Third Grade At Hawthorne School

Independence, Iowa



The 1944 third grade class at Hawthorne School, on the west side of town (Independence) where the Presbyterian Church now stands (2000), posed for this class picture. 

In the front row are Ron Lentzkow, David Raymond, John Dibble, Mary Jean Dehaven, Barb Melvin, Sally Searcy, Jo Ann Terry, and Janice Meythaler. 

Second row: Earl Wilson, Leo Miller, Ivan Naylor and Bud Freeman. 

Back row: Miss Hazel Anderson Grant (teacher), Jim Schrader, Lyle Naylor, Jim Orth, Glen Martin, Kato Hoaglan, Dick Swan, Dale Zimmerly, Daryl Block and Bobby Netting. The photo was contributed by Jo Ann Terry Eschen.


Used courtesy of The Independence Bulletin-Journal.

Note: This picture is missing, and if you have one you would like to share, please email me.


Copyright 2015  The submitters & IAGenWeb

Please read the IAGenWeb Terms, Conditions & Disclaimer

 All apply to Buchanan County website.