Allamakee co. IAGenWeb Project - School Records
updated 10/23/2020

Allamakee co.
Rural School Teachers
1951 - misc. schools

Three rural teachers in Allamakee county have joined the armed forces and substitutes named for them in the school system, according to the county superintendents office. In addition there are three other changes in the faculties. The changes are as follows:

Franklin No.9 - Mrs. Laura Plummer of Luana, replaced Marlin Berg, who joined the armed forces.

French Creek No. 6 - Mrs. Vera Prouty, formerly Vera Steiber, who moved from Marshall, Minn., replaces James Palmer, who has enlisted in the U.S. Navy.

Linton No.3 - Mrs. Howard Kluss of Monona replaces Mrs. Thelma Berg.

Linton No. 4 - Mrs. Maxine Thorstenson of Monona replaces Mrs. Darlene Leas.

Ludlow No. 7 - Mrs. Francis Martin replaces Delores Kostman.

Wheatland - Mrs. Betty Sommermeyer of New Albin replaces Donald Meiners, who enlisted in the U.S. Air Forces.

~ Monona Leader, Thursday, January 25, 1951, Monona, Iowa ~~transcribed by Cindy (Maust) Smith


Teacher appointments for the rural schools of Allamakee county is nearly complete today with 66 hired and nine still vacant according to figures released by M.H. Goede, county superintendent.

A preliminary meeting for the rural teachers will be held at the county superintendent's office at Waukon, Saturday, August 18. It will be an all day session. Schools commence August 27 this year.

Teachers listed for the immediate locality around Postville includes:
Franklin township - No.3, Mrs. Nona Hansmeier; No.5, Curtis Webster; No.7, Laila McKee; and No.11, Irene Brainard.

Jefferson township - No.1, Ruth Rush; No.3, Mrs. Helen Gruver; No.4, Mrs. Iva Reinke; No.5, Mrs. Thelma Berg; No.7, Mrs. Margaret Deal; No.8, Mrs. Cora Palmer.

Ludlow township - No.1, Mrs. Alma Kosbau; No.2, Charlotte Kosbau; No.3, Mrs. Salina Sanders; No. 4, Mrs. Martha Hanke; No.5, Erma Winke; No.7, Mrs. Rose Mary Schellhammer; No. 8, Mrs. Iva Henderson; No. 9, Mrs. Rachel Letchford.

Post Township - Evergreen, Mrs. Carol Kiesau; Highland, Mrs. Charlotte Walby; West Grove, Mrs. Kenneth Ellis.

~ Postville Herald, Wednesday, August 15, 1951, Page 1 ~transcribed by Cindy (Maust) Smith


Return to School Index