IAGenWeb Project - Clayton co.
updated 10/10/2017

Farmersburg & National
Camps, Lodges, Social societies & other organizations

Unless otherwise credited the following items were contributed by Reid R. Johnson for Clayton co. IAGenWeb

Royal Neighbors of America

Palm Leaf Camp, No. 3198, R.N.A., at their meeting Tuesday evening elected the following officers for the ensuing year:
Oracle- Mrs. Effie Knight
Vice Oracle- Miss Kittie Little
Recorder- Mrs. Ina Matthews
Receiver- Mrs. Louisa Fuelling
Chancellor- Mrs. Sella Matthews
Marshal- Miss Elfreda Oelke
I.S.- Mrs. Anna Sabban
O.S.- Miss Reca Possehl
Manager- James T. Adams
~Elkader Register, Thur., Dec. 10, 1903 (Farmersburg column)

Farmer's Stock Company
A Farmer's Stock Company was organized here last Saturday for the shipping of stock, with the following officers:
President - John Sabban
Secretary - Wm. Buckman
Manager - James Matthews
Directors - Lewis Saacks, Ernest Fuelling, Henry Kling, Henry Gerloff, Herman Hammann, Henry Walters
~Elkader Register, Thursday, March 1, 1906. Farmersburg column

Order of Eastern Star
Last Wednesday evening the Monona Eastern Star officers were invited to a 6 o'clock supper at the Haltmeyer Hotel. About twenty being present from Monona. There was 50 who partook of the banquet after which they all went to the Lodge room for the purpose of constituting our chapter and installing the officers for the ensuing year.
Worthy Matron - Mabel Mead
Worthy Patron - Harlen Mead
Associate Matron - Francis Oelke
Secretary - Sella Shales
Treasurer - Laura Shales
Conductress - Kittie Johnson
Asso. Conductress - Odelia Little
Chaplin - Belle Oelke
Marshal - Theresa Oelke
Organist - Lenora Embretson
Adah - Olga Mahnke
Ruth - Vivian Larson
Esther - Esther Hinsch
Martha - Grace Orvis
Electa - Mahalia Dahlstrom
Warden - Mary Eggert
Sentinel - Arno Oelke
~Elkader Register, Thur., 4 Dec. 1924. Farmersburg column. Condensed from a larger article.

Order of Eastern Star & Masons
Farmersburg: A joint installation of the Masons and Eastern Stars was held Friday evening at the Masonic hall. After installation cards and refreshments were enjoyed. The following officers were installed:
Worthy Matron - Alice Mahnke
Worthy Patron - Hugo Oelke
Asst. Matron - Nettie Behrend
Asst. Patron - Carl Gall
Sec. - Mina Dahlstrom
Treas. - Kittie Johnson
Conductress - Thelma Mathews
Asst. Conductress - Margaret Kruse
Organist - Ada Kiple
Adah - Laura Glawe
Ruth - Olga Mahnke
Martha - Odelia Little
~Clayton County Register, Thur., 3 Jan. 1935


Return to Clayton co. Directory & Gazetteer index