IAGenWeb Project

Adair County Iowa

USGenWeb Project


Harrison Township Schools


Harrison Township had the customary 9 districts of one room country schools.  They gradually closed until the fall of 1958 when they wee reorganized into the Greenfield and Stuart school districts.  At the present (1976) the Center School No. 5 is used for elections.  No. 8 is owned by Ray Rice and is in good repair and used for storage.  No. 6 is still standing but boarded up and owned by William Wright.  No. 7 is owned by Claude and Ivan Roberts and used as a hog house.
Some of the teachers who taught in the Harrison Township schools are are still living in Harrison Township are: Alda (Slaybaugh) Jones, Hazle (Smith) Hand, and Gladys (Garrett)  (Roberts) Rice.  Some of the teachers that taught and are still living in Adair County are: Alma (Jensen) Lundy, Ethra Jean (Cahow) Madison, Gertrude (Roberts) Rice, Wilma (Smith) Adamson, Lena (Estes) Weller, Helen (Bunce) Herr, Eudene (Endres) Ernst, Opal (Adamson) White, Jean (Molln) Havens, Zola Lowden, Pearl (Lydon) Wambold, Corrine (Saylor) Funke,  Claude Martin, Rachel (Eddy) Zimmerline, Jessie (Wambold) Onken.

Harrison Township Teachers—1942

No. 1 Edna Bartlet
No. 2 Evalyn Johnson
No. 3 Alta LaVae Slaybaugh
No. 4 Mrs. D. E. Belgard
No. 5 Helen Doud
No. 6 Viola L. Bolz
No. 7 Maxine Ellison
No. 8 Noreen Lydon McPherson



transcribed by Mary Cochrane, Adair County History, 1976



Adair County

Return to home page