IAGenWeb Project - Clayton co.

History of Clayton County, Iowa
Chapter XXX

Highland Township

Highland Township
(page 838-839)

This township, 93 north, range 6 west, is the middle one of the western tier of townships of Clayton County. It is a full-sized township, well-watered, and contains good soil, but he surface of the country is hilly. The Volga flows through the southwestern corner of the township, and the Turkey touches the northeastern corner, while Pine Creek, Wolf Creek and other small streams drain the country. The township was one of the last in the county to be settled up. Its population is about 850.

Of the early settlers, Messrs. Mulenix, Holbrook, Robbins, Moats, Pool, Dart and Harlow Barnum came in 1852; Levi Doty, Frederick Orr, High McKeller and Mike Callaghan came in 1853.

The first birth in the township was John Robbins, a son of Francis Robbins. The first marriage was that of Frederic Orr to Ellen Callaghan, in 1855. The first death was that of a child of John Pool, in 1854.

The first election was held at Francis Robbins' house, in the spring of 1854, soon after the organization of the township. John Pool and David Moats were chosen Justices of the Peace; Francis Robbins and Abraham Pool were elected Township Trustees, and Levi Doty was elected Assessor.

The present officers are: Township Clerk, Thomas Donoland: Trustees, William West, Martin Klingman and Jerry Feany; Justices of the Peace, William West and Mathew Ewing; Assessor, James Foran; Constables, Thomas Boland and James McLaughlin.

The first school-house in the township was built on the Nolan farm, on section 15, now owned by Mrs. Doty; and one was built about the same time on section 8. These were both built in 1854. There are at present nine school-houses in the township, valued at $3,150. There are no independent districts.

 The first sermon was preached in the house of Francis Robbins, in the fall of 1853, by John Brown, of the United Brethren denomination, who came from Delaware County at the invitation of Mr. Doty. He held meetings every two weeks for two years. After him came William Allbright, a Methodist Episcopal minister. Then came Rev. Mr. Gifford, of the Free-Will Baptist persuasion. He died in Pony Hollow, in the summer of 1880. There is no church in the township, but services are held in the school-house, district No. 3, section 8, alternately, by ministers of the United Brethren and Evangelic Congregation.

The Congregationalists hold meetings once every four weeks at the school-house, in district 9, section 29.


This chapter concludes with biographical sketches.


transcribed by Roxanne Barth
source: History of Clayton County, Iowa, 1882, Chicago: Inter-State Publishing Co., 1882. Reproduced by the sponsorship of the Monona Historical Society, Monona, Iowa, reproduction Evansville, Indiana: Unigraphics, Inc., 1975; page 838-839


Return to Table of Contents

Return to Clayton County Index