IAGenWeb Project

Adair County Iowa


Summit Township

This subdivision of Adair county lies in the extreme northwestern corner of the same, and embraces all of congressional township 77 north, range 33 west. It is bounded on the north by Guthrie county, on the west by Cass county, on the east by Walnut township and on the south by Eureka township. The name Summit was suggested by Wesley Taylor, from the fact that the ridge forming the water shed between the Mississippi and Missouri rivers passes through this township from southeast to northwest, and here reaches, it is so reported, the highest point above the level of the Mississippi. The surface is less diversified than that of some others, and admirably adapted for agricultural purposes. Middle river has a branch that has its source within the limits of this township, on sections 3 and 10, and flows in a general southeasterly direction toward the parent stream. The Middle Nodaway river takes its rise in sections 11 and 14, and flowing southwesterly, crosses sections 15, 22, 21, 28, 29, 32 and 31, passes into Eureka township on the south line of the latter section. Several other branches of this stream also drain the south part of this sub-division, but none of them are very considerable streams. Turkey creek, rising in the northern central part of the township, waters with its main stream and tributaries, sections 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 17 and 18. Timber is a scarce article, nothing in the way of native groves appearing upon its surface, but clumps and groves of trees are springing up on every side under the fostering care of the enterprising settlers. The soil is a rich, dark loam in most places, although occasional spots are found of the light “mulatto” soil of the bluff deposit formation, and which forms one of the finest soils for successful agriculture. The Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific railroad passes through the northwestern portion of Summit, entering on the north line of section 3, bearing toward the southwest it leaves on section 18. On this line there is one station within the township limits, the considerable town of Adair, of which more further on.

EARLY SETTLEMENT. For some unaccountable reason this township was not settled until a late date, and the credit of having been the pioneers of civilization in this sub-division of the county, undoubtedly belongs to Azariah Sisson and his son, William A, Sisson, who came here in June, 1869, and made a settlement on the north half of section 16, where the father still lives. William A. Sisson was train dispatcher of the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific railroad, at Atlantic, for something over two years. He recently went to Laramie, Wyoming territory, where he now fills a like position in the interest of the Union Pacific railroad. Azariah Sisson was born in Rensselaer county. New York, on the 16th of September, 1822. He was the son of William Sisson, of the above state, Mr. Sisson removed to Washington county when he was thirteen years of age, and there remained until 1855, when he came to Illinois, and in 1869 he removed to Adair county, Iowa, buying one-half section of land on section 16, where he still resides. He improved his farm, making a nice place of it. He set out a grove of five acres and has a nice orchard of bearing trees. He raises stock, having some fine Hereford, and has a good supply of water for his cattle. He was married in New York state in 1845 to Miss Margaret A. Steles, born in November, 1827, in Schoharie county, New York. They have eight children living—William A., living in Atlantic ; Mary A,, in North Platte, Nebraska ; George H., now living in Nebraska; Almenzo, died in March, 1874 ; Martha, now in Sydney, Nebraska, wife of H. H. Blakesley ; James, died December 16, 1858 ; Francis M., wife of S. Bawman; Sylvester S., Merritt B. and Howard V. Albert was in the service, enlisting in Illinois in 1865. The next settler was Abner Sisson, a brother of Azariah, He came here from Bureau county, Illinois, in 1869, and located upon the southwest quarter of section 17, in this township. This place he subsequently sold and purchased the southwest quarter of section 27, where he now resides. Abner Sisson, the subject of this sketch, and one of the earliest settlers of Summit township, was born in Rensselaer county, New York, January 5, 1832. His father, William Sisson, was a native of Hoosic, Rensselaer county. New York, and his mother was Anstress Crandall, of Rhode Island. When twenty-two years old, Abner went to Bureau county, Illinois, and settled on a farm there, and remained till 1869, when the family removed to Adair county, and settled as above mentioned. In 1880 he was engaged in the livery business in the village of Adair, and remained in that business until 1881. He then engaged in raising cattle, and in the meantime sold his farm and bought another on section 27, where he now lives, engaged with his son-inlaw in stock raising, and is expecting to engage in Hereford cattle breeding. He was married October, 1852, to Miss Augusta E. Mason, a daughter of Nathan and Rebecca Mason, natives of Vermont, and at Highgate, was Miss Mason born September 15,1830, and died May 17, 1882, in New York state, where she went with her husband for treatment. Her remains were brought back to Adair and interred in Summit cemetery. Three children were born to them—Carrie A., the eldest, wife of Spencer T. Foster, and residing with her father, on section 27. Her husband carries on the farm. They have two children living—Elva L. and Mina P., bright little children. On the evening of June 25, 1872, Elmer, their boy, was on his pony, as usual, to go after the cows, his dog refused to go, and hid. His father told him to take the lines of his team which he was then using in a wagon while he went after the dog. Elmer thinking he could not hold the team in that way, got into the wagon, holding the lines in his right hand, and his horse by the halter in his left. The dog, in attempting to jump into the wagon, scared the team, which jumped suddenly, throwing Elmer between the hind wheel and box, carrying him a short distance and dropping him on the ground a corpse. Ettie E., the youngest child, died when in Illinois, being not quite a year old.

Next came John Chestnut, Sr., who, in 1870, made a settlement upon the south half of section 16, and now lives upon the southeast quarter of the same section. John Chestnut, Sr., is a native of Virginia, born in Berkeley county. May 11, 1800, a son of William Chestnut, born in Germantown, Pennsylvania. His grandfather was John Chestnut, a native of Ireland, and a revolutionary soldier. The wife of William Chestnut was Jane Earick, a native of Virginia, her ancestors being of German extraction, and her grandfather a revolutionary soldier, who spent all he had of personal property in the cause of the colonies. From Virginia the family removed to Bedford county, Pennsylvania, where John lost both his parents. His removal to Iowa dates September, 1870, but his first visit was in 1869, at which time he bought the south half of section 16, and he now owns the southeast quarter of section 16, and still lives in the same house he built when he first came to Adair county. Mr. Chestnut has worked hard to subdue and improve his land, and has, what more farms need, a very fine grove of trees, consisting of maple and cottonwood, and a good orchard. His wife deserves credit as well as Mr. Chestnut, being a true helpmate to him. She was Elizabeth Ambrose before her marriage, a native of Maryland, and a daughter of Jacob Ambrose and Elizabeth (Shock) Ambrose, also of Maryland. They have six living children— William, still in Pennsylvania; Elizabeth, at home; Jane, wife of Henry H. Coleman, of Adair; John W., living on section 28, near his parents; Margaret, a teacher, wife of Henry H. Buckley, living in Shelby county, and Francis E., living at home. In Pennsylvania Mr. Chestnut was a justice of the peace for seventeen years. He and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, and in politics he is an adherent of the democratic party.

Aurel Albee also came to this vicinity in 1870. He came from Bureau county, Illinois, and purchased some six hundred acres of land, and located upon the south half of section 9. About the year 1877 he removed to California, where he died in 1883. He was a man of most excellent habits and of fair energy. A fair-minded and kind neighbor, all speak in the highest terms of him. He had a family consisting of “a wife, three sons and one daughter, who all reside in the state of California.

E. M, Day was a settler of the year 1870, and owned a small building on the farm of Azariah Sisson, where he taught school in the summer of that same year. In the autumn of 1870 Richard and William Lynam settled upon the northwest quarter of section 20. They came to this county from Galva, Illinois, but only stayed a short time, when they left, and have passed out of the knowledge of the people of this locality. A. M. Todd came here in 1871, and located upon the southwest quarter of section 19. He remained only about a year and a half. He removed to another part of the state, probably to Tama county. He was an Adventist, and a man of good habits, and an excellent citizen. Among the other settlers of the years 1870 and 1871 were Robert Grant, C. Enright and several others.

Robert Grant is one of the most reliable and trusty men in Summit township. He is a native of Ireland, born in 1831. When thirteen years of age he emigrated to America, and settled in New York, on a farm, and three years later came to Illinois. Before coming to Illinois he was married, on the 1st of January, 1856, to Miss Mary McNamara, a native of Ireland. They have been blessed with five children—James, Mary J., Charles, Ellen and Edward. Mr. Grant moved from Illinois to Michigan, and in 1869 he came to Iowa, locating in Cass county, and in 1870 moved to Adair, where he lived until 1875, when he moved to Eureka township, Adair county, and improved a quarter of a section. Soon after he came to his present location, on section 22, where he raises stock and grain. He broke about two hundred acres of land, and now has a nice farm. His farm is well watered, and for that reason is a good stock farm. Mr. Grant is a member of the Catholic church.

The southwest quarter of section 16, received two settlers in the spring of 1872, in the persons of Andrew and David Kingery. These parties came from Lanark, Illinois, and purchased their land of John Chestnut. Andrew is now farming in Eureka township, and his brother is a resident of the town of Adair.

Caledonia Stock Farm is the name given to a beautiful tract of land on sections 19, 20 and 21, Summit township, the owner of which is the popular breeder of fine stock, 0. M. Bovee. The stock on this farm consists of thoroughbred Hereford cattle. In 1881 he bought a bull bred by W. H. Todd, of Vermillion, Erie county, Ohio, for five hundred and fifty dollars, and the following year three thoroughbred cows of T. L. Miller, & Company, of Beecher, Illinois, and from these he has raised a fine drove of pure strains, which he keeps for sale, also a large number of grades. Mr. Bovee takes great pains with these cattle, and is perfectly reliable as a dealer. On this farm is also found thoroughbred Norman and Clydesdale horses, Poland-China hogs, etc. The farm consists of five hundred and sixty acres of land, watered by a branch of the Nodaway, fine buildings, large orchard, and surrounded by a fine grove. The land is of the richest found in the state, and with the enterprise of the present owner, promises to be a valuable property. Otis M. Bovee is a native of Caledonia county, Vermont, born July 26, 1845, on a farm, and son of Courtland and Eliza (Blood) Bovee; father a native of New York and mother a native of Vermont. When twenty-one years old, Otis left the farm and went on the road as traveling salesman, and continued ten years in New York and Vermont. He came to Iowa in 1875, and prospected for a location, and the next year he came and located where he now resides. His wife was Miss Ella Robinson, of Jamaica, Windham county, Vermont, a daughter of Reuben Robinson of the same place. They were married May 29, 1869. They have three children—Lulu B., Hettie B., and Harry. Mr. Bovee is a member of the Masonic order and is a republican, also is officially in the capacity of school treasurer of Summit township.

Samuel Knisely resides on section 4, of this township, where he owns one hundred and sixty acres of improved land, upon which is a bearing orchard and an abundance of small fruit of all kinds- In the fall of 1880 he rented his farm and moved to Adair, where he opened a meat market and conducted it for about three years, when he returned to the farm where he now resides. He was born July 11, 1851, in New Philadelphia, Ohio, and was the son of Edward and Barbara (Baughman) Knisely. His mother lives in Lake county, Indiana. His father died in Lake county, August 7, 1879, When quite small he went with his parents to Indiana, where they lived until 1854, after which he emigrated to Illinois and a year later came to Iowa. After a residence of about five years in Iowa, he returned to Illinois and Indiana, and then came to Iowa from Illinois, where he has since remained. In 1872 he was married in Lake county Indiana, to Clarissa Gordinier, Rev. Charles Post officiating. They have one child by this union—Elmira E. He is a member of the I. 0. 0. P. fraternity and a republican in politics.

Leroy D. Curtis was born in Washington county, New York, July 11, 1851. He was the son of George W. and Jane (Bump) Curtis. His mother lives with him in Summit township, while his father died in Carroll county, Illinois, May. 19, 1866. He came with his parents to the state of Illinois in 1852, where he remained until 1874, engaged at farming, when he came to Iowa, settling in Adair county, on section 11, Summit township. He was married in Indiana, December 19, 1872, to Phoebe J. Blayney, Rev. Wasson officiating. They have but one child—Mary J. He has a farm of one hundred and sixty acres, all under cultivation, with a bearing orchard of about an acre and a half. In 1883 he erected a new residence, with two parts, 16x22 and 18x26, at a cost of over $1,500. It is a commodious and beautiful country home, surrounded by a nice grove of maple trees. He makes a specialty of raising all kinds of stock, most of which is graded. The cattle are of the Hereford, and hogs of the Poland-China breeds. Politically, he is a republican.

John Kauffman, a native of Pennsylvania, was born August 10,1828, and was the son of John and Susan (Foust) Kauffman. His father died in Lebanon county, Pennsylvania, in 1854, and the demise of his mother occurred at the same place in 1882. In 1860 he emigrated to Ohio, where he remained about six years, when he came to Guthrie county, Iowa. He lived here about nine years, and then came to his present residence in Adair county, on section 2, Summit township, where he owns a farm of one hundred and sixty acres of finely improved land, which embraces a bearing orchard of about two acres, besides groves, hedges, etc. His political convictions have always been with the republican party, which he still retains. When young he learned the cigar trade, which he followed until he came to Iowa. Mr. Kauffman was married in Pennsylvania, in 1855, to Sarah A. Aungst, solemnized by Rev. Stein. They had six children all of whom are living— Henry J., Susan C , Joseph A,, John T., Emma S. and Lenton B. Before the close of the war Mr. Kauffman enlisted in the 195th regiment, home guards, and served about four months.

Alvin Thayer is a native of Oxford county, Maine, born in October, 1823, and is the son of Joel B. and Mary (Dudler) Thayer. He was reared in Maine, on a farm, and in 1851 he emigrated to Henry county, Illinois, where he owned a farm of one hundred and eighty acres, and in 1853 he sold out and came to Cedar county, Iowa, and in 1864 he moved near Tepton, and there remained until 1875, when he came to Adair county, buying a farm of W. B. Martin, on section 4, where he now owns eighty acres. In ,1875 he built a house in Adair, and lived there several years, when he purchased his land in Summit township, and moved his farm on his present location. He has forty acres of land under cultivation, which is well watered. Mr. Thayer was married on the 1st day of April, 1856, to Mrs. M. J. Bray, of Ohio, formerly Miss M. J. Ray, a daughter of Thompson Ray. They have two children —Joel T., a teacher of vocal music, and Angeline E. Mr. Thayer received the appointment as assessor for two counties, and held that position until the close of the war, and at his instigation the first Union league was formed in Cedar county.

James M. Johnson is a native of Wayne county, Ohio, born March 3, 1823. He is the son of Isaac Johnson, a native of Pennsylvania. James was educated in Wadsworth academy in Ohio, and after graduating he taught school for twelve years in Wayne county, and proved one of the most successful teachers of the age. In 1859 he came to Lawrence county, Ohio, and there enlisted in Company H, 124th Ohio infantry, and served until the close of the war, being mustered out at Cleveland. He was in several of the principal battles in the war, being wounded in the battle at Chickamauga and was in the hospital three months. He returned home and in 1867 he settled in Henry county, Illinois, on a farm until 1877, when he took charge of the ferry on Rock river for four years. He came to Adair county, Iowa, in 1881, and bought one hundred and sixty acres of land of F. J. Arnold on section 5, and follows general farming. His land is all under cultivation and is good for grain-raising. Mr. Johnson was married in Wayne county, Ohio, in September, 1848, to Miss Anna Brady, a native of Pennsylvania. They have had six children—Mary E., wife of M. Burton; Lamella B., wife of M, W. Sale; James and Ray. There are two dead— William A., and Ida. Mr. Johnson is a .member of the G. A. R. and of the Methodist Episcopal church.

Frank Hern was born in Ireland on the 3rd of February, 1835. When seventeen years of age his parents came to America, and settled in New York, where Frank worked on a farm for three years when he came to Illinois, and remained in Bureau county until 1875, when he came to Adair county and settled on two hundred acres of land on section 26, where there now is a nice grove and every farm luxury. He was married on the 13th of May, 1859, in La Salle county to Miss Ellen Shahan. They have had nine children—Daniel, Mary, died January 18, 1884; Robert, Michael, died when five years old ; Frank, Anna Nora, Eddie, John and Vincent. Mr. Hern died September 20,1883, leaving his family and his many friends to mourn his departure, and who were in every way sorry for losing a good friend and neighbor. He left a large farm and his family are following out his plans in his ways of agriculture.

FIRST THINGS. The first marriage in the township was that which united the destinies of Henry H. Blakesley and Miss Mattie L. Sisson, on the 5th of February, 1873. The ceremony was performed by Elder C. P. West at the house of the bride’s father, Azariah Sisson. This couple are now living in North Platte, Nebraska. The first death in the township was that of George Lyman, son of Richard. The second death was that of Elmer P., son of Abner Sisson.

ORGANIZATION. Summit township was set off from Walnut, to which it had been hitherto attached, in 1871. A petition to that effect was presented to the board of supervisors of Adair county on the 11th of March of that year, signed by the following persons : W. A. Sisson, Azariah Sisson, De- Kalb Chestnut, A. Albee, Abner Sisson, William Lyman, John Chestnut, J. W. Chestnut, Robert Grant, C. Enright, R. H. Lyman, and T. J, Foster, In response to this, the board granted the prayer, and designated the school-house on section 17 as the place of holding the first election, and appointed A. Sisson the organizing officer. Accordingly, in October, at the general election, the following officers were chosen : John Chestnut and Aurel Albee, trustees ; Azariah Sisson, justice ; John W. Chestnut, clerk ; John Chestnut, senior, assessor. The present officers are : James Pulton, David Kingery and Robert Carney, trustees ; Reuben Myers, clerk; 0. M. Bovee, treasurer; LeRoy Curtis, assessor

EDUCATIONAL. In the summer of 1870, E. M. Day taught a school in a small building owned by himself on the farm of Azariah Sisson, on section 16. This was in operation for three or four months and was the first school in the township. In the fall of the same year a school-house was built on the northwest quarter of section 17, and in this Mrs. L, Allard taught the first school in the winter of 1870. This building was moved from this location to the southeast quarter of section 18, where it now stands. The first directors of this district were A. Albee, Azariah Sisson and Abner Sisson. This is now district No. 4. School district No. 6 has the second school-house built in the township on the northeast quarter of section 21. It was erected in 1874, and is 18x26 feet in size and stands on a lot of one acre of ground that belongs to the district. The school is well furnished with maps, globes, etc., and is in excellent repair. The first officers in this district were the following named: John Chestnut, Jr., Aurel Albee and Andrew Kingery. The present director is Robert Carney.

ADAIR. This town, one the most lively, thorough going business points between Des Moines and Atlantic, is located about sixty miles west of the former city, on the summit of the great water shed of the state. This, which is the highest point on the C. R. I. & P. R. R. seemed to be a natural point for a town, so one was laid out on land owned by George 0. Tallman, of Brooklyn, New York, during the summer of 4872, and the name of Adair given to it. The plat of the town was filed for record in the office of the county recorder on the 20th of August, 1872. The Tailman land, where the town was first laid out, on section 4, was not used to any extent for several years. The business portion of the town started on section 3, which is at present the business part of the town. The. Tallman plat was called West Adair, and is composed principally of residences. Nothing was done toward building the town, however, until in the summer following, when the railroad put in a station and Charles Stuart a lumber yard. Since that time the town has grown rapidly, and with brighter prospects before it, is gaining in numbers and wealth yet. In 1873, the census of the town showed a population of eighteen people, fifteen section hands and Messrs. Arnold, Starr and Moran. In 1874, this had grown to eighty-four, and one hun dred and fifty in 1875. The population is set down now at about five hundred, and steadily increasing. There seems no better place for good healthy business in the western part of Iowa, and no town of equal size and age that can compare with the young Adair. The town is laid out upon the northwest quarter of section 3, and the east half of the northeast quarter of section 4, close to the line between the counties of Guthrie and Adair.

In this connection with this we give a biographical sketch of Captain Charles Stuart, who, although not a resident of this county, has been so largely instrumental in building up this and other towns in Adair and Guthrie counties. Captain Charles Stuart was born in Barnet, Caledonia county, Vermont, June 17, 1826, of Scotch parents, and until twentyone years of age lived on a farm and acquired such an education as could be obtained in the common schools of his native state; but his studies must have been pursed with the same energy and earnestness that has always characterized his business career, for he became possessed of a thorough, pratical education that has proved sufficient at all times to successfully conduct his business interests, which in magnitude and variety has perhaps required and received as much business skill and ability as has been demanded of any of Iowa’s pioneers. The proprietors of a large clothing house in Boston, who had noticed and admired young Stuart’s energy and business qualifications, tempted him by the offer of a liberal salary to engage with them, but he was no sooner in their employ than he was informed that misrepresentations to effect sales was one of the customs of the house that he was expected to conform to, when he promptly broke the engagement. Possessed of a nervous, energetic temperament, he desired an occupation less prosaic than New England farm life, and at twenty-three he built a store in South Ryegate, in his native county, and began merchandising, and with such success that by his skill and tact in a heretofore untried field he soon built up a large trade and was much envied by his competitors. This sort of life was too confining for such a nature, and after a career of eighteen months as merchant, he sold his store and engaged in the live stock business, buying cattle and other stock in Vermont, New Hampshire and Canada, and shipping them to Brighton. November 23, 1852, at twenty-six years of age, he was united in marriage to Miss Lois Gray, a highly respected young lady of his native state, whose untiring devotion to him and his interests proved invaluable, and he never fails to credit her with a large share of his financial success. A son and two daughters have blessed this union, who have grown up an honor to their parents and ornaments to society. In 1853 Mr. Stuart engaged with the Fairbank’s Scale company, and in September of the same year moved to Chicago, and in their interest for four years and a half traveled over the settled portions of the western states, laying the foundation for the immense trade the company has since enjoyed in the West. In 1854 he bought his homestead in Stark county, Illinois, where he still resides on one of the most comfortable farm homes in the state, and where many years ago he established an enviable reputation as a thrifty farmer and successful stock.

In 1854 he entered a lot of lands in Marshall county, Iowa, which has since become valuable, and like most of his investments, proved a good one. Soon after the war of the rebellion broke out he raised a company in Stark county, Illinois—Company B, 19th Illinois infantry—of which he was captain, and was mustered into the service June 13, 1861, where he rendered his country faithful and efficient service. In January, 1867, and May, 1868, he purchased several tracts of land in Adair county, Iowa. In December, 1867, he laid out the town on the Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific railway that bears his name, since which time he has been prominently identified with the development of western Iowa. The early growth of the town of Stuart was at that time unprecedented, and its rapid growth and prosperity was largely due to Mr. Stuart’s efforts, he being not only the town proprietor, but its principal business man, and in many ways he contributed largely with his money and influence in building up the town, prominently among which efforts may be mentioned his inducing the railroad company to locate their western machine shops and round-house at this point, which was a great acquisition and secured permanent prosperity to the town. In 1873 Captain Stuart founded the town of Adair, where for more than ten years he carried on an extensive business, which contributed largely in developing the town and surrounding country, which is a very thrifty part of prosperous Iowa. In 1875 he began to purchase lands in Audubon county, where he now has some ten thousand acres of choice and well improved lands, which are valuable. In 1879 in co-operation with the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific railway he founded the town of Audubon. This town being located near his Audubon county lands, he decided to here establish his business headquarters, and in 1880 he built a large office, two stories and basement, of St. Louis pressed brick, elegantly finished and is no doubt the finest private office in the West, if not in the country. To this office daily reports are made from each of the various stations where he is doing business. In the same year he built a large elevator, also a planing mill, and made many other improvements which called for the expenditure of a large amount of money, and not only added greatly to the growth of the town, but it inspired confidence in others in the town’s future, and the first two years’ growth of the town of Audubon was marvelously rapid for a town located in a strictly agricultural country. Personally, Captain Stuart is possessed of a vigorous constitution, which has enabled him to impose upon himself arduous duties with apparent impunity; an energy that acknowledges no opposition as insurmountable, and never accepts retarded progress for-defeat. His memory is remarkable and has no doubt been of immense assistance to him, without which it would have been impossible for him to have so many interests so widely scattered and so uniformly successful, employing for many years about one hundred men in his various places of business and on his farms; he is nervous and impulsive, and gives spontaneous expression to his convictions, which are always frank and pointed, no matter who gets scored by his expressions and often does his personal popularity great injustice by bluntly reprimanding any person whom he believes trying to injure him or his business; his perception is keen, decision prompt, and judgment remarkably accurate, very seldom having to change an order to an employe on account of unforeseen events arising; but he has other traits of character less austere, if not less marked; while he is an unrelenting and outspoken opponent, he is never vindictive, and when his adversary lays down his lance, the fight is over; as a friend he is kind, sympathetic, substantial, ever ready to assist a friend in adversity, and has given large sums in worthy charities; we can better speak of this trait in his character by relating some incidents of which the writer had personal knowledge. One of his agents had sold some property to a gentleman of limited industry who failed to make any payments therefor, and after long sufferance and much dunning, legal redress was resorted to, and at sheriff’s sale the property reverted to Mr. Stuart; in due time he instructed his agent to serve notice, on the defendant to vacate and surrender the property, his agent informed him that it would bean unpleasant duty, for while there was no.good reason for further leniency toward the delinquent, his wife was a good and worthy woman, industrious and the principal support of her less industrious husband’s family, and would now be compelled to pay house rent in addition to her already heavy burdens. Captain Stuart listened to his agent’s story, then asked the woman’s name and said he would make her a deed for the property, for he would never do anything to deprive an industrious woman of a home who was so unfortunate as to have an indolent husband to support. The name was given and the deed to her accordingly made, which conveyed a free gift of a comfortable home without the slightest recompense other than the satisfaction of having done an expensive act of kindness to a worthy person who was a stranger to him. In the summer of 1883 a devastating hail-storm ruined wholly or in part the crops on many of his Audubon county farms, making it impossible for some of his tenants to pay all their rent, and a few could pay none. In the fall he had all his, tenants who had suffered by the hail notified to meet him at the Walker House in Audubon on a certain Saturday. They came, some — in number, wondering what could be wanted of them. Mr. S. invited them to go with him to the dining room, where he had a sumptuous dinner prepared for them, after partaking of which he informed them that they would be excused from paying him rent for that year, and he hoped they would be able to make themselves comfortable until they could raise a crop. Of course such generosity was appreciated by the hail-stricken farmers, but Mr. S. rendered many of the worst sufferers substantial assistance by aiding them to procure the necessaries of life until they could raise a crop and again become self supporting. Very many similar instances might be related, but these are sufficient for our purpose in illustrating the charitable inclinations and tenderness of heart of our subject. Captain S. has large property interests in Iowa, Illinois and Texas, and although fifty-eight years of age, seems not to have lost any of his energy and ambition which has characterized one of the most successful and industrious lives in this great and busy west. The section house in Adair was built in 1868, as the head quarters of an engineer corps, then making the survey for the railroad, and was the first house in the village. This was in two parts, each 18x30 feet in size. The first dwelling-house in the town was erected in the summer of 1873, by Levi Clay, in west Adair. The following fall D. E. Bancroft and John Henryson each built dwellings; and in the winter H. P. Starr followed suit. James Miller erected a small house opposite Starr’s, in the same year. The first store in the town was established by Moody & Moran, of Casey, in the early fall of 1873, in a building which they erected for the purpose, and which was among the first buildings in the village. In 1874 the interest of S. B. Moody was purchased by James A. Parker, and the firm name was changed to that of Moran & Parker. This continued until 1879, when Mr. Moran bought out his partner and ran the business alone until 1882, when M. L. McManus became a partner. The co-partnership then formed continues to this day. John E. Moran is a native of Lewis county. New York. At an early age he came to Van Buren county, Michigan, and attended the district school at Decatur. In 1861 he came to Chicago, Illinois, and lived their eight years and then came west to Iowa. He stopped at Casey, and worked for S. B, Moody as clerk in a general store. In September, 1873, Mr. Moody and Mr. Moran built the first store building in Adair, stocked it with general merchandise, such as is kept in a country store, amounting in all to about $4,000. Later, Mr. Moody sold his interest in the store to James A. Parker, and the firm was Moran & Parker. Mr. Moran is still in trade and has a good business. Last year’s sales (1883), were $35,000. M. L. McManus, of the firm of Moran & McManus, of Adair, is a native of the state of Indiana, born in Jennings county, November 1, 1841. His father, John McManus, was a native of county Longford, Ireland, and came to this country in 1833. His mother, Mary Connolly, is a native of county Leitrim, Ireland, and came to this country in 1831. They were married in New York in 1834, and remained there a short time, thence removed to Pennsylvania, where they staid one year, thence to Jennings county, Indiana, subsequently removing to Scott county, Iowa, engaging in farming. When the war broke out M. L. McManus, the subject of this sketch, was not undecided what he should do in the matter, but promptly joined the 14th regiment Iowa infantry volunteers, enlisting as a private, and was always found ready for duty, and never missed a battle in which his regiment was engaged. He was promoted to the rank of sergeant for meritorious conduct; was mustered out of the service with his regiment at Davenport, Iowa, on the 16th of November, 1864. He went into the mercantile business with his father in 1867, at Davenport. From thence he removed to Guthrie county, in 1870, and improved a very fine farm at Bear Grove, and in 1882 formed a company partnership with J. E. Moran, in the town of Adair, Iowa. Mr. McManus was married in November, 1866, to Anna T. Kerrigan, daughter of Patrick and Ellen Kerrigan. Her mother’s name previous to marriage was Ellen O’Connor, a relative of O’Connor Dunn, of County Roscommon, Ireland, who is now a member of the British Parliament. Mr. McManus has a very interesting family of seven children—Mary E., Agnes, Anna T., John P., Loretto, Vincent P., and Joseph P. Mr. L. McManus served very satisfactorily as a justice of the peace both in Scott and Guthrie counties, and is a practical member of the Catholic church. His father died in Davenport in 1878, and is interred in St. Margaret’s cemetery at Davenport. His mother is still living with her son, Rev. Father McManus, in Lytle City, Iowa county. Mr. McManus has always been successful, either as a farmer, soldier or merchant. The next merchant iu the line of general merchandise was V. M. Lahman. In 1874 Frank Arnold put up a building which was immediately rented by Mr. Lahman who put in a stock of goods. After remaining in this for about a year he moved to Wiota. In 1875, just after his removal, Willson & Patton rented the same building and put in a stock of the same line and continued until 1876, when Mr. Willson purchased the interest of his partner and took in John Hunter. These parties ran until 1878 when it was bought out by F. Furst, the present enterprising proprietor. F. Furst purchased the business of D. L, Willson in 1879 and commenced the sale of general merchandise. He is today one of the prominent tradesmen of Adair, and does a business of about $30,000 per annum. F. Furst, a son of Jacob and Anna B. (Myers) Furst, was born in July 1842. They emigrated to Rock Island, Illinois, in 1852 and settled on a farm, where he remained until 1860 when he commenced the mercantile business in Scott county, and so continued two years when he went to Memphis, Tennessee, and was there engaged in a wholesale hardware store, but soon returned to Scott county where he was employed in general merchandise. He sold out and was engaged in the grain business in Durant and remaining there some time he moved to Nascotin, and thence to Adair some years after. He was married in Scott county, Iowa, in December, 1869, to Miss Susan A. Budlong, a daughter of Budlong. They have three children— Milton 0., Ray F. and Daisy. Mr. Furst owns one hundred and sixty acres of land in Guthrie county and one hundred and sixty acres of land in Nebraska. He is a prominent and substantial citizen in Adair and is highly esteemed by his many friends. On the 1st of January, 1879, George Faga & Co. commenced business at this point, opening a store for the sale of general merchandise. They also buy and ship all the stock that comes to this market. Mr. Faga, in 1881, took in as a partner John S. Shaver, thus forming the present firm of Faga & Shaver. They are very extensive dealers in their line, carrying about $8,000 worth of stock in the store, and making sales therein of $40,000 per year. Their cattle and stock business will aggregate fully $75,000 per annum. Their store room is 20x82 feet in size, and has a separate warehouse 16x24 feet. They have facilities for cribbing some thirty thousand bushels of corn, in season, which article they also buy. George Faga is a native of Germany, born on the 1st of October, 1849, being the son of George and Louise (Schoer) Faga. His father having died when he was quite small, George emigrated with his mother to America in 1865, and settled in Clayton county, Iowa, and was engaged in clerking in a store at Elkader, where he remained two years, when he went to Benton county, and there remained five years on a farm; and thence to Audobon county, settling three townships by his own efforts, and sold from twenty-five thousand to thirty thousand acres of land, and took charge of the railroad land, of which he was local agent, and is now a supervisor of the county. He settled on a half section of. land, and there remained until 1879, when he came to Adair, where he established his present business. He was married in Clayton county to Miss Mary Leruatky, a native of Germany, but emigrated to America when quite young. They have had three children—Frederick, Louise and Francis. Mr. Faga is a member of the Lutheran Evangelical church, and is an active worker in the republican party. Mr. Faga is one of the present board of supervisors of Adair county, and one’of the leading men of the county. John S. Shaver, one of the prominent men of Adair, is a native of Wayne county, Ohio, born near Wooster, on the 3d of October, 1849. His father, Thomas A. Shaver, was a native of Pennsylvania, and of German descent, and his mother, a native of Pennsylvania, was of Scotch descent. When about five years of age, John emigrated with his parents to Peoria county, Illinois, settling on a farm, and “?. there remained until 1868, when he moved to the city of Peoria, where his father was engaged in the boot and shoe business, and three years later he went to Kansas, where he settled on a farm of two hundred and forty acres of good land, and there remained until 1875, when he came to Adair county, Iowa, where he settled on a farm until January, 1881, when he came to Adair and began business with George Faga. He was married on the 26th of February, 1879, to Miss Frank E. Martin, a daughter of A. Martin, a farmer, and living in the town of Stuart. They have been blessed with one child—Stewart A., born on the 10th of December, 1882. Mr. Shaver is a member of the Masonic order, and is treasurer of the independent school district of Adair. The pioneer dealer in agricultural machinery was J. A. Ramsdell, who commenced business in 1874. John Jackson commenced his career as an agricultural implement dealer in the town of Adair, in 1881, in a building which he erected for the purpose. He continued here until April 18, 1884, when it was burned down. He set to work and built another wareroom on lot 5, block 15, which is 26x80 feet in ground area. Here he is engaged in disposing of ten to fifteen thousand dollars worth of goods annually. These cover all the various lines of agricultural implements and machinery, wagons, buggies, platform wagons, etc. John Jackson, an enterprising agricultural dealer in Adair, is a native of Indiana, born in Montgomery county, January 8, 1848, a son of William T. and Rachel (Miller) Jackson, father and mother both natives of Kentucky. The family removed from Virginia to Guthrie county settling in Cass township, where the father now lives. John lived at home with his parents until his marriage, March 2, 1873. His wife was Miss Susan Warren, of Valley township, Guthrie county, a daughter of A. I. Warren, one of the early settlers of Valley township. They have two children—Pearl B., born November 4, 1875, and George E., born December 30, 1881. In 1870 Mr. Jackson, Jr., bought eighty acres of land in Cass township, on which he moved after his marriage. Subsequently selling this, he engaged in the hardware business in Panora, with Joseph Garlow, in 1874. Remaining in this business till 1879, he sold, out and moved to Kansas, and engaged in the grain and stock business a couple of years, when he concluded to again come to Iowa, this time settling in the thriving village of Adair. He commenced in the hardware and agricultural business at first, but sold out the former line, and now runs the machinery department alone. We bespeak for Mr. Jackson success in the future as in the past. He belongs to the Masonic and I. 0. 0. F. lodges. D. W. Moss put up a building and placed therein a drug stock, and operated in that line until 1881, when he traded it to F. L. Gordinier for a one fourth section of land, and left here for Kansas. Mr. Gordinier continued in the same line until he sold out to Dr. M. F. Stults, who was succeeded by M. Dunkin, the present proprietor. M. Dunkin, popular druggist of Adair, is a native of Montgomery county, Ohio, born in the city of Dayton, April 25, 1834, son of Joshua Dunkin, a native of Ohio, and of Scotch origin; mother, Julia Smith, born in Maryland. When very young, with his father’s family, the subject of this sketch removed to Indiana, settling there on a farm, where he remained till 1865. M. Dunkin enlisted from Indiana in Company A, 46th Indiana infantry, September, 1861, as a noncommissioned officer, serving until November 20, 1864. He participated in the battles of Island No. 10, New Madrid, Riddle’s Point, Memphis, siege of Vicksburg, New Orleans, etc.; was detailed on duty in the Red River expedition and sent home with a squad of men to be mustered out, which took place at Indianapolis, Indiana. In the fall of 1865 Mr. Dunkin went to Panora and clerked in a store a short time and then commenced the boot and shoe business, afterward running a drug store there, sold out and went to Oolorada in 1878, stopping at Leadville, he engaged in mining six years, owning a mine there which was very valuable, but he did not know the intrinsic worth, therefore lost a fortune. Leaving behind this land of speculation, he emigrated to Adair village, and bought the drugstock of Dr. John Stultz, and has continued the business since. His wife was Miss Florence Harlan, a daughter of G. W. and Emma (Brown) Harlan, the latter so well known in Guthrie county as a literary character of no mean pretentions. The marriage took place March 4, 1869. Five children bless this union—Emma J., Harry M. and Carl E., living; Daisy B. and Clyde L., dead. Mr. Duncan is a member of the Masonic order, I. O. O. F., G. A. R., V. A. S. society, and an active worker in the cause of the great republican party. In June, 1877, Moss & Baldwin opened another drug store, which they ran until they sold it to Locker & Porter, who operated it until 1880, when they in turn, disposed of it to Fayette Parsons, the present proprietor. He has a nice clean stock that represents a cash value of about one thousand six hundred dollars, consisting of drugs, medicines, books, stationery, wallpaper, notions, toys and fancy goods. Charles Stuart sent a lot of lumber to this spot in the autumn of 1872, intending to start a yard, which he did, and placed under the control of H. P. Starr. P. D. Arnold was placed in charge of all of Mr. Stuart’s business interests, in this place, and still manages it yet. Franklin Darwin Arnold was born in the town of Butternuts, Otsego county, New York, on July 15, 1839. He was the second son of John F. Arnold, .a farmer by occupation, but a gentleman widely known and universally esteemed in central New York, and who spent the last eight years of his life in Adair, where ‘he died. May 19, 1883. In 1855, when the subject of our sketch was thirteen years of age the family moved to La Crosse county, Wisconsin, which was then occupied about equally by Indians and whites, where his father bought land and pursued his former avocation in the small, though somewhat famous Lewis Valley, first settled by a noted family of brothers of that name, who were Mormons, but left the tribe when they were driven from Nauvoo, Illinois, and settled in this beautiful valley; here Mr. Arnold lived until seventeen years of age, when, longing for a fortune carved by himself, in 1857 he left the paternal roof with his parents’ blessing and traveled westward into the then wilds of Minnesota and settled in Freeborn county a few months after the buffaloes had ceased to pasture on Freeborn county grass. Here he secured a beautiful tract of land, which, in the next three years, by his unaided efforts, he converted into a finely improved farm, working his farm in the summer, and returning to his father’s home in Wisconsin to attend school winters until twenty years of age, when. May 3, 1860, he married Miss Laura A. Ashley, of Columbia county, Wisconsin, and selling his Minnesota farm, took up his abode in La Crosse county, where for ten years he resided, and not only gained the reputation of being a model farmer, and for several years was an officer of the county agricultural society, for which organization he rendered efficient aid and gained for himself much popularity in his county, but he also was quite a prominent local politician, but never an office-seeker, having been tendered the nomination of state senator and representative by his party; also county offices on several occasions which he invariably declined with thanks, always claiming that his party could offer him no office that he would accept, desiring the right and privilege of working for his friends and the best man untrammeled, which political independence he still maintains. In 1868 and 1869 Mr. Arnold met with reverses in fortune in Merino sheep and hop-growing, unluckily investing in these enterprises when they commanded a high price and had the misfortune to see ruinously low prices when he had some to sell. In 1870, with little money, and poor health, but owing no man a dollar, he went West to see the country, and in February, 1871, in company with Winfield Denton of Iowa City, he bought a lumber-yard in Anita, Cass county, Iowa, where for three years he was in the lumber and grain trade, and the early settlers of that enterprising town will give Mr. Arnold no little credit for the life and business it enjoyed during his brief residence there. In August, 1873, he sold his interest in Anita and engaged with Captain Charles Stuart to run a similar business at Summit Cut, now Adair, where the railway company were about to locate a station. He was not only Mr. Stuart’s manager at this station but was appointed agent for the railway, express and town companies, which positions he has held for eleven years and continues to hold, which speaks volumes for Mr. Arnold’s integrity and business qualifications. He was not only the first citizen of Adair, but has contributed more than any other to its growth and prosperity and has become the possessor of much real estate in the vicinity, having more than one thousand acres of improved land, and has erected numerous buildings in the town, not only advocating the belief that Adair has a grand future but showing his sincerity by erecting buildings. Mr. Arnold has always been an earnest advocate of schools; has taught several terms, and in each of the three places where he has had a home since his majority he has been chiefly instrumental in erecting a large and commodious school-house, the last being the beautiful school-house in Adair, which owes its existence almost wholly to his efforts. He has, since a youth, been an unflinching enemy to intemperance and has freely spent time and money in driving out saloons and suppressing the traffic in rum. He was a prominent worker among the Good Templars of Wisconsin when he left that state, and has never ceased his efforts in behalf of the cause. He has two children—Ella M., born in Wisconsin in 1863. She was among the first students of Callanan college and one of the first graduates, and is a most exemplary young lady of whom Mr. Arnold is justly proud. Charles S. was the first child born in Adair, which was in August, 1875, and is a bright little boy. In his domestic relations Mr. Arnold has been as much blessed as he has been financially prosperous, and wherever he has lived has not wanted for friends or popularity. W. R. Turner is a live representative of the lumber trade in this town, handling lumber, coal, lime, sand and stone. The latter he gets from Earlham, the sand from Des Moines. He does a business in these lines of about $15,000 per annum. In addition to this he buys corn, oats and flax, in which he does a large trade. His office is on the railroad ground west of the railroad crossing. He commenced his lumber business in 1876. W. R. Turner is a native of Cedar county, Iowa, and was born July 25, 1851. His father, John Turner, is a native of Pennsylvania, whose ancestors were from Ireland and Scotland. His mother was Matilda Reed, also a native of Pennsylvania, and she died when W. R. Turner was three years old. He lived in Cedar county, Iowa, till 1873, when he went to Nebraska for a short time. He returned to Cedar county, and was married on the 17th day of December, 1873, to Miss Agnes VanEpps, a native of New York. They have two children—John E., born September 24, . 1874, and Etta B., born October 26,1879. After his marriage he removed to Iowa county, where he formed and taught one term of school, having received his education in Cedar county. In the spring of 1875, he went to Grant township, Guthrie county, and remained till October 15, 1875, when he came to Adair, Adair county, and engaged in the butcher business, which he followed for about six months, when he went into the furniture business, and in 1876 engaged in his present business. He was the township clerk of Summit township in 1883, and is a member of the I. 0. 0. F. and of the A. 0. U. W. Frank McParland commenced in the lumber business in Adair in September, 1883, buying the interest of Charles Stuart. He handles the usual lines of lumber—lath, shingles, doors, blinds, lime, coal, etc.—and is doing a business of about $25,000 per annum. He is among the enterprising business men of Adair. His birthplace was Morgan county, Ohio, and he was born in the year 1849, April the 8th, a son of William McParland, of Casey, who made an early settlement there. Frank being at the time twenty years old, he took charge of the lumber yard for his father one year. Being desirous of a mercantile life, he embarked in the business with T. J. Burns in 1873, and was in that business till April, 1883, when they dissolved, Mr. McParland’s health not permitting him to be so closely confined. However, in this business he was highly successful, and won hosts of friends in and about Casey. We next find him in the lumber business in Adair, and in this he has succeeded nicely, his sales in 1883 being between twenty-five and thirty thousand dollars’ worth of goods. His wife was Emma A. Denning, a daughter of Paul Denning, of Casey, the marriage occurring January 17, 1876—Rev. Lampenau, of Casey, officiating. In politics Mr. McParland favors the democratic party. The pioneer jewelry store was established in November, 1882, by G. W. Henkle, who put a stock of this class of ware in a building on the south side of Main street. He afterward removed to another building a little west of this, and took in as a partner Warren Swart. They remained in this place until they were burned out, in April, 1884, when they commenced the erection of their present fine store building, into which they moved June 28. They carry about $1,500 worth of stock in this line. When the co-partnership between Henkle & Swart was consummated, they put in a stock of furniture, and they now carry about $2,000 worth of that kind of goods and are the principal dealers in the place. George W. Henkle, a jeweler in Adair, was born in Washington county, Iowa, on the 14th of October, 1849, and is the son of George Henkle, a native of Ohio, and Polly (Bush) Henkle, a native of Ohio and of German descent, George moved with his parents.to Iowa county in 1855, where his father was engaged in buying stock, and shortly afterward was engaged in the mercantile business, and after remaining there a short time he moved to Keokuk county, and there George learned the jewelry business, his father being engaged in that business at that time. He soon came to Adair, where he does a flourishing business, and is one of Adair’s’ most prominent business men. He was married on the 31st of December, 1872, to Mary E., a daughter of 0. J. Bowser. They have two children—George B. and Bernie. Mr. Henkle is a member of the Masonic order and is one of the city council. Warren Swart, a native of Washington county, Pennsylvania, was born in January, 1859. He is a son of Amos Swart, a native of Pennsylvania, and was killed while in the. service of the army. His mother, Sydney (Horn) Swart is now living in Pennsylvania. Warren moved to Missouri, and there remained on a farm for two years, when he came to Fort Dodge, Iowa, in 1880, and in July of that year he attended the agricultural college until the fall of 1881, when he came to Adair and clerked in a general store until the fall of 1883, when he was taken into partnership with G. W. Henkle. He was married in March, 1884, to Miss Lissie Farrington, a daughter of J. F. Farrington, a settler of Summit township. Mr. Swart is a member of the I. 0. 0. P. lodge of Adair, and is one of the little city’s most prominent men. The pioneer milliners of Adair were the Misses Donahey & Moss, who opened an establishment for the disposal of this kind of ware in 1876, in the drug store of Dr. Parsons, but closed out after running one season. This line of business is now represented by Mrs. Ellen McCormick. The pioneer shoemaker of Adair was J. H. Henryson, who came to the village in 1874, and worked at his trade in his dwelling-house. He afterward built a small building, now occupied by J. M, Moore as an office. Here he continued in business until 1878, when he disposed of the building, and is at present acting as salesman in the store of P. Furst. John H. Henryson was born on the 29th of June, 1847, in Sweden. He is the son of Henry and Anna Hoff, his father and mother being natives of the same place. Mr. Hoff, who was a stone-cutter by trade, died in Sweden, in 1857, and Mrs. Hoff now resides in Cass county, Iowa. John attended the Ohristianstadt academy until ten years of age, when he was obliged to attend stock on a farm, but after nine months of that experience, he learned the boot and shoe-making trade, and serving about five years, he then worked as scribe for a surveyor. After two years’ work of that kind, he enlisted in the army between Prussia and Denmark. He was injured and was in the hospital about six months, and at the close of the war had been made first sergeant. In 1870 he emigrated to America, and for a year worked in the mines of Michigan, thence to Champaign county, Illinois, where he worked at his trade for a short time, when he went to Livingston county and there worked on a farm for Mike Sullivan, and in 1872 he moved to Anita, Cass county, where he remained two years, when he settled in Adair, and has since made it his home. He was married on the 4th day of July, 1876, to Mrs. Kirkwood, formerly Miss Martha Shreffler, of Ohio. They have one adopted child—Maud. Mr. Henryson is a member of the Masonic lodge, the I. 0. 0. P., and the A. 0. U. W. He has advanced to the highest ranks in the Odd Fellows’ lodge, and, by appointment, served as deputy grand master of district 26. (It may be well to state here, by way of explanation, that when a man in Sweden enters the regular army, or becomes apprenticed in any branch of mechanics, he changes his name, taking the first name of his father with the addition of the suffix “ son.” Thus the surname of the subject of this sketch is Henryson, while his father’s name was Henry Hoff.) A Mr. Blakesley is now engaged in the shoe-making business, his location being on what is known as the Presbyterian lots. A harness shop was opened by Charles H. Camper in 1879, in a building 18x40, which was erected on lot 7, block 10. He still continues the same line, in the same place, and carries a stock of $1,100, and does a business of $5,000 per year. The present livery stable is run by R. S. Pinkerton, who purchased the business of Abner Sisson, in October, 1881. He ran it until April 18, 1884, when he, in common with others, suffered from the fire that devastated a portion of the town, and when his barn was destroyed. Mr. Pinkerton has now another barn, which is 64x24 feet in dimension, with fourteen feet posts. He keeps some fine driving teams, good buggies and cutters, and is doing a good business. Mr. Pinkerton also runs a fine thoroughbred messenger horse, which he purchased of Robert Halloway, of Henry county, Illinois, a wellknown breeder of fine stock. This horse weighs thirteen hundred and eighty pounds, and is four years old. The meat market was opened by G. J. Wegner and E. D. Oorrell in 1883, buying out Fitz James Arnold. They handle all kinds of meat, flour, crackers and canned goods. Gustav Weguer is a native of Germany, born in Schweiren, Mecklinburg, December 22, 1858, son of Frederick and Catharine (Rock) Wegner, both natives of the same place. Frederick Wegner was a traveling tailor, making trips through Germany and England, from fifteen to thirty years of age. In Germany they learn the trade more thoroughly than in America, and Mr. Wegner was classed among the best of cutters. In 1867 the family emigrated to America, settling in Clayton county, where so many of their people settled on coming to this country, here they lived on a farm till 1879, when they removed to Audubon county, but subsequently returned to Clayton, where the father now lives. Gustav Wegner is well educated, having closed his school work in the commercial department of the upper Iowa university at Fayette, Fayette county, Iowa, on the 8th day of March, 1880, and received a diploma of graduation. In 1880 he entered the store of George Faga, in Adair, where he remained an efficient clerk till 1883, excepting one season, when he opened the meat market as a partner with E. D. Oorrell, and is intending to engage in shipping stock in the future. His wife was Miss Mary Schlotterback, and the marriage took place April 24, 1884, Rev. Frederick Ehlers officiating. E. D. Oorrell is a native of Pennsylvania, born in Fulton county, December 31, 1845, from which county he enlisted in the United States service October, 1862, being then only about seventeen years old. He was in the cavalry. Company M, 21st regiment. He remained in service three months and again enlisted February, 1864, in Company K, 22d cavalry. In this company he remained till the close of the war, was in battles of Cedar Creek, Fisher’s Hill, and with Sheridan in his Shenandoah campaign, was fortunate in not being wounded, although sometimes being in great danger. After his discharge he returned to Pennsylvania and resumed his labors on the farm there till 1867, after which he went to Adams county, Illinois. He remained till February, 1878, when he removed to Audubon county, Iowa. Mr. Oorrell owns a nice farm in Audubon and Guthrie county, but is engaged as an exclusive business in the meat market in Adair. His father is George Oorrell, a native of Fulton county, Pennsylvania, where he still lives; mother, Rachel Daniels, also a native of Fulton county. The subject of this sketch was married May 2, 1871, to Miss Margaret A. Beer, a native of Cambria county, Pennsylvania, and they have four children—Willie, Frank, Flora, and Nellie, The first blacksmith shop in the village was run by J. A. Beebe, who came to Adair in June, 1874, and opened in a building which he built at the foot of Main street. He continued in that place until 1880, when he removed to Michigan, where he now resides. He was a native of Upper Canada, and came to the United States in 1868. He went to Atlantic in 1869, to Kansas in 1870, and to this place as above. He was a splendid workman, having been an edge tool workmaker by trade, but able to do all kinds of work. He was succeeded on his leaving here by his son, Joseph E. Beebe, who runs a shop on Audubon street. J. E. Beebe is a native of Upper Canada, and was born July 13, 1855. He was marriedon January -23, 1877, to Miss Mary J. Stolts, a daughter of J. 0. Stolts, and a native of Missouri. Their union has been blessed with four children—James A., Harry A. and Herbert A. (twins) and William Ellis, born July 31, 1884. Mr. Beebe is a member of the United Workmen and of the Methodist Episcopal church. He is the owner of a good farm of considerable size, and does a flourishing business in his shop, which is chiefly owing to his good management and honesty to all. Among the live business men of Adair is William E. Burmeister, who is engaged in the insurance business, and is an “auctioneer. He represents the German insurance company of Freeport, Illinois, and the Capital, of Des Moines, and does business in both branches in this, Guthrie, and Cass counties. William E. Burmeister was born in the city of St. Louis, Missouri, on the 18th of September, 1849, and is the son of John Burmeister, a native of Prussia, Germany. Mr. B. was born in October, 1812, and emigrated to America in 1848, settling in St. Louis, where he remained until 1856, when he came to Iowa, where he died in 1877. William E. came to Iowa county, Iowa, in 1856, and located upon a farm until 1877, when he removed to Audubon county, where he purchased a farm, and in 1879 he sold it and came to the town of Adair, and since has been engaged in the before-mentioned business. He was married in October, 1873, to Miss Anna Siggs, a native of Clayton county, Iowa. They have been blessed with four children— Anna M., William G., Augustus 0. and Lucy. Mr. Burmeister is a member of the 0. 0. U. W. W. L. Dinsmore is a representative of the real-estate and insurance business. He came here and located in 1874, and the following year entered upon this profession, since which time he has done well. He handles real-estate in the four counties of Adair, Guthrie, Audubon and Cass. William L. Dinsmore is a son of Robert S. Dinsmore and Margaret (Loughridge) Dinsmore, both of Irish extraction; father a native of Pennsylvania, as was the mother, their parents were from the north of Ireland. The mother died when William was only three months of age. Robert S. D. Dinsmore was of a family of six brothers, five of whom were ministers in the Presbyterian church, and he being a divine took up the pastorate of a society in Washington county, Iowa, to which place he removed in 1852. In this latter county and Madison county, Illinois, was William educated. At the breaking out of the war he enlisted April 25,1861, in Company I, 9th Illinois infantry, and served as a private till February, 1862, enlisting again from Iowa, could not enter the service on account of disability, and was discharged at Davenport, went to Washington county and commenced farming, afterwards removed to Marshall county, where he lived four years, subsequently settled in Bear Grove township, Guthrie county, and in the village of Adair in 1874. His business has been satisfactory and he enjoys the confidence of those with whom he comes in contact, and to use the expression of his townsmen, “ he is square in his deal and open and above board.” , Mrs. Dinsmore was Miss Sarah C. Wyrick, a native of Ohio, and the marriage took place in Washington county, Iowa, August 1, 1861. They have three children— Robert S., Sarah E., and William H. Mr. and Mrs. Dinsmore are members of the Presbyterian church, and he is a member of the G. A. R., and intends to vote for Blaine and Logan. The pioneer physician was F. D. Longher, who settled here in 1875 and is still a resident of the village. Besides him. Doctors M. F. Stults and A. W. Vaughn have practice here. Sketches of these three practitioners may be found in the medical chapter, to which the reader is referred. The stock stables of James Fulton are one of the institutions of Adair which attract a great deal of attention from all who visit this section. They contain among others, Ben Laners, a pure bred Clydesdale horse, imported from Scotland by Singmaster & Sons, of Keota, Keokuk county, Illinois, in July, 1883; a full blood Norman horse also, that was imported about the same time, that was worth some $1,700 when he was three years old; one half blooded Norman, raised in Stuart, Iowa, and weighs sixteen hundred pounds; one three quarter blood Norman, brought from Geneseo, Illinois, and others, all of the best kinds and well-known breeds. Mr. Fulton is proud, and well may be, of his fine stock, and is one of enterprising citizens of the town. James Fulton, the proprietor of the Fulton stock stables, is a native of the northern part of Ireland, and was born June 22, 1851, his parents being James and Mary (Beck) Fulton. When ten years of age, he left Ireland and came to Henry county, Illinois, removing to Adair, Adair county, in 1875. He farmed while in Illinois, and also in Adair county till 1882, when he engaged in the stock business in Adair. He was married in Henry county, Illinois, in 1874, to Miss Kate Montgomery, a daughter of William and Eliza Montgomery, of Scotch descent. They have three children—Nellie M,, Eliza J. and William J. Mr. Fulton is a member of the I. 0. 0. F. ‘ BANK. The bank of Adair, a private establishment, was organized in July, 1882, by G. H. Wetmore, the present owner. It has grown in favor with the community, and is doing an excellent business in the general banking line, receiving deposits, discounting notes and loaning money. Exchange on New York, Chicago and Des Moines is also for sale. George H. Wetmore, banker in Adair, was born in Ashtabula county, Ohio, March 17, 1832, son of Horace Wetmore, a native of Connecticut; mother was Hannah Kizertee, a native of Ashtabula county, Ohio. Mrs. Wetmore’s father was born in Baltimore, and was of English descent. His grandfather was a sea-captain in the employ of England. In 1837 the subject of our sketch, with parents, removed to Knox county, Illinois, where they remained on a farm till 1849, when George H. went to California, prospecting for gold, in which he was successful, returning in 1851. In 1864 he was in Texas and Mexico, but returning, he removed to Galesburg, Illinois, and engaged in the real-estate business until 1870, when he went to Yankton, Dakota, and engaged in the same business there, and also acting in the capacity of treasurer and director of the Southern Dakota railroad, running from Sioux City to Yankton, Dakota,, sixtyfive miles, until 1874, at this time he removed to Guthrie county, Iowa, settling in Grant township, on section 16, buying the whole section and improving it. This is one of the finest farms in the county, and Mr. Wetmore has improved it from a perfectly wild state to a very nice location, his house alone costing about five thousand dollars. On this farm is found fine stock, Durham cattle and Poland- China hogs. Mr, Wetmore’s financial interests are in a number of places, owning considerable village property in Adair, a good residence in the village and some large interests in Hanson county, Dakota, of which county he was the first settler. His marriage occurred in the fall of 1855 to Miss Mary A. Ellis, a native of Indiana, and a daughter of Laban Ellis, of Kentucky. Four children have been born to them—Eugene A., living in the South, Charles I., in the West, Frank H., married to Lizzie Ellis, and assisting in the bank, George H. is at home, and in school. Mr. and Mrs. Wetmore are members of Universalist church, and in politics a greenbacker, and works for the interest of the party.

ELEVATOR. In September, 1873, Charles Stuart commenced the erection of an elevator at this place, which is yet known as the Stuart elevator. This he put under the charge of Frank Arnold, who is yet Mr. Stuart’s agent. RINK. Adair, like every well-regulated town can boast of two skating rinks where young and old can enjoy the healthy amusement of gliding on roller skates. This edifice was built in June, 1884, by M. Inghram, at a cost of $650. It is 26x100 feet in ground area, with fourteen foot studding. The other, which was erected a couple of months afterward, by J. G. Jackson, is somewhat larger.

MILL. In the spring of 1875, Heacock & Delaney erected a mill in the immediate vicinity of the town. This they operated for a while, and were succeeded by Delaney Brothers, and in 1879 it was purchased by Frank L. Gordenier and W. R. Turner. In 1881 Mr. Gordenier purchased the interest of Mr. Turner, and took in as a partner his brother, S. L., on the 7th of April, 1883, and under the firm name and style of Gordenier Brothers, are the present proprietors and operators. The edifice is 66x28 feet of ground area, two stories high, with the engine-room in the basement. It is equipped with the most modern pattern of machinery, and having four run of burrs, has a capacity of turning out more than the needs of the community call for, and a general merchant milling business is done in addition to their regular custom work. Since the Messrs. Gordenier have owned the mill they have made many improvements inside and out of it, and it is an enterprise that the citizens of Adair may well feel proud of. One of the features of the mill is the patent kiln for drying corn. With this, green corn can be so dried in twenty-four hours as to permit of its being ground. The firm keep from fifty to one hundred head of swine, to whom are fed the offal of the mill, and thus utilize what is often thrown away. Frank L. Gordenier is a native of Canada West, of German and English extraction. His father, Isaiah Gordenier, was of English parentage. Frank’s mother, Almira Skinner, was English, but both of Canadian birth. From Canada the family removed to Indiana in 1849, where they lived on a farm until their removal to Iowa in 1875. The father dying previous to this, May 2, 1862, the mother still lives with her son, Frank L. When Mr. Gordenier removed to Iowa he bought a farm on the northeast quarter of section 15, Summit township. He traded this farm for a drug business in Adair, in 1876, and continued this till 1882. He now owns the northwest quarter of section 7, in Summit township. His business exclusively at present is running the Adair mills, of which he is proprietor and miller. He was married November 20, 1871, in Illinois, to Miss Estella Curtis, a native of Illinois and daughter of George Curtis of New York. They have three children—Isaiah, George P., and Ernest. Mr. Gordenier is a member of the I. 0. 0. P.

HOTELS. In the fall of 1874, D. S. West built a hotel where the store of E. Gate now stands, which was known as the Adair house, but which was afterward burned down. In the spring of 1875, P. Luckinbill built a hotel which was called the Bear Grove house, which he ran until he sold it to Thomas Rodda. This latter gentleman played landlord for a time and then sold it to Dr. Johnson, who leased it to John J. Irving. In 1878 it passed into the hands of John J. Richardson, who, after renting it for a year, became its owner, and is the present proprietor. It is a hostelry well known under the name of Commercial house. Laban North built another hotel in the spring of 1874, which was called the North Star hotel, but languished on account of poor business, and was turned into a boarding-house. The Reynolds house was erected by Hiram N. Reynolds in 1883, at a cost of $3,000, and is a first-class house of entertainment. Everything is kept in good repair, and the way it is run delights the weary traveler or busy commercial man who stops at it. Lewis M. Hawes was born in Jefferson county, New York, on the 13th day of June, 1819, and is the eldest son of Abram and Amity (Macomber) Hawes. He was educated at Union academy, in his native county, and was engaged in teaching there several terms. He commenced the study of theology in 1843, and prepared for the Universalist ministry under the tutorship of the Rev. Pitt Morse. He was first settled over the society of his church at Fulton, Oswego county, New York. Two years later he took charge of the Universalist society at Canton, St. Lawrence county, New York, and finally was settled at Clinton, Oneida county, in that state, from which place he removed to Wisconsin in 1857, In the latter state he was engaged in the ministry and in teaching until the fall of 1861, when he enlisted in the 3d Wisconsin cavalry regiment, but was discharged in the following spring on account of disability incurred by exposure. In the spring of 1864 he was appointed chaplain of the 37th regiment Wisconsin infantry, and remained in that position until the close of the war. While in the service he was constantly on duty with his regiment, which was assigned to the 9th army corps, Army of the Potomac; and when the war closed he received an honorable discharge. In 1868 he was elected county superintendent of schools for Racine county, Wisconsin, and at the expiration of the term of his office, commenced teaching, in which occupation he has been very successful. He has been a resident of Adair county, Iowa, eleven years. During the last seven years he has resided at Adair, where he has been employed as principal of the public schools five years. Mr. Hawes has reared a family of six children, all of whom have been employed in teaching. He was first married in 1843 to Miss Mary Montague, of Jefferson county, New York. His second marriage was in 1853 with Miss Elizabeth A. Davis, of Schenectady county, New York, Three of his children are married, and all are living in Western States. Mr. Hawes is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic and of the Masonic order. He has been honored with the position of justice of the peace and mayor of the city of Adair. In both these positions he now officiates with great credit to himself and satisfaction to all others concerned. John H. Leek was born on Long Island, Suffolk county, July 18, 1816, and remained there -until thirteen years of age, after which time he followed whaling and West Indies merchandise business principally until twenty-one years of age, when he went to Rochester, New York, where he followed canal-boat building for eight years. In 1845 he went to LaSalle county, Illinois, and commenced farming, remaining there until 1861, when he went to Michigan. His health failed and he went to Long Island, and remained there three or four years. He partially regained his strength when he came to Iowa, and selected a good farm in Bear Grove of two hundred acres, and there remained until 1881, when he went to Shelby county, but soon came to the town of Adair, where he purchased beautiful town lots with houses on them, in the western part of town, where he intends to make his future home. He was married in New York in 1837, to Miss Susan Harns, who died in Illinois. They had nine children, one living—Justice—in Bear Grove township, Guthrie county. Mr. Leek was again married in March, 1861, to Miss Sarah Pape, a native of New York. They have two children living—Abram and William. Mr. Leek’s father was born June 4, 1875, in Suffolk county, Long Island. He was a ship-builder by trade, and 1st lieutenant in the war of 1812. He was a great politician in the democratic party, and was known in every part of that party. When Fremont run he voted the republican ticket, and remained a republican. He, died in 1881, being ninety-six years of age; his death was mourned by his family and many friends. In his younger days he was a lively, high-spirited young man, and was known to every one by his merriment, and sterling worth. In his last days he had still facilities for enjoyment, but was too feeble to participate in such scenes. Henry P. Starr, of Adair, is engaged in raising small fruits; he has two acres devoted to the same of various kinds, and intends to supply the home market. In connection with this, he has a hennery, the only Plymouth Rock chickens between Atlantic and Stuart, which are bred with the design to make a specialty of this industry; he has convenient buildings to propagate them, and is pleased to show the stranger about his grounds. Besides the business places and parties mentioned, are the following, whom space forbids to give in detail, but which are inserted here as showing the business of the lively little town: Adair News, George W. Wilkinson, editor. H. Anderson, agent, Davenport Glucose Company. Miss Ella Arnold, music teacher. W. Berryhill, harness. George L. Blakeslee, shoemaker. Miss Mary Brady, music teacher. W. H. Burr, hardware. J. A. Carpenter, dentist and barber. E. Gate, general store. Levi Clay, dray line. William Clay, plasterer. Christopher Conrad, wagonmaker. George Cox, live stock. Jacob Edwards, wagonmaker. G. Goforth, stonemason. George W. Goodhart, blacksmith. L. M. Hawes, justice of the peace. James Henney, poultry breeder. M. Inghram, confectioner, George Ish, agricultural machinery. Kelsey & Bodley, hardware. D. B, Lovell, grocery. David A. Marr, dray line. Moran & Kingrey, stock. Renten Myers, carpenter. John Paulin, plasterer. Raffensperger & Danner, blacksmiths. Mrs. Ella M. Smith, stationery, sewing machines and birds. John Spaulding, painter. P. J. Wilkinson, photographer. W. T. Williams, carpenter. W. S. Wishard, attorney. Almond M. Kibby is a native of Jefferson county. New York, born at Ellisburg, July 13, 1817, a son of Martin Kibby, a native of Massachusetts, and of English descent, who with two brothers came to America from England. His mother was Anna Houck. When twenty years old Almond went to Kane county, Illinois, where he followed farming. His next place of residence was at DeSoto, Iowa, where he lived thirteen years running a grocery store. In 1880 he removed to Adair county, and engaged in the employ of the railroad company in the capacity of assistant station agent. He was married October 13, 1858, to Miss Caroline Adams, a native of Huntley station, Kane county, Illinois, and by this marriage had five children, all sons, and at this time, three are living—William A., a very reliable man, and much respected, employed in the capacity of station agent at Adair; Arthur J., agent at Mitchellville, near Des Moines, married to Ella Young, of Bloomfield, Iowa. Two children bless this union—Earl E.*and Theetral. John 0. is in La Junta, Colorado, as train-dispatcher on the Santa Fe railroad. His wife was Alda Roburn, a daughter of Dr. Roburn, of Brooklyn, Iowa. They have one child—Edward Almond J. Mrs. Kibby died in Kane county, Illinois, January 22, 1857, and he was again married on May 24, 1863, to Miss Mary J. Winder, a native of Newcastle, England, and daughter of John and Elizabeth (Pearson) Winder, both natives of England, but removed to Ontario, Canada, in 1851, where the daughter was partially educated. Subsequently they removed to Rock county, Wisconsin, and thence to Woodstock, Illinois, where she was married. They have no family by this union, but Mrs. Kibby is very much devoted to the sons of her husband by his former marriage, and they know her as a true mother. Mr. Kibby is a member of the Masonic order and has been for thirty-five years, and a charter member of three district lodges. His son William, also, is a member of the Masonic fraternity. In giving the biographical sketches of the more prominent men of Adair, we do not fail to mention Henry M.p Coleman, who is the subject of this memoir. He is a native of Morris county. New Jersey, born on the 30th of March, 1835. His father, Stephen B. Coleman, was born on the 20th of March, 1808, in Chester, Morris county. New Jersey. His father, Joseph Coleman, a native of Orange county. New York, born January 16, 1774. Stephen B. was married on May 23, 1829, to Sarah Larson. He died on the 26th of December, 1868. Henry M. lived in New Jersey until 1871, when he removed to Atlantic, Iowa, onto a farm, and living there one year, he moved to Anita, and staid two years, when he removed to the town of Adair, and owns one hundred and sixty acres of land in Summit township, and also owns a farm in Cass, and one in Shelby county, also a residence in the town of Adair. He lives a retired life, but classes himself among the class of farmers. He was married on the 12th of March, 1873, to Jane Chesnut, a native of Pennsylvania, Mrs. Coleman is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. Among the most prominent political workers in Adair county, a republican in faith, and indomitable in principle, is Samuel Ewing,,of Adair village. He was born October 13, 1827, in Ohio. His ancestors were from Virginia, father, Jacob Ewing, and mother, Susanna (Price) Ewing. In 1838 the family removed to Indiana, Randolph county. They lived on a farm there until 1852, clearing up a large piece of land, and it was here the father died in October, 1848. Samuel owned eighty acres of the old homestead, which he subsequently exchanged for a tan-yard in Fair View, which business he followed six years. In 1859 he concluded to remove to the West, and we find him located first in Valley township, Guthrie county, where he followed farming on shares one year, after which he bought a farm near the old site of Dalmanutha, which he sold in 1868, and Bear Grove claimed him as one of her citizens, and here his mother died. He bought eighty acres of land near the village; subsequently removed to Grant township, at which place he lived till 1875; removing to Adair, he took charge of the hotel known as the North Star house for five years, since which time he has not been engaged in any particular business. He is at present constable of the township of Summit. He was married September 3, 1845, to Miss Martha J. Bone, a native of Greene county, Ohio, and daughter of John and Elizabeth (Richardson) Bone. Eight children have been born to them— Sarah E., at home; William J., living in Ottumwa, a railroad man; John T., deputy sheriff of Adair county, living in Greenfield; James W., living in Guthrie Center; Emma A., Charles B., and Edgar E. Mr. Ewing is a member of the Masonic order and Independent Order of Odd Fellows and is agent for the Council Bluffs insurance company. His father died in 1847, and his mother died while he was living on the farm at Dalmanutha. Harry W. Smith, one of the most prominent men of Adair, was born in Stow, Vermont, on the 16th of August, 1850, and is the son of John W. Smith, also a native of Vermont. He was educated at Norrisville, Vermont, and in 1869 came to Casey, where he clerked for S. B. Moody a year, when he was engaged in the business with him until 1876, he moved to Adair in 1877, engaging himself with J. E. Moran in the mercantile business, in whose employ he still remains. He was appointed postmaster in 1881, which office he now holds, said office being under the management of his wife. He has a farm of one hundred and sixty acres one half mile north of Casey, and one of eight hundred acres in Nebraska, also a business house and lot in Adair. His ancestors came from Norfolk, Virginia, and is a descendant of Capt. John Smith, of the Pocahontas notoriety. He was married the 14th day of February, 1872, to Miss Ella M. Rowell, of Albany, Vermont, a daughter of Joshua Rowell. They have one daughter— Mamie L. Smith, born March 3, 1873. He is a member of the Masonic order, and was Worshipful Master of the Casey lodge in 1877. Levi Clay was born in Summit county, Ohio, December 12, 1843. He is the son of John Clay, of Pennsylvania, and of German extraction. His wife (Levi’s mother) was Mary B. Hoy, also a native of Pennsylvania and of German descent. Mr. Clay. Sr., was a farmer and carpenter, and died May 9, 1844. In 1849 the mother and family removed to Jo Daviess county, Illinois, which was their place of residence till 1865. Levi then removed to Carroll county, where he lived with Alfred Clay, his brother, two years. His mother died November 12, 1867, at the age of sixty-seven. The December following Levi went to Floyd county, Iowa, settling at the village of Marble Rock, on Shell Rock river, and followed the trade of a mason one year, when he returned to Illinois and was married to Mary E. Stillians, February 7, 1869, by Rev. Ely. Her mother was Catharine Levi, of West Virginia. Mr. Clay returned to Marble Rock and remained about two years, and then emigrated to Bear Grove, Guthrie county; they lived there some two or three years and then went to Panora, and worked for the mill company there till February, 1873, when he removed to Casey, stopping short time. He pushed along to Adair, March 15, 1873, and engaged on the section three years; at this time he purchased the dray line interest of J. T. Ewing in 1876, which business he has followed faithfully since, and has made him a nice home, built a house very early in the village and still occupies the same house much improved. He has neat grounds and with his family consisting of wife and children—Adelia V., Mary J., Francis E. E., Ida A., Lydia L. L., Levi and William W., lives a contented happy life. One child, Louisa C, died at the age of two years April 4, 1874.

POST-OFFICE. This was established in the spring of 1874, and John E. Moran was commissioned as postmaster. He held this position, having the office in his store, until October 21, 1881, when he resigned and Harvey Smith was appointed in his place, a position which Mr. Smith still holds. It has been a money order office since 1876.

SCHOOLS. The first school taught in Adair in the upper story of the drug store of D. W. Moss, in the winter of 1873-4. The teacher, who held it for three months, was Mrs. H. P. Starr, who had about eighteen scholars. The next term was at the school-house, that was built where it now stands, in the summer of 1875. Mrs. Starr taught this school also, as she did the summer of 1876, the latter year of which she had sixty-six pupils enrolled. The next teachers were L. M. Hawes and his daughter, who have taught most of the time ever since up to the last term. The present corps of educators are Mr. Cowden and Miss Dolan. The first officer in this district was John Chestnut, Sr., director and treasurer.

SOCIETIES. Beulah Lodge, No. 449, A. P. and A. M., was instituted on the 3d day of July, 1884, by E. A. Stone, of Anita, D. D. G. M., with the following officers: J. F. Wilkinson, W. M.; James W. Moore, S. W.; L. M. Hawes, J. W.; John Jackson, Treasurer; J. H. Henryson, Secretary; J. E. Moran, S. D.; A. M. Kibby, J. D.; G. T. Hendricks, S. S.; R. K. Eby, J. S.; Joseph Raffensperger, Tyler. Beulah Lodge, while under dispensation, admitted, passed and raised the following named brothers: J. S. Shaver, M. F. Stults, Thomas Fitzgerald, G. W. Henkle and Samuel Ewing. The original charter members were as follows: Levi Clay, J. F. Wilkinson, L. M. Hawes, John Jack son, J. H. Henryson, J. M. Moore, W. S. Wishard, A. M. Kibby, J. E. Moran, R. K. Eby, G. T. Hendricks, H. W. Smith, J. H. Devault, Joseph Raffensperger and C. Pettitt. The lodge now numbers about twenty brothers, and is in a prosperous condition. Summit Lodge, No. 348, I. 0. 0. P., was organized and instituted on the 17th day of May, 1876, by D. D. G. M. W. P. Moulton, of Stuart lodge No. 1,214, with the following charter members: D. W. Moss, C. H. Vancott, 0. 0. Washburn, J. H. Henryson, Samuel Ewing, James Campbell and J. K. James. The first officers elected were: D. W. Moss, N. G.; C. H. Vancott, V. G.; 0. 0. Washburn, sec; J. H. Henryson, treas.; James A. Parker, P. S. The appointed officers were: W. 0. Libbey, R. S. to N. G.; J. Reynolds, L. S. to N. G.; J. K. James, W.; W. H. Noderer, C ; James Campbell, R. S. S.; Samuel Baker, L. S. S.; D. Chesnut, 0. G.; J. V. Brown, I. G.; T. D. Lougher, R. S. to V. G.; E. J. Wetmore, L. S. to V. G. The lodge has since admitted eleven by initiation, making a membership of eighteen. The lodge is at the present time in good condition, and stands among the foremost, and is credited with good work. Have had public installation, and other open gatherings. It owns its own hall, and a set of the finest regalia in the state. Adair lodge, No. 205, A. 0. U. W., was organized and instituted November 17, 1879, by D. D. G. M. Dan Poorman. The first officers of this lodge were as follows : J. H. Porter, P. M. W.; J. H. Henryson, M. W. ; C. 0. Washburn,* G. P.; W. R. Turner, 0.; D. L. Wilson, Rec; J. G. Watrus, Finan.; C. Pettit, Recv. ; D. H. Kingery, G.; J. E. Bebee, I. W.; L. Clay, 0. W. The charter membership of this lodge consisted of the following gentlemen : T. D. Lougher, H. P. Starr, John V. Brown, G. W. Dosh, D. E. Bancroft, J. C. Geai heart, and W. 0. Libby. The lodge is in a prosperous condition, with an increasing membership. Washington Post, No. 135, G. A. R. was organized on the 22d of February, 1883, with the following comrades as charter members: D. E. Bancroft, M. Johnson, G. L. Blakeslee, W. L. Dinsmore, J. M. Howell, C. Pettit, H. P. Starr, J. H. Porter, J. M. Moore, L. M. Hawes, 0. 0. Reynolds, G. M. Goforth, L. G. Hesser, John Kaufman, N. Hopkins, V. H. Wright and J. Breinerd. The first officers chosen and appointed were the following mentioned: J. H. Porter, P. C; H. P. Starr, S. V. C ; J. M. Johnson, J. V. C ; J. M. Moore, 0. D.; L. G. Hesser, 0. G.; 0. C. Reynolds, Q. M.; W. L. Dinsmore, A.; G. L. Blakeslee, S.; L. M. Hawes, 0. There are now some thirty-five members, and the post is growing finely, the officers of the present year (1884) are the same as the above with the exception of J. M. Howell, A.; J. P. Reese, 0. D.; J. Rafensperger, 0. G., and W. L. Dinsmore, S. M. BAND. The Adair cornet band was instituted in 1877, with ten pieces, under the leadership and direction of a competent instructor. After they had been in training for some time, Harry P. Moore took the leadership and was succeeded by John McLaren, the present head of the band. At the time of its organization the following were the members: Fred Parsons, second B-flat; John McLaren, first B-flat; Frank Hough, solo alto; Dr. Johnson, first alto; James Parker, baritone; Dr. Lougher, B-d; J. H. Porter, tenor; J. H. Henyyson, tuba; George Bills, snare drum; Frank Horton, bass drum; the instructor leading with an E-flat. The band is in most excellent condition and training, and equipped with excellent instruments. The following is a list of the members and pieces: John McLaren, E-flat and leader; William Clay, first B-flat; W. Clay, second B-flat; E. P. Swart, first alto; M. Farrington, second alto; H. Brownlee, tenor; William Berryhill, baritone; J. Johnson, tuba; 0. Camper, snare, and Ira Warner, bass drum.

TRAIN ROBBERY. Among the incidents occurring in this locality was the robbery of a train on the Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific railroad, on the 21st of July, 1873, about two miles west of Adair. Some parties supposed to have been the James brothers’ gang, had been loafing around in the neighborhood, doing odd jobs for the farmers, etc., for a few days previously. On the day of the robbery they procured a rope, and going to the point in question, after loosening the spikes that held the rail to the ties, attached the rope to it without moving it from its place. The rope they carried up a high bank, behind which they sat down to wait. About eight o’clock the express came dashing along, and just before the engine came to the loosened rail, it was pulled away, and the train running into the side of the bank was stopped. The tender being thrown upon the cab of the engine, the engineer, John Rafferty, was killed. The outlaws then descending from their perch, went through the express car, rifling it of money, jewelry and other valuables, making a haul of about two or three thousand dollars, with which they got safely away. The conductor was slightly wounded, and with this exception and that of the unfortunate engineer, there was no one hurt. Levi Clay carried the message to Casey, and was instrumental in starting a pursuit of the robbers. It was found, on investigation, that the tool house of the railroad company had been broken open, and the tools used to further the nefarious designs of the miscreants. A pursuit was instituted, but with no result, as all trace of them was lost in the country south, they heading for the Missouri line. From this and several other indications, it is firmly believed to be the work of the James’ gang. George Sisson, son of Azariah, in company with H. H. Blakesley, followed them into the state of Missouri. FIRE. On the night of Friday, April 18,1884, a fire broke out in Adair, an account of Which we quote from the News of the next week. The fire broke out in the clothing house of Myers, Schnier & Co., and spreading west and southwest, consuming the hardware store of Kelsey & Bodley, and the agricultural implement warehouse of John Jackson. Eastward it communicated to the restaurant of William Inghram, the saloon of Charles Fisher, the livery stable of R. S. Pinkerton, the agricultural implement warehouse of George Ish, the dry goods store of E. Gate, and was at last checked in its progress by tearing down the building occupied by Henkle & Swart as a jewelry and furniture store. In regard to the losses it is estimated that John Jackson loses on his stock of agricultural implements about $2,500. No insurance. Kelsey & Bodley, on building occupied by Jackson, $250, and on their own stock of hardware about $2,500. They had an insurance on the stock about enough to cover the loss. James A. Parker, on the building occupied by Kelsey and Bpdley, about $650. Myers, Schnier & Co., on stock of clothing, boots and shoes, about $2,500. The stock was entirely destroyed, but covered by insurance. William Inghram lost on restaurant building, stock and fixtures, and building occupied by Myers, Schnier & Co., about $1,600. Two show cases with their contents was all that was saved of his stock. No insurance. Charles Fisher lost on his saloon fixtures about $400, on which he had no insurance. Mrs. J. Reimers, who owned this building, places her loss at $600, and, also, was without any insurance. R. S. Pinkerton, on his livery stable, about $800. The contents were all saved except about $150 worth of feed and trinkets, covered by insurance. George Ish reckoned his loss on stock at $500, and had no insurance. The building he occupied*” was owned by 0. M. Myers, and caused a loss to that gentleman of $250, which was without insurance. E. Gate’s stock of dry goods was all saved, but in a damaged condition, causing him^a slight loss of about $100, also without insurance. J. W. Dowdall, on the building occupied by Gate and on household goods, incurred a clear loss of $1,100, as he had no insurance either. The building was a two-story one and the upper part was occupied by Mr. Dowdall as a residence. Henkle & Swart, on their stock of furniture, lost about $400, not insured. A. Krudinor owned this building and put his loss at $600, but carried an insurance of $400. John Sheran’s stock of groceries and dry goods were carried out and badly damaged, probably to the extent of $300, which was fully covered by insurance. M. Dunkin lost about $500 by the damage sustained by his drug stock being carried out, with no insurance. The cause of the fire is not known, but it is thought by all to be the work of an incendiary, as ten of the citizens had passed there on their way home from council meeting, and a session of the township trustees, not fifteen minutes, at the most, before the whole of the building was in flames, and they had not discovered anything in the shape of fire, and, as it was a very dark night, the smallest light would have been seen. If it had not been raining at the time and a strong wind from the northeast blowing, there is no doubt but that the whole of the business part of the town would have been burned to the ground. As it was, it was only by the superhuman efforts of the citizens that it was saved. The Larson building, the Sheran building, the meat market. Odd Fellows hall and M. Dunkin’s drug store were in the line of the fire, and only a vacant space of about ten feet remained between the furniture store and the Larson building, and here it was by hard work the furniture store was pulled down and the fire checked. The fire was first discovered by Frank Kingsbury and Charles Fisher, but which really saw it first is hard to determine, as they raised the alarm about the same time. Miss Belle Kelsey, who was staying at John Shaver’s, was one of the first to be aroused by the portentious cry of “fire,” and through rain and mud, with but one shoe on, she went from one end of the town to the other spreading the alarm. The ladies took hold, and worked in saving goods and carrying water, and it was with their aid that a large quantity of goods were saved. The residence of R. S. Pinkerton, just south of the burned district, was set on fire several times by burning brands, but was extinguished before much damage was done. Altogether this was very disastrous to the young town, for the losses footed up, on the nine business places destroyed, some $15,000, an amount enough to paralyze the growth of any less enterprising place.

Taken from "History of Guthrie and Adair County Iowa, 1884", transcribed by Carlyss Noland

Back to Adair County History Index

Adair County

Return to home page