Buena Vista County, IA
USGenWeb Project

History of the First Baptist Church
Sioux Rapids, Buena Vista County, Iowa

The Baptist church in Sioux Rapids had its beginning August 11, 1881, when Rev. V. Bloodgood, who lived and preached at that time in Spencer, came and organized the society with about twelve members.  P. W. Goodrich was elected the first deacon of the church, and also the superintendent of the Sunday school.  H. D. Smith, W. H. Scarborough, and P. W. Goodrich constituted the first trustees.


Rev. Bloodgood remained in Spencer for sometime after the organization of the church in Sioux Rapids, but came to the latter place every alternate Sunday to conduct the services which were held in a schoolhouse in the country, and in the Methodist church in town.  In 1884 the present church building, which was also the first one, was erected.  When the M. & St. L. railroad was constructed through the town, requiring removal of several residences, a house was bought and moved on the lot beside the church and was made the parsonage.  The church society now owns a good property, valued at twenty-three hundred dollars, and free from debt.


The ministers who have served during the history of the church are Revs. V. Bloodgood, Jenkins, Perry, Grote, John Firth, who is now a missionary in India, W. P. Pierce, E. W. Lyman, E. G. Boyer, Luther Ross, C. M. Wilcox, J. H. Brace, a student who preached during vacation, A. J. Hislup, Wm. Edwards, a supply from Marathon; T. M. Evans, who supplied for one year, living in the country at the same time, and J. V. Wright.


The following persons constitute the present officers of the church:  deacon, Geo. Ross; trustees:  A. B. Claus, R. W. Thomas, Geo. Ross. D. S. Williams, and Jean Ackley; clerk, Miss Jennie Thomas; treasurer, A. B. Claus.  The society has an enrollment of twenty-five active, resident members.


The Sunday school has an enrollment of about thirty.  Mrs. George Ross is superintendent; Miss Alice Trusty, secretary, and Jennie Thomas treasurer.


The Baptist Young People's Union has a membership of twenty-six with Mrs. Viola Claybaugh, president; J. V. Wright, Secretary, and Mary Myers, treasurer.  There is a Ladies Aid Society with Mrs. Cora Streeter, vice-president, acting president, and J. V. Wright, secretary.


The Woman's Home and Foreign Missionary Society has Mrs. Geo. Ross as president, Miss Jennie Thomas, secretary, and Mrs. Alice Wright, treasurer.


There is a Young People's Sewing Circle with the following officers: president, Miss Jennie Thomas; secretary, Jennie Crain; and the treasurer, J. V. Wright.


Extracted from:  Wegerslev, C. H. and Thomas Walpole.  "Sioux Rapids."  Past and Present of Buena Vista County, Iowa.  Chicago:  S. J. Clarke Publishing Co., 1909, p. 189-90.