[ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]



Posted By: Barbara Ladwig Wright (email)
Date: 7/7/2008 at 11:28:04


Complete List of Graduates and Year of Graduation

(Note: This article is from the Sumner Gazette, no date shown but apparently done in the Spring of 1905)

Class of 1892 – Jas. Lawrey, Principal – Rose Voorhees (Baker), Louis Carroll, Lottie Carpenter (Wismer); Pat McGruder, Mattie Austin (deceased); Maggie Todd (Dean.

Class of 1893 – Jas. Lawrey, Principal – Vernon Eggleston, Kate Green (deceased); May Muffly (Crawford); Roy Farrand, Hattie Eggleson, Mary Copeland.

Class of 1894 - Jas. Lawrey, Principal – Lucy M. Wells (Lease); Ida G. Tiedt (Fossler); E. Irene Arble; Zella Gillett (Scobey); M. Elsie Beightol (Ladwig); Mable E. Wells (Carder).

Class of 1895 – S. A. Darland, Principal – Sarah E. Austin (Jencks; Bert E. Farrand; Frank B. Gillett; Willis H. Robish; Lillian H. Voorhees (Dawson).

Class of 1896 - J. W. DIckman, Principal; Class sermon by Dr. J. W. Bissell, then presidents of U..I.C. – Myrtle J. Voorhees, Charles A. Ryan, Laura Wellman (Niles), Stella M. Latimer, Louis P. Linn, Edna E. Lowe, Edwin E. Wuttke, Iffie L. Eggleson, Ethel Preston.

Class of 1897 – J. W. DIckman, Principal; Class sermon by Rev. Bookwalter, then president of Western College, Toledo, Iowa. – B. C. Stoddard, F. Fay Robinson, Claude D. Tibbitts, Clyde A. Cummings, Daisy C. Robertson (Ladwig), Anna C. Reimler, Elsie C. Miller (Lease);C. C. Farrand, Chas. Fasel.

Class of 1898 - J. W. DIckman, Principal; Class sermon by Rev A. G. Wilson, then president of Lenox College, Hopkinton, Iowa. – Wiinie O. Lyon, E. Janet Robinson, Sterling E. Preston, Katie M. Wells, M. Alice Barker (Countryman), Jennie E. Barker, Anna C. Wuttke, Zoa Robish (Platt), Clara Gillett, Henry A. Koch.

.Class of 1899 – A. H. Perryman, Principal. Class sermon by Rev. W. W. Robinson, then pastor of the M. E. church in this city. – Jessie L. Stoddard, Chas. W. Lease, Ella M. Bowers (Littell), Ella M. Heyer, Wm. H. Lease, Franc D. Aldrich, Martha L. Haag, Anna M. Day (Nienstedt).

Class of 1900 – T. J. Durant, Principal. Class sermon by Rev. R. D. Parsons, then of Waverly. – Bird E. Linn, Frank E. Austin, Catherine E. McCluskey, George E. Miller, Cecil B. Rathbone (Woodbury), Lulu M. Preston (Robinson), H. Arthur Haag, Thomas J. Rochford, Dennis B. Havenstrite, Lena E. Koerth, Pauline Pflaum.

Class of 1901 - T. J. Durant, Principal. Class sermon by Dr. Guy P. Benton, then president of the U.I.C. – Mabel Neff, Roche V. Carroll, Edwin C. Reimler, Norma L. McMeekin (Farrand), Edward J. Ladwig, Pearl B. Tibbitts, Adah West, Mildred L. Thull, Minnie R. Tift, August Meswarb, Elsa Fasel.

Class of 1902 - T. J. Durant, Principal. Class sermon by Prof. J. W. Dickman of U.I.C., Fayette. – Berniece Robinson, Clarence C. Carroll, Will Reeck, Josephine Wehrmacher, Olyve B. Stevens, Clarence C. Voorhees, Icy E. Fortney, Hiley Lease, Walter A. Heyer, Viola E. Haag, Oscar R. Forsman, Viola A. Miller (Lease), Mae A. Davis, George E. Rockdaschel, Martha E. Ladwig (Hartwig), Hattie M. Tibbetts (Jones), J. Otto Haag, Elwin A. Ladwig, Inez L. West, J. Elmer Baker, Florence M. Dawson, Bessie Greene, Eunie C. Eggleson..

Class of 1903 - T. J. Durant, Principal. Class sermon by Prof. A. E. Bennett, of U.I.C. Fayette. – Martin Koeberle, Mattie B. Roberts, Mabel E. Dawson, Urban J. Haag, Pyrle B. Ackley, Frank E. Hatch, Olive I. Wescott, Raymond A. Wescott, Martha L. Clifford (Austin), Maud Barrow, Guy Leaverton, Emma F. Fortsch, Geo. W. Wescott, Georgia E. Munger, Frank R. Lauterbach, Alma Schildbach, Agnes Zbornik.

Class of 1904 - T. J. Durant, Principal. Class sermon by Rev. Bauerneind, then of Waverly. – Charles R. Hurmence, Henry J. Rockdaschel, Harrison L. Ladwig, Edward Pries, Claire D. Hausner, Alma F. Wells, Ella H. Hatch, Lloyd Dickman, Harrison Lease, Frances Pearl Lowe (Jenner), Flossie A. Lease, Grace Madge Linn.

Class of 1905 - T. J. Durant, Principal. Class sermon by Dr. T. J. Bassett, president of U.I.C. – Otto Menti, Perry West, Irving J. Baumgartner, Grace M. Pinkerton, Leo P. Winks, Ella Schildbach, George C. Lauterbach, John Rochford, Frank A. Brose, Guy Forsman.


POSTNOTE published the following week”
“We made an omission in the list of graduates of the Sumner High School published in last week’s GAZETTE. In the class of 1900 the three following names were omitted: Arthur C. N. Taylor, Emma C. Fasel (Emerson) and Samuel E. Tift. This was Prof. Durant’s first class here and consisted of fourteen members.”



Bremer Documents maintained by Sara J. Holmes.
WebBBS 4.33 Genealogy Modification Package by WebJourneymen

[ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]