History of Woodburn
Methodist Episcopal Church
The Methodist Episcopal church was organized within six months after the village was started, J.L. Tedrow being the prime mover. The first services were held in the railroad station-house, but six months later their frame church was built at a cost of $1,200. Services were held every two weeks.
James A. Clarke was the first superintendent of Sunday Schools. Early pastors were Revs. Harris, Kennedy, D.O. Stuart, Martin, Kern, M. Allen, C.W. Brewer, A. Hancox, Gyer, Mark, Moore and F.P. Evans.
On January 8, 1870, Mr. Tedrow, W. Gitchel and Alpheus Hardin, trustees, bought part of lot 45 of the original town of Woodburn for the sum of $35. On March 7, 1881, the remaining portion of lot 45 was purchased for the sum of $100. By the year 1886 the membership of the M.E. church was about 75. Services were held every two weeks, and about 100 people attended regularly.
On November 16, 1875, the trustees bought lot 26 to be used as a parsonage. About 1904 a new parsonage was erected on the north half of lot 45 and the original one was sold in 1905.
In 1914, during the ministry of Forrest Perkins, a two-week revival was held. Baptism was by immersion in the old fishing hole in Whitebreast Creek southeast of Woodburn. After this revival the Epworth League was organized, and young people attended the meetings that were held on Sunday evening before the church service.
The Ladies Aid met each week to quilt, raising money to pay the minister and repair the parsonage. They also served lunches at farm sales and election dinners, and held bazaars and plays to raise money in the 1920's and 30's.
Source: History of Clarke County, Lynette Davis
Graphics courtesy of: Christian Media
Return to Church Directory