10
A. G. Smith House (Clinton Manor Nursing Home—vacant), 421 5th Avenue South; 
1914-1915; John Morrell & Son, Architects, of Clinton; Haring Brothers, Builder.
A two-story brick mansion with hip roof, the building was converted to an elderly care 
facility but now is vacant and for sale.  Rectilinear and symmetrical, the building design 
suggests a Classical Revival Style influence.  However, it also show a Prairie School 
Style influence in the use of warm colored brick and a horizontal emphasis, as expressed 
in the trim and broad, hip roof with paired brackets.  The building design was progressive 
for its time.

11
Oscar Klein House (St. John's Episcopal Church parsonage).  503 5th Avenue South; 
1918.
A two-story brick house with stone trim, it has a broad, overhanging hip roof.  The 
building has an enclosed one-story "sun porch" on the east and an entry porch with 
flanking brick piers on the north.  The design of the building was obviously influenced by 
the Prairie School Style movement.  This influence is exhibited by the general building 
massing, grouping of windows, the strong horizontal lines defined by the hip roof eave 
lines, and the stone string course at the line of the second-floor window sills.  
Concessions to traditional design include the use of double-hung windows and chimney 
set to the side, instead of centralized position. 

12
H. W. Seaman House (James Hass Apartments), 516 5th Avenue South; 1904; John 
Morrell & Son, Architects, of Clinton; Daniel Haring, Builder.
The house makes use of warm-hued brick, terra cotta, store trim, and tiled hip roof.  The 
former mansion has been converted to twelve apartments.  The design of the building is 
eclectic with use of symmetry and rustification of the lower-story "base" in the 
Renaissance Revival Style.  The design also freely borrows from the Georgian Revival 
Style.  This influence includes the front porch Ionic columns and the stylized Palladian 
window motif above the porch.  In addition, the hip roof and horizontal emphasis 
suggests and awareness of Prairie School Style development in Chicago. 

13
VFW/Iowa National Guard (Iowa National Guard), 213 6th Avenue South; c. 1947; 
Walter E. Bort, Architect, of Clinton; Daniel Haring, Contractor.
A two-story building approximately 45 feet wide, it is faced with marble.  Originally 
designed for the VFW (Veterans of Foreign Wars), its ownership changed during 
construction and it was converted to a National Guard Armory.  A vehicular entrance, 
with garage door, is centered on the first floor.  The Armory stands on the site of the 
Clinton Theater and is a rare Clinton example of so-called "Modernistic" Style.  The 
clean, simple lines of the building and the stylized figure reliefs as ornamental features 
are characteristically Modernistic. 

14
Wilcox/George L. Curtis House, 402 6th Avenue South; c. 1869, 1880.
A two-story brick house with a to-story wraparound front porch, the building 
incorporated an earlier structure built in 1869.  It was rebuilt in 1880 for the Wilcox 
family and again in 1906 for George Curtis.  The two-story wood porches were 
constructed c. 1907.  The building, of eclectic design, can perhaps be most closely 
identified with Renaissance Revival Style.  Altered by successive influential 
industrialists, the house is a handsome reminder of the past in Clinton.

15
A. F. Hopkins House, 430 7th Avenue South; c. 1886; Josiah L. Roce, Architect, of 
Clinton.
Once a fine residence, the house has been converted to a four-unit apartment building.  
The building has stone foundation walls, wood siding, upper-story wood shingles, and 
stucco panels with wood trim at the gables.  A corner turret and arched window in the 
roof gable are the same brown color, the house design has been improved by the quieting 
of the original busy detailing of the Queen Anne Style.

16
Francis Power House, 444 7th Avenue South; c. 1870.
The house is of frame construction with foundation walls of stone.  It is a good local 
example of an early adaptation of the Renaissance Revival Style.  The wide, overhanging 
hip roof with brackets and the cast-iron railing atop the roof of the later, Queen Anne 
Style inspired porch are the major features of interest. 

17
Union Iron Works' Iowa Machine Works & Foundry, 106 8th Avenue South; c. 1856.
An early brick industrial building, it has a gable roof with a "false front" of a high, 
stepped parapet for the major, street façade.  Engaged brick pilasters on the front divide 
the façade into two equal bays.  The large, west door has been altered and raised to allow 
struck service while the east door in the main façade retains the segmented-arch, original 
appearance.  Twentieth-century additions flank and extend the rear of the original 
building.  Simple and utilitarian but warm and handsome in appearance, the building is a 
good example of functional vernacular design of early industrial architecture in Iowa.

18
Public Library, 306 8th Avenue South 1903-1904; Patton & Miller, Architects, of 
Chicago; Daniel Haring, Builder.
A two-story building with basement, the library has exterior walls of cut and dressed 
limestone.  A matching addition to the rear houses the main two-level stack area.  Other 
exterior changes include a "modern" canopy and entry at grade level to the basement.  
The main doors to the library have been replaced with modern aluminum ones, and pipe 
railing have been added to the entry steps.
Of eclectic design in the Beaux Arts Classicism Style manner, the library has a 
monumental entry with professional steps and flanking, paired columns.  Symemetry of 
design and borrowing of Greek and Roman—inspired elements complete the 
composition.  The design was the work of Chicago architects, Patton and Miller.  They 
designed many Carnegie libraries in the Midwest in the early part of this century, 
including the old library at Mason City, Iowa (which is very similar in design to 
Clinton's) and the library in Charles City, Iowa. 

19
Lafayette Lamb House (YWCA/Gateway YWCA), 317 7th Avenue South; 1877, rebuilt 
1906; W. W. Sanborn, Architect, of Clinton; J. C. Clausen, Superintendent of 
Construction.
Built in 1877 with red brick, mansard rood, and turreted tower, the wood stud-framed 
building was rebuilt in 1906.  The original brick veneer was removed and the gray 
cement brick of the Iowa Granite Brick company installed.  The roof was rebuilt as a flat 
roof and the tower was removed.  Built as the mansion of a lumber baron, the house was 
donated to the YWCA in 1920.  Subsequently, many alterations were made and additions 
built.
The Lafayette Lamb mansion, as originally built, was of Second Empire Style but the 
1906 "modernization' resulted in a building that more closely resembles Georgian 
Revival Style.  The sheer bulk of such a large, brick veneer building, combined with its 
association with the Lamb and Carpenter families, contribute to the significance of the 
building.  The building has been approved on the state level for National Register status.

20
St. Mary's Church, 520 9th Avenue South; 1884-1888; Josiah L. Rice, Architect, of 
Clinton.
A large church structure of brick with extensive use of stone trim, the building has a 
simple gable roof, imposing corner tower, and pointed, arched windows.  Although 
designed by Rice with a tall, pointed steeple, the building was completed with the tower 
terminated just above the eaveline of the main gable roof.  After 1904, some of the tower 
was added with brick and a belfrey of dressed stone.  The entry doors are recent 
replacements of aluminum and glass.  Of imposing scale, the church is a good local 
example of Gothic Revival Style design.

21
St. Mary's Rectory, 516 9th Avenue South; 1896; Josiah L. Rice, architect, of Clinton.
A large, two and one-half story rectory, the building has brick exterior walls with stone 
window lintels.  A corner tower with turret and wraparound wood front porch are notable 
features of the design.  Of Queen Anne Style with Romanesque Style overtones, the 
design—through simple handling of the walls, window openings and use of brick-creates 
a handsome, imposing yet warm and humanly scaled structure that is appropriate for a 
church rectory.

22
C&NW Railroad Station (Old Railroad Station/flea Market), 317 11th Avenue South; 
1915-1917.
     A long, one-story red brick building, it was a railroad passenger station but now 
houses  a flea market.  The higher section of the building has large, arched window 
openings.  
     The entire building is hip-roofed, except for a dominant gable roof, on cross axis, to 
identify the major entrance.  All of the roofing is of red tile.  The building is a handsome 
design that is influenced by the Italian Romanesque Style. 

23
First Presbyterian Church, 410 5th Avenue South; 1927-1929; Coolidge & Hodgdon, 
Architects, of Chicago; Daniel Haring, contractor.
A sprawling church complex, the sanctuary "anchors" the corner at the 5th Avenue 
South-South 4th Street intersection.  The educational wing and parish hall extend around 
the rear and opposite property line to form an open courtyard.  The "open" street side of 
the court was originally designed to be closed by a two-story manse and tower.  The 
church is an excellent example of the late Gothic Revival Style.  It utilizes a simple forms 
and picturesque massing with emphasis on richly textured stone walls.

24
Universalist/Apostolic Church of God/Sacred Heart (Sacred Heart Catholic Church), 316 
South 4th Street; c. 1870; W. Pashley, Architect/Builder.  
Built c. 1870 as a frame structure, the church was extensively remodeled c. 1893.  Brick 
veneer was added over the wood siding; the entry doors were relocated from the tower 
base to a centralized position which required alternation of a large window; and, a rosette 
window in the gable was replaced by brick and a stone cross.  Lancet windows were 
created below and flanking the cross.  In addition, an open, Gothic Revival Style belfry 
was added above the tower.  A series of small dormers in the roof have been eliminated.  
Recent alterations include; re-siding the portion of the original wood tower that was 
retained, and replacing the school built to the north in 1893 with a new school building.  
The church is an example of Gothic Revival Style.
Built as a Universalist sanctuary. The building was occupied about 1875 by the Apostolic 
Church of God, and anti-Catholic congregation; in 1891, the building was purchased for 
an outlying mission of St. Boniface in Lyons.  Then in 1893, Sacred Heart Roman 
Catholic Church obtained individual identity.  Note: Date on building is 1891, which is 
the year Sacred Heart Church began, not the construction date of the building.

25
St. John's Episcopal Church, 240 4th Avenue South; 1898; Josiah L. Rice. Architect, of 
Clinton; John Lake, Builder.
The building is constructed of Anomosa limestone with Bedford limestone trim.  The 
interior woodwork is of native red oak.  The interior changes include the addition of a 
wall of mosaics behind the altar in 1910-11 and replacement of the original "cathedral" 
stained glass windows with new art glass designs in 1977-79.  Exterior changes include a 
parish hall addition 1948, designed by James Loftus of Omaha, Nebraska, and built by 
Ole Jorgensen and Sons in 1953.
      The church, designed in Gothic Revival Style, conveys a feeling of strength and 
solidarity through the use of stone as the major building material.  At the same time, a 
sense of warmth and human scale is achieved—mainly by means of the highly textured 
wall surfaces of quarry faced stone.

26
Whitney Merkley House/C. C. Fay House (American Federal Savings & Loan 
Association), 331 4th Avenue South; 1884.
A two and one-half story brick structure with corner turret and wide front porch, the 
building has been successfully converted from residential to commercial use.  This 
conversion, done with sympathy and with minimal change to the house, has successfully 
preserved an architectural piece of the past.  Rich in textures and patterns of the Queen 
Anne Style, the former mansion is now the home of American Federal Savings and Loan.

27
Johnson/Huston House, 500 4th Avenue South; 1871.
This fine residence has a wide, overhanging hip roof.  A "widow's walk" atop the roof 
and original front and side porches have been removed.  Although of Italianate Style 
influence, the house appearance is more restrained and refined than that usually 
associated with the style.  The red-hued brickwork is excellently done and creates a 
humanly scaled and textured setting of warmth and invitation.  The house was built for 
the Johnson family; the Dunns are recorded to have acquired the property in 1886; and, 
the Huston acquisition was in 1893.

28
Ed J. Kreiger Apartments (Dalton/Proffer/Krueger Apartments), 503-505 3rd Avenue 
South; 1919; Ed Krieger, Contractor.
     A large, rectilinear building with broad, overhanging hip roof and arched window 
openings, it has exterior wall surfaces of richly textured, cream-colored stucco with lower 
wall surfaces of red brick.  Terra cotta, richly ornamented and colored in blue and  white 
glazes, decorates the entry arch supports.  The building has a uniquely original design 
that combines a Mediterranean Style approach with the horizontal lines, brick base, hip 
roof, and terra cotta ornament of the Prairie School Style.

29
Leander Sisco House, 505 10th Avenue South; c. 1868.
      This two-story brick house is hip-roofed with soffit brackets.  Windows with arched 
"eyebrows" and quoined corners are other distinguishing features.  The broad front porch 
is a later addition.  The house is a good local and intact example of the Italianate Style.

30
Edward Andrew House, 535 10th Avenue South; 1867; Polk and Bacon, Builders.
      A frame house with wood lap siding and gable roof of asphalt shingles, it is well- 
maintained with integrity.  The house is of simple vernacular construction with some      
Renaissance Revival Style influence as exhibited by the window head detailing.

31
Weston House (Snodgrass/Utroska Property), 538-540 10th Avenue South; c. 1869. 
       A two and one-half story house, it is of frame construction has mansard roofs. 
      Alterations include; conversion to apartments, re-siding, porch reconstruction, and 
entry stoop replacement.  The house was built with fifteen rooms, colored marble in the 
vestibule, and handsome, inlaid wooden floors.  Although altered and therefore lacking 
integrity of design, the building still is a good local example of the Second Empire Style.  
The scalloped roofing shingles, roof forms, and tower metalwork are of special 
significance.  The house was built for John Copeland Weston.

32
Messer House (Long/Teachout Property), 550 10th Avenue South; c. 1858. 
Now converted to apartments, the house is two stories high with attic and gable roof. 
The front wraparound porch is a later addition with the eave work probably altered at the 
same time.  The brick walls and stone lintels over the windows have been painted.  An 
ornate chandelier from the house is now in the house located at 2314 North 2nd Street.  
An early mansion in Clinton, this house design is of simple vernacular style with Federal 
style influence. 

33
Henry Gerhart Property (Carstensen Storage Warehouse), 5160519 South 1st Street; c. 
1855.
Originally a three-story brick commercial building, it unfortunately has had additions of 
the fourth story and an expansion to the north.  The ground-floor storefront is of cast iron 
and glass.  Although altered by the addition of another floor and expansion, the building 
is significant with the retention of the cast iron ground-floor storefront and window 
pediments.  This integrity of the lower stories is rare. The building is an excellent 
example of early river front commercial architecture that was once common-especially in 
St. Louis—and is now almost entirely demolished.  The original building facade was an 
interpretation of Renaissance Revival Style.

34
Memorial Flag Pole, Riverview Park—East end of 5th Avenue south at river Levee;  
1930; Leonard Crunelle, Sculptor; Cast by A. M. Art Bronze Foundry, Jules Berchem & 
Son, Chicago.
       The Memorial Flag Pole has a sculptured base of cast bronze human figures.  The 
original flag pole of wood has been replaced with one of aluminum.  Originally located 
on axis with 5th Avenue South and in a formal setting, the flag pole was relocated and a 
new setting designed by VISTA for the Corps of Engineers, together with construction 
required for the new levee.  The flag pole base incorporates heroic statues 
commemorating the Veterans of World War I.  The new retaining walls and siting are a 
separate memorial to Veterans of World War II, the Korean War, and the Viet Nam War.

35
Lighthouses, Riverview Park at River Levee; c. 1935; Leo P. Hannager, Designer; WPA, 
Builder. 
       Three decorative towers, with the appearance of lighthouses, stand on the levee and 
mark the edge of the Mississippi River.  Each tower is octagonal in plan.  The masonry 
shaft of each tower tapers inward as it rises.  Sheet metal roofing covers the  small, 
stylized domes which are over the "open" work of the platform atop the shaft. 
      The lighthouses have been symbols and identifying markers along the river 
in Riverview Park ever since their construction by the WPA. 

36
Municipal Swimming Pool, Riverview Park; 1929; Walter E, Bort, Architect, of Clinton; 
Clinton Engineering Company, Contractor. 
When built, the pool cost $90,000 and was the largest swimming pool in the midwest at 
that time.  The bathouse is of Spanish Colonial Revival Style, with stucco-finished 
exterior walls.  The window openings in the bathhouse are, generally, fully arched.

37
Moeszinger-Marquis Hardware Company (C. E. Armstrong & Sons), 721 South 
2nd Street; 1912; Josiah L. Rice, Architect, of Clinton. 
       A massive three-story brick warehouse, it was an addition to an original five-
bay building adjacent on the north and now demolished.  The original building was built  
c. 1898.  The existing building is a good local example of Romanesque Style.  C. E.  
Armstrong and Company, established in 1878 and wholesalers of hardware, plumbing, 
heating, and mill supplies, have occupied the building since 1932. 

38
Jen's Tap and Kurtz Glass 706-710 South 2nd Street; 1969. 
The upper story of each store is brick (the north bay has been painted) with cast iron 
window "lintels" and tin cornice.  Except for the altered ground floors, the buildings are 
good local examples of Renaissance Revival buildings.  This building, when combined 
together with other buildings in the 700 block of south 2nd Street, Is part of a minor 
district of historic architecture.

39
RJS Electronics/Golden Horse Tavern/The Corner Tavern 700-704 South 2ndt street; 
1869. 
These three parcels of storefronts comprise one brick building that is two stories high.  
The parapet has a pattern of corbeled brick.  The ground-floor storefronts have been 
altered.  The Italianate Style building comprises part of a two-building street façade of 
approximately 115 feet on the west side of the 700 block of South 2nd Street. 

40
Clinton National Bank (Henry's/Reynold's Lounge),518-522 South 2nd Street; 1868. 
A three-story commercial building, the structure is of brick; however, 23 feet of façade 
on the corner is clad in stone.  The ground-floor columns are of cast iron.  The upper-
story windows have round-arched openings and many of the windows have been replaced 
or covered over.  Despite offensive ground-floor remodelings, the building is a handsome 
example of the Italianate Style.  The corner store was the second home of the Clinton 
National Bank, formed May 1, 1865.

41.        
Casa Duran Restaurant 516 South 2nd Street; c. 1868. 
A small commercial building of two stories, it has brick walls with arched second 
Floor windows.  A projecting cornice and intricate brickwork ornament the upper 
Story, while the ground floor has been remodeled for the restaurant housed within. 
The building's upper story is a good example of period architecture featuring adaptation 
of the Italianate Style.

42.	
Charles Koons' Building/Snow White Drug Store (Vogue), 512 South 2nd Street; c.  
1919. 
A small commercial building of two stories in height, the walls of the structure are of  
Brick.  The front façade utilizes white glazed face brick punctuated with white terra cotta 
ornament.  The wall is capped with a white terra cotta copng.  The original upper-story, 
double-hung wood windows have been replaced with fixed tinted sheet glass.  The 
ground floor was altered several years ago.  The building is a good example of 
"Sullivanesque Style".  This so-called style emphasizes the simplicity of building form 
with applied decorative accents based on original ornaments floral designs derived by 
Louis Sullivan.  Sullivan's influence is readily apparent in the building with the ornament 
usage.

43.	
Donlan-Redden Company (vacant/Old Montgomery Ward), 503-511 South 2nd Street; 
1914; John Morrell & Son, Architects, of Clinton; Daniel Haring, Builder.
This building is a two-story commercial building with skeletal framing clad over with 
brick.  The front façade is of face brick with decorative accents of terra cotta 
ornamentation.  The brick piers between the windows on the upper story have been 
painted and the windows have been clad over.  The ground-floor storefront has been 
altered.  The building is a simple but handsome statement in the modern vein of the so-
called Commercial Style (based on the innovative "Chicago School of Architecture" of 
the late nineteenth century.

44.	
Howes Block (Line's Department Store), 419-425 South 2nd Street; 1900; John Lake, 
Builder.
A large, four-story commercial building, the exterior street facades of the building are of 
red face brick with decorative accents of red terra cotta.  The ground-floor storefront and 
the upper-story windows have been altered and modernized.  This building is of highly 
eclectic design with the major influence that of the Renaissance Revival Style, as evident 
in the use of engaged pilasters with lonic capitals.

45.	
Pahl Building (Chris S. Martensen Building), 402-406 south 2nd Street; c. 1916; Gus 
Ladehoff, Builder (and also, Designer). 
This building is two stories high with a street façade of white glazed terra cotta.  
Exuberant ornamentation of white glazed terra otta provides decoraive accents to the 
upper façade.  The ground floor has been altered.  The street façade is a significant 
architectural interest with the use of Sullivanesque terra cotta ornamentation.  This Louis 
Sullivan-inspired ornament if highlighted by the placement of the pieces in a neutral field 
of plain white terra cotta.  Although marred somewhat by alterations, the main façade still 
achieves a simple grace of composition and subtle delight.

46.	
Roehl/Phillips Furniture, 308 South 2nd Street; rebuilt 1960; Phil Feddersen, Architect, 
of Clinton.
The front façade of face brick is relieved by two vertical strip of louvers.  Integrated into 
these strips are casement windows with copper roof projections and "balconies) of stucco 
facing.  The ground-floor store windows are recessed to form an arcade.  The design by 
Clinton architect Phil Feddersen can best be described as "Wrightian".  Based upon 
compositional and design elements familiar to the work of Frank Lloyd Wright, 
Feddersen created a building of warmth, human scale, and aesthetic appeal.  The 
integration of the signage into the design is especially notable.

47.	
C&NW Railroad Freight Station (Old C&NW Freight House/Bennett Box Pallet 
Company), 823 South 3rd Street; 1917; Haring Bros., Contractor.
Built as a freight house for the C&NW railroad, the building is now used as a warehouse.  
The front façade of the two-story building has a grand, Romanesque arch which has been 
filled in with wood siding.  The face brick of the front facade has a beautiful range of 
reds and is lain in exquisite patterns.  The building design, without a strong reliance on 
historic styles, creates a strong image nevertheless, by the use of handsome brick and 
patterns.

48.	First United Methodist Church, 621 South 3rd Street; 1902-1903; Sidney J. 
Osgood of Grand Rapids, Michigan, Architect; John Lake & Son, Builder.
This brick church has a stone watertable and terra cotta string courses; the arch framing is 
also of terra cotta.  Atlerations include the removal of a "lantern" at the peak of the peak 
of the main hip roof, closing of the arched clerestory window on the south, and new entry 
doors.  The church building has an interesting variety of massing and play of forms.  
Highly eclectic in design approach, the handling of the building design elements most 
closely follows the Romanesque Style, although there is also some influence of the 
Second Renaissance Revival Style.  The first stone for the church was laid in August 
1902; the cornerstone was laid October 5, 1902; and, the dedication was held on 
September 13, 1903.

49.	
First Nation Bank, 405 South 3rd Street; 1975-76; Expression Inc. with Phil Feddersen, 
Associated Architects.
A modern bank building, it is built of concrete with glass and concrete block exterior 
surfaces.  The concrete block has a "corduroy" texture with the horizontal joints struck 
smooth to emphasize the textured surface of the block.  Much of the bank is raised over 
the drive-in facilities.  A bank of recent and modern design, it is of statewide interest with 
its progressive architecture and unique conceptual approach.

50.	
1st Baptist Church/Norwegian & Danish church/Church of Jesus Christ Latter Day Saints 
(Church of Jesus Christ Latter Day Saints). 311 South 3rd Street; 1958.
A small, frame, one-story church, it has a new foundation of concrete blocks.  The 
exterior siding and asphalt roofing shingles are also new.  The building was moved to this 
location in 1869 from 620 South 4th Street.  Although moved, altered, vacant and with 
new exterior finishes, the church still exhibits Gothic Revival Style features such as the 
pointed arched windows.  The building was the church for the 1st Baptist congregation 
from 1858 to 1874, it then became the home of a succession of denominations, starting in 
1874--and the Norwegian Lutherans alone after 1876.  It became the house of worship for 
the Church of Jesus Christ Latter Day Saints in 1905.

51.	
Bethel A. M. E. Church, 303 South 3rd Street; 1884
The building was erected on land deeded by the Iowa Land Company.  The building is a 
one-story brick church with basement.  In the early 1900's, the church superstructure was 
jacked up and a "new" foundation constructed of concrete block with simulated stone 
facing.  The church building is handsome with a simple grace and dignity of design.  
Although simplicity of construction suggests a label of "vernacular", the round-arched 
windows may have been inspired by the Romanesque Style.  The African M. E. Church 
was organized in 1868 with the assistance of J. H. Young and other members of the First 
Methodist Church. 

52.	
Henry Property (The Fun House), 814 South 4th Street; c. 1888.
The brick commercial building has an ornate tin cornice and a reasonably intact ground-
floor storefront of cast iron columns, sheet tin, and wood.  The second-floor windows at 
the front of the building have been rebuilt.  The Italianate Style features, especially the tin 
cornice, and the integrity of the storefront combine to provide architectural interest in the 
building. 

53.	
Nickel and Paddock Property (Thomas Burnett Property and Carroll Johnson Property), 
800-804 South 4th Street.
The exterior walls of the building are of brick with a rich, red brick used as the 
predominant color, in contrast to the buff-colored brick used to define pilasters and 
cornice line.  All of the upper-story windows are "eye-browed" with horizontal window 
lintels on the front façade and segmented arched windows on the other street façade.  A 
tin cornice caps the street facades and each storefront is also identified by a tin pediment 
atop the cornice line.  Early alterations include the addition of a second-floor bay window 
on the 7th Avenue South Street (north) façade.  Recent alterations include the metal 
awning on the north façade and the storefronts.
The building is an excellent example of the Italianate Style as applied to a commercial 
building.  The upper-story is especially noteworthy.  Unfortunately, the ground-floor 
alterations compromise the integrity of the historic architecture. 

54.	
1st Baptist Church, 620 South 4th Street; 1870 and 1887; Josiah L. Rice, Architect, of  
Clinton.
Originally built in 1870, the building was badly damaged by fire on July 27, 1887.  The 
exterior brick walls were left standing and were retained and incorporated into a four -
months' long reconstruction of the building.  The shingled belfry was part of the 
reconstruction designed by Josiah L. Rice.  A "recent" one-story addition to the south has 
a shallow, pitched shed roof behind a wall of the front façade.  Another more recent one-
story addition is attached on the north side of the building.
The building is a handsome brick adaptation of the Romanesque Revival Style that was 
especially popular for ecclesiastical architecture in this country from about 1855 to 1870.  
Including the reconstruction, this building was the third church on this site.  The first 
church was a small, frame building that was moved c. 1869 to 311 South 3rd Street, and 
which is still standing. 

55.	
Clinton High School/Roosevelt School (School District Offices-Board of Education), 
 600 South 4th Street; 1888-1889; Josiah L. Rice, Architect, of Clinton.
A large, two and one-half story building, it has a stone foundation and exterior walls of 
brick with stone sills, string courses, arches and trim.  The major exterior changes of the 
building include; installation of new and smaller windows with infill panels above the 
window head; boarding up the window openings above the roof cornice line; and, the 
addition of a steel fire escape on the north wall.  An installation of a sprinkler system in 
1959 allowed the interior of the building to remain much as originally built, including 
open stair-wells and wood wainscot.
The building is a massive structure of Romanesque Style design.  It was built and served 
as the Clinton High School until 1921.  It later became Roosevelt Elementary School and 
is now used for the offices of the Board of Education, Clinton community School 
District.  

56.	
Zion Evangelical/Evangelical United Brethren Church (Clinton Head Start Center), 300 
South 4th Street; 1873.
A frame church with gable roof and centrally located tower and entry.  The building 
retains use of wood siding and wood details.  Exterior alterations are minimal with the 
major one being the removal of the steeple roof.  The sentry steps are also an addition.  
The church, eclectic in design, most closely follows Renaissance Revival Style.  
Originally a German Evangelical church, Zion Evangelical became Evangelical United 
Brethren in 1951 and, in 1968, merged with the United Methodist congregation, which 
resulted in the building of a new church.  The building now houses the Clinton Head Start 
Center. 

57.	
Mt. Pleasant Park/Mississippi Valley Spiritualist Association; Mt. Pleasant Park (access 
from South Bluff Boulevard); 1882. 
A large tract with many small cottages of various styles, materials, and ages, the 
property if the home of the Mississippi Valley Spiritualist Association.  The site is a hilly 
and tree-studded landscape.  Numerous small cottages line the narrow,  quaint lanes that 
loop vaguely through, up, and down the site.  Mt. Pleasant Park is a district of distinct 
place and setting.  The park was the site for a Chautauqua that started 1883 and convened 
every season for many years. 

58.	
H. A. Kelly House (B. C. Hass Apartments), 740 5th Avenue South; 1910; John Morrell 
& Son, Architects, of Clinton.
This is a three-story brick house with a hip roof.  Except for the porch railing and steps, 
the exterior appearance is much the same as originally built; however, the interior has 
been altered with conversion to six apartment units.
The house is similar in composition to the H. W. Seaman House at 516 5th Avenue 
South, butt is of smaller scale and greatly simlified in design approach.  Symetry is 
retained; however, the wall surfaces are subdued, windows are grouped, and horizontal 
lines are emphasized.  The result is a more modern design based more upon Prairie 
School principles.  Only the limited use of lonic columns suggests an  eclectic influence. 

59.	
Sherman Seaman House/ W. H. Roehl House, 746 5th Avenue 
South; 1909.
A two-story stucco house with wood trim, the building is irregular in plan.  It has a hip 
roof of wide, over-hanging eaves with a flat soffit of wood, and a large, full-width front 
porch.  The building has many of the characteristics of the Prairie School Style.  With 
simplicity of form, stress on the repose of the horizontal line, and absence of traditional 
stylistic elements, the house exhibits the design approach of the Frank Lloyd Wright-led 
Prairie School movement.  The front porch, use of double-hung windows, and small 
chimney (although centrally located) are concessions to traditional construction.  

60.	
T. J. Hudson House, 823 5th Avenue South; 1914; John Morrell & Son, Architects, of 
Clinton.
A two-story stucco house with hip roof. It has a full-width front porch and also a side 
entry porch.  The house exhibits many of the principles of the Midwest-originated Prairie 
School Style.  The house has horizontal lines and grouping of windows with some 
panelization of the wall.  The treatment stresses the wall as a screening element rather 
than as a traditional, massive, load-bearing wall.  The porch column is, proportion, and 
shape were probably inspired by the designs of George Maher, a Chicago Prairie School 
architect. 

61.	
Fred Van Allen House (Halsrud Apartments), 844 5th Avenue South; 1911; John Morrell 
& Son, Architects, of Clinton.
A large, three-story house, it has exterior materials of stucco, wood trim, and tile-clad hip 
roof.  The house has been converted in six apartment units; however, the exterior is much 
the same as originally built, except for the addition of aluminum storm windows.  The 
handsome house has suggestions of the Renaissance Revival Style with the use of 
symmetry and compositional massing; however, the architectural features, materials, and 
detailing are simplified in the modern approach of the Prairie School Style. 

62.	
A. Walsh House, 915 5th Avenue South; 1893-1897; g. L. LeVeille, Builder (first 
contractor).
A large, two and one-half story house, it now has been converted to multi-family use.  
The house design epitomizes the exuberance of the Queen Anne Style with a variety of 
materials, texture, and massing.  The house construction was started by contractor G. L. 
LeVeille for his own home.  LeVeille was the contractor of the County Court House, and 
used the same kind of stone for both the court house and his own home.  However, 
LeVeille had difficulties with the construction of the court house, and he abandoned that 
project along with his own house; it was said that he fled to Canada.  The unfinished 
house was sold later to A. Walsh. 

63.	
Washington Junior High School (Washington Middle School), 751 2nd Avenue South; 
1933-1935; Karl Keffer & Earl E. Jones, Architects, of Des Moines with A. H. Morrell, 
Associate Architect; Ringland-Johnson Company, Contractor.
A large, two-story school, the building exterior is of brick with stone trim and accent 
panels.  Additions to the rear (south) were done in 1952 and in 1972.  For Iowa, the 
building is an excellent example of the so-called "Modernistic" or Art Deco Style.  The 
entry treatment is of special interest with its play in relief of geometric designs. 

64.	
Mullet House, 726 9th Avenue South; c. 1870.
The two-story brick house has a simple gable roof and bay window on the west at the 
ground floor.  Now converted to a three-apartment building, the structure's exterior 
revisions include the porch and eave treatment.  The house is a simple but handsome 
vernacular style with some traces of influence from the Greek Revival Style in massing 
and from the Italianate Style with the use of segmented arched windows. 
 
65.	
John Deolin House (Farwell Realty Property), 715 10th Avenue South; 1914.
The house is a builder's interpretation of the Prairie School Style.  Prairie School 
influences include the use of stucco, and a horizontal emphasis by use of wood stripping 
and hip roof.  Use of double-hung windows, the front porch, and chimney locations to the 
side deviated from the usual Prairie School practice. 

66.  
George C. Smith House, 636 11th Avenue South; 
 1873.  
 This brick house, now converted to apartments, is two stories high and has a tower.  
Alterations include removal of the original shutters, removal of the front porch, and 
construction of an entry stoop.  An original iron fence atop the stone retaining wall also 
has been removed.  Although deterioration and alterations have changed the appearance 
of the old mansion, it still remains an excellent local example of the Italian Villa Style.  

67.	 
Walter E. Bort's Stone Tower Studio, 722-732 South 12th  
  Street; c. 1923 through 1953; Walter Bort, Architect, of Clinton.
The complex occupies about one-half acre in a built-up residential area not very far from 
downtown.  The grounds are beautiful and lushly landscaped.  The studio/residence was 
started about 1923 and incorporated an old brick farmhouse, of unknown date, that stood 
on the property.  The farmhouse has been engulfed by expansion wings built of stone at 
various dates.  The stone used throughout is native limestone laid in coursed rubble 
pattern with quarry face.  The complex was expanded over the years to include scattered 
apartments.  The buildings are all of unified design and recede into the landscape.  Of 
natural materials and colors, the complex is in harmony with nature and the enviroment.  
The complex, like a small village in appearance, seem romantically and eclectically 
inspired by English countryside villages.  

68.	 
George T. Smith House, 700 South Bluff Boulevard; c, 1914-     1917.
A one and one-half story wood bungalow on a wooded site, the building has gable roofs 
with a hipped-roof front porch.  There are soffit brackets at the gable ends of the roof and 
exposed soffit roof joists at the eave.  The wood siding of the house is dark brown with 
contrasting white trim.  A good example of the Bungalow Style, it puts emphasis on the 
"stick" character of wood construction and harmony with nature. 

69.	 
Agatha Hospital ("Old" Jane Lamb Hospital), 638 South Bluff Boulevard; 1923; 
 Schmidt, Garden & Martin, Architects, of Chicago; Haring Bros., contractor.
This hospital building, built in 1923, prompted the change in name from Agatha 
Hospital to Jane Lamb Memorial Hospital.  This building was designed by Chicago 
architects, Richard E. Schmitt, Garden and Martin; construction was by Haring Brothers 
of Clinton, Iowa.  In 1928, the building was lenthened by an addition along South Bluff 
Boulevard with construction by Jorgensen Construction to a design by A. H. Morrell, 
Architect, of Clinton.  The building desing is eclectic with Tudor Gothic Style as the 
major source of influence.
  
70.  
John New/ C. Aikin House, 325 South Bluff Boulevard; c. 1837.
 A one-story house with basement, the structure if os local limestone.  The roof is hipped  
and one wing has a gable roof.  Roofing is now of asphalt shingles instead of original 
wood shakes.  Other alterations include the Frame construction of a room as infill of an 
original porch.  At the rear of the building is a one-story gabled roofed frame addition.  
The entry to the house has had trelliswork constructed above the door.  Shutters have 
been removed and the windows replaced.  The house if the oldest known structure in 
Clinton still standing.  The house was a station on the underground railroad before the 
Civil War. 

 71. 
Dr. J. B Charlton House/George W. Dulay House/C. A. Armstrong House, 1100 
Woodlawn; 1910; John Morrell & Son, Architects, of Clinton. 
A one-story bungalow of dark brown wood siding with white trim, it has a hip roof and a 
gable-roofed porch.  The porch, once open, has been enclosed with window walls 
between the original, wood Doric columns.  The house is a good example of the 
Bungalow Style with a porch inspired by the Classical Style.  

72. 
Eugene J. Curtis House, Hillcrest Street; 1921; Trowbridge & 
 Ackerman, Architects, of Boston, Massachusetts; Haring Bros., Contractors. 
This two-story "country" house has a steeply pitched hip roof with dormers.  The first- 
Floor exterior walls are of brick and the upper story is covered with shingles of muted      
colors.  Casement windows and large, bow windows are used in the exterior walls. 
     The house is of highly eclectic design with influences from Georgian, American 
Shingle,  and Tudor Gothic Styles.  Whatever the inspiration and derivation of styles, the 
building design is handsome with play of pattern and color, yet, at the same, it projects a 
sense of repose and dignity.  Designed by a prominent architectural firm, the house was 
one of  two similar designs on adjacent sites for the two Curtis brothers.  The home of G. 
L.  Curtis, however, was destroyed by fire in 1967 and only this house, originally built for     
Eugene J. Curtis, survives.   

73.  
Curtis Stables/Harold Kirck House, 5 Heather Lane; 1921 and 1969. 
        Built in 1921 as a stable for the Curtis families, the building was converted to a 
house in 1968.  "L-shape" in plan, the house has two wings which radiate from a 
centralized form, octagonal in plan and with a steeply pitched roof capped wit a cupola.  
The house is a good example of adaptive use.  Although altered and modernized the 
building  retains the aura or atmosphere of the "gracious country living" that the Curtis 
family enjoyed.  

74.	Brice Oakley Home, 1 Heather Lane; 1970; Al Mugasis of Prout, Mugasis and 
Johnson, Architects, of Clinton; Vald Kristensen & Sons, Builder.
This is a long, low, one-story building with clerestory and shed roofs.  The exterior 
materials are wood siding and wood shingle roofing.  The house is of modern design and 
has an interesting combination of roof forms and massing. 

75.	
Riverview Stadium, 6th Avenue North and Riverview Park; 1936-1937; A. H. Morrell,  
Architect, of Clinton; WPA, Builder with Fred N. Grumstrup, Superintendent of      
Construction. 
      The exterior of the stadium is attractively designed with a pattern and play of forms in       
brick and stucco.  The design style is "Moderne" or Art Deco.  The baseball stadium is a 
good example of this style applied to an un-common type of structure.  The stadium the 
home of the Clinton Dodgers, a farm team affiliated with the Los Angeles Dodgers. 

76.	
Omar (Rhododendron Show Boat), Riverview Park-River Levee; 1936. 
The Omar was a coal-fired towboat that operated on the Ohio River.  The West Virginia 
Centennial Commission purchased the boat and renovated it.  A 250-seat theater was 
ceated and a third level added.  After purchase by the Clinton Park Commissioners, it 
operated out of Clinton until 1975.  It was placed on the levee berm in June of 1977.  It is 
to be renovated again and is scheduled to return to operartion in May, 1980.  Work in 
progress or to be includes; re-siding, painting, paddlewheel re-construction, electrical 
service and sewage system installation. 

77.	
St. Patrick's Catholic Church, 240 4th Avenue North; 1905. 
The church is constructed of Gladbrook red pressed brick for the exterior walls with 
Portage Entry red sand-stone trim and watertable.  The foundation is of sawed Bedford 
stone and the original roofing was Black Bangor slate.  This large church serves as a 
landmark for the near north side neighborhood.  Eclectic is design, the church exhibits 
forms, motifs, and derivations from Italian Romanesque and Gothic Styles. 

78.	
St. Patrick's Rectory, 238 4th Avenue North; 1905; built at the same time and of the  
same materials as the adjacent church to the west, the rectory utilizes red face brick 
with red sandstone trim and Bedford stone for the foundation.  The rectory is of  
Romanesque Style with an Italian influence in detailing, although it is not as exuberant in 
design as the church structure. 

 79 & 80.  
Clinton County Court House, 612 North 2nd Street; 1892-1897; G. Stanley       
Mansfield, Architect, of Freeport, Illinois and Josiah L. Rice, Supervising Architect, of       
Clinton.
The County Court House if a landmark building of three stories with a central tower.  The 
exterior walls are of red sandstone and granite and the tower is of copper cladding which 
has weathered to a bright green color.  The exterior appearance is much the same as 
originally built; however, the interior has undergone almost continuous change, including 
the addition of an elevator in the center of the building.
The building replaced the first court house of frame construction that stood on Block 8.  
That building was designed by Architect W. W. Sandborn and was built in 1869 by L. P. 
Haradon in just 23 days after the county seat was moved to Clinton from DeWitt.  In 
March of 1982, the voters of the County approved construction of a new court house to a 
budget of $100,000.  A design by G. Stanley Mansfield, Architect, of Freeport, Illinois 
was selected.
G. L. LeVeille of Omaha, Nebraska was awarded the construction contract and 
construction began in 1892.  However, because of the swampy nature of the site, the 
foundations were inadequate and construction was halted.  After another election was 
held, which resulted in disapproval of an additional $35,000 to carry the foundations 
down another five feet, LeVeille was discharged and later sued for damages by the 
County Board of Supervisors.  J. L. Rice of Clinton was then appointed Supervising 
Architect in 1893.  The court house stood unfinished for some time with just the 
stonework in place.  Finally, in June 1896, additional funds were approved and the court 
house was finished at a total of $168,000.  It was dedicated in August of 1897.  Many 
subcontractors were responsible for completion of the building.  Among these were" W. 
G. Andrews who decorated the interior in Empire and Rococo Styles; George W. Parke 
of Lyons who had the copper work and slate roofing contracts for the building; and, John 
F. Schmidt who had the contract for the interior wood finishes.
The design of the exterior of the building is most likely the work of Mansfield; however, 
the tower of copper was different from Mansfield's original drawings and was probably a 
change designed by J. L. Rice.  The structure, despite problems during construction and 
changes in design, is an imposing, rugged, and handsome building of Romanesque Style.  
It is an excellent example of its style, period and building type. 
Clinton County and City Law Enforcement Center, 241 7th Avenue North; 1970; 
Durrant, Deininger, Dommer, Kramer, Gordon, Architects of Dubuque, Iowa; V & E 
Construction Company of Galena, Illinois.
A two-story reinforced concrete building of 19,574 square feet, it houses the city police 
on the south side of the first floor while the sheriff occupies the other half of the floor.  
This level has an earth berm against much of the perimeter wall with a continuous 
horizontal window above.  The jail is on the upper floor.  It is cantilevered with beams at 
the exterior and has small, vertical slot windows in the precast concrete wall.
The building, of contemporary design and "Wrightian" is expression, won an 
architectural design award when built in 1970.  The building replaced a jail structure built 
in 1883 on the site and is the fourth county jail in the history of Clinton County. 

81.	
Schall's Candy Company (Hagge Building/Valley Pattern Broadcasting-KLNT/KLNQ), 
501 North 2nd Street; 1917; Haring Bros., Contractors.
A large, two and one-half story building, it was built as the office and factory for the 
Shall'' Candy Company.  It now houses the broadcasting studios and offices for the 
Pattern Broadcasting Company (Radio Station KLNT and KLNQ).  The brick exterior 
walls are enlivened by the application of terra cotta medallions, projecting string courses, 
and general ornamentation.
Although the clutter of signs and the window alterations are disturbing, the building still 
retains the important Sullivanesque appearance as originally built.  Inspired by the 
ornamentation designed by Louis Sullivan (who was the architect for the Van Allen 
Building at 5th Avenue South and South 2nd Street), the terra cotta work on the building 
is exuberant and delightful-especially the large motif above the main entrance.  The 
building is a good example of a creative and highly American design period in 
architecture. 

82.	
Hawthorne School, 10th avenue North at North 3rd Street; 1898.
The brick building is a good example of the simplified and more modern approach to 
school design that was evolving at that time from the direction indicated by the 
Romanesque Style. 

83.	
Iten Biscuit Company (W. Atlee Burpee Company of Philadelphia), 615-619 North 2nd 
Street; 1905.
A large, three-story industrial/warehouse and office building, it has exterior walls of 
brick.  The brick is a light buff color and was manufactured by the Iowa Granite Brick 
Company of Clinton.  The building was built in stages.  The first stage was a two-bay-
wide frontage on North 2nd Street and was only two stories high.  A five-bay, three-story 
expansion followed.  Subsequently, a third story was added on the north portion and, 
later, an addition to the south was constructed to finish the complex into a united whole.  
A tin cornice helps unify the building with a strong horizontal emphasis.  The building is 
a good example of commercial/industrial vernacular of the period with a minimun of 
historic emphasis; however, the entry arch is a dominant feature and suggests 
Romanesque Style influence.
The building was built for L. Iten & Son's "Snow White Bakery"-later the Iten Biscuit 
Company.  In 1928, the National Biscuit Company bought Iten.  In 1941, W. Atlee 
Burpee (Seed) Company bought the building and, in 1943, started operations in Clinton. 

84.	
Mt. St. Clare Jr. College/Sisters of St. Francis (Mt. St. Clare Jr. College), 400 North  
Bluff Boulevard; 1910-1911; J. B. McGorrick, Architect, of Des Moines; Lightner Bros., 
Builder.
The main building was opened in September of 1911 as a girl's school and home for the 
Sisters of the Order of St. Francis.  Mt. St. Clare was originally located in Clinton at the 
"Judge Chase Home", 262 North Bluff Boulevard, in 1893.  In 1899, the estate, 
"Evergreen", of Dr. J. S. Corbin at 400 North Bluff Boulevard, became the site for the 
girls' school and the college was formed in 1928. The main building of 1911 is a 
prominent landmark atop the ridge immediately west of Bluff Boulevard.  The building 
design is eclectic in derivation, but the sitting, overall massing, and especially the warm 
reds of brick walls and tile roofs, suggests an Italian monastery or hill town.  The 
building was the nucleus structure for the Mt. St. Clare Jr. College.  The building, except 
for aluminum replacements windows and main entry relocated to orient to the vehicular 
drive on the west, appears much the same as originally built.  The top floor was used as a 
convent until a new one was built on the campus.  The campus has changed in 
appearance with the construction of many new buildings in the late 1950's and early 
1960's. 

85.	
Dorothea A. McGauvran House, 405 Oakhurst Drive; 1963; Phil Feddersen, Architect,        
of Clinton. 
      The building is a one-story rambling house of brick and wood.  It is of modern 
design,  inspired by the later "Usonian" designs of Frank Lloyd Wright.  Emphasis is on       
horizontal lines to suggest repose and the use of natural materials to harmonize with       
nature.  

86.	
Dwight Lamb House, 453 Woodlands Drive; c. 1887 (re-located 1902).
A 26-room mansion of frame construction, it was moved in 1902 by Crowe Brothers of 
Chicago, building moving contactors, from a site at 6th Avenue South and South 5th 
Street to the present site atop an eight-foot-hill.  It took three months to move the house 
eleven blocks and up the hill.  The house was altered at that time, resulting in an eclectic 
design.  The Queen Anne Style was the major influence in guiding the massing and 
overall composition, while many details and ornamental features are of Second 
Renaissance Revival Style derivation.  

87.	
Robert E. Evans House, 551 Woodlands Drive; 1974-1976; William Nowysc, Architect, 
of Iowa City, Iowa; Fuller Brothers Construction, Contractors.
The house consists of two wings with a "lantern" that marks their intersection.  Retaining 
walls of treated wood contain a pool deck that nestles between the embracing "arms" of 
the house.  The house is a good local example of contemporary architectural design.  Of 
natural wood and stone materials and concern for the site, the house fittingly adapts to its 
environment.  At the same time, and consistent with the most recent fashion in 
architectural design, the composition is not static.  The diagonal line is important in the 
composition and is expressed by shed roofs, diagonal wood siding, and angled wings in 
plan, as well as by the slope of the site. 

88.	
Marvin J. Gates House (Oakhurst Apartments; Oakhurst East), 500 Oakhurst Drive; 
1902-1903.
A large mansion, it had cinder stucco exterior wall finish and red tile roofs.  Converted to 
eleven dwelling units in 1865 by the Clinton Investment Corporation, the building has 
been altered.  Asphalt shingle roofing, re-built soffits that eliminated the original 
brackets, and white painted stucco are among the changes.  A detached caretaker's house 
is located across Oakhurst Drive to the west.  The building design is of Spanish Colonial 
revival Style.  This mansion inspired construction of other buildings of similar style in 
Clinton.  The stylized gables of the Gates House can be seen in silhouette on other 
structures about town. 

89.	
Russell B. McCoy/D. D. Collis House (Breezy Point Manor), 520 Breezy Point Drive;  
1903.
The house is an excellent adaptation of Tudor Gothic Style.  The rambling mansion  
was the focus of Russell B. McCoy's 100 acre estate.  Although the mansion has been 
 converted into five apartments/condominiums and the grounds have been dotted with  
new multi-family buildings, the residence and immediate grounds are still handsome.

90.	
Russell B. McCoy Stable House (Breezy Point), 520 Oakhurst at Breezy Point; 1903. 
Originally the stable house of the Russell B. McCoy estate, the large building was 
converted to apartment use in the late 1930's to a design by Walter E. Bort, Clinton 
architect.  The exterior appears much as originally built, however, with brick walls, 
massive chimneys, and dark stain for wood siding on the dormers, trim, and porches. 

91.	
Stumbaugh & McPherson Warehouse/M. A. Disbrow Warehouse (Dale Bott 
 Trucking, Inc. Warehouse), 2115 Grant Street; c. 1845.
Located on the riverfront, the building is of native limestone laid in uncoursed rubble 
 pattern.  The openings in the walls are framed with lintels of wood timbers. 
  Alterations include bricking-up of a window in the gable of the west wall and a  
frame addition with a variety of sidings on the south.  The structure is an excellent  
and now rare example of an early warehouse of native stone and vernacular  
construction still standing in Clinton. 

92.	
Philip Deeds Property/David Joyce Property, 2202 McKinley Street; c. 1860. 
A two-story brick house with basement, it has a gable roof with a chimney at each       
end gable.  A full-width front porch has been replaced with a small entry porch.  With        
symmetry and simplicity of composition, the design of the house appears to have been       
influenced by the American Federal Style as well as Germanic-influenced vernacular      
construction (examples of which are in other river cities such as St. Louis).  

93.	
George Leedham/Sarah Boardman House (Douglas Bennett Rental Property), 2119  
Garfield Street; 1888; Josiah L. Rice, Architect, of Clinton.
The frame house is an excellent Clinton example of the Eastlake Style.  Only the awnings 
on the front façade detract from the historic integrity exhibited in the house.  The house 
has a decorative wood porch, barge boards, and gable treatment consistent with the style.  
The front porch is especially distinctive as it is festooned with curved brackets, spindles, 
circular perforations, and other wood ornamental features.  The upper-story porch on the 
south side is also noteworthy. 

94.	
Michael Williams House, 2208 Garfield Street; c. 1898; Josiah L. Rice, Architect, of 
Clinton.
This is a large, two and one-half story frame house with a basement and stone foundation 
walls.  The roof gables have pent roofs and scallop shingle siding with wood trim.  The 
windows in the front gable are new.  Highly eclectic in derivation, the design by Josiah 
Rice has influences of the "Stick" and Queen Anne Styles. 

95.	
Willis L. Parker House/Thomas Leedham House, 2209 Garfield Street; 1959; J. Kingsten, 
Architect; John Sanford, Builder.
This two-story house is built with two kinds of brick-red brick for the walls and buff  
brick for the corner quoins, window arches, and trim.  The gable roof has paired soffit 
brackets.  In the 1940's, the house was converted to two apartments, and, in 1968, the 
attic was converted to a third apartment.  The roofing was replaced in 1975 and a wood 
shingle found bearing the names of the architect and builder.  The house is an excellent 
example to create a handsome building that attracts and delights. 

96.	
George Conley House, 2211 Garfield Street; 1869;
A two-story frame house, it has wood window caps, roof brackets, and hip roof.  A 
wraparound porch is an addition, the house is of simplified Renaissance Revival Style.

97.	
James Hazlett House, 2216 Garfield Street; 1860.
Distinguishing architectural characteristics include; pairs of brackets at the roof soffits, 
segmented arched windows, corner pilasters of brick, and projecting window sills with 
brackets.  The full-width front porch and columns with composite capitals are additions.  
A stable with roof cupola, is at the rear of the property.  Built for a lawyer and merchant, 
this is a handsome Italianate Style house.  Its design and mint condition make this 1860 
house a good example of historic architecture.

98.	
Robert Rand House, 2219 Garfield Street; 1867.
The house is of simple vernacular style with some evidence of style influence of the 
Italianate and the earlier Federal Styles.  Built for a banker, the house has a good sense of 
human scale and warmth.  This is achieved by use of simple forms, and the color and 
texture of the old brick.

99.	
Dennis Warren House, 224 Garfield Street; 1874-1875.
This house has two storied. Stucco over stone foundation, brick walls, gable roof, and 
segmented arch windows.  Alterations appear to include rebuilt eaves and porch 
replacement with a smaller one.  The house design, of Italianate Style influence, works 
well with other structures in the vicinity and results in a unified district environment.

100.	
James H. Barum/Caleb B. McDowell House, 2113  Roosevelt Street; c. 1865; J. H. 
Barnum, Builder.
The building is a good example of an early brick vernacular house modified and 
enhanced with later Queen Anne Style additions.  J. H. Barnum, an owner of a lumber 
yard in Lyons, who was also a builder and a developer, built this house for his own home.  
The additions were probably done later, when Jacob Peters owned the house.  These 
were; an addition on the south and a porch (c. 1895) and the picture window bay.

101.	
John Dierks/Meta Nacre House, 2228 Roosevelt Street; 1926.
This is a bungalow with brick veneer and wood shingle wall surfaces.  The gable roofs 
have wide overhangs with exposed rafters and brackets reminiscent of "Stick" Style.  The 
house, with natural materials ands "stick" expression, is a good Clinton example of the 
Bungaloid Style.  Bungaloid design, with its emphasis on craftsmanship and harmony 
with nature, was an original American style based upon few antecedents.

102.	
Grace Episcopal Church, 2100 North 2nd Street; 1856.
The church has a corner tower and gable roof (now with asphalt shingles). The exterior 
bearing walls are of local quarry-faced limestone with dressed stone for the quoins at the 
corners.  The exterior side walls have pointed arched windows and engaged buttresses.  
The stone nave was originally four bays with stone to match existing.  At the same time, 
a choir room was added to the north.  In 1904, the interior ceiling was removed and open 
timber construction exposed.  The church is an excellent example of Gothic Revival Style 
and was intended to be patterned after St. Martin's at Canterbury, England. 

103.	
Lyons United Methodist church, 2118 North 2nd Street; 1983.
The church building, of brick with stone trim, is an example of Romanesque Style design.  
The front façade was the result of an 1893 reconstruction after a fire on October 23, 1892 
destroyed the original church; the side walls appear to be partial retentions of the 1856 
building.  Recent alterations include; the removal of Romanesque arched window in the 
upper gable and the opening infilled with brick and glass block in the shape of a cross; 
and, lowering the bell tower and the bell placed in the yard.

104.	
W. W. Sanborn House, 2203 North 2nd Street; 1869; W. W.  Sanborn, Architect, of 
Clinton.
The first residence of W. W. Sanborn in Lyons, it is a small, one and one-half story 
 frame cottage.  It has stone foundation walls and gable roof with barge boards; the 
walls have been re-sided.  The cottage is a good Clinton example of Gothic Revival
 Style. 

105.	
Polly D. Ball House//David Batchelder House (Camelot Restaurant), 2204 North 2nd  
Street; 1866.
Well-preserved, the house is an excellent example of Italianate Style.  David Batchelder, 
a lumber baron, bought the house in 1881 for $9000.  Of brick construction, the house 
has arched windows with caps, a cornice, and a porch with iron railing.  There is an 
ornate iron fence in the yard.  The house was expanded, c. 1881, by and addition of a 
family kitchen with servants' quarters upstairs.  Later, a summer kitchen was added.  The 
house was remodeled in 1968 for conversion to a restaurant.

106.  
Schneider Property, 2234 Pershing Boulevard; 1882.
The house is a transitional design that combines aesthetics from several styles that were 
popular in the 1880's.  The "Stick Style" seems most pervasive with upper-story wall 
surfaces of horizontal wood siding that contrasts with vertical boards extended from the 
window jambs that create a panelized effect.  At the same time, the gable treatment, with 
scalloped wood shingles, and overall massing suggests a Queen Anne Style influence.  
Finally, the Eastlake Style is suggested by the porch treatment of lathe-turned dowels and 
spindles.

107.	
Lyons Female College/Our Lady of Angels Seminary (North Side Church of God), 407 
22nd Avenue North; 1858.
With spacious grounds and beautiful siting, the complex is an excellent example of early 
academic architecture in Iowa.  The original building, with its brick massing and unique, 
centrally located cupola and dome, is an exceptional example of pre-Civil War 
institutional building.  Highly eclectic in design, this building combines features of the 
Gothic Revival and Italianate Styles.  The southern-most building of brick is a 
combination of Romanesque and Queen Anne stylistic features.
The original building is 3 ½ stories high and has a roof cupola topped with a bulbous-
style dome.  This brick building was expanded with matching additions extending to the 
north, south, and west.  The original porch on the east was replaced by a new one.  The 
original wood of the pediments. Cupola, and eaves of the gable roof have been clad over 
with aluminum siding and trim.  The original pointed arched windows on the cupola have 
been altered.
The 2 ½ story brick building on the south replaced an earlier two-story Gothic Revival 
Style building.  The boiler plant and secondary building are to the rear (west) of the 
original building.  In August 1979, an educational building was under construction close 
by and to the north of the original building.  It was reported that the interiors of the 
original building are being gutted and demolished piecemeal by the congregation 
members.  This is apparently being done in advance of total clearance of the site for a 
new church.
The complex, of architectural and historical significance, dates to 1858.  The large 
"original" building, flanked by two smaller ones, comprised the campus of the Lyons 
Female College, a Presbyterian school dedicated and opened in September 15, 1858; it 
was the first institution of higher learning in Clinton County.  The school was sold in 
September 1872 to the Sisters of Charity, a Catholic order in Clinton headed by Sister 
Mary Anastasia.  Out Lady of Angels Academy, a boarding school, was dedicated on 
October 2, 1872.  In 1966, the school was closed and the premises were vacated.  The 
North Side Church of God purchased the property in 1973 and have indicated that the 
existing buildings are not suitable for their needs.  Unfortunately, this important 
architectural grouping may not remain much longer.

108.	
Philip Roe House, 1604 North 3rd Street; c. 1874.
This is a two-story frame house with a low-pitched gable roof and a wraparound front 
porch.  The house was probably moved to this location about 1874 and the porch added at 
that time.  The house itself was probably built earlier (c. 1860).  The house, meticulously 
maintained, is a good example of vernacular frame construction.

109.	
William Joyce House/Beatric C. Joyce, 181 North 3rd Street; 1887.
A large house of frame construction with stone foundation, it has a variety of roof forms, 
dormers, and turrets.  An engaged round tower with conical rood anchors the northeast 
corner of the house.  Rounded glass follows the curvature of this tower wall.  The wall 
surfaces are characterized by wood board inlays, like string courses, that give a subtle 
horizontal counterplay to the vertical emphasis of the major architectural forms.  Ornate 
dormers on the tower roof and a second-story porch have been removed.  A porch, c. 
1914, replaced the original.
The structure is an excellent example of a frame construction mansion of the 1880's 
period.  Originally of Eastlake Style because of the proliferation of wood ornament as a 
product of the chisel, gouge and lathe, the stripping of these decorative features has 
quieted and simplified the exterior.  Now the building design more closely resembles 
Queen Anne Style.  These alterations have not diminished the architectural significance 
of the house.  Atop a beautifully landscaped knoll, the house is a handsome and imposing 
structure, representative of a period of lavish lifestyle and accompanying appropriate 
architecture.
	William Joyce, one of the early lumber barons of Clinton had the house built.  It 
remained in the Joyce family until 1974.  William Joyce was the son of David Joyce, who 
founded the Joyce Lumber Company in 1869. The Joyces also owned what is now Eagle 
Point Park and the Clinton Street Railway.  It is now the home of Dwain Walters, Mayor 
of Clinton.

110.	
Judge Aylett R. Cotton House, 316 18th Avenue North; 1853.
Except for the roof, the house is a good example of Gothic Revival Style.  The design is 
sometimes called Steamboat Gothic because of the exuberance exhibited with wood 
ornamentation, pointed arched windows, and emphasis on verticality.  The gable roof of 
the house, originally very steeply pitched, was rebuilt with a gambrel roof after a 1943 
attic fire.  The exterior wall of the house, however, appear much the same as originally 
built, with vertical board and batten wood siding.  The windows also remain with pointed 
arches and wood tracery.  A ballroom wing was added by Judge Cotton, thereby 
completing the composition as a twelve-room house.

111.	
William Holmes House/Art Holmes House, 1510 North 4th Street; c. 1873.
A two-story frame house, it has gable roofs and a tower (addition), with a mansard roof 
of convex slope.  The tower has roof brackets, a rosette window, and an entry door as a 
later revision.  Many of the window openings have wooden "arched" window heads.  The 
house combines an Italianate Style influence on the vernacular frame construction of the 
house proper with a tower of Second Empire Style.

112.	
William Lyall House, 516 22nd Avenue North; 1854.
A two-story brick house with hip roof, it has a one-story, gable-roofed or brick wing and 
porch added on the east.  An attached summer kitchen to the rear has been removed and 
the front porch screened in.  The entry way  is a revision.  The house is an early, 
simplified example of Italianate Style.

113.	
M. A. Disbrow & Company Office (Knight of Columbus), 2301 McKinley Street; 
 1878.
A two-story, brick veneer building, it has engaged pilasters and segmented arched 
window openings.  Alterations include a wood vestibule on the front façade, glass block 
substituted for some windows, and rebuilding of the chimneys.  An example of brick 
commercial vernacular construction, the building, built in 1878, was the office for the M. 
A. Disbrow Company.  Disbrow & Company, manufacturers of sash, windows, and trim, 
was established in 1856 in Lyons.  William Disbrow donated the office building to the 
Lyons' Ex-Servicemen's Post No, 1 and they sold it to the Knights of Columbus in 1968.

114.	
Lyons High School (Nee-Hi Hall), 96 Main Avenue; 1905.
A two and on-half story school building with attic, the structure's exterior is of brick and 
stone.  Of eclectic design, the building is derived from Second Renaissance and Georgian 
Revival Styles.  The building served as the Lyons High School.  In 1951 it became 
Baldwin School and was used until 1971 when a new school was built elsewhere.  The 
building now is a club house.

115.	
Iowa State Savings Bank, 122 Main Avenue; 1914; Harry R. Harbeck, Architect,  
From Illinois.
This two-story bank building is of brick with terra cotta ornamentation and cut stone 
water table.  In 1931, an expansion of the bank was undertaken with a one and one-half 
story, addition of similar design added to the rear.  A rear entrance in the original 
building was relocated to the addition.  In 1967, a major expansion and remodeling 
program was implemented.  A one and one-half story brick addition, with arches for the 
main entrance, was constructed adjacent on the east.  The entrance in the original 
building was removed and the opening was patched to match existing materials.  The 
ground-floor windows were replaced with sheet glass in bronze-colored frames.  A 
projecting, revolving sign was added to the original building at the corner.
The design of the building was strongly influenced by the work of Louis Sullivan, an 
early exponent of modern architecture.  Sullivan had a highly personalized design 
philosophy and style.  He utilized ornamentation derived creatively from floral motifs 
and fluid lines to decorate his buildings.  Sullivan was imitated successfully and 
creatively in this bank design by Harry Harbeck, an architect who lived in the Chicago 
area.  The building design and ornamentation is an exceptional example of the so-called 
Sullivanesque Style.  This important building was built at approximately the same time as 
Louis Sullivan's Van Allen Building (which is listed on the National Register) in 
downtown Clinton.  The Iowa State Savings Bank was founded in 1905 and was located 
from 1907 to 1914 in what is now the Masonic Temple on Main Avenue.

116.  
Buell Block, 200 Main Avenue; 1890-1891.  This is a large, two-story commercial          
building of brick with ornate tin cornice.  The ground floor store-front has been         
modernized.  Upper-story windows have been replaced and panels installed above the         
window heads.  The building is a good example of an 1890's commercial building          
with an interpretation of Italianate Style.  

117.  
Hazlett & Durlin Coal and Wood Dealers (McEleney Motors Storage), 2410          
Harding; c. 1858.
Built on the riverfront, the warehouse is a good example of brick vernacular construction.  
The corbeled brickwork at the eave suggests an influence of Romanesque Revival Style.  
The segmented arched window openings have been close with sheet plywood and the 
stone foundation has been covered with stucco above the grade. 

118.	
Nora Albright House, 2521 McKinley Street; c. 1855. 
A rare Clinton example of early Greek Revival Style, the cottage, despite inappropriate 
siding and alterations, retains many of the Greek Revival characteristics.  The small, 
frame cottage was probably moved to this site.  The building has a low-pitched gable roof 
with eave returns and symmetry of the Greek Revival Style. 

119.	
Christian Moeszinger House, 2424 Garfield Street; 	 c. 1855.
A house of frame construction, it has a gable roof with eave returns and a central front 
porch.  A balcony railing on the porch roof has been removed and additions to the rear 
have extended the house westward.  The building, re-sided with imitation brick asphalt 
siding, is of Greek Revival Style inspiration and was considered a fancy house for its 
period.  It was the home of a prominent industrialist, Christian Moeszinger, and his 
family.  Moeszinger, who came to Lyons in 1855, owned a foundry.

120.	
Henry Krough Property (Campbell & Jacobsen Property), 109 25th Avenue North; c. 
1860.
Two storied high with basement and attic, the brick building has a gable roof with asphalt 
shingles.  Stucco has been used to cover the basement walls and for patching the 
brickwork.  Built as a market hall, the building is an example of brick vernacular design 
and construction.

121.	
H. E. Gates House/Ezra Baldwin House, 2714  Roosevelt Street; 1865.
A small brick house, it has a hip roof with soffit brackets.  The rear, two-room addition 
and porch were added c. 1880.  The entry door has been rebuilt and widened, and the 
original entry porch removed.  The house is a simplified Renaissance Revival Style.  It 
was the home of Ezra Baldwin, a hardware dealer, who lived there until his death in 
1871.  A son later lived there and Baldwin School was named after him.   

  122. Pennsylvania House/Washington House, 2425-2433 North 2nd Street/ 121-123 
25th  Avenue North; c. 1855.
Sited on a corner lot tight to the streets, the building is an example of vernacular           
design and brick construction, as well as an illustration of early building type-a 
 hotel and tavern.  The exterior brick walls have been covered over with stucco in 
 recent years.  Aluminum storm windows and gabled entry canopies are also later 
 revisions.  A large loft opening, with timber lintel, in the south end gable has been  
closed with brick and a small pair of windows created.  The building housed a 
 succession of hotels and boarding houses, including Nic Conrad's Pennsylvania 
 House and, after 1874, the D. Brown Boarding House.  Later, it was the 
 Washington Boarding House.  It also was used as an office building (Fidelity Life) 
 and is an apartment building with 13 units. 

123.	 
William Leedham House, 2502 North 2nd Street; 1854. 
A one and one-half story house of frame construction, it has been expanded with 
additions to the rear and south (all in the nineteenth century).  The house is a good 
example of early frame vernacular construction.

124.	
Silas Gardiner House, 2700 North 2nd Street; c. 1880.
A large, frame house of eclectic design, it was the home of Silas Gardiner, one of the 
lumber barons of Lyons and Clinton.  The house has influences of the Queen Anne and 
Tudor Gothic Styles.  The upper story has been resided and other alterations include; the 
addition of a porch across the front, cutback of the roof above the entry door, and 
rebuilding of the roof eave. 

125.	
Carney House, 2730 North 2nd Street' 1857 and 1869. 
The house is a good example of Italianate Style design adapted to frame construction. It 
has first-floor windows with arched wood caps and second-floor stylized window caps.  
The house incorporates an earlier construction of 1857.  The front porch posts were 
replaced in 1979 with new wood ones.  Well maintained, renovation work has not 
compromised the architectural integrity adversely.  The old iron fence enhances the 
historic architecture.  The property was bought by Justus Lund in 1885; Lund later moved 
across the street to 2804 North 2nd Street in 1895.
 
126.	
Justus Lund House, 2804 North 2nd Street; 1895.
The house is a handsome eclectic design, strongly influenced by Queen Anne Style.  A 
large, frame house with full attic and gable roofs, it has a wraparound front porch with 
circular corner.  The corners of the building walls are "clipped" and the roof eaves 
complete the rectangular form.  The exterior surfaces of the house are the original 
materials, including wood lap siding and textured gables of wood shingles.

127.	
St. Irenaeus Catholic Church, 2811 North 2nd Street; 1864-1865.
Sited on a hillside, the church is of landmark stature.  It is an exceptional example of
Local limestone construction and design using Gothic Revival Style.  The building
Is constructed of limestone quarried from bluffs along the river north of town.  The
Stone was floated down the river on barges and hauled by horse carts to the site.  The 
cornerstone was laid in 1864 by Bishop Smyth.  The church design was inspired by the 
cathedral in the parish priest's (Father Frederick C. Jean) native home of Lyons, France.  
St. Irenaeus has twin towers with wood spire construction and engaged stone buttresses 
on the nave walls.  The south and north spires are 166 feet and 136 feet high, 
respectively.  The window arches are pointed and there is a rosette window in the front 
gable on the east.  The main entrance in the church was originally on the east and the 
main entry level was reached via an exterior wood stair and porch.  In 1906, the entry 
was relocated to the west façade where the site slope allowed the main level to coincide 
with grade.  The nearby rectory was built in 1874 but now is altered in appearance.
The church building was constructed on the site of a frame church that was built in 1856 
and which had replaced an original 1852 church of brick.  The original brick building was 
the first Catholic church in Clinton County.

128.	
Ceddy House, 92 28th Avenue North; 1869.
This small, frame house is a rare Clinton example of Egyptian Revival Style. The first-
floor window enframements that narrow upward are the most obvious features of the 
original style.  The house has a hip roof topped with a cupola.  There are lean-to additions 
to the rear and side of vernacular design, as well as an enclosed front porch addition.

129.	
John Tolson House, 3001 Garfield Street; 1849.
A small, one and one-half story house, it is an example of early vernacular architecture in 
Lyons.  The original construction was of one room with loft.  Additions to the north and 
east expanded the house and a porch was added but has now been removed.  The exterior 
walls are nor covered with stucco.

130.	
Gardiner, Batchelder & Welles Lumber Company, 86 31st Avenue North; 1880
A one and one-half story building, it has stone foundations and brick walls with stone 
trim.  The original porch was replaced by the present small one.  Most of the windows 
have been replaced with brick infill to drop window heads to present height.  Now 
vacant, the building was constructed as the office for the Gardiner, Batchelder and Welles 
Lumber Company and is of Queen Anne Style.  The lumber mill went out of business in 
1894 and the building served as the post office for subsequent businesses, including the 
Clinton Lock Company and the Pennsylvania Tire Company.
Clinton Lock Company (Pennsylvania Tire Company), 78 31st Avenue North; c. 1896.
Built on the site of the Gardiner, Batchelder and Welles Lumber Company, the Clinton 
Lock Company added several buildings in 1896, including this two-story brick building 
plus foundry and secondary building of brick with gable roofs and monitor clerestories. 
This brick building, fronting on 31st Avenue North, is a typical mill building of heavy 
timber and brick pier construction.  About 1910, an addition was built, attached to the 
west.
The complex is typical of turn-of-the-century industrial construction.  The Clinton Lock 
Company was formed in 1896 and acquired the property of the Gardiner, Batchelder and 
Welles Lumber Company after the lumber mill closed in 1894.  The Clinton Lock 
Company closed about 1960 and the Pennsylvania Tire Company occupied the premises 
until 1978.  The complex of buildings is now vacant.

131.	
William Black House/ M. D. Madden House, 265 33rd  Avenue North; 1873; William 
Black, Builder.
This frame house of Gothic Revival Style crowns the top of the hill at the end of 
 North Second Street.  A reservoir of the water company in Lyons once also shared the 
hill.  A small, frame barn with hip roof and cupola sits to the rear of the property.  
Porches on the south side of the house have been removed.  William Black, a contractor 
who also built steamboats, built this structure for his home.

132.	George Fahey House (Carl M. Bengston House) and John Fahey House, 2424 and 
1430 Pershing Boulevard; 1881.
These two brick houses mirror each other in composition.  They are identical in  
original design except that the plans are reversed.  Alterations are minor, with the 
 enclosure and front porch changes on the northernmost house as the major revision. 
  Although each house is separate and detached, the two work together to forma a  
unified setting.

133.	
St. Boniface Catholic Church, 2500 Pershing Boulevard; 1908; Martin Heer,        
Architect, of Dubuque, Iowa; Anton Zwack, Contractor, of Dubuque.
A large church, it is 56 feet wide,, 116 feet long and has 124-foot high twin towers        
on the front that flank the gable nave.  Above the foundation, the exterior walls and       
buttresses are of red, pressed brick trimmed in blue Bedford stone. 
The church is a good example of Second Gothic Revival Style and is a major 
 landmark in the Lyons area of Clinton.  The stained glass windows were the work  
of the Munic Studio of Chicago, Illinois.  The Gothic altar was installed in  
September, 1910 and was the work of B. Ferring of Chicago.  The 1929 interior 
 renovation was done by Ambross Voss and the gold leaf work was by Ernest  
Maketin of Chicago.  The  cornerstone was laid June 5, 1908 and the church was 
 dedicated November 27, 1908.

134.	
St. Boniface Rectory, 2516 Pershing Boulevard; 1873
A two-story rectory, it has a hip roof topped by a "widow's walk" with decorative 
wrought iron railing.  The eaves have soffit brackets.  The brickwork is of two colors-red 
and cream.  The lighter color brick is used to form quoins at the corners of the building 
and to form arched "eyebrows" above the window openings.  The building is a good 
example of Italianate Style and the excellent condition of the historic architectural fabric 
makes the building doubly important.

135.  
Lyons Presbyterian Church/St. Bonifacius Romische Katolische Kirche (St. Boniface 	    
Hall), 2518 Pershing Boulevard; 1858.
The building was an excellent example of Romanesque Style.  Built as a Presbyterian 
church in 1858, the building was acquired by German Catholics in late 1861.  In January, 
1863, St. Bonifaceius Kirche: had its first services in the building. After a new church 
was built, in 1908, the building was converted to a parish hall and school.  Set atop a 
knoll, this brick building had a front façade of engaged pilasters and rhythmic 
progression of corbelled brick arches under the roof eave.  The window openings were 
fully arched.  An original bell tower of wood on the ridge of the roof and near the front 
was removed in 1908.  In 1912, a two-story addition was built at the rear and extended to 
connect to the 1880 school building to the north.  Unfortunately, these buildings do not 
exist anymore as on August 27, 1979. The old church and school buildings were 
demolished.
St. Bonifacius Schulthaus (St. Boniface School), 2520 Pershing Boulevard; 1880.
The building was of brick vernacular design with some influence of the Italianate Style.  
A belfrey was located on the ridge and was later removed.  A rear wing was built in 1912 
and connected this building to the original 1858 church structure to the south.  The 
building was demolished on August 17, 1979. 

136.	 
Buell Property/Mary Eaton House, 2602 North 3rd  Street; 1849 and 1859.
The handsome brick structure, simple in composition and execution, perhaps can best be 
called vernacular design, although there is a suggestion of both the Federal and Italianate 
Styles.  The two-story house has segmented, arched window openings and a low-pitched 
gable roof with wide overhangs supported by soffit brackets.  The house, built in 1859, 
incorporates an 1849 structure; later additions included a small, one-story, frame wing 
and a wraparound front porch.

137.	
Schick General Hospital, Department of Army (Root Park/The Village), 25th Avenue 
North at 5th and 6th Streets; 1942-1943; U. S. Army Corps of Engineers.  
This is a large acreage that contains row upon row of two-story, brick, barracks-like 
structures that were built to house the Schick General Hospital, Department of the Army.  
Almost all of the buildings have gable roofs, factory-type roofs with clerestories.  And 
enclosed corridor system, with flat roofs, connects any of the buildings.  Built rapidly and 
for a utilitarian purpose, the buildings are simple, plain, and generally devoid of any 
major attempts to achieve and architectural style.  However, the Georgian Style is 
suggested by a few decorative features.  The site plan also suggest an arrangement based 
upon Georgian models.  
The hospital was built on park-owned land in a war emergency situation.  Named for the 
first medical officer to die in World War ll, William R. Schick, the hospital had a 
designed bed capacity of 2,014 beds, although there were 3,120 patients at its peak period 
in August, 1945.  The hospital was under the Department of Army from March 9, 1943 to 
February 21, 1946.  From 1948-1965, it served as a Domicilary of the Veterans 
Administration in 1966, the Job Corps occupied the facility as a training center.  The 
federally owned facility was reverted back to local ownership and the property has been 
"parcelized".

138.	
CB&Q Railroad Freight Depot, 10th Avenue South at South 2nd Street; c. 1885.
Used as a railroad freight depot, it is now vacant and abandoned.  The building has stone 
foundation walls, brick superstructure, and bracketed gable roof.  The openings in the 
brick walls are formed by segmented arches.

139.	
C&NW Railroad Bridge, C&NW Railroad right-of-way and the Mississippi River; 1909.
This is a double-tracked railroad swing bridge with steel trusses spanning between stone 
piers.  There is a swing section adjacent to the Iowa shore to allow boat passage in the 
main channel of the Mississippi River.  Fixed spans are to the east and traverse Little 
Rock Island, completing the bridge link to the Illinois side of the river.  The bridge 
replaced an iron railroad bridge, built in 1870, which, in turn, had replaced the first 
railroad bridge at Clinton.  The first bridge was a wood "Howe Truss"-type built in 1864-
1865.    

140.	
C. Lamb & Sons Office Building/Eclipse Lumber Company, 1104-1106 South 2nd 
Street; 1879; W. W. Sanborn, Architect, of Clinton.
The building has exterior walls of stucco over masonry.  Severely altered, the building's 
only remaining historic architectural features are the window caps and sills.  The parapet 
has been rebuilt and all of the original Gothic Revival Style detailing has been removed.  
Lower-story window openings have been closed in and upper-story windows replaced.  
The structure was once an elegant and stylish office building for the C. Lamb & Sons 
Lumber Mill.  In 1910, George Dulany purchased it for the Eclipse Lumber Company.

141.	
Old Curtis Property, 2nd Street South at 12th Avenue South; c. 1878.
This was the office building for Curtis Brothers and Company in the late nineteenth 
century.  The Curtis Company, manufacturers of wood sash and doors, was founded in 
1866 by Charles F. Curtis, George M. Curtis, and Judson E. Carpenter.  The building's 
main entrance and entry steps on the east, front façade have been removed.  Many of the 
windows have been closed over.  An addition of the same style was added on the west.  A 
massive, three-story building was attached on the south.  These buildings west of South 
2nd Street are now vacant and are expected to be demolished.
Old Curtis Property, 114 12th Avenue South; most. C. 1920.
This is the vacant plant of the Curtis Company.  Curtis, a woodworking plant, was a 
national leader in quality wood construction components such as door, sash, fireplace 
mantels, entryways, trim, and kitchen cabinets.  In 1966, 100 years after its founding, the 
Curtis Company went out of the business.

142.	
Lamb Boat and Engine Company/Climax Company/ Climax Engine & Pump Company 
(Waukesha Clinton Plant of Dresser Industries, Inc.), 1812 South 4th Street; 1901.
Some of the brick buildings of the plant date back to the early 20th century.  They are 
generally good examples of typical industrial architecture of the period.  Common use of 
materials, forms, and expression f window openings create a unified setting.  Founded by 
G. E. Lamb, the Lamb Boat and Engine company became the Climax Company in 1916.  
In 1952, the name was changed to Climax Engine & Pump Company, Division of 
Eversharp, Inc.  It is now Waukesha (a division of Dresser Industries, Inc.).

143.	
C &NW Railroad Car Shops, 1501 Camanche Avenue; c. 1910.
The Chicago and Northwestern Railroad car shops form a major industrial complex in 
Clinton.  This location was developed about 1910.  Earlier car shops (located near 8th 
Avenue South and the river) had become obsolete, forcing relocation of the facility.  
Some of the early shop buildings are good examples of early twentieth-century industrial 
architecture.  Most of the buildings have exterior walls of common brick.  A variety of 
roof types are used, including gable, flat, and "saw-tooth" roofs.  Most of these buildings 
were constructed about 1910 or after, and are located along Camanche Avenue.  Some 
new shop buildings, most with metal skins, have been built south of the original complex.

144.	
Clinton Country Club, 1501 Harrison Drive; 1922.  
Although altered considerably through expansions, the clubhouse is still a handsome, 
sprawling building that, because of the wood trim panelization of the stucco-covered 
gables and walls, takes on a Tudor Style feeling.  At the same time, Prairie School 
influence on the design is suggested, especially in the horizontal emphasis of the 
building.

145.	
Wartburg College (Glendale Apartments), 1900 Glendale Road; 1893-1894.
Wartburg College, a Lutheran school founded in 1868, developed a major campus in 
Clinton in 1893.  H. W. Seaman of Clinton and the Reverend O. Hartman, pastor of a 
local Lutheran church, were instrumental in persuading Wartburg College to locate in 
Clinton.  C. E. Lamb sold 57 acres of land to the college of which seventeen were 
retained for the campus and the remainder sold for residential development to help 
finance the college.  The major building was started in 1893 and completed in time for 
the college to open in the fall of 1894.
The Romanesque Style building with its centrally located tower is a major landmark in 
the southwestern-western part of the city.  It has exterior walls of red brick with stone 
trim.  Designed to house up to two hundred students, it contained classrooms, a chapel, 
museum, library, kitchen and dining hall.  The house behind the main building was built 
c. 1906.  In 1935, Wartburg closed its Clinton campus and the Waverly campus became 
the college's major facility in Iowa.  In April of 1944, the building was converted to 68 
apartment units.  The main entry was abandoned and the arched opening filled in.

146.	
Cotta Haus ("Drews Cotta Haus"), 1850 Glendale Road; 1922-1923.
A two and one-half story brick building, it was built as a dormitory for Wartburg College, 
but has been converted to an apartment house with nineteen units.  The building is a good 
Clinton example of the so-called "Collegiate Gothic" style, popular in the 1920's for 
educational buildings.

147.	
William Thomas House ("Old Stone House"). 850 South Bluff Boulevard; 1838.
The house is the second oldest (some say it is the oldest) structure still standing in 
Clinton.  It is of vernacular construction with modern, recent-day additions, in the 1840's, 
the Old Stone House was an overnight stopping point for pony mail riders and for other 
travelers.
The one-story stone house, built in 1836-1838, consisted originally of one room with 
fireplace and a sleeping loft above.  Later, another room was added.  Stone quarried on 
the site was used for the walls, and wood materials came from oaks felled nearby.  In the 
1930's, the house was enlarged and modernized by E. I. Troeger.  Expansion consisted of 
three bedrooms, kitchen, laundry, and partial basement built with stone from a Princeton, 
Iowa quarry.  In 1956, the Peterson family had the kitchen modernized and added a 
family room, garage, and new entryway of vertical board and batten wood siding. 

148.	
Judge Chase House/Mt. St. Clair/Mt. Alverno (Jannan Apartment), 262 North Bluff 
Boulevard; 1859 and 1869.
The building is a good local example of the Second Empire Style.  Built in 1869 as the 
house for Judge C. W. Chase, it incorporated an earlier structure of 1859.  In 1893, the 
building was purchased for use as a school, Mt. St. Clair.  With relocation of the school 
to 400 North Bluff Boulevard, the building became a home for the aged.  It was sold to a 
private party in 1971, and converted to apartments.  A tower is centrally located in the 
east façade to denote the main entrance.  Architectural features of note on the brick 
building include roof soffit brackets and stylized arched windows.  Later alterations 
include a rear addition and a modern aluminum entry canopy, now badly damaged, on the 
east. 

149.	
W. J. Young Tomb, Springdale Cemetery; 1896.
The design of the tomb utilizes the Romanesque Style and makes a simple but powerful 
architectural statement.  As W. J. Young's mansion has been torn down for a super 
market site, the tomb is a single architectural remembrance of one of Clinton's historic 
"lumber barons".  The tomb is constructed of massive, rough-hewn gray granite stone.  
Short columns of polished granite flank the portal. The tomb is sited atop a grassy knoll 
and is composed on axis with several drives.  These drives divert and encircle the parcel 
of land on which the tomb is centered.

150.	
Lyman A. Ellis: "Park Hill Place" (Parkhill Place/Kreiter's)
A large, two-story country  house, it has brick exterior walls with two colors of brick.  
The walls are of red brick contrasted with cream-colored brick for quoined corners and 
window arches.  The roof eaves have paired soffit brackets.  The house is a good example 
of Italianate Style.  Combined with a spacious and well landscaped site, the architecture 
retains a historic image of gracious living.

151.	
"Old Stage Coach Stop"/First and Last Tavern (Charles Horner Property), 1337 Main 
Avenue; c. 1848.
The building is an example of indigenous construction for its locality and historic period.  
It formerly was a tavern and is said to have been a stage coach stop.  The cellar of the 
building is of local limestone.  It is set into a low hillside and exposed on the street side.  
The two-story superstructure is of frame construction with recent asbestos siding.  The 
roof is gabled and there is a shed-roofed addition attached on the west.  The building is 
now vacant.

152.	
Dr. A. L. Ankeny House/Lindmeier ("Cherrybank"), 1720 Main Avenue; 1870-1871; 
Dennis Warren, Builder.
Two stories high, the building has walls of red brick with buff0colored brick used for 
quoins at the corners and for the window arches.  A cornice, hip roof, and widow's walk 
cap the building.  Changes to the building include removal of the front porch in the 
1920's.  The building is a good example of a fashionable period mansion of Italianate 
Style.  Dennis Warren built the house, intended for his favorite nephew; but, instead, the 
house was sold and first occupied by Dr. Ankeny.

153.	
Castle Terrace District, Terrance Drive and Caroline Avenue; c. 1926; Curtis Company 
Service Bureau with E. E. Green, Architect-in-Charge.
Originally platted in 1892, the Castle Terrace district was developed about 1926 by the 
Curtis Service Bureau of the Curtis Company, woodwork manufacturers of Clinton.  The 
project was a promotional effort to show developers, architects, and builders the 
application and product of the Curtis Company.  The development was on eleven lots in 
the area bounded by 8th Avenue South and South 14th Street.  The architectural design of 
Castle Terrace hoses was highly eclectic with Tudor Gothic the primary style utilized.  
Utility lines were put underground and trees, curving streets, and spacious lawns created 
a village atmosphere.

154.	
Vandiren House, 3800 Lakewood Drive; 1961; Phil Feddersen, Architect, of Clinton.
The one-story house had a hip roof and walls of squared stone masonry and wood.  The 
design of the house is based on Frank Lloyd Wright's modern house designs called 
"Usonion".  This design approach was also called "organic".  Emphasis was placed on 
nature, on the use of natural materials and, in theory and more importantly, on and no 
part can be removed without destroying the composition.

155.	
Karl Broman House, 8th Street NW, RR 3; 1839.
The house is an example of vernacular construction of the early settlement period in 
Clinton and Lyons.  It is a two-story masonry building covered over with stucco and has 
a low-pitched gable roof.  The building has one-story frame additions with shed roofs to 
the front and side, and window replacements.  Among the out-buildings is a stone smoke 
house.

156.	
Stone Lookout Tower, Eagle Point Park; 1937; WPA.
This stone lookout tower is circular in plan.  Lancet windows pierce the outside wall to 
permit natural light into the winding stair on the interior.  Designed and built by WPA, 
the tower is a romantic architectural element and a major landmark in Eagle Point Park.  
The design of the tower seems to have been inspired by Norman fortress architecture.

157.	
Footbridge-Eagle Point Park, Eagle Point Park , Eagle Point Park; c. 1913 and c. 1935; 
WPA
Spanning a small ravine, the footbridge is built of local limestone in an uncoursed rubble 
pattern.  The walking surface is concrete.  The footbridge, with the texture of the stone 
rubble and with the flowing lines, is a romantic design and pleasing addition to the park 
setting.

158.	
Lodge-Joyce's Park (Lodge-Eagle Point Park), Eagle Point Park; c. 1913 and c 
 1935; WPA rebuilt c. 1935.
Originally built as a pavilion for Joyce's Park, the building had an arcade around the 
perimeter.  The building was completely rebuilt about 1935 by the WPA.  A platform was 
built with stone walls for the lodge.  The lodge has wood siding in log cabin fashion and 
stone piers.  Alterations in 1967 to the lodge included; construction of an entrance 
canopy, designed by Clinton architect, Phil Feddersen, and replacement of the pavilion 
windows with casements of redwood.  There was also interior alterations including new 
toilet rooms.  In a rustic architectural style, compatible to it natural setting, the handsome 
building serves appropriately as the lodge for the park.  With respect for nature and with 
a prominent location overlooking the Mississippi River, the building forms an image and 
focus ideally suited for the beautiful Eagle Point Park.

159.	
100 BLOCK OF SOUTH 4TH STREET
The west side of the 100 block of South 4th Street is a built-up frontage, tight to the 
street, that is an example of late nineteenth-and early twentieth-century commercial 
architecture.  The integrity of the west side of this block is good, with only one building 
intrusion and some ground-floor storefront alterations, although the east side of the street 
in non-descript with mixed building types and uses.  Recorded buildings within the 
district are identified as 159a through 159e and are shown on Map No. 4.  Descriptions 
follow:
a)	P. C. Wulf Property (Clausen Hardware), 122 South 4th Street; 1910-1911; N. P. 
 Work, Architect, of Clinton; Ed Krieger, Builder.
A two-story brick building, it is twenty-three feet wide and occupies a corner site.  The 
upper-story windows have stone sills and lintels; a tin cornice caps the exterior walls.  
The South 4th Street storefront has been altered and a new, one-story addition built to the 
north.
	
b)	The Flower Shoppe, 118 South 4th Street; c. 1895.
A two-story commercial building.  It has a brick veneer front with rolled asphalt siding 
on the visible party wall.  The front has a tin cornice, window cap, and bay window.  The 
ground-floor storefront has been altered.

c)	W.T.O. Counselling, 116 South 4th Street; c. 1874.
Built of brick, the building has three windows of segmented, arched openings on the 
upper story of the front façade.  A cornice is formed by intricate brickwork at the parapet.  
The ground-floor storefont has been altered.

d)	D. J. Siding and independent Optical, 108-110 South 4th Street; c. 1889.
The building has brick exterior walls with stone window sills, string courses, and trim.  
The front façade is divided into two storefronts.  These have been altered recently and an 
asphalt-shingled canopy constructed.  The building design was influenced by the 
Romanesque Style.

e)	Peter C. Wulf Hardware/Thomas Peterson Grocery and Peterson's Hall (Union 
Supply Company), 100-102 South 4th Street; 1892.
The upper story of the brick building utilizes tin for window caps and roof cornice.  The 
ground floor has recently been altered with stone cladding and the addition of a large, 
full-length sigh.  The upper-story windows have also been replaced and panels installed.  
The building is of eclectic design with the Renaissance Revival Style as the major design 
source.

160.	
900 and 1000 BLOCK OF SOUTH 4TH STREET
Approximately one and one-half blocks of the west side of South 4th Street (from 
addresses 914 through 1020) comprise a continuous frontage of architecturally significant 
commercial buildings.  All except one (160b), built in 1912, pre-date the 1900's.  The east 
side of the street is an unfortunate intrusion with no continuity or integrity.  Gas stations, 
several residential structures, and a pornography shop comprise this frontage.  However, 
the west side of the street, north from 11th Avenue South for about one and on-half 
blocks, has two- and three-story structures that front on the street and create a long, 
unified wall of brick, commercial buildings.  Except for some ground-floor storefront 
alterations, the buildings retain considerable integrity of historic architecture.  This 
"preservation" is due to neglect rather than to a conscious effort to retain authenticity.  
This west-side frontage of the street serves as a neighborhood convenience cent for the 
adjacent neighborhood, while the east side of the street mainly serves the non-resident 
motorists on highways 67 and 30 that route on South 4th Street here.  The 900 and 1000 
blocks of South 4th Street are indicated on Map No. 4 and are identified as 160a through 
160h.  Descriptions follow:
a)	Smith Brothers' General Store, 1014-1020 South 4th Street; c. 1874 and c. 1885.
This assemblage of four storefronts converted into one building for one occupancy is 
unique from several aspects; the common use of brick; similar architectural features and 
details; and, more importantly, the integrity of the complex, by way of the turn-of-the -
century appearance.  There is little in the way of modernization to detract from the 
historic, visual aspects of the buildings(s).  The building style may be best described as 
commercial vernacular.
The occupant of the building, Smith Brothers' General Store, is itself a unique, old-time 
operation.  The traditional methods of display and merchandising, as well as the building 
exterior, combine to create a wide appeal for this "old-fashioned" general store.

b)	Red Shield Store. 1010-1012 South 4th Street; 1912.
A large, three -story commercial brick building, it has two colors of face brick on the 
front façade.  The ground-floor storefront has been altered.  A tin cornice on the street 
façade and a two-story bay window above the alley are the major architectural features of 
interest.

c)	Seaman Block, 1004-1008 South 4th Street; c. 1885.
The building is handsome with the simple but exquisite use of warm, red brick.  Although 
of Italianate Style influence, the building design is probably better described as 
commercial vernacular.  The ground-floor storefronts have been altered.  Cast-iron 
columns and high store windows have been replaced with brick, of compatible color and 
pattern, to create new storefronts.  The simplicity and directness of the design creates a 
tasteful and seemingly modern street façade for the building.

d)	Seaman Building (Calnan Hardware), 1002 South 4th Street; c. 1885.
The front façade of the building has an upper story of brick with stone string course, a 
cornice formed by corbeled brick, and a pair of two-sided bay windows.  Two slender, 
cast-iron columns, with Corinthian capitals, flank the entry steps and doorway.  The 
building is of eclectic design influence and has an interesting composition of architectural 
features, such as the two-sided bays.  In addition, the building is an excellent example of 
period commercial architecture, with considerable integrity of original construction and 
appearance retained.

e)	S. C. Seaman Groceries (Easy Wash Laundromat), 1000 South 4th Street; 
 1874.
A brick building of simplified Italianate Style, the structure has considerable historic 
integrity.  The ground-floor storefront is of cast iron and wood.  The clerestory portion of 
the storefront windows has been altered by the addition of panels and louvers.

f)	Pierson Block, 920-926 South 4th Street; 1888
The tin cornice is a dominating and spectacular architectural feature of the building.  
With cornice, handsome brickwork, and remodeled but compatible store-fronts, the 
building is an excellent Clinton example of a large, Victorian-era commercial building of 
Italianate Style influence.

g)	R. Barton Building (Earl Bachelder Property/Fourth Street Café), 916-918 
 South 4th Street; 1875. 
Of Italianate Style influence, the building has a handsome upper-story façade that 
features extensive use of brick with segmented arches and cornice-like parapet.  The 
ground-floor storefront has been drastically altered by the addition of stone veneer, 
canopy, and modern aluminum windows.  The upper stories of the north, 22-foot frontage 
have had the windows replaced with in-fill panels and new windows.

h)	Haywood and Son's Bank (Lucille Hawk Property), 914 South 4th Street; 
The Italianate Style building once housed a bank.  Although the upper story of the front 
façade, with its two contrasting colors of face brick is generally intact, the windows and 
ground-floor storefront have been drastically altered with new siding and aluminum with 
the creation of four apartment units.

161.	
100-200 BLOCKS OF SOUTH 2ND STREET 
The west side of South 2nd Street has two, block-long frontages of late nineteenth-
century and early twentieth-century commercial structures.  The buildings are of brick 
and are two stories high, except for a single, frame, one-story building.  With the 
exception of many storefront changes and some upper-story revisions, building integrity 
is preserved.  The east side of the street, unfortunately, bears little resemblance to the 
district frontage as new construction and alterations have changed the total street 
character.  Nevertheless, the west side of the street exhibits a continuity of material, 
height, scale, and usage to define a district of commercial architecture.  The buildings of 
the district are identified as 161a through 161n and appear on Map No. 4.  Descriptions 
follow:
a)	Eagles Lodge Hall/Hall's Appliance Center, 218-222 South 2nd Street; 
1929.
This commercial vernacular building has brick exterior walls devoid of ornamental 
features except for a continuous stone string course and corbeled brickwork.  The ground 
floor has an altered storefront.

b)	The Hair Stable, 216 South 2nd Street; 1905.
The narrow commercial building, which has only a twenty-foot frontage, is brick with a 
tin cornice and bay window.  The storefront is intact with a wide expanse of glass and a 
slender, round, cast-iron colum.
c)	Chris Martensen Property, 214 South 2nd Street; c. 1864.
A twenty-foot wide, commercial building, it has a ground-floor storefront that is still 
intact, with cast iron, wood, and glass.  The upper story is brick with segmented, arched 
window openings and corbeled brick-work at the parapet.

d)	Carlson Paint, 212 south 2nd Street; 1899.
This commercial building is brick on the upper story, with a tin cornice and bay window.  
The ground-floor store front has been altered and modernized.

e)	James Hass Property, 201-210 South 2nd Street; 1893-1894.
A two-story brick for the upper exterior walls.  The parapet has been rebuilt and now has 
a stone coping.  A major change consists of an addition of corrugated siding for sign 
panels above the storefront windows.

f)	Douglass H. Lass Property, 200-202 South 2nd Street; 1885.
The ground-floor storefronts of the building have been changed and some of the window 
openings have been altered with raised sills.  Despite alterations, the building retains 
much of the original design intent of the Italianate Style adaptation.

g)	Hass Grocery (Hass and Son Grocery), 122 South 2nd Street, 1890.
A two-story commercial building, it has exterior walls of brick with a tin cornice.  The 
window heads of the upper story have been altered and major portions of the south 
exterior well have been rebuilt.  The building is of commercial vernacular design with 
some detailing of the tin cornice.  Jurgen Hass started the grocery in this building in 1890 
and the business is still run by the Hass family 

h)	James Hass Property, 118-120 South 2nd Street; 1892.
This commercial building has a cast-iron storefront which retains its original appearance.  
Alterations include glass block as replacement for two-upper-story windows and upper 
parapet brickwork rebuilding.

i)	James Hass Property/Congressman Tom Tauke Office, 1892.
A two-story brick building of simple lines and design, it has been considerable altered, 
but the overall massing, materials, and forms of the building are harmonious and 
compatible with other buildings in the district.

j)	Kamp Building (G & D Electric compan7), 114 South 2nd Street; c. 1895.
The small commercial building has a main façade of brick with tin cornice, tin-clad bay 
window, and a ground-floor storefront of cast-iron columns, wood, and glass.  Except for 
the addition of a sign panel, the building retains much of its original appearance and 
integrity.

k)	Sharon's Beauty Shop, 112 South 2nd Street; 1913.
A brick commercial building, it has a main façade comprised of segmented, arched 
window openings and a tin cornice.  The storefront has been "modernized" with vertical 
wood siding and asphalt-shingled canopy roof.  The north wall facing the alley has been 
stuccoed over.

l)	Bassler Shoe Shop, 110 South 2nd Street; c. 1874.
This is a very small, one-story commercial building of frame construction.  It has a gable 
roof and a false front of wood siding.  The south side wall is sided with rolled asphalt. 
The storefront has new finishes of wood siding and glass.  The building was bought in 
1912 and remodeled into a shoe shop.  The building was moved from across the street to 
this site in 1919.

m)	 KROS and KSAY Radio Station, 106-108 South 2nd Street; 1908.
The brick building houses a radio station.  A tin cornice is the most distinguishing 
characteristic of the commercial vernacular building.  Alterations include the modernized 
ground-floor storefront.

n)	Horace Anthony Property/Koetter Brothers (Mickel's; Goddard's; Ehlers  
Tru-Value Hardware), 100-104 South 2nd Street; 1889.
A tow-story brick building, it consists of three narrow storefronts.  The 
Ground-floor storefronts are of wood, glass, and cast iron.  Additions of signs and sign 
panels are the major changes from the original appearance of the building.

162.	
400 BLOCK OF NORTH 2ND STREET
Although not a district in the usual sense, four buildings on the west side  
of the 400 block of North 2nd Street define a unified commercial frontage of period 
architecture.  These buildings are identified as number 162a through 162d, and appear on 
Map No. 4.  Description follow:
	
a)	Edwin Old's Building (Petersen's: The Maple Shop), 410-412 North 2nd Street; 
1892.
A two-story commercial building, it has a front façade of brick with tin cornice and 
ornate window heads.  The party wall have been clad over with aluminum siding and the 
ground-floor storefront has been altered.  The design of the building is eclectic with the 
Italianate Style the most influential source of inspiration.

b)	Jack's Tavern/ H & R Block, 420-422 North 2nd Street; 1894-1895.
This commercial building, of Italianate Style inspiration, has an upper-story façade of 
brick with a tin cornice and window "eyebrows".  The ground-floor storefronts have been 
drastically altered.

c)	Buelow's T. V. Service, 424 North 2nd Street; c. 1900.
The building is one of the few in Clinton to utilize sheet tin as a wall surface material.  
The pattern on the sheet tin was intended to simulate masonry.  The design of the 
building can best be described as eclectic with some lingering influences of the Italianate 
Style, as exhibited by the cornice treatment, while the use of the bay window can be 
attributed to the popularity of the Queen Anne Style.

d)	J. Q. Jefferies Real Estate, 426 North 2nd Street; c. 1895.
The building is a commercial structure of two stories.  The north wall is of brick with 
"punched-in" windows, capped with segmented arches.  The east façade on the upper 
story has been altered with new windows and vertical wood siding.  The ground-floor 
storefront has had some alterations but the original feeling has basically been retained.

163.	
MAIN AVENUE
Main Avenue, east of North 3rd Street, is the shopping and commercial center 
 for the Lyons area.  It once was the major downtown street for the town of Lyons 
 but now fills a neighborhood convenience/service function.  A one and one-half 
 block frontage of Main Avenue, east of Roosevelt Street, is the heart of the historic 
 downtown and is of architectural significance.  The buildings are two stories high 
 except for several one-and three-story buildings; all front directly on the public right-of-
way.  The Main Avenue historic district limit on the west is the public square at 
Roosevelt Street; and the district extends east to include about a one and one-half block 
frontage on the north side of Main Avenue.  Some of the more important old buildings 
along the avenue, including the three-story Gage Building, built in 1861, are within this 
short frontage.
On the whole, the district retains enough historic buildings and integrity to create a well-
defined, pleasant shopping district that has importance as an example of nineteenth-
century commercial architecture.  Buildings in the district are identified as numbers 163a 
through 163g and appear on Map No. 4.  Descriptions follow:
a)	Silver Dollar Tavern, 76 Main Avenue; c. 1865.
This is a two-story commercial building of brick with cornice and window caps.  The 
ground-floor store-front has been rebuilt and clad with stone veneer.  The building, of 
Italianate Style, is a good Clinton example of nineteenth-century commercial 
construction and design. 

b)	Reter Building (Mar Gee Plastics), 80 Main Avenue; c. 1874.
Similar in appearance and detailing to the 75-59 Main Avenue building across the street, 
this Italianate Style building uses two colors of brick to accent the corbelled and relief 
patterns of the brickwork.  The ground-floor storefront has been rebuilt in a fashion of 
"historicism".

c)	Miller and Schumm (Helen's Tap Tavern), 84 Main Avenue; c. 1874.
Similar to 80 Main Avenue next door, this 26-foot wide store makes use of red and 
cream-colored brick to emphasize the projecting and intricate brickwork on the front 
façade.  Although maintenance is lacking, the building seemingly retains its historic 
features.
		
d)	J. P. Gage Union Hall (Gage Building/E. Z. Does It/Davis Studio), 86-88 
Main Avenue; 1861.
A large, three-story commercial structure of painted brick, the building has corbeled brick 
under the projecting cornice on the front façade.  The J. P. Gage Union Hall is an 
excellent example of early Italianate Style.  It is the highest and most visually important 
building along the Main Avenue commercial frontage; and, except for the ground-floor 
storefronts, it has historic integrity with retention of most of its significant architectural 
components.
	
e)	William H. Gode (Pete Glass Co.), 90 Main Avenue; 1870.
A twenty-two foot wide and two-story high brick commercial building.  It has a small 
cornice with a series of small arches formed by corbeled brick under the cornice.  The 
ground-floor storefront has been altered.  The eclectic building design exhibits influences 
of Italian Romanesque Style.  The building is of harmonious design and consistent 
material with the J. P. Gage Union Hall next door.
f)	Dreesen Building (Jack Soesbe Barber Shop), 92 Main Avenue; c. 1870.
The front façade has a "false" front with high parapet, a cornice with brackets, and siding 
which appears to be salvaged and applied from another building.  The building was 
remodeled, does not detract seriously from the historic integrity of the building.  The 
major architectural significance of this structure is the use of Renaissance Revival Style 
and its interpretation in fame construction for a commercial building. This contrasts with 
the other, old, commercial structures of masonry construction in the Main Avenue 
district.

g)	1st Nation Bank of Lyons (Lyons Masonic Tenple), 94 Main Avenue; 1907.
This former bank building has brick party walls with cut and dressed limestone on the 
front façade.  The windows of the front façade have been altered with re-placement by 
glass block and corrugated metal siding between the ground floor and upper-story 
windows,  The design of the bank exterior is very eclectic with strong influences from the 
Second Renaissance and Classical Revival Styles which were popular in the early 
twentieth century in America.

Clinton IAGenWeb Logo

HOME